DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 01/19/2026, claims 1, 6, 7, 15, 19, and 20 have been amended, and claims 2-5 and 16-18 are cancelled. Claims 1, 6-15, 19, and 20 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first motor” in driving connection with the first roller and the “second motor” in driving connection with the second roller brush recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In response to drawing objection made in the previous non-final office action dated on 10/21/2025, Applicant amended specification and submitted replacement drawings of figs. 5 and 6. However, the replacement drawing shows the first motor 131 and the second motor 132 are actually the same motor. The figures need to show two separate motors, or claim 7 may be canceled.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites the “first motor” (131) and the “second motor” (132), however, the replacement figs. 5 and 6 show there is only one motor and this motor is designated as 131 and 132. If a single motor is in driving connection with the both first and second roller brushes, claim 7 may be canceled because claim 1 already recites the single motor is in driving connection with the both first and second roller brushes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (CN 212913093U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS), in view of Ragner (US 7475450, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS), Farmer et al. (US 2018/0199785, hereinafter Farmer), Grossi et al. (IT 201800010254A1, hereinafter Grossi), and Peng et al. (CN 208435477U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS, hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 1, Ni discloses a scrubber (fig. 1 cleaning device), comprising:
a main body (fig. 1, a main body is located below a handle 510);
a handle located at one end of the main body and configured to be gripped (Ni English translation, p. 16:1-3 and fig. 1, the handle 510 is located at an end of the main body for a user to grip); and
a scrubber brush assembly located at another end of the main body (fig. 3, a cleaner includes a front rolling brush 310 and a rear rolling brush 320. Fig. 3 does not show the reference number 310, but fig. 5 shows the both reference numbers 310 and 320) and comprising:
a housing having a front end and a rear end opposite to the front end (fig. 3, an upper cover 260 [corresponds to the recited housing] covers the front rolling brush 310 and the rear rolling brush 320);
a first roller brush disposed at the front end of the housing (fig. 3, the front rolling brush 310 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] is disposed at the front end of the upper cover 260); and
a second roller brush disposed at the rear end of the housing (fig. 3, the rear rolling brush 320 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush] is disposed at the rear end of the upper cover 260),
wherein the first roller brush has a first rotational speed in operation, and wherein the second roller brush has a second rotational speed in operation, the first rotational speed being greater than the second rotational speed (Ni English translation, p. 13:21-29, a rotating speed of a driving mechanism 400 can be provided such that a rotating speed of the front rolling brush 310 is greater than a rotating speed of a rear rolling brush 320),
wherein the scrubber brush assembly comprises a motor located within the housing (Ni English translation, p. 6:1, 11:17, a driving mechanism 400 can be a motor, or optionally the driving mechanism 400 may include a motor 410 in the housing), and
wherein the motor is in driving connection with the first roller brush by a first transmission mechanism, the first transmission mechanism being configured to drive the first roller brush to operate, the motor is in driving connection with the second roller brush by a second transmission mechanism, and the second transmission mechanism being configured to drive the second roller brush to operate (Ni English translation, p. 6:1, 13:13-29, the driving mechanism/motor 400 drives the front rolling brush 310 and the rear rolling brush 320 to rotate. Thus, Ni teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanism without detailed components. Details of the first and second transmission mechanisms are discussed below),
wherein a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism is smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism (Ni English translation, p. 13:21-29, a rotating speed of a driving mechanism 400 can be provided such that a rotating speed of the front rolling brush 310 is greater than a rotating speed of a rear rolling brush 320. It means the reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism is smaller than that of the second transmission mechanism), but does not disclose the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms.
Ragner teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 below for the detailed components of the first and second transmission mechanisms. Although figures do not distinguish, each end of rotary brush 22, 24 is a pulley for receiving rotational transmission from belts 42, 44. Further details of the first and second transmission mechanisms are discussed below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni to provide the first and second transmission mechanisms comprising pulleys and belts as taught by Ragner in order to provide appropriate rotation speeds to rotary brushes by slowing a rotation rate (Ragner col. 2:55-58).
Ni as modified by Ragner further teaches the scrubber brush assembly further comprises:
the first transmission mechanism in driving connection with the first roller brush; the second transmission mechanism in driving connection with the second roller brush (Ni English translation, p. 6:1, 13:13-29, the driving mechanism/motor 400 drives the front rolling brush 310 and the rear rolling brush 320 to rotate. Thus, Ni teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanism without detailed components), but does not disclose an output transmission gear set comprising a first output gear and a second output gear.
Farmer teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, an output transmission gear set comprising a first output gear and a second output gear (¶ 0074, a cleaning robot comprises a motor 810 for rotating cleaning extractors 265, 270 [correspond to the recited first and second roller brushes]; ¶ 0100 and fig. 21, each extractor is driven by an output gear 1520, 1525. Farmer teaches an output transmission gear set comprises two output gears for rotating two cleaning extractors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner to provide the first and second output gears as taught by Farmer in order to rotate two cleaning extractors for better cleaning effect than using only one cleaning extractor.
Ni as modified by Ragner and Farmer does not disclose the output transmission gear set further comprises a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to an operating terminal of the motor; the first output gear disposed on a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism.
Grossi teaches, in a washing device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the output transmission gear set further comprises a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to an operating terminal of the motor; the first output gear disposed on a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism (fig. 2, Grossi discloses a flow diverter comprising a motor 28 and gears. An output transmission gear set comprises a planetary gear mechanism 33 coupled to a sun gear 32 disposed at an operating end of the motor 28. The output gears are disposed on a planet carrier 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner and Farmer to provide the planetary gear mechanism as taught by Grossi in order to provide an effective speed reduction stage (Grossi English translation, p. 6:6-10).
Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, and Grossi does not disclose the first output gear connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and the second output gear engaged with the first output gear and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner.
Peng teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the first output gear connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and the second output gear engaged with the first output gear and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner (Peng English translation, p. 5:1-11 and annotated Peng fig. 2 below, a cleaning device comprising a rolling brush includes a motor 11. An end of the motor 11 is a driving pulley 12 [corresponds to the recited sun gear] for connecting an operating terminal of the motor to a gear mechanism for power output transmission. A first pulley 15 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] is coupled to the pulley 12 via a synchronous belt 13, and a pulley 20 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] is coupled to the pulley 15 via a synchronous belt 17. The pulleys 15 and 20 can be replaced with the output gear 1520, 1525 of Farmer to be connected with the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, and Grossi to provide the recited gears as taught by Peng in order to transfer the rotational power of motor to the rolling brushes of the cleaner for effective cleaning of a floor surface.
Finally, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the first transmission mechanism comprises: a first input synchronous pulley connected to the first output gear; a first synchronous belt; and a first output synchronous pulley connected to the first input synchronous pulley by the first synchronous belt in a transmission manner and connected to the first roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 below for the first transmission mechanisms comprising the first input synchronous pulley, the first synchronous belt, and the first output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 22 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] is the first output synchronous pulley; Farmer teaches two output gears 1520, 1525 which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output gear 1520 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] of Farmer is connected to the first input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the first roller brush),
the second transmission mechanism comprises: a second input synchronous pulley connected to the second output gear; a second synchronous belt; and a second output synchronous pulley connected to the second input synchronous pulley by the second synchronous belt in a transmission manner and connected to the second roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 below for the second transmission mechanisms comprising the second input synchronous pulley, the second synchronous belt, and the second output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 24 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush] is the second output synchronous pulley; Farmer teaches two output gears 1520, 1525 which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output gear 1525 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] of Farmer is connected to the second input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the second roller brush).
Annotated Ragner Figure 2
Annotated Peng Figure 2
Regarding claim 6, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: the first roller brush has a first hollow cavity, or the second roller brush has a second hollow cavity; and the motor is received in the first hollow cavity or the second hollow cavity (Ni, figs. 3 and 5, each of the front and rear rolling brushes 310, 320 has a hollow cavity so that the driving mechanism/motor 400 is received in the cavity of the front rolling brush 310).
Regarding claim 7, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the motor comprises: a first motor in driving connection with the first roller brush by the first transmission mechanism, the first transmission mechanism being configured to drive the first roller brush to operate; and a second motor in driving connection with the second roller brush by the second transmission mechanism, the second transmission mechanism being configured to drive the second roller brush to operate (Ni English translation, p. 12:26-33, in an alternative embodiment, there can be a plurality of driving mechanisms/motors 400 to be matched with a plurality of rolling brushes. It means each motor is in connection with a first transmission mechanism or a second transmission mechanism. Regarding the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms, Ragner teaches the detailed components of the first and second transmission mechanisms as discussed in claim 1. See annotated Ragner fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 8, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein: the first roller brush has a first hollow cavity for receiving the first motor and the first transmission mechanism, the first motor being in driving connection with the first roller brush by the first transmission mechanism; and the second roller brush has a second hollow cavity configured for receiving the second motor and the second transmission mechanism, the second motor being in driving connection with the second roller brush by the second transmission mechanism (Ni English translation, p. 12:26-33, in an alternative embodiment, there can be a plurality of driving mechanisms/motors 400 to be matched with a plurality of rolling brushes. It means each motor is in connection with a first transmission mechanism or a second transmission mechanism; fig. 3, the driving mechanism/motor 400 is received in the cavity of the front rolling brush 310. Thus, there can be the second motor received in the rear rolling brush 320 and in connection with the second transmission mechanism to rotate the rear rolling brush 320; annotated Ragner fig. 2 above, Ragner teaches the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms as discussed in claim 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the second motor in order to rotate the second roller brush. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 9, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the first transmission mechanism comprises: a second-stage reduction assembly having a power output terminal in driving connection with the first roller brush (annotated Ragner fig. 2 above and col. 7:33-48, the pulley 32 is connection with the power output terminal from the output gear and is connected to the rotary brush 22 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush]. The belt 42 is involved in a second speed reduction of the rotary brush 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the second-stage reduction assembly as taught by Ragner in order to provide appropriate rotating speed to the brush roller for effective cleaning of the floor surface.
Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the first transmission mechanism comprises: a first-stage reduction assembly, wherein a power output terminal of the first motor is in driving connection with the first-stage reduction assembly (fig. 3 and Peng English translation, p. 6:4-19, a first stage speed reduction belt assembly comprises a first synchronous belt 13. The belt 13 is driven by a driving belt pulley 12 of the motor 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the first-stage reduction assembly as taught by Peng in order to provide appropriate brush rotating speed for overcoming resistance of the surface so that the roller brush can rotate freely on the surface for effective cleaning (Peng English translation, p. 6:16-19).
Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches further teaches a power output terminal of the first-stage reduction assembly is in driving connection with the second-stage reduction assembly (annotated Peng fig. 2 above, the pulley 15 is a part of the first-stage reduction assembly and a shaft of the pulley 15 can be combined with the pulley 32 of Ragner so that the first-stage reduction assembly is connected to the second-stage reduction assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches to provide the first-stage reduction assembly to be connected to the second-stage reduction assembly in order to provide appropriate rotation speed to the brush rollers for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 10, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the second transmission mechanism comprises: a second-stage reduction assembly having a power output terminal in driving connection with the second roller brush (annotated Ragner fig. 2 above and col. 7:33-48, the drive shaft 36 is connection with the power output terminal from the output gear and is connected to the rotary brush 24 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush]. The belt 44 is involved in a second speed reduction of the rotary brush 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the second-stage reduction assembly as taught by Ragner in order to provide appropriate rotating speed to the brush roller for effective cleaning of the floor surface.
Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the second transmission mechanism comprises: a first-stage reduction assembly, wherein a power output terminal of the second motor is in driving connection with the first-stage reduction assembly (Peng English translation, p. 6:4-19 and fig. 3, a first-stage speed reduction belt assembly comprises a first synchronous belt 13. The belt 13 is driven by a driving belt pulley 12 of the motor 11. As discussed in claim 7, Ni teaches there can be a second motor and second transmission mechanism, thus there can be the first-stage speed reduction belt assembly connected to the second motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the first-stage reduction assembly as taught by Peng in order to provide appropriate brush rotating speed for overcoming resistance of the surface so that the roller brush can rotate freely on the surface for effective cleaning (Peng English translation, p. 6:16-19).
Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng further teaches a power output terminal of the first-stage reduction assembly is in driving connection with the second-stage reduction assembly (annotated Peng fig. 2 above, the pulley 15 is a part of the first-stage reduction assembly and a shaft of the pulley 15 can be combined with the drive shaft 36 of Ragner so that the first-stage reduction assembly is connected to the second-stage reduction assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the first-stage reduction assembly to be connected to the second-stage reduction assembly in order to provide appropriate rotation speed to the brush rollers for effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 11, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: in an operating state of the scrubber brush assembly, a rotation direction of the first roller brush is opposite to a rotation direction of the second roller brush (Ni English translation, p. 20:28-33, the driving mechanism 400 can make the front rolling brush 310 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] to rotate in an anticlockwise direction and the rear rolling brush 320 [corresponds to the second roller brush] to rate in a clockwise direction).
Regarding claim 12, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: the main body extends obliquely upwards and towards the rear end of the housing (Ni English translation, p. 16:12-14, the handle 510 of the cleaner can be inclined, even parallel to the ground), but does not disclose explicitly a projection of a center of gravity of the main body on a horizontal plane is located at a rear part of a projection of a center of gravity of the second roller brush on the horizontal plane.
However, the main body and handle of the cleaner can be inclined obliquely even parallel to the ground. Assuming that the ground is a horizontal plane, projection of a center of gravity of the main body on the horizontal plane must be located at rearward of projection of a center of gravity of the second roller brush.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide its main body to have the center of gravity at the rearward so that a user may maneuver the handle to mover the cleaner to a desired direction easily.
Regarding claim 13, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein: the main body extends obliquely backwards relative to the scrubber brush assembly (Ni fig. 1, the main body of the handle extends obliquely backward with respect to the scrubber brush assembly; Ni English translation, p. 16:12-14, the handle 510 of the cleaner can be inclined, even parallel to the ground. Thus, the main body can lie rearward of the scrubber brush assembly when it is inclined toward to the ground), but does not disclose explicitly a projection of a center of gravity of the scrubber as a whole on a horizontal plane is located behind the scrubber brush assembly.
However, assuming that the ground is a horizontal plane, mass of main body/handle can be selected such that when the handle is inclined backward, projection of a center of gravity of the scrubber on a horizontal plane is located behind the scrubber brush assembly.
The projection location of a center of gravity is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is the projection location of a center of gravity depends on length and mass of the main body. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the main body has mass and length and it inclines obliquely, was disclosed in the prior art by Ni, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the main body of the scrubber disclosed by Ni having a length and mass to have its projection of the center of gravity to be located behind the scrubber brush assembly (MPEP 2144.05) for allowing a user to maneuver the cleaner easily.
Regarding claim 14, Ni as modified by Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose explicitly the first roller brush in operation has a first traction force; the second roller brush in operation has a second traction force; and a product of the first traction force and the first rotational speed is substantially equal to or greater than a product of the second traction force and the second rotational speed.
However, Ni teaches the front rolling brush 310 and the rear rolling brush 320 have friction coefficients and contact areas (Ni English translation, p. 21:21-23). Additionally, the speed of the front roller 310 can be greater than the speed of the rear roller 320. Examiner notes that the traction force is related to the friction coefficients of the rollers.
Ni fails to explicitly disclose the product of the traction force and the rotational speed of each roller. The product is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a product of the first traction force and the first rotational speed is substantially equal to or greater than a product of the second traction force and the second rotational speed. Since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. each roller has the traction force associated with the friction coefficient and a rotational speed, was disclosed in the prior art by Ni, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the products of roller brushes disclosed by Ni having the traction force and the rotational speed (MPEP 2144.05) for effective mobility of the cleaner and for effective cleaning of debris on the floor surface.
Claims 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (CN 212913093U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS), in view of Ragner (US 7475450, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS), Grossi et al. (IT 201800010254A1, hereinafter Grossi), and Peng et al. (CN 208435477U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS, hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 15, Ni discloses a scrubber (fig. 1 cleaning device), comprising a scrubber brush assembly, the scrubber brush assembly comprising:
a first roller brush (fig. 3 and 5, the front rolling brush 310);
a second roller brush opposite to the first roller brush (figs. 3 and 5, the rear rolling brush 320 is disposed at the rear end of the upper cover 260);
a motor (Ni English translation, p. 11:17 and fig. 4, the driving mechanism 400 includes a motor 410); and
a gearbox, comprising: a first transmission mechanism configured to drive the first roller brush to operate at a first speed; a second transmission mechanism configured to drive the second roller brush to operate at a second speed different from the first speed (Ni English translation, p. 11:11-16, 13:17-33 and figs. 3-5, a mounting part 340 [corresponds to the recited gearbox] includes the driving mechanism 400 wherein the driving mechanism 400 may include a rotor which can be a gear. The driving mechanism 400 drives the front rolling brush 310 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] and the rear rolling brush 320 [corresponds to the second roller brush]. Thus, Ni teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanism without detailed components. The brushes 310 and 320 may have the different rotation speeds); but does not disclose the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms, and an output transmission gear set having a power input terminal connected to an operating terminal of the motor and a power output terminal connected to each of the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner.
Ragner teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 above. Although figures do not distinguish, each end of rotary brush 22, 24 is a pulley for receiving rotational transmission from belts 42, 44. Further details of the first and second transmission mechanisms are discussed below), and
an output transmission gear set having a power input terminal connected to an operating terminal of the motor and a power output terminal connected to each of the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner (col. 2:39-55, a dual-belt drive system 20 comprises a motor 15 and a drive shaft 36 which can be driven through a gear system and is connected to the first and second transmission mechanisms as shown in annotated Ragner fig. 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni to provide the output transmission gear set as taught by Ragner in order to provide appropriate rotation speeds to rotary brushes by slowing a rotation rate (Ragner col. 2:55-58).
Ni as modified by Ragner teaches the motor is in driving connection with the first roller brush by a first transmission mechanism, the first transmission mechanism being configured to drive the first roller brush to operate, the motor is in driving connection with the second roller brush by a second transmission mechanism, and the second transmission mechanism being configured to drive the second roller brush to operate (Ni English translation, p. 6:1, 13:13-29, the driving mechanism/motor 400 drives the front rolling brush 310 and the rear rolling brush 320 to rotate. Thus, Ni teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanism without detailed components),
wherein a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism is smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism (Ni English translation, p. 13:21-29, a rotating speed of a driving mechanism 400 can be provided such that a rotating speed of the front rolling brush 310 is greater than a rotating speed of a rear rolling brush 320. It means the reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism is smaller than that of the second transmission mechanism).
Ni as modified by Ragner does not disclose the output transmission gear set comprises: a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to the operating terminal of the motor, wherein gear teeth are disposed on an outer edge of a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism.
Grossi teaches, in a washing device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the output transmission gear set comprises: a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to the operating terminal of the motor, wherein gear teeth are disposed on an outer edge of a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism (fig. 2, Grossi discloses a flow diverter comprising a motor 28 and gears. An output transmission gear set comprises a planetary gear mechanism 33 coupled to a sun gear 32 disposed at an operating end of the motor 28. The output gears are disposed on a planet carrier 35, 37. The gear teeth of the planetary gears 33 are to be disposed on an outer edge of the planet carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner to provide the planetary gear mechanism as taught by Grossi in order to provide an effective speed reduction stage (Grossi English translation, p. 6:6-10).
Ni as modified by Ragner and Grossi does not disclose the planet carrier is connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and a second output gear engaged with the gear teeth and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner.
Peng teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the planet carrier is connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and a second output gear engaged with the gear teeth and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner (Peng English translation, p. 5:1-11 and annotated Peng fig. 2 above, a cleaning device comprising a rolling brush includes a motor 11. An end of the motor 11 is a driving pulley 12 [corresponds to the recited sun gear] for connecting an operating terminal of the motor to a gear mechanism for power output transmission. A first pulley 15 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] attached to a bracket 18 [corresponds to the recited planet carrier] is coupled to the pulley 12 via a synchronous belt 13, and a pulley 20 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] is coupled to the pulley 15 attached to the bracket 18 via a synchronous belt 17. The pulleys 15 and 20 of Peng can be combined with Ragner’s transmission mechanism to be coupled with the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner and Grossi to provide the recited gears as taught by Peng in order to transfer the rotational power of motor to the rolling brushes of the cleaner for effective cleaning of a floor surface.
Finally, Ni as modified by Ragner, Grossi, and Peng teaches the first transmission mechanism comprises: a first input synchronous pulley connected to the planet carrier; a first synchronous belt; and a first output synchronous pulley connected to the first input synchronous pulley by the first synchronous belt in a transmission manner, and connected to the first roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 above for the first transmission mechanisms comprising the first input synchronous pulley, the first synchronous belt, and the first output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 22 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] is the first output synchronous pulley; Grossi teaches a planet carrier 37 having an output shaft 29 which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output shaft 29 of the planet carrier 37 of Grossi is connected to the first input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the first roller brush), and
the second transmission mechanism comprises: a second input synchronous pulley connected to the second output gear; a second synchronous belt; and a second output synchronous pulley connected to the second input synchronous pulley by the second synchronous belt in a transmission manner and connected to the second roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 for the second transmission mechanisms comprising the second input synchronous pulley, the second synchronous belt, and the second output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 24 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush] is the second output synchronous pulley; Grossi teaches an output shaft 29 transmitting rotations of gears which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output shaft 29 of Grossi is connected to the second input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the first roller brush).
Regarding claim 19, Ni as modified by Ragner, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 15, wherein the gearbox comprises a planetary gearbox and a synchronous belt gearbox, the output transmission gear set being disposed in the planetary gearbox, and the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism being disposed in the synchronous belt gearbox (Grossi English translation, p. 11:13 and fig. 2, the planetary gear 31 is closed by means of a removable cover 51 [corresponds to the recited planetary gearbox]. The output transmission gear set 33, 36 is disposed in the cover 51; Ni fig. 2, synchronous belts 13, 17 are disposed within a cover 21, 22 [corresponds to the recited synchronous belt gearbox]. The belts utilized for the transmission mechanism can be disposed within the cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Grossi, and Peng to provide the gearbox in order to protect rotating gears and belts from being damaged by objects during cleaning operation.
Regarding claim 20, Ni as modified by Ragner, Grossi, and Peng teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein: the motor is located within a space between the first roller brush and the second roller brush (Ragner fig. 1, the motor 15 is located in a space between the rotary brushes 22, 24); and the gearbox is located at a side end of the scrubber brush assembly (Ni, fig. 1, cover 21, 22 [corresponds to the recited gearbox] includes gears within, and the cover 21, 22 is located at a side end of the scrubber brush assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni as modified by Ragner, Grossi, and Peng to provide the motor between the first and second roller brushes as taught by Ragner in order to balance weight of the scrubber brush assembly. A scrubber brush assembly having an unbalanced weight may be uncomfortable for a user to maneuver.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Ni does not teach or suggest the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism, and there is no motivation to combine Ragner with Ni to obtain the solution of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ni teaches the scrubber having two rotating brushes. The drive mechanism 400 of Ni drives the two brushes at different speeds. The Ni reference does not teach the detailed components of the recited first and second transmission mechanisms. Thus, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng are cited to teach the recited components.
Applicant asserts speed reduction mechanism of Ragner is different from the instant application. First, however, claims 1 and 15 recites how components of the first and second transmission mechanisms are connected and the transmission mechanisms are configured to drive roller brushes to operate to have different reduction ratios. It does not recite what makes the difference of the reduction ratios.
Ragner is cited mainly for teaching the transmission comprises the input synchronous pulley (32, 36) is coupled with the output synchronous pulley (22, 24) via the synchronous belt (42, 44). Although Ragner states the speeds of two brushes are achieved by varying sizes of pulleys (different embodiments shown in figs. 2-4) as Applicant mentions, the rotational power transmission is still achieved through the coupling of the input synchronous pulley, the output synchronous pulley, and the synchronous belt.
The first and second transmission mechanisms for speed reduction is also taught by Peng by utilizing synchronous belt 13 between pulleys as discussed in the rejections of claims 9 and 10.
Therefore, while Ragner teaches the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms, Ragner and Peng teach the mechanism configured to achieve the rotational speeds of the brushes. Then, Ranger, Peng, Farmer, and Grossi teach the components for transmitting the rotational power of the motor to the brushes in order to modify the drive mechanism of Ni.
The arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723