DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/23/2022 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18-21 and 24 are pending. Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18-20 and 24 are currently under examination. Claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in Para. 00111, 00129, 00207, 00212, 00216, 00218, 00222. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections – Improper Markush
Claim 1 is rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons: The claims are directed to a large multitude of sequences that have no common searchable structure. Although the sequences are made up of the same four bases, they do not share any significant similarity in the order in which those bases are arranged. Thus, the structures of the sequences are different.
When the Markush grouping is for alternatives of chemical compounds, they shall be regarded as being of a similar nature where the following criteria are fulfilled:
(A) All alternatives have a common property or activity; and
(B) (1) A common structure is present, i.e., a significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives; or
(B) (2) In cases where the common structure cannot be the unifying criteria, all alternatives belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds in the art to which the invention pertains.
In paragraph (B)(1), above, the words “significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives” refer to cases where the compounds share a common chemical structure which occupies a large portion of their structures, or in case the compounds have in common only a small portion of their structures, the commonly shared structure constitutes a structurally distinctive portion in view of existing prior art, and the common structure is essential to the common property or activity. The structural element may be a single component or a combination of individual components linked together.
In paragraph (B)(2), above, the words “recognized class of chemical compounds” mean that there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.
In order for the members of the Markush group to belong to “recognized class of chemical compounds” there must be an expectation that the members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member of the class could be substituted one for the other with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved. In the instant case, activity of any specific nucleic acid molecule or gene is dependent upon the specific sequence of nucleotides. There is no expectation that any one of the genes in claim 1 can be substituted for any of the other with a completely different sequence with the expectation of the same activity.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 12, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear how exactly the “two genetic loci” are “associated” with a disease or condition as well as how specifically the claimed engineered oligonucleotide binds two different RNAs, two separate RNAs, or a single RNA from separate genes.
Claims 8, 9 and 10 recite “the ncRNA” and lacks antecedent basis as it depends from claims 7, 5 and 1 which do not recite a ncRNA.
Claims 12, 19 and 20 are indefinite because the word "optionally" renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 14, 15, 18-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harper et al. (US 20200248179) and evidenced by Ansseau, Eugénie, et al. (Antisense oligonucleotides used to target the DUX4 mRNA as therapeutic approaches in facioscapulohumeral muscular dystrophy (FSHD)." Genes 8.3 (2017)).
MPEP §2131.01 provides guidance as to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections over multiple references. Such rejection has been held to be proper when the extra references are cited to: (C) Show that a characteristic not disclosed in the reference is inherent.
The MPEP states: “To serve as an anticipation when the reference is silent about the asserted inherent characteristic, such gap in the reference may be filled with recourse to extrinsic evidence. Such evidence must make clear that the missing descriptive matter is necessarily present in the thing described in the reference, and that it would be so recognized by persons of ordinary skill.” Continental Can Co. USA v. Monsanto Co., 948 F.2d 1264, 1268, 20 USPQ2d 1746, 1749 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (The court went on to explain that “this modest flexibility in the rule that 'anticipation' requires that every element of the claims appear in a single reference accommodates situations in which the common knowledge of technologists is not recorded in the reference; that is, where technological facts are known to those in the field of the invention, albeit not known to judges.” 948 F.2d at 1268, 20 USPQ at 1749-50.). Note that the critical date of extrinsic evidence showing a universal fact need not antedate the filing date. See MPEP §2124.
The specification describes an antisense oligonucleotide (ASO) as SEQ ID No. 919 that targets IRX5, DUX4, DBET and CNOT3 as shown in Tables 5-6. An ASO is defined as an engineered oligonucleotide in Para. 0415. Thus the claims are interpreted as an ASO having SEQ ID No. 919 and would be considered to anticipate the instant engineered oligonucleotide.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7, 18, 19 and 20, Harper et al. teach an oligonucleotide 19 nucleotides in length comprising instantly claimed SEQ ID No. 919 as shown in the alignment below and further teach oligonucleotides such as siRNA and miRNA (0008). Harper et al. the sequence can be in a AAV vector (see 0017), pharmaceutical carrier (0058), can have nucleotide insertions (see 0020) and can be modified at the 5’ end (see 0011). Harper et al. teach the oligonucleotide can be used for targeting a DUX4 gene (see 0019).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 14, 15 and 24, as shown in the instant specification, the claimed oligonucleotide having SEQ ID No. 919 targets IRX5 and DUX4, thus meeting the limitations of two genetic loci. Harper et al. teach the oligonucleotide can be injected into muscle cells, can treat FSHD and is in a pharmaceutical composition in sterile containers which meets the limitations of a kit in claim 20 (see 0060, 0064-0067). As evidenced by Ansseau et al., DUX4 is involved in Facioscapulohumeral Muscular Dystrophy (FSHD) and therapies using oligonucleotides are used to treat said diseases (see at least abstract and pages 1-2).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, because Harper et al. teach an identical product of an engineered oligonucleotide, the functions as claimed of having a predicted Gibbs free emerging of binding and the function of lowering mRNA expression when contacted with a cell is an inherent feature of the oligonucleotide. It is well established that the patentability of product claims depends on the structure, not function, of the product. “[T]he patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure.” Catalina Mkt. Int’l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 809 (Fed. Cir. 2002). That is, “[f]rom the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing.” In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391 (CCPA 1963).
Furthermore, note that when a rejection is based on a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical to the claimed product, and when the examiner presents reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2112: “[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].”
“There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (rejecting the contention that inherent anticipation requires recognition by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the critical date and allowing expert testimony with respect to post-critical date clinical trials to show inherency); see also Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention."); Abbott Labs v. Geneva Pharms., Inc., 182 F.3d 1315, 1319, 51 USPQ2d 1307, 1310 (Fed.Cir.1999).” See MPEP 2112.
Further, "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004).” See MPEP 2112.
US-16-651-814-805
; Sequence 805, Application US/16651814
; Publication No. US20200248179A1
; GENERAL INFORMATION
; APPLICANT: RESEARCH INSTITUTE AT NATIONWIDE CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL
; TITLE OF INVENTION: MiRNA Detargeting System for Tissue Specific Interference
; SEQ ID NO 805
; LENGTH: 19
; TYPE: RNA
; ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
US-16-651-814-805
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 80; Length 19;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 18; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
SEQ 919 1 GCGAGGCGGCCUCUUCCG 18
||||||||||||||||||
SEQ 805 2 GCGAGGCGGCCUCUUCCG 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper et al. (US 20200248179) and evidenced by Ansseau, Eugénie, et al. (Antisense oligonucleotides used to target the DUX4 mRNA as therapeutic approaches in faciosscapulohumeral muscular dystrophy (FSHD)." Genes 8.3 (2017)) and in view of Winkler, J (Oligonucleotide conjugates for therapeutic applications." Therapeutic delivery 4.7 (2013): 791-809).
Harper et al. is relied upon as above. Harper et al. do not teach the oligonucleotide further comprises a covalent linker conjugated to a ligand.
Winkler et al. teach is was well known the art that oligonucleotides are useful therapeutics but suffer from uptake into cells. Winkler teach oligonucleotides can be conjugated to ligands can improver membrane permeation and receptor-specific cellular uptake (see pages 794-795 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to conjugate the oligonucleotide taught by Harper et al. to improve cellular targeting and uptake to target a gene in FSDH as claimed.
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966; Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., 935 F.2d at 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d at 1117.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include: (1) Actual reduction to practice, (2) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (3) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (such as: i. Complete structure, ii. Partial Structure, iii. Physical and/or chemical properties, iv. Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed structure, and v. Correlation between function and structure), (4) Method of making the claimed invention, (5) Level of skill and knowledge in the art, and (6) Predictability in the art.
Moreover, the written description requirement for a genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by “…disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between functional and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” Thus when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The claims are drawn to a genus of engineered oligonucleotide or salt thereof comprising a polynucleotide that is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of at least a first and a second RNA originating from two genetic loci that are associated with a disease or condition wherein a predicted Gibbs free energy(AG) of binding of the engineered oligonucleotide ranges from about -17 to about -36 kcal mol at about 37 degrees Celsius and at a pH ranging from about 7.2 to about 7.6 with the function binding to an RNA of a gene associated with any disease or condition and inhibiting expression of the gene.
The claims are also drawn to a genus of engineered oligonucleotides or salt thereof that have a 1.2 fold lower expression or activity of a polypeptide encoded by the mRNA compared to the ncRNA.
Oligonucleotides can be single stranded or double stranded, DNA or RNA, modified with 2’, 5’, and 3’ modifications. Single stranded oligonucleotides may have a double stranded region, and double stranded oligonucleotides may have a single stranded region. Some oligonucleotides include structural genes, genes containing control and termination regions, self-replicating systems such as viral or plasmid DNA, single-stranded and double-stranded siRNA and other RNA interference reagents (RNAi or iRNA agents), shRNA, antisense oligos, ribozymes, microRNA, microRNA mimetic, supermir, aptamer, antimir, antagomir, Ul adapter, triplex-forming oligonucleotide, G-quadruplex oligonucleotide, RNA activator, immunostimulatory oligo, and decor oligonucleotides, among others.
The specification describes miRNA guide and passenger strand sequences that can target several different gene and calculated binding free energy (Tables 9, 10). The specification further shows antisense knockdown of DUX4 (00226). The specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing characteristics of the miRNA and antisense oligonucleotides that are concisely shared by the members of the broad genus of engineered oligonucleotides that would convey to one of skill in the art that these oligonucleotides represent the entire genus with the function of binding to an RNA of a gene associated with any disease or condition and inhibiting expression of the gene and having a 1.2 fold lower expression or activity of a polypeptide encoded by the mRNA compared to the ncRNA.
A review of the specification shows that it provides no description or guidance that would allow one of skill to distinguish the functional species of the recited structural genus from the non-functional members without empirical determination.
Since the disclosure and the prior art fail to describe the common attributes and characteristics concisely identifying members of the proposed genus, and because the claimed genus is highly variant comprising a vast number of Cas proteins and different DNA repair pathways, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus claimed.
"A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
Further, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features.” Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007) citing University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is “not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” MPEP 2163. The MPEP does state that for generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative, the Courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gosteli, the Court determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618.
Thus the specification and claims lack written description because it is clear that Applicant did not have possession of every engineered oligonucleotide as claimed.
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521,222 USPQ 369,372-372 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18-20 and 24 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,795,459 (Pat459). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the claims of the patent are drawn to patently indistinguishable subject matter.
The instant claims are drawn to engineered oligonucleotide or salt thereof comprising a polynucleotide that is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of at least a first and a second RNA originating from two genetic loci that are associated with a disease or condition wherein a predicted Gibbs free energy(AG) of binding of the engineered oligonucleotide ranges from about -17 to about -36 kcal mol at about 37 degrees Celsius and at a pH ranging from about 7.2 to about 7.6 with the function binding to an RNA of a gene associated with any disease or condition and inhibiting expression of the gene. An antisense oligonucleotide is defined as an engineered oligonucleotide in Para. 0415 of the instant application.
Claims of Pat459 are drawn to an antisense or salt thereof that is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of at least a first and a second RNA originating from two genetic loci that are associated with a disease or condition wherein a predicted Gibbs free energy(AG) of binding of the engineered oligonucleotide ranges from about -17 to about -36 kcal mol at about 37 degrees Celsius and at a pH ranging from about 7.2 to about 7.6 with the function binding to an RNA of a gene associated with any disease or condition and inhibiting expression of the gene.
MPEP 804 “A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In determining whether a nonstatutory basis exists for a double patenting rejection, the first question to be asked is: Is any invention claimed in the application anticipated by, or an obvious variation of, an invention claimed in the patent? If the answer is yes, then a nonstatutory double patenting rejection may be appropriate.”
“The specification can be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in the claim. Toro Co. v. White Consol. Indus., Inc., 199 F.3d 1295, 1299, 53 USPQ2d 1065, 1067 (Fed. Cir. 1999) ("[W]ords in patent claims are given their ordinary meaning in the usage of the field of the invention, unless the text of the patent makes clear that a word was used with a special meaning.")”.
Thus the claims are not drawn to patentably distinct inventions.
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18-20 and 24 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 100, 2, 3, 5, 15 and 23 of U.S. Application 17,915,215 (APP215). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the claims of the patent are drawn to patently indistinguishable subject matter.
The instant claims are drawn to engineered oligonucleotide or salt thereof comprising a polynucleotide that is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of at least a first and a second RNA originating from two genetic loci that are associated with a disease or condition wherein a predicted Gibbs free energy(AG) of binding of the engineered oligonucleotide ranges from about -17 to about -36 kcal mol at about 37 degrees Celsius and at a pH ranging from about 7.2 to about 7.6 with the function binding to an RNA of a gene associated with any disease or condition and inhibiting expression of the gene.
APP215 is drawn to a method of treating a subject comprising administering a polynucleotide or salt thereof is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of at least a first and a second RNA originating from two genetic loci that are associated with a disease or condition wherein a predicted Gibbs free energy(AG) of binding of the engineered oligonucleotide ranges from about -17 to about -36 kcal mol at about 37 degrees Celsius and at a pH ranging from about 7.2 to about 7.6 with the function binding to an RNA of a gene associated with any disease or condition and inhibiting expression of the gene.
It would have been obvious to use the engineered oligonucleotide in the methods of APP215 and thus the instant claims are not patentably distinct. This is a Provisional Rejection.
Conclusion
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636