DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed 11 May 2026 wherein Claims 1, 9, 14, and 18 are amended, Claim 5 is cancelled, no claims are newly added. Therefore Claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 20 are currently pending within the Application.
The Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Specification dated 11 May 2026 has overcome each Drawing and Specification Objection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection dated 11 February 2026 (hereinafter referred to as the “Non-Final Rejection”). Therefore, each Drawing and Specification Objection set forth in the Non-Final Rejection are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleges that Gregory et al. (US 2020/0147312 A1) does not disclose the limitation “wherein depression of at least one actuator button of the wearable infusion device generates a signal detectable by the sensor indicating administration of a dose of a medicament.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Gregory discloses wherein depression of at least one actuator button (64) of the wearable infusion device (20) generates a signal (see [0057] and [0058] where the signal is a magnetic signal or electrical signal) detectable by the sensor (66) indicating administration of a dose of a medicament (see [0040]).
Paragraphs [0057] and [0058] of Gregory recite the following (bolded for emphasis):
[0057] Referring to FIGS. 2 and 6, the sensor assembly 62 may include a bolus delivery button sensor 66 (FIG. 6) to detect the position of the bolus delivery button 36 (FIG. 2) and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated. The bolus delivery button 36 may include a bolus delivery button indicator 64 (FIG. 2) extending to or near the top surface of the housing 24 to interact with bolus delivery button sensor 66.
[0058] In one embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is an optical sensor and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is a pigmented area. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is magnetically sensitive (Hall effect or reed switch) and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is a magnet. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is an optical interrupt device and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 passes into the optical interrupt gap or deflects a spring tab into the gap. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 has electrical contacts and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is a conductive area. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is a switch and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is an extension of the bolus delivery button that strikes the switch. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is a membrane or elastomeric switch with a reversibly displaceable portion that collapses under force and electrically connects contacts under the collapsed portion(s) and returns to its initial shape breaking contact when the force is removed. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is a detect micro switch such as a Panasonic ESE16J001. In another embodiment, the bolus delivery button sensor 66 is a tactile switch. In one embodiment, at least one of the bolus delivery button sensor 66 and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is coated with a waterproofing material (e.g., Parylene or polyurethane). In one embodiment, at least one of the bolus delivery button sensor 66 and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is covered with a hydrophobic coating. In one embodiment, at least one of the bolus delivery button sensor 66 and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is covered with a waterproofing membrane which allows a switch to be activated through the membrane. In one embodiment, at least one of the bolus delivery button sensor 66 and the bolus delivery button indicator 64 is indirectly actuated by a lever arm or spring that is deflected by contact with bolus delivery button indicator 64.
Gregory discloses that the bolus delivery button indicator 64 of the bolus delivery button 36 interacts with the bolus delivery button sensor 66. See [0057]. Gregory further discloses a variety of signals can be generated by the depression of the at least one actuator button. See [0058]. For example, the depression of the bolus delivery button 36 generates a magnetic signal by the magnet bolus delivery indicator 64 that is detected by the hall effect or reed switch bolus delivery button sensor 66. See id. With this embodiment, the signal being generated is the change in magnetic field as the magnet is moved towards the hall sensor. Alternatively, Gregory discloses an electrical signal is generated when the conductive area of the bolus delivery button indicator 64 contacts the electrical contacts of the bolus delivery button sensor 66. Id. Either of these embodiments of Gregory disclose a signal (magnetic or electronic) being generated by the depression of the bolus delivery button 36 wherein the signal is detectable by the sensor 66 indicating that administration of a dose of a medicament has occurred.
The Applicant’s argument that the bolus delivery button 36 itself does not inherently generate a signal when actuated that is detected by the delivery button sensor 66 is found to be unpersuasive because paragraphs [0057] and [0058] of Gregory disclose the bolus delivery button indicator 64 of the bolus delivery button 36 generating a signal which the bolus delivery button sensor 66 can detect wherein this signal indicates that the administration of a dose of a medicament has occurred.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 7, 9 – 12, and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregory et al. (US 2020/0147312 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Gregory”).
Gregory is cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 11 February 2026.
With regards to claim 1, Gregory discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) a device (42) (see [0042]) for use with a wearable infusion device (20) (see [0033]), the device comprising:
a housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing) configured for attachment to a wearable infusion device (see [0042] “a communication accessory 42 may be provided and configured to couple to the delivery device 20”); and
a sensor (62) (see [0050] and [0057] “the sensor assembly 62 may include a bolus delivery button sensor 66 (FIG. 6) to detect the position of the bolus delivery button 36 (FIG. 2) and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated”) disposed within the housing (see Fig. 6);
wherein depression of at least one actuator button (36) of the wearable infusion device generates a signal (see [0057] and [0058] and the disclosed electrical or magnetic signal generated) detectable by the sensor indicating administration of a dose of a medicament (see [0040], [0057] and [0058]).
With regards to claim 2, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing) comprises a first end (see at 62 in Fig. 6) and a second end (see at 52 in Fig. 6), wherein the sensor is disposed within the first end of the housing (see the location of the sensor 66 in Fig. 6), and wherein the second end of the housing is configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device (see [0045] and Figs. 1, 2, and 6).
With regards to claim 3, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 2, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the first end (see at 62 in Fig. 6) and the second end (see at 52 in Fig. 6) are connected by at least one flexible arm (50) (see [0046] “a body having sidewalls 50” and Fig. 6 showing two sidewalls 50).
With regards to claim 6, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the wearable infusion device (20) (see [0033]) is a wearable patch pump (see [0034] “a patch 22 which couples the delivery device 20 to a user’s skin” and [0035] “the delivery device 20 is a discrete ambulatory insulin delivery pump”), and wherein the medicament is insulin (see [0035] and [0036] “the fluid is insulin of any type”).
With regards to claim 7, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the device (42) (see [0042]) is configured to be wirelessly connected to a user device (96) (see [0055] “The communication accessory 42 may transmit a signal indicative of these events to an external device” and [0072] “the communication accessory 42 may include a communication module 90 configured to communicate (e.g., via Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, text message, email, or the internet) with an external device 96”).
With regards to claim 9, Gregory discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) a companion device (42) (see [0042]) for use with a wearable insulin pump (20) (see [0033]), the companion device comprising:
a housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing); and
an electronics assembly (62, 90, 80) (see [0057], [0068] and [0072), disposed within the housing (see Fig. 6), comprising a sensor (66) (see [0057]), a controller (90) (see [0072] and Fig. 12), and a battery (80) (see [0068]),
wherein the companion device is configured to be releasably attached to the wearable insulin pump (see [0042] “a communication accessory 42 may be provided and configured to couple to the delivery device 20”), and
wherein depression of at least one dosing button (36) of the wearable infusion device generates a signal (see [0057] and [0058] and the disclosed electrical or magnetic signal generated) detectable by the sensor indicating administration of a dose of insulin (see [0040], [0057] and [0058]).
With regards to claim 10, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of Claim 9, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the controller (90) (see [0072] and Fig. 12) is configured to wirelessly transmit the signal detected by the sensor (66) (see [0057], [0072], [0074], [0076] and [0077]) to a user device (96) (see [0072] and Fig. 12) and/or a wireless network (98) (see [0073]).
With regards to claim 11, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of Claim 10, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the signal is transmitted to an application (88) (see [0073]) installed on the user device (96) (see [0075] and Fig. 12), wherein the application is configured to display a number of doses of insulin administered by the wearable insulin pump (see [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the number of bolus deliveries left in the delivery device 20 by subtracting the number of bolus presses from the preprogrammed total number available. The software application 88 on the device may display the total amount of fluid or medicament delivered during a period from when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position.”).
With regards to claim 12, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of Claim 9, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing) comprises a first end (see at 62 in Fig. 6) configured to contain the electronics assembly (62, 90, 80) (see [0068] and [0072) therein and a second end (see at 52 in Fig. 6) configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump (see [0045] and Figs. 1, 2, and 6).
With regards to claim 18, Gregory discloses (see Figs. 1 – 12) a system (see Fig. 1) comprising:
an infusion device (20) (see [0033]) comprising at least one actuator button (36);
a companion device (42) (see [0042]) comprising a housing (see [0046] “the communication accessory 42 may include a body having sidewalls 50 and an end wall 52” and Fig. 5 wherein the body is the housing”) and a sensor assembly (62) (see [0050]) disposed within the housing (see Fig. 6); and
wherein the companion device is configured to be removably coupled to the infusion device (see [0042] “ a communication accessory 52 may be provided and configured to couple to the delivery device 20”), and
wherein the sensor assembly (62) is configured to detect a signal (see [0057] and [0058] and the disclosed electrical or magnetic signal generated) generated upon actuation of the at least one actuator button of the infusion device and transmit the signal to a user device (96), such that data representative of the signal is viewable by a user of the user device (see Figure 12, [0072], [0075] “The software application 88 may be stored locally on the external device,” [0076] “The software application 88 on the device may display a list of all the actions sensed by the communication accessory 52 during a period form when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position,” and [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the total amount of fluid or medicament delivered during a period from when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position.”) (Here the data representative of the signal could be either the list of all actions sensed by the communication accessory or the amount of fluid or medicament delivered during the period).
With regards to claim 19, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 18, and Gregory further discloses (see Figs. 1 – 12) the system further comprising an application (88) (see [0077]) installed on the user device (96) (see Fig. 12, [0072] “an external device 96,” and [0075] “The software application 88 may be stored locally on the external device.”), wherein the application is configured to display the data pertaining to the user of the infusion device (20) (see [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the number of bolus deliveries left in the delivery device 20 by subtracting the number of bolus presses from the preprogrammed total number available.”).
With regards to claim 20, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 18, and Gregory further discloses (Figs. 1 – 12) wherein the data corresponds with a number of medicament doses administered by the infusion device (20) (see [0077] “The software application 88 on the device may display the number of bolus deliveries left in the delivery device 20 by subtracting the number of bolus presses from the preprogrammed total number available. The software application 88 on the device may display the total amount of fluid or medicament delivered during a period from when the accessory was placed on the delivery device 20 until the communication accessory 42 senses the needle deploy button 34 returns to the needle retracted position.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory in view of Cirillo et al. (US 2017/0189625 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Cirillo”).
Cirillo is cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 11 February 2026.
With regards to claim 4, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, however Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the sensor is an accelerometer.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the sensor is an accelerometer (see [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the sensor of the device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Cirillo such that the sensor is an accelerometer. Here, the sensor of Cirillo is capable of detecting the position of the bolus delivery button 36 and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0057] of Gregory) because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer sensor is capable of sensing movement of the push button shaft (see [0091] of Cirillo). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
With regards to claim 13, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the sensor is an accelerometer.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the sensor is an accelerometer (see [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the sensor of the companion device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Cirillo such that the sensor is an accelerometer. Here, the sensor of Cirillo is capable of detecting the position of the bolus delivery button 36 and thus detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0057] of Gregory) because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer sensor is capable of sensing movement of the push button shaft (see [0091] of Cirillo). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
The companion device of Gregory modified in view of a teaching of Cirillo will hereinafter be referred to as the companion device of Gregory and Cirillo.
With regards to claim 14, the companion device of Gregory and Cirillo teaches the claimed invention of claim 13, however Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the accelerometer is configured to detect a sound or a vibration caused by actuation of the at least one dosing button.
Nonetheless Cirillo, which is within the analogous art of monitoring devices and accelerometers (see abstract and [0091]), teaches the accelerometer is configured to detect a sound or a vibration caused by actuation of the at least one dosing button (6) (see [0081] “the accelerometer 46 sensor is adapted to detect vibrations of the plunger shaft in X,Y and Z planes to determine whether or not a dose is in fact delivered by the injection pen 2” and [0091] “the accelerometer sensor 46 for sensing movement of the dose selector 5/push button 6 shaft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the accelerometer of the companion device of Gregory and Cirillo in view of a further teaching of Cirillo such that the accelerometer is configured to detect a sound or a vibration caused by actuation of the at least one dosing button. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Cirillo teaches that the accelerometer serves an injection confirmation sensor to confirm that the dosage detected has been injected (see [0081] of Cirillo). Since Gregory teaches a variety of sensors to detect when the bolus delivery button 36 is actuated (see [0058] of Gregory), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the accelerometer of Cirillo is another potential sensor that can be used to determine the actuation of the bolus delivery button.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory in view of Tong et al. (US 2021/0196935 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Tong”).
Tong is cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 11 February 2026.
With regards to claim 8, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Gregory is silent with regards to the device further comprising at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the device (312) (see [0056] “a reusable part 312 connectable to a disposable part 314”) further comprises at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device (314) (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Tong such that the device further comprises at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the device to the wearable infusion device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
With regards to claim 15, Gregory discloses the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Gregory is silent with regards to the companion device further comprising at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the companion device (312) (see [0056] “a reusable part 312 connectable to a disposable part 314”) further comprises at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump (314) (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the companion device of Gregory in view of a teaching of Tong such that the companion device further comprises at least one attachment rail configured to facilitate releasable attachment of the companion device to the insulin pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
The companion device of Gregory modified in view of a teaching of Tong will hereinafter be referred to as the companion device of Gregory and Tong.
With regards to claim 16, the companion device of Gregory and Tong teaches the claimed invention of claim 15, however, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the at least one attachment rail extends at least partially along a length of the companion device.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) extends at least partially along a length of the companion device (312) (see [0056] “a reusable part 312 connectable to a disposable part 314” and Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the companion device of Gregory and Tong in view of a further teaching of Tong such that the at least one attachment rail extends at least partially along a length of the companion device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
With regards to claim 17, the companion device of Gregory and Tong teaches the claimed invention of claim 15, however, Gregory is silent with regards to wherein the at least one attachment rail is configured to slide between a gap defined between an enclosure of the insulin pump and a base of the insulin pump.
Nonetheless Tong, which is within the analogous art of drug delivery methods and systems (see abstract and title), teaches (Figs. 11 – 16) the at least one attachment rail (335) (see [0056] “The rail 333 can be configured to mate with a sliding element 335 (e.g., a c-shaped element)”) is configured to slide between a gap defined between an enclosure of the insulin pump and a base of the insulin pump (see Examiner annotated Fig. 15 below; hereinafter referred to as “Fig. A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the companion device of Gregory and Tong in view of a further teaching of Tong such that the at least one attachment rail is configured to slide between a gap defined between an enclosure of the insulin pump and a base of the insulin pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Tong teaches the sliding element 335 and complimentary rail 333 as a structure for releasably attaching a reusable part 312 comprising control electronics to a disposable part 312 (see [0055] and [0056] of Tong). Here, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the attachment structure of Tong as an alternative attachment structure to the variety of housing and accessory engagement features 44, 46 of Gregory (see [0045] of Gregory). The rail 333 and sliding element 335 advantageously ensure that the disposable part 314 and reusable part 312 are engaged (see [0056] of Tong).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yodfat et al. (US 8,267,921 B2).
Estes et al. (US 2016/0038675 A1).
Quinlan (US 20140378903 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
07/31/2026