DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
200 as shown in Fig. 5A.
202 as shown in Fig. 5A.
204 as shown in Fig. 5B.
206 as shown in Fig. 5C.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “700” has been used to designate both “user interface” (see [0054], [0055], [0058]) and “companion device” (see [0067], [0068], [0069], and [0070]).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0050] recites “companion device 10.” The Examiner suggests amending this to recite “companion device 100” because this is the correct reference numeral for the companion device.
Paragraphs [0042], [0043], and [0054] recite “microcontroller unit 122.” Paragraph [0048] recites “microprocessor 122.” The Examiner suggests clarifying what structure reference numeral 122 refers to.
Paragraphs [0054], [0055], and [0058] recite “user interface 700.” Paragraphs [0067], [0068], [0069], and [0070] recite “companion device 700.” The Examiner suggests clarifying what structure reference numeral 700 refers to.
Paragraphs [0074] recites “companion device 904.” The Examiner suggests amending this to recite “companion device [[904]] 900” to correct the reference numeral for the companion device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 7, 9 – 12, and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregory et al. (US 2020/0147312 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Gregory”).
With regards to claim 1, Gregory discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) a device (42) (see [0042]) for use with a wearable infusion device (20) (see [0033]), the device comprising:
a housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing) configured for attachment to a wearable infusion device (see [0042] “a communication accessory 42 may be provided and configured to couple to the delivery device 20”); and
a sensor (62) (see [0050] and [0057] “the sensor assembly 62 may include a bolus delivery button sensor 66 (FIG. 6) to detect the position of the bolus delivery button 36 (FIG. 2) and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated”) disposed within the housing (see Fig. 6);
wherein the sensor is configured to detect a signal generated by the wearable infusion device upon administration of a dose of a medicament (see [0040], [0055] “The sensor assembly 62 may be configured to sense one or more events such as a relative time when the needle is deployed or a relative time when a bolus is delivered. The communication accessory 42 may transmit a signal indicative of these events to an external device,” [0056] “The sensor assembly 62 may be configured to detect the volume of fluid or medicament in the medicament chamber,” [0057], and [0058]).
With regards to claim 2, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing) comprises a first end (see at 62 in Fig. 6) and a second end (see at 52 in Fig. 6), wherein the sensor is disposed within the first end of the housing (see the location of the sensor 66 in Fig. 6), and wherein the second end of the housing is configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device (see [0045] and Figs. 1, 2, and 6).
With regards to claim 3, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 2, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the first end (see at 62 in Fig. 6) and the second end (see at 52 in Fig. 6) are connected by at least one flexible arm (50) (see [0046] “a body having sidewalls 50” and Fig. 6 showing two sidewalls 50).
With regards to claim 6, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the wearable infusion device (20) (see [0033]) is a wearable patch pump (see [0034] “a patch 22 which couples the delivery device 20 to a user’s skin” and [0035] “the delivery device 20 is a discrete ambulatory insulin delivery pump”), and wherein the medicament is insulin (see [0035] and [0036] “the fluid is insulin of any type”).
With regards to claim 7, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the device (42) (see [0042]) is configured to be wirelessly connected to a user device (96) (see [0055] “The communication accessory 42 may transmit a signal indicative of these events to an external device” and [0072] “the communication accessory 42 may include a communication module 90 configured to communicate (e.g., via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, text message, email, or the internet) with an external device 96”).
With regards to claim 9, Gregory discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) a companion device (42) (see [0042]) for use with a wearable insulin pump (20) (see [0033]), the companion device comprising:
a housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing); and
an electronics assembly (62, 90, 80) (see [0057], [0068] and [0072), disposed within the housing (see Fig. 6), comprising a sensor (66) (see [0057]), a controller (90) (see [0072] and Fig. 12), and a battery (80) (see [0068]),
wherein the companion device is configured to be releasably attached to the wearable insulin pump (see [0042] “a communication accessory 42 may be provided and configured to couple to the delivery device 20”), and
wherein the sensor is configured to detect a signal generated by the wearable insulin pump upon administration of a dose of insulin (see [0036] “the fluid is insulin of any type,” [0040], [0055] “The sensor assembly 62 may be configured to sense one or more events such as a relative time when the needle is deployed or a relative time when a bolus is delivered. The communication accessory 42 may transmit a signal indicative of these events to an external device,” [0056] “The sensor assembly 62 may be configured to detect the volume of fluid or medicament in the medicament chamber,” [0057], and [0058]).
With regards to claim 10, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of Claim 9, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the controller (90) (see [0072] and Fig. 12) is configured to wirelessly transmit the signal detected by the sensor (66) (see [0057], [0072], [0074], [0076] and [0077]) to a user device (96) (see [0072] and Fig. 12) and/or a wireless network (98) (see [0073]).
With regards to claim 11, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of Claim 10, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the signal is transmitted to an application (88) (see [0073]) installed on the user device (96) (see [0075] and Fig. 12), wherein the application is configured to display a number of doses of insulin administered by the wearable insulin pump (see [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the number of bolus deliveries left in the delivery device 20 by subtracting the number of bolus presses from the preprogrammed total number available. The software application 88 on the device may display the total amount of fluid or medicament delivered during a period from when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position.”).
With regards to claim 12, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of Claim 9, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing) comprises a first end (see at 62 in Fig. 6) configured to contain the electronics assembly (62, 90, 80) (see [0068] and [0072) therein and a second end (see at 52 in Fig. 6) configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump (see [0045] and Figs. 1, 2, and 6).
With regards to claim 18, Gregory discloses (see Figs. 1 – 12) a system (see Fig. 1) comprising:
an infusion device (20) (see [0033]);
a companion device (42) (see [0042]) comprising a housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing”) and a sensor assembly (62) (see [0050]) disposed within the housing (see Fig. 6); and
wherein the companion device is configured to be removably coupled to the infusion device (see [0042] “ a communication accessory 52 may be provided and configured to couple to the delivery device 20”), and
wherein the sensor assembly is configured to detect data pertaining to the use of the infusion device and transmit the data to a user device (see [0036] “the fluid is insulin of any type,” [0040], [0055] “The sensor assembly 62 may be configured to sense one or more events such as a relative time when the needle is deployed or a relative time when a bolus is delivered. The communication accessory 42 may transmit a signal indicative of these events to an external device,” [0056] “The sensor assembly 62 may be configured to detect the volume of fluid or medicament in the medicament chamber,” [0057], and [0058]), such that the data is viewable by a user of the user device (96) (see Fig. 12, [0072] “an external device 96,” [0075] “The software application 88 may be stored locally on the external device,” [0076] “The software application 88 on the device may display a list of all the actions sensed by the communication accessory 52 during a period form when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position.”).
With regards to claim 19, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 18, and Gregory further discloses (see Figs. 1 – 12) the system further comprising an application (88) (see [0077]) installed on the user device (96) (see Fig. 12, [0072] “an external device 96,” and [0075] “The software application 88 may be stored locally on the external device.”), wherein the application is configured to display the data pertaining to the user of the infusion device (20) (see [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the number of bolus deliveries left in the delivery device 20 by subtracting the number of bolus presses from the preprogrammed total number available.”).
With regards to claim 20, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 18, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the data corresponds with a number of medicament doses administered by the infusion device (20) (see [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the number of bolus deliveries left in the delivery device 20 by subtracting the number of bolus presses from the preprogrammed total number available. The software application 88 on the device may display the total amount of fluid or medicament delivered during a period from when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 – 5 and 13 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory in view of Cirillo et al. (US 2017/0189625 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Cirillo”).
With regards to claim 4, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, however Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the sensor is an accelerometer.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the sensor is an accelerometer (see [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the sensor of the device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Cirillo such that the sensor is an accelerometer. Here, the sensor of Cirillo is capable of detecting the position of the bolus delivery button 36 and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0057] of Gregory) because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer sensor is capable of sensing movement of the push button shaft (see [0091] of Cirillo). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
The device of Gregory modified in view of a teaching of Cirillo will hereinafter be referred to as the device of Gregory and Cirillo.
With regards to claim 5, the device of Gregory and Cirillo teaches the claimed invention of claim 4, and Gregory further teaches wherein depression of at least one actuator button (36) (see [0057]) of the wearable infusion device generates the signal (see Fig. 1 and [0057] “the sensor assembly 62 may include a bolus delivery button sensor 66 (FIG. 6) to detect the position of the bolus delivery button 36 (FIG. 2) and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated”).
However, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the signal is detectable by the accelerometer.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the signal is detectable by the accelerometer (see [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the device of Gregory and Cirillo in view of a further teaching of Cirillo such that the signal is detectable by the accelerometer. Here, the sensor of Cirillo is capable of detecting the position of the bolus delivery button 36 and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0057] of Gregory) because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer sensor is capable of sensing movement of the push button shaft (see [0091] of Cirillo). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
With regards to claim 13, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the sensor is an accelerometer.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the sensor is an accelerometer (see [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the sensor of the companion device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Cirillo such that the sensor is an accelerometer. Here, the sensor of Cirillo is capable of detecting the position of the bolus delivery button 36 and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0057] of Gregory) because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer sensor is capable of sensing movement of the push button shaft (see [0091] of Cirillo). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
The companion device of Gregory modified in view of a teaching of Cirillo will hereinafter be referred to as the companion device of Gregory and Cirillo.
With regards to claim 14, the companion device of Gregory and Cirillo teaches the claimed invention of claim 13, and Gregory further teaches wherein the insulin pump (20) (see [0033]) comprises at least one dosing button (36) (see [0040]).
However Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the accelerometer is configured to detect a sound or a vibration caused by actuation of the at least one dosing button.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the accelerometer is configured to detect a sound or a vibration caused by actuation of the at least one dosing button (6) (see [0081] “the accelerometer 46 sensor is adapted to detect vibrations of the plunger shaft in X,Y and Z planes to determine whether or not a dose is in fact delivered by the injection pen 2” and [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the accelerometer of the companion device of Gregory and Cirillo in view of a further teaching of Cirillo such that the accelerometer is configured to detect a sound or a vibration caused by actuation of the at least one dosing button. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory in view of Tong et al. (US 2021/0196935 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Tong”).
With regards to claim 8, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Gregory is silent with regards to the device further comprising at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the device (312) (see [0056] “a reusable part 312 connectable to a disposable part 314”) further comprises at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device (314) (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Tong such that the device further comprises at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
With regards to claim 15, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Gregory is silent with regards to the companion device further comprising at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the companion device (312) (see [0056] “a reusable part 312 connectable to a disposable part 314”) further comprises at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump (314) (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the companion device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Tong such that the companion device further comprises at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
The companion device of Gregory modified in view of a teaching of Tong will hereinafter be referred to as the companion device of Gregory and Tong.
With regards to claim 16, the companion device of Gregory and Tong teaches the claimed invention of claim 15, however, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the at least one attachment rail extends at least partially along a length of the companion device.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) extends at least partially along a length of the companion device (312) (see [0056] “a reusable part 312 connectable to a disposable part 314” and Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the companion device of Gregory and Tong in view of a further teaching of Tong such that the at least one attachment rail extends at least partially along a length of the companion device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
With regards to claim 17, the companion device of Gregory and Tong teaches the claimed invention of claim 15, however, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the at least one attachment rail is configured to slide between a gap defined between an enclosure of the insulin pump and a base of the insulin pump.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) is configured to slide between a gap defined between an enclosure of the insulin pump and a base of the insulin pump (see Examiner annotated Fig. 15 below; hereinafter referred to as “Fig. A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the companion device of Gregory and Tong in view of a further teaching of Tong such that the at least one attachment rail is configured to slide between a gap defined between an enclosure of the insulin pump and a base of the insulin pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
Conclusion
/ROBERT F ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
02/09/2026