DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 05/26/2026, claims 1 and 15 have been amended, and claims 7-10 are cancelled. Claims 2-5 and 16-18 were previously cancelled. Claims 1, 6, 11-15, 19, and 20 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
In response to the drawing objection made in the previous final office action dated on 02/26/2026, Applicant has cancelled claim 7. Therefore, the drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (CN 107854047A, hereinafter Ni ‘047), in view of Ni (CN 212913093U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS, hereinafter Ni ‘093), Ragner (US 7475450, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS), Farmer et al. (US 2018/0199785, hereinafter Farmer), Grossi et al. (IT 201800010254A1, hereinafter Grossi), Peng et al. (CN 208435477U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS, hereinafter Peng), and Sun et al. (CN 205079277U, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 1, Ni ‘047 discloses a scrubber (fig. 1 surface cleaning device), comprising:
a main body (fig. 1, an entire body of the surface cleaning device);
a handle located at one end of the main body and configured to be gripped (fig. 1, a handle is located at one end of the surface cleaning device and it can be gripped by a user); and
a scrubber brush assembly located at another end of the main body (fig. 1, the cleaning device includes a first brush 33 and a second brush 34 in a brush body 10 located at another end of the surface cleaning device) and comprising:
a housing having a front end and a rear end opposite to the front end (fig. 1, the brush body 10 [corresponds to the recited housing] has a front end and a rear end);
a first roller brush disposed in the housing and a second roller brush disposed in the housing (fig. 1, the second brush 34 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] and the first brush 33[corresponds to the recited second roller brush] are disposed in the brush body 10),
wherein the first roller brush has a first rotational speed in operation, and wherein the second roller brush has a second rotational speed in operation (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 4:12-21, a transmission mechanism 20 transmits rotational force to the two brushes respectively to rotate them; 5:13-14, the first brush 33 and the second brush 34 have different rotational speeds in operation),
wherein the scrubber brush assembly comprises a motor located within the housing (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:6-14, a motor 21 is located in the brush body 10, and the motor drives the brushes 33, 34), and
wherein the motor is in driving connection with the first roller brush by a first transmission mechanism, the first transmission mechanism being configured to drive the first roller brush to operate, the motor is in driving connection with the second roller brush by a second transmission mechanism, and the second transmission mechanism being configured to drive the second roller brush to operate (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:1-29, the transmission mechanism 20 drives the first brush 33 and the second brush 34 to rotate. An output shaft of the motor is connected to drive a wheel assembly 22 [corresponds to the recited first transmission mechanism] to rotate the second brush 34 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] and is connected to drive a wheel assembly 23 [corresponds to the recited second transmission mechanism] to rotate the first brush 33 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush]),
wherein the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed by configuring a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism to be smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:1-29, the driving mechanism 20 is connected with the first brush 33 and the second brush 34. A rotating speed of the second brush 34 [corresponds to the first roller brush] is greater than a rotating speed of the first brush 33 [corresponds to the second roller brush]. It would be possible when a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism is smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism. Specification of the instant application does not disclose how the reduction ratio is achieved), but does not disclose a first roller brush is disposed at the front end of the housing and a second roller brush disposed at the rear end of the housing. Ni ‘047 discloses both the first brush 33 [corresponds to the second roller brush] and the second brush 34 [corresponds to the first roller brush] are located at the front end of the housing.
Ni ‘093 teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a first roller brush is disposed at the front end of the housing and a second roller brush disposed at the rear end of the housing (figs. 3 and 5, a front rolling brush 310 is disposed at the front end of the housing and a rear rolling brush 320 is disposed at the rear end of the housing. By combining with Ni ‘093, the first and second brushes of Ni ‘047 can be disposed at the recited locations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni ‘047 to provide the first roller brush and the second roller brush at the front end and the rear end of the housing respectively as taught by Ni ‘093 so that the brushes can cover a large area to clean for effective cleaning.
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 does not disclose the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms.
Ragner teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 below for the detailed components of the first and second transmission mechanisms. Although figures do not distinguish, each end of rotary brush 22, 24 is a pulley for receiving rotational transmission from belts 42, 44. Further details of the first and second transmission mechanisms are discussed below. While Ni ‘047 teaches the second transmission mechanism is driven from the first transmission mechanism after rotating the recited first roller brush, Ragner teaches the first and second transmission mechanisms can be driven separately).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 to provide the first and second transmission mechanisms comprising pulleys and belts as taught by Ragner in order to provide appropriate rotation speeds to rotary brushes by slowing a rotation rate (Ragner col. 2:55-58).
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 and Ragner further teaches the scrubber brush assembly further comprises:
the first transmission mechanism in driving connection with the first roller brush; the second transmission mechanism in driving connection with the second roller brush (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:1-29, the transmission mechanism 20 drives the first brush 33 and the second brush 34 to rotate. Thus, Ni ‘047 teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanism without detailed components), but does not disclose an output transmission gear set comprising a first output gear and a second output gear.
Farmer teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, an output transmission gear set comprising a first output gear and a second output gear (¶ 0074, a cleaning robot comprises a motor 810 for rotating cleaning extractors 265, 270 [correspond to the recited first and second roller brushes]; ¶ 0100 and fig. 21, each extractor is driven by an output gear 1520, 1525. Farmer teaches an output transmission gear set comprises two output gears for rotating two cleaning extractors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 and Ragner to provide the first and second output gears as taught by Farmer in order to rotate two cleaning extractors for better cleaning effect than using only one cleaning extractor.
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, and Farmer does not disclose the output transmission gear set further comprises a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to an operating terminal of the motor; the first output gear disposed on a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism.
Grossi teaches, in a washing device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the output transmission gear set further comprises a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to an operating terminal of the motor; the first output gear disposed on a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism (fig. 2, Grossi discloses a flow diverter comprising a motor 28 and gears. An output transmission gear set comprises a planetary gear mechanism 33 coupled to a sun gear 32 disposed at an operating end of the motor 28. The output gears are disposed on a planet carrier 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, and Farmer to provide the planetary gear mechanism as taught by Grossi in order to provide an effective speed reduction stage (Grossi English translation, p. 6:6-10).
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, and Grossi does not disclose the first output gear connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and the second output gear engaged with the first output gear and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner.
Peng teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the first output gear connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and the second output gear engaged with the first output gear and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner (Peng English translation, p. 5:1-11 and annotated Peng fig. 2 below, a cleaning device comprising a rolling brush includes a motor 11. An end of the motor 11 is a driving pulley 12 [corresponds to the recited sun gear] for connecting an operating terminal of the motor to a gear mechanism for power output transmission. A first pulley 15 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] is coupled to the pulley 12 via a synchronous belt 13, and a pulley 20 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] is coupled to the pulley 15 via a synchronous belt 17. The pulleys 15 and 20 can be replaced with the output gear 1520, 1525 of Farmer to be connected with the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, and Grossi to provide the recited gears as taught by Peng in order to transfer the rotational power of motor to the rolling brushes of the cleaner for effective cleaning of a floor surface.
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng does not disclose the second output gear directly engages with the first output gear. In Peng, the pulley 20 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] is coupled to the first pulley 15 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] via a synchronous belt 17.
Sun teaches, in a gear device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the second output gear directly engages with the first output gear (fig. 5 and Sun English translation, p. 8:32-39, a motor 222 drives a first gear 223 [corresponds to the recited first output gear], and the first gear 223 directly drive a second gear 224 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] to rotate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output gears of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, and Peng to provide the direct engagement as taught by Sun. The direct engagement of the gear allows minimizing loss of the rotational force transmission from the motor.
Finally, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the first transmission mechanism comprises: a first input synchronous pulley connected to the first output gear; a first synchronous belt; and a first output synchronous pulley connected to the first input synchronous pulley by the first synchronous belt in a transmission manner and connected to the first roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 below for the first transmission mechanisms comprising the first input synchronous pulley, the first synchronous belt, and the first output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 22 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] is the first output synchronous pulley; Farmer teaches two output gears 1520, 1525 which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output gear 1520 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] of Farmer is connected to the first input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the first roller brush),
the second transmission mechanism comprises: a second input synchronous pulley connected to the second output gear; a second synchronous belt; and a second output synchronous pulley connected to the second input synchronous pulley by the second synchronous belt in a transmission manner and connected to the second roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 below for the second transmission mechanisms comprising the second input synchronous pulley, the second synchronous belt, and the second output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 24 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush] is the second output synchronous pulley; Farmer teaches two output gears 1520, 1525 which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output gear 1525 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] of Farmer is connected to the second input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the second roller brush).
Annotated Ragner Figure 2
Annotated Peng Figure 2
Regarding claim 6, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: the first roller brush has a first hollow cavity, or the second roller brush has a second hollow cavity; and the motor is received in the first hollow cavity or the second hollow cavity (Ni ‘093, figs. 3 and 5, each of the front and rear rolling brushes 310, 320 has a hollow cavity so that the driving mechanism/motor 400 is received in the cavity of the front rolling brush 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide the motor in the hollow cavity as taught by Ni ‘093 in order to optimize the space use in a small brush head of a cleaner.
Regarding claim 11, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: in an operating state of the scrubber brush assembly, a rotation direction of the first roller brush is opposite to a rotation direction of the second roller brush (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 3:1-2, the first brush and the second brush can rotate in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 12, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: the main body extends obliquely upwards and towards the rear end of the housing (Ni ‘093 English translation, p. 16:12-14, the handle 510 of the cleaner can be inclined, even parallel to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide the main body to extend obliquely upward as taught by Ni ‘093. It provides comfortable configuration for a user to walk and operate the cleaner.
However, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun does not disclose explicitly a projection of a center of gravity of the main body on a horizontal plane is located at a rear part of a projection of a center of gravity of the second roller brush on the horizontal plane.
However, the main body and handle of the cleaner can be inclined obliquely even parallel to the ground. Assuming that the ground is a horizontal plane, projection of a center of gravity of the main body on the horizontal plane must be located at rearward of projection of a center of gravity of the second roller brush.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide its main body to have the center of gravity at the rearward so that a user may maneuver the handle to mover the cleaner to a desired direction easily.
Regarding claim 13, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: the main body extends obliquely backwards relative to the scrubber brush assembly (Ni ‘093 fig. 1, the main body of the handle extends obliquely backward with respect to the scrubber brush assembly; Ni ‘093 English translation, p. 16:12-14, the handle 510 of the cleaner can be inclined, even parallel to the ground. Thus, the main body can lie rearward of the scrubber brush assembly when it is inclined toward to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide the handle to extend obliquely backward as taught by Ni ‘093. It allows a brush head of the surface cleaner traveling under a furniture so that a surface under the furniture can be cleaned conveniently.
However, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun does not disclose explicitly a projection of a center of gravity of the scrubber as a whole on a horizontal plane is located behind the scrubber brush assembly.
However, assuming that the ground is a horizontal plane, mass of main body/handle can be selected such that when the handle is inclined backward, projection of a center of gravity of the scrubber on a horizontal plane is located behind the scrubber brush assembly.
The projection location of a center of gravity is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is the projection location of a center of gravity depends on length and mass of the main body. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the main body has mass and length and it inclines obliquely, was disclosed in the prior art by Ni ‘093, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the main body of the scrubber disclosed by Ni ‘093 having a length and mass to have its projection of the center of gravity to be located behind the scrubber brush assembly (MPEP 2144.05) for allowing a user to maneuver the cleaner easily.
Regarding claim 14, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Farmer, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose explicitly the first roller brush in operation has a first traction force; the second roller brush in operation has a second traction force; and a product of the first traction force and the first rotational speed is substantially equal to or greater than a product of the second traction force and the second rotational speed.
However, Ni ‘093 teaches the front rolling brush 310 and the rear rolling brush 320 have friction coefficients and contact areas (Ni ‘093 English translation, p. 21:21-23). Examiner notes that the traction force is related to the friction coefficients of the rollers.
Ni ‘093 fails to explicitly disclose the product of the traction force and the rotational speed of each roller. The product is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a product of the first traction force and the first rotational speed is substantially equal to or greater than a product of the second traction force and the second rotational speed. Since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. each roller has the traction force associated with the friction coefficient and a rotational speed, was disclosed in the prior art by Ni ‘093, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the products of roller brushes disclosed by Ni ‘093 having the traction force and the rotational speed (MPEP 2144.05) for effective mobility of the cleaner and for effective cleaning of debris on the floor surface.
Claims 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (CN 107854047A, hereinafter Ni ‘047), in view of Ni (CN 212913093U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS, hereinafter Ni ‘093), Ragner (US 7475450, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS), Grossi et al. (IT 201800010254A1, hereinafter Grossi), Peng et al. (CN 208435477U, cited on 09/04/2023 IDS, hereinafter Peng), and Sun et al. (CN 205079277U, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 15, Ni ‘047 discloses a scrubber (fig. 1 surface cleaning device), comprising a scrubber brush assembly, the scrubber brush assembly comprising:
a first roller brush (fig. 1, second brush 34);
a second roller brush (fig. 1, first brush 33);
a motor (fig. 4, motor 21); and
a gearbox, comprising: a first transmission mechanism configured to drive the first roller brush to operate at a first speed; a second transmission mechanism configured to drive the second roller brush to operate at a second speed different from the first speed (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:1-29 and fig. 4, a transmission mechanism 20 includes a gear 222, pulleys, and drive wheel assemblies [corresponds to the recited gearbox]. The transmission mechanism 20 drives the first brush 33 and the second brush 34 to rotate. Thus, Ni ‘047 teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanisms. The brushes 33, 34 may have the different rotation speeds), but does not disclose the second roller brush is located opposite to the first roller brush.
Ni ‘093 teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the second roller brush is located opposite to the first roller brush. (figs. 3 and 5, a front rolling brush 310 is disposed at the front end of the housing and a rear rolling brush 320 is disposed at the rear end of the housing. By combining with Ni ‘093, the first and second brushes of Ni ‘047 can be disposed at positions opposite to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber of Ni ‘047 to provide the first roller brush and the second roller brush at the opposite positions as taught by Ni ‘093 so that the brushes can cover a large area to clean for effective cleaning.
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 does not disclose the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms, and an output transmission gear set having a power input terminal connected to an operating terminal of the motor and a power output terminal connected to each of the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner.
Ragner teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the components of the first and second transmission mechanisms (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 above. Although figures do not distinguish, each end of rotary brush 22, 24 is a pulley for receiving rotational transmission from belts 42, 44. Further details of the first and second transmission mechanisms are discussed below. While Ni ‘047 teaches the second transmission mechanism is driven from the first transmission mechanism after rotating the recited first roller brush, Ragner teaches the first and second transmission mechanisms can be driven separately), and
an output transmission gear set having a power input terminal connected to an operating terminal of the motor and a power output terminal connected to each of the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner (col. 2:39-55, a dual-belt drive system 20 comprises a motor 15 and a drive shaft 36 which can be driven through a gear system and is connected to the first and second transmission mechanisms as shown in annotated Ragner fig. 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni to provide the output transmission gear set as taught by Ragner in order to provide appropriate rotation speeds to rotary brushes by slowing a rotation rate (Ragner col. 2:55-58).
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 and Ragner teaches the motor is in driving connection with the first roller brush by a first transmission mechanism, the first transmission mechanism being configured to drive the first roller brush to operate, the motor is in driving connection with the second roller brush by a second transmission mechanism, and the second transmission mechanism being configured to drive the second roller brush to operate (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 6:1, 13:13-29, p. 5:1-29, the transmission mechanism 20 drives the first brush 33 and the second brush 34 to rotate. Thus, Ni ‘047 teaches the driving mechanism includes the recited first and second transmission mechanism),
wherein the second speed is different from the first speed by configuring a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism to be smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:1-29, the driving mechanism 20 is connected with the first brush 33 and the second brush 34. A rotating speed of the second brush 34 [corresponds to the first roller brush] is greater than a rotating speed of the first brush 33 [corresponds to the second roller brush]. It would be possible when a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism is smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism. Specification of the instant application does not disclose how the reduction ratio is achieved).
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 and Ragner does not disclose the output transmission gear set comprises: a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to the operating terminal of the motor, wherein gear teeth are disposed on an outer edge of a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism.
Grossi teaches, in a washing device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the output transmission gear set comprises: a planetary gear mechanism comprising a sun gear connected to the operating terminal of the motor, wherein gear teeth are disposed on an outer edge of a planet carrier of the planetary gear mechanism (fig. 2, Grossi discloses a flow diverter comprising a motor 28 and gears. An output transmission gear set comprises a planetary gear mechanism 33 coupled to a sun gear 32 disposed at an operating end of the motor 28. The output gears are disposed on a planet carrier 35, 37. The gear teeth of the planetary gears 33 are to be disposed on an outer edge of the planet carrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093 and Ragner to provide the planetary gear mechanism as taught by Grossi in order to provide an effective speed reduction stage (Grossi English translation, p. 6:6-10).
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, and Grossi does not disclose the planet carrier is connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and a second output gear engaged with the gear teeth and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner.
Peng teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the planet carrier is connected to the first transmission mechanism in a transmission manner; and a second output gear engaged with the gear teeth and connected to the second transmission mechanism in a transmission manner (Peng English translation, p. 5:1-11 and annotated Peng fig. 2 above, a cleaning device comprising a rolling brush includes a motor 11. An end of the motor 11 is a driving pulley 12 [corresponds to the recited sun gear] for connecting an operating terminal of the motor to a gear mechanism for power output transmission. A first pulley 15 [corresponds to the recited first output gear] attached to a bracket 18 [corresponds to the recited planet carrier] is coupled to the pulley 12 via a synchronous belt 13, and a pulley 20 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] is coupled to the pulley 15 attached to the bracket 18 via a synchronous belt 17. The pulleys 15 and 20 of Peng can be combined with Ragner’s transmission mechanism to be coupled with the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, and Grossi to provide the recited gears as taught by Peng in order to transfer the rotational power of motor to the rolling brushes of the cleaner for effective cleaning of a floor surface.
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, and Peng does not disclose the second output gear directly engages with the gear teeth. Specification of the instant application states, ¶ 0083, the planet carrier 22 with the gear teeth 221 is used as the first output gear 25. Thus, the gear teeth are the teeth of the first output gear 25.
Sun teaches, in a gear device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the second output gear directly engages with the gear teeth of first output gear (fig. 5 and Sun English translation, p. 8:32-39, a motor 222 drives a first gear 223 [corresponds to the recited first output gear], and the first gear 223 directly drive a second gear 224 [corresponds to the recited second output gear] to rotate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the output gears of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, and Peng to provide the direct engagement as taught by Sun. The direct engagement of the gear allows minimizing loss of the rotational force transmission from the motor.
Finally, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the first transmission mechanism comprises: a first input synchronous pulley connected to the planet carrier; a first synchronous belt; and a first output synchronous pulley connected to the first input synchronous pulley by the first synchronous belt in a transmission manner, and connected to the first roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 above for the first transmission mechanisms comprising the first input synchronous pulley, the first synchronous belt, and the first output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 22 [corresponds to the recited first roller brush] is the first output synchronous pulley; Grossi teaches a planet carrier 37 having an output shaft 29 which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output shaft 29 of the planet carrier 37 of Grossi is connected to the first input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the first roller brush), and
the second transmission mechanism comprises: a second input synchronous pulley connected to the second output gear; a second synchronous belt; and a second output synchronous pulley connected to the second input synchronous pulley by the second synchronous belt in a transmission manner and connected to the second roller brush in a transmission manner (see annotated Ragner fig. 2 for the second transmission mechanisms comprising the second input synchronous pulley, the second synchronous belt, and the second output synchronous pulley; Ragner fig. 1, an end of the rotary brush 24 [corresponds to the recited second roller brush] is the second output synchronous pulley; Grossi teaches an output shaft 29 transmitting rotations of gears which can be combined with Ragner to teach that the output shaft 29 of Grossi is connected to the second input synchronous pulley of Ragner to rotate the first roller brush).
Regarding claim 19, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 15, wherein the gearbox comprises a planetary gearbox and a synchronous belt gearbox, the output transmission gear set being disposed in the planetary gearbox, and the first transmission mechanism and the second transmission mechanism being disposed in the synchronous belt gearbox (Grossi English translation, p. 11:13 and fig. 2, the planetary gear 31 is closed by means of a removable cover 51 [corresponds to the recited planetary gearbox]. The output transmission gear set 33, 36 is disposed in the cover 51; Ni fig. 2, synchronous belts 13, 17 are disposed within a cover 21, 22 [corresponds to the recited synchronous belt gearbox]. The belts utilized for the transmission mechanism can be disposed within the cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide the gearbox in order to protect rotating gears and belts from being damaged by objects during cleaning operation.
Regarding claim 20, Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun teaches the scrubber as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein: the motor is located within a space between the first roller brush and the second roller brush (Ragner fig. 1, the motor 15 is located in a space between the rotary brushes 22, 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide the motor between the first and second roller brushes as taught by Ragner in order to balance weight of the scrubber brush assembly. A scrubber brush assembly having an unbalanced weight may be uncomfortable for a user to maneuver.
Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun further teaches the gearbox is located at a side end of the scrubber brush assembly (Ni ‘093, fig. 1, cover 21, 22 [corresponds to the recited gearbox] includes gears within, and the cover 21, 22 is located at a side end of the scrubber brush assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scrubber brush assembly of Ni ‘047 as modified by Ni ‘093, Ragner, Grossi, Peng, and Sun to provide the gearbox at the side of the scrubber brush assembly as taught by Ni ‘093. By placing the gearbox close to the roller brushes, the rotational force from the gears is transmitted to the roller brushes with minimal loss of power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ni ‘047.
Applicant argues Ni ‘093 discloses the cleaning device comprising a single motor configured to drive only the front roller brush while the rear roller brush is passively driven so that the Ni ‘093’s cleaning device does not have a second transmission mechanism which can adjust a reduction ratio to change rotational speed of the second roller brush. Examiner acknowledges the rear roller brush of Ni ‘093 is passively driven, however, another cited references such as Ragner and Farmer teach a cleaning device comprising a single motor used for driving the both first and second roller brushes.
Nevertheless, Ni ‘047 is newly cited to disclose a cleaning device having a first roller brush and a second roller brush wherein the both roller brushes are actively driven by transmitted power of a single motor.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues none of cited references teaches the first rotational speed is greater than the second rotational speed by configuring a reduction ratio of the first transmission mechanism to be smaller than a reduction ratio of the second transmission mechanism. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, specification does not disclose how the reduction ratio is adjusted. Specification states the reduction ratio of the transmission mechanism can be adjusted freely (¶ 0070). Without explanation of how the reduction ratio is adjusted, any variation or difference of the rotational speed of the roller brush is considered to be achieved by the adjustment of the reduction ratio. Ni ‘047 teaches the rotating speed of the second brush 34 [corresponds to the first roller brush] is greater than a rotating speed of the first brush 33 [corresponds to the second roller brush] (Ni ‘047 English translation, p. 5:1-29). Therefore, the difference of the speeds must be achieved by the reduction ratio adjustment in the first and second transmission mechanisms.
Applicant argues Ragner’s dual-belt drive system does not teach or suggest the speed difference and person of ordinary skill in the art would not combine with Ni ‘093. However, the Ragner reference is cited to teach the cleaning device can have the first and second transmission mechanisms to rotate the first roller brush and the second roller brush respectively.
Applicant also argues Farmer and Grossi do not teach or suggest the speed difference by configuring the reduction ratio of the transmission mechanism. However, the Farmer reference is cited to teach the output transmission gear set comprises a first output gear and a second output gear, and the Grossi reference is cited to teach the output transmission gear set further comprises a planetary gear mechanism wherein the first output gear is disposed on the planetary gear mechanism. They are not cited to teach the reduction ratio.
Applicant further argues Grossi discloses a single-output planetary reduction gear, instead of two output gears. However, as discussed above, the Grossi reference is cited to teach use of the planetary gear disposed between a motor and an output gear. A power transmission path of the instant application is motor, planetary gear mechanism, and first output gear in sequence. The second output gear is engaged to the first output gear. Therefore, the planetary gear mechanism is coupled to the single/first output gear prior to branching out to the second output gear, and it is taught by Grossi.
Applicant argues Peng also discloses a single output. However, the Peng reference is cited to teach a series of power transmission mechanism comprising a single motor and gears wherein the motor transmits rotational power to a first gear and the first gear transmits the rotational power to a second gear. The power transmission mechanism of Peng can be combined with Ni ‘047, Grossi, and Farmer to teach the recited claim limitations.
The instant application presents the scrubber having two roller brushes wherein a single motor provides power to rotate the both roller brushes. In doing so, the instant application utilizes well known power transmission mechanism comprising gears, pulley, and belts. The recited power transmission arrangement may be one of various possible arrangements. Although claims are cancelled, specification of the instant application also presents the power transmission mechanism utilizing two motors.
Here, Ni ‘047 teaches the transmission mechanism rotates two roller brushes by transmitting power from a single motor. Farmer teaches two separate gears rotate the two roller brushes respectively. Peng teaches rotational power can be transmitted to a first output gear from a motor and to a second output gear from the first output gear. While the first gear and the second gear are coupled by a belt in Peng, Sun teaches two gears can be directly engaged to transmit the rotational power. Therefore, combination of all references teaches the recited claim limitations.
Conclusion
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723