Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 12/16/2025 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the claim objections:
Claims 5 & 13 are amended to correct a misspelling to the corrected “a datum plane”.
The claim objection is withdrawn.
With regard to the 112(b) rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to resolve the claiming of the contact points as exactly three contact points and persuasively argues the contact points as adjacency and contact. The 112(b) rejection of the claims is withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to the contact points as exactly three contact points which requires additional search and consideration.
Claims 1-23 have been considered in light of the previous references. The arguments and amended claims do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of the prior references of Cheve in view of Fell and in further view of Delowski.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the casing comprises an exterior skirt, the three contact areas being disposed against the exterior skirt” where “an exterior skirt” is unclear as the disclosure depicts the skirt as the casing side walls (38). The “exterior skirt” is unclear relative to the casing and the term “exterior” of the element “exterior skirt” lacks reference to a structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheve (US 20190285513: “Cheve”) in view of Fell (US 20220034691: “Fell”) and in further view of Delowski (US 20220268800: “Delowski”).
Claim 1. Cheve discloses a sensor module (Fig. 1: 14) configured to detect a mechanical vibration of a component (Fig. 1: 10 & 12) [0006], the sensor module (14) comprising: a base (Fig. 6: 18) configured to be secured on the component (Fig. 1: 10 & 12)[0022: a wheel 10 having a plurality of lugs 12 and a sensor module 14 according to the present disclosure mounted on two adjacent lugs 12]; a circuit board (Fig. 6: 20) mechanically connected to the base (Fig. 6: 18) and having a first side facing (Fig. 6: 36 bottom face) the base (18) and a second side (Fig. 6: 38 top face) facing away from the base (18); and a casing (Fig. 6: 16) inside which is housed the circuit board (20)[0025: a protective cover 16 covers the potting material 48 and protects the second side 38 of the circuit board 20]; wherein the casing (16) comprises two contact areas (two inserts 72) against which the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) abuts [0028: The inserts 72 may be threaded onto the pins 60 like nuts until the base wall 76 comes into contact with the second side 38 of the circuit board 20]. Cheve does not explicitly disclose:
1) the casing comprises contact areas against which the second side of the circuit board abuts.
2) three contact areas which the second side of the circuit board abuts.
With regard to 1) Delowski teaches a hybrid sensor assembly is configured to be mounted on a vehicle to sense structure borne and airborne noises generated as the vehicle travels over the roads. The sensor assembly includes a housing having a circuit board mounted therein, an accelerometer mounted on the circuit board. Delowski further teaches the casing (30) comprises contact areas (44) [0029] against which the second side of the circuit board (32) abuts [0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Delowski’s leg extension from a lower wall of the casing with Cheve’s casing to support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with supports improves the reliability and production efficiency with support contact points integrated into the larger casing supporting structure.
With regard to 2) Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the casing (12) comprises only three contact areas (Fig. 1: 36(a-c)) against which the second side of the circuit board (Fig. 1: 30 bottom side towards casing 12) abuts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by providing additional securing of the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 2. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are positioned so that two contact areas are equidistant from the third contact area.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) are positioned so that two contact areas (24b-c &36b-c) are equidistant from the third contact area (Fig. 1: 24a & 36a which is equidistant to both 24b 36b and 24c 36c) [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged at an equal distance from two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by evenly securing the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 3. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses two contact areas (72 two inserts) are positioned at a longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 2: case 16 with longitudinal end having two 72 inserts contact areas)[0028]. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
one of the contact areas is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches one of the contact areas (Fig. 1: 24-a w/ 36-a on top) is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing, and the two other contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (b-c)) are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 1 shows arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged on the opposite longitudinal end of the case from two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board’s longitudinal ends in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 4. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) comprises a front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and a mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of the casing are the mounting skirt) extending from the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and surrounding the circuit board (20)[0025: and a protective cover 16 covers the potting material 48 and protects the second side 38 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 5. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 4. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas define a datum plane parallel to the front part.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) define a datum plane parallel (Fig. 1: three contact areas are level in a plane) to the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal plane of housing 12 to parallel to plane defined by three contacts (a-c)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged level with two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area leveled out with the two contact areas improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by evenly securing the circuit board ends evenly in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 6. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 4. Cheve further discloses the two contact areas (72 two on longitudinal end) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (horizontal surface of 12 with two 72 interfaces at edge next to mounting skirt) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of 16 casing). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (Fig. 6: 12 horizontal surface) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of casing 12 with contact areas at edge) [0035] & [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board edges for a walled or skirted casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board edges in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 7. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one spacer connecting the base and the circuit board, the at least one spacer being connected to the circuit board in a zone of the circuit board positioned between the three contact areas.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) connecting the base (42) and the circuit board (30), the at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) being connected to the circuit board (30) in a zone of the circuit board (Fig. 4 post near center of 30 which is between end mounted contact areas) positioned between the three contact areas (Fig. 6: 24 with 36 a-c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area and a central spacer on the opposing circuit board ends to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 8. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses a potting material (48) between the casing (16) and the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) [0028].
Claim 9. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the circuit board (20) comprises a piezoelectric vibration sensor (42) [0025: a piezoelectric vibration sensor 42, and a wireless transmitter 44 and an antenna 46 may be mounted to the first side 36 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 10. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses a vehicle wheel assembly (10 & 12) comprising: a wheel (10) having a component comprising studs (12); and a sensor module (20) according to claim 1 mounted on the studs (12) of the wheel (10)[0022: FIG. 1 shows a wheel 10 having a plurality of lugs 12 and a sensor module 14 according to the present disclosure mounted on two adjacent lugs 12].
Claim 11. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 2. Cheve further discloses two contact areas (72 two inserts) are positioned at a longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 2: case 16 with longitudinal end having two 72 inserts contact areas)[0028]. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
one of the contact areas is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing, and the two other contact areas are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches one of the contact areas (Fig. 1: 24-a w/ 36-a on top) is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing (12), and the two other contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (b-c)) are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 1 shows arrangement of two contacts (b&c) on other longitudinal end from single contact (a)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged on the opposite longitudinal end of the case to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area on opposite edges of the circuit board improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board ends in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 12. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 11. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) comprises a front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and a mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of the casing are the mounting skirt) extending from the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and surrounding the circuit board (20)[0025: and a protective cover 16 covers the potting material 48 and protects the second side 38 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 13. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 12. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas define a datum plane parallel to the front part.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) define a datum plane parallel (Fig. 1: three contact areas are level in a plane) to the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal plane of housing 12 to parallel to plane defined by three contacts (a-c)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged level with two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area leveled out with the two contact areas improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by evenly securing the circuit board ends evenly in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 14. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 13. Cheve further discloses the two contact areas (72 two on longitudinal end) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (horizontal surface of 12 with two 72 interfaces at edge next to mounting skirt) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of 16 casing). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (Fig. 6: 12 horizontal surface) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of casing 12 with contact areas at edge) [0035] & [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board edges for a walled or skirted casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board edges in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 15. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 14. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one spacer connecting the base and the circuit board, the at least one spacer being connected to the circuit board in a zone of the circuit board positioned between the three contact areas.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) connecting the base (42) and the circuit board (30), the at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) being connected to the circuit board (30) in a zone of the circuit board (Fig. 4 post near center of 30 which is between end mounted contact areas) positioned between the three contact areas (Fig. 6: 24 with 36 a-c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area and a central spacer on the opposing circuit board base to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area and supporting spacer improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board ends by multiple direction securing in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 16. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 15. Cheve further discloses a potting material (48) between the casing (16) and the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) [0028].
Claim 17. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 16. Cheve further discloses the circuit board (20) comprises a piezoelectric vibration sensor (42)[0025: a first sensor, such as a piezoelectric vibration sensor 42, and a wireless transmitter 44 and an antenna 46 may be mounted to the first side 36 of the circuit board 20].
Claims 18-20 & 22-23. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
1) the casing forms an exterior of the sensor module and a shell defining an interior in which the circuit board is disposed, the casing comprises an exterior skirt, the three contact areas being disposed against the exterior skirt and where contacts fixed to the shell and the casing includes projections, each projection forming one of the contact areas and the casing comprises a base and a skirt extending from the base, the base and the skirt defining an interior in which the circuit board is disposed, the projections extending along and in contact with the skirt.
2) three contact areas which the second side of the circuit board abuts.
With regard to 1) Delowski teaches a hybrid sensor assembly is configured to be mounted on a vehicle to sense structure borne and airborne noises generated as the vehicle travels over the roads. The sensor assembly includes a housing having a circuit board mounted therein, an accelerometer mounted on the circuit board. Delowski further teaches the casing (30) forms an exterior of the sensor module (42) and a shell (44) defining an interior (Fig. 1 44 lower wall of casing 29) in which the circuit board (32) is disposed [0029] the casing comprises an exterior skirt (46 & 48), the contact areas [0029] being disposed against the exterior skirt (46 & 48) and wherein the contacts fixed to the shell (44) and the casing (30) includes projections [0029: legs], each projection [0029: legs], forming one of the contact areas [0029] and the casing (30) comprises a base (44b) and a skirt [0029: legs extend from casing lower wall 44] extending from the base (44b)[0029], the base (44b) and the skirt [0029: legs extend from casing lower wall 44] defining an interior (44) in which the circuit board (32) is disposed [0029], the projections [0029: legs] extending along and in contact with the skirt [0029: legs extend from casing lower wall 44].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Delowski’s leg extensions from a lower wall shell of the casing with Cheve’s casing to support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with supports improves the reliability and production efficiency with support contact points integrated into the larger casing supporting structure.
With regard to 2) Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (16) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the casing (16) comprises only three contact areas (Fig. 1: 36(a-c)) against which the second side of the circuit board (Fig. 1: 30 bottom side towards casing 12) abuts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by providing additional securing of the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 21. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses contact areas (two inserts 72) are arranged to come into contact with the second side of the circuit board (20) when the casing (Figs. 1 & 6: 12) is positioned over the circuit board (Figs. 1 & 6: 20). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are arranged to come into contact with the second side of the circuit board when the casing is positioned over the circuit board.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the casing (12) comprises only three contact areas (Fig. 1: 36(a-c)) against which the second side of the circuit board (Fig. 1: 30 bottom side towards casing 12) abuts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by providing additional securing of the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855