Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 08/26/2026 includes changes to the claims, remarks and arguments related to the previous rejection. The above have been entered and considered. Claims 1-3, 5-11 & 13-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 112(b) rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 20 to remove the limitation “the casing comprises an exterior skirt, the three contact areas being disposed against the exterior skirt” which resolves the clarity of the claim. The 112(b) rejection of the claim is withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejection:
Applicant has amended Claim 1 to roll-up the limitations of Claims 4 & 12 and add a new limitation that requires additional search and consideration:
“the mounting skirt toward the second side of the circuit board, against which the second side of the circuit board directly abuts”
Claims 1-3, 5-11 & 13-23 have been considered in light of the previous references. The arguments and amended claims do not overcome the prior art at the time of the filing of the invention. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of the prior references of Cheve in view of the new reference of Saffari (US 5365062: “Saffari”).
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 13-14 & 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheve (US 20190285513: “Cheve”) in view of Saffari (US 5365062: “Saffari”).
Claim 1. Cheve discloses a sensor module (Fig. 1: 14) configured to detect a mechanical vibration of a component (Fig. 1: 10 & 12) [0006], the sensor module (14) comprising: a base (Fig. 6: 18) configured to be secured on the component (Fig. 1: 10 & 12)[0022: a wheel 10 having a plurality of lugs 12 and a sensor module 14 according to the present disclosure mounted on two adjacent lugs 12]; a circuit board (Fig. 6: 20) mechanically connected to the base (Fig. 6: 18) and having a first side facing (Fig. 6: 36 component face) the base (18) and a second side (Fig. 6: 38 back support) facing away from the base (18); and a casing (Fig. 6: 16) positioned over the circuit board (20), the circuit board (20) being housed inside the casing (16), the casing comprising a front part (back wall of 16) and a mounting skirt (16 vertical walls from back wall) extending from the front part (back wall of 16) and surrounding the circuit board (20)[0025-0026]. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) comprises two contact areas (two inserts 72) against which the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) abuts [0028: The inserts 72 may be threaded onto the pins 60 like nuts until the base wall 76 comes into contact with the second side 38 of the circuit board 20]. Cheve does not explicitly disclose:
the casing has exactly three contact areas protruding inwardly from at least one of the front part and the mounting skirt toward the second side of the circuit board, against which the second side of the circuit board directly abuts.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further teaches the casing (Fig. 7: 4a circuit casing for a sensor) has exactly three contact areas (4d) protruding inwardly [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a] from at least one of the front part (4b) and the mounting skirt (4a walls with 4e) toward the second side (bottom of 12) of the circuit board (12), against which the second side (bottom of 12) of the circuit board (12) directly abuts [Col. 4 lines 12-27: A circuit board 12 is mounted in the chamber 4a prior to attaching the cover 6 to the housing 4. Circuit board 12 has a rectangular profile complemental to the interior profile of chamber 4a and is dimensioned to provide a minimal clearance in the opening. As seen in FIGS. 7, 8 and 10, circuit board 12 is provided with three semicircular recesses 12a in the bottom and two opposite side edges of the circuit board as oriented in the drawings. The radius defining the respective recesses 12a is larger than the corresponding radius defining the semicylindrical bosses 4d. Further, as may be seen particularly in FIG. 7, the recesses 12a in the side edges of circuit board 12 are offset upwardly from the bosses 4d such that engagement between the respective bosses 4d and recesses 12a occurs in the lower quadrant of each, thereby urging circuit board 12 downwardly upon the crest of the boss 4d engaging the recess 12a in the bottom edge of the circuit board. This provides a three-point interference fit for the circuit board 12 within the housing chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s housing 4 walls with stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed on housing walls with Cheve’s casing walls to support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 2. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified with motivation to combine by Saffari the three contact areas of claim 1. Cheve nor Saffari explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are positioned so that two contact areas are equidistant from the third contact area.
The arrangement of the boss’s contact area is an obvious design choice based on length of the circuit board. Since the courts have held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art In re Japiske, (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(c)), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange Cheve’s as modified by Saffari’s the three contact areas (4d) positioned so that two contact areas are equidistant from the third contact area (4d on wall 4e) because the arrangement improves the circuit boards lateral support by providing opposing support on the longest side lengths.
Claim 3. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses two contact areas (72 two inserts) are positioned at a longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 2: case 16 with longitudinal end having two 72 inserts contact areas)[0028]. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
one of the contact areas is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further teaches one of the contact areas (4d) is positioned at a first longitudinal end (4e) of the casing (4a) [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s housing 4 walls with stepped-down semicylindrical boss 4d on an end wall 4e with Cheve’s, as modified, end wall placement because the arrangement of a boss/contact point on a shorter end wall improves the reliability of the sensor by providing end support stability to the circuit board against rotation from side supporting pivots formed by side boss/contacts [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 5. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 4. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas define a datum plane parallel to the front part.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further the three contact areas (4d) a datum plane parallel to the front part (4b) [Col. 4 lines 12-27: A circuit board 12 is mounted in the chamber 4a prior to attaching the cover 6 to the housing 4. Circuit board 12 has a rectangular profile complemental to the interior profile of chamber 4a and is dimensioned to provide a minimal clearance in the opening. As seen in FIGS. 7, 8 and 10, circuit board 12 is provided with three semicircular recesses 12a in the bottom and two opposite side edges of the circuit board as oriented in the drawings. The radius defining the respective recesses 12a is larger than the corresponding radius defining the semicylindrical bosses 4d. Further, as may be seen particularly in FIG. 7, the recesses 12a in the side edges of circuit board 12 are offset upwardly from the bosses 4d such that engagement between the respective bosses 4d and recesses 12a occurs in the lower quadrant of each, thereby urging circuit board 12 downwardly upon the crest of the boss 4d engaging the recess 12a in the bottom edge of the circuit board. This provides a three-point interference fit for the circuit board 12 within the housing chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s planar supporting bosses 4d formed on housing walls from the front face with Cheve’s casing walls to provide planar support the circuit because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 6. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 4. Cheve further discloses the two contact areas (72 two on longitudinal end) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (horizontal surface of 12 with two 72 interfaces at edge next to mounting skirt) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of 16 casing). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further the three contact areas (4d protrusions from the sidewalls down to the front face 4b) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s planar supporting bosses 4d formed on housing walls from the front face with Cheve’s casing walls to provide planar support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 8. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses a potting material (48) between the casing (16) and the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) [0028].
Claim 9. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the circuit board (20) comprises a piezoelectric vibration sensor (42) [0025: a piezoelectric vibration sensor 42, and a wireless transmitter 44 and an antenna 46 may be mounted to the first side 36 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 10. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses a vehicle wheel assembly (10 & 12) comprising: a wheel (10) having a component comprising studs (12); and a sensor module (20) according to claim 1 mounted on the studs (12) of the wheel (10)[0022: FIG. 1 shows a wheel 10 having a plurality of lugs 12 and a sensor module 14 according to the present disclosure mounted on two adjacent lugs 12].
Claim 13. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 12. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas define a datum plane parallel to the front part.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further the three contact areas (4d) a datum plane parallel to the front part (4b) [Col. 4 lines 12-27: A circuit board 12 is mounted in the chamber 4a prior to attaching the cover 6 to the housing 4. Circuit board 12 has a rectangular profile complemental to the interior profile of chamber 4a and is dimensioned to provide a minimal clearance in the opening. As seen in FIGS. 7, 8 and 10, circuit board 12 is provided with three semicircular recesses 12a in the bottom and two opposite side edges of the circuit board as oriented in the drawings. The radius defining the respective recesses 12a is larger than the corresponding radius defining the semicylindrical bosses 4d. Further, as may be seen particularly in FIG. 7, the recesses 12a in the side edges of circuit board 12 are offset upwardly from the bosses 4d such that engagement between the respective bosses 4d and recesses 12a occurs in the lower quadrant of each, thereby urging circuit board 12 downwardly upon the crest of the boss 4d engaging the recess 12a in the bottom edge of the circuit board. This provides a three-point interference fit for the circuit board 12 within the housing chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s planar supporting bosses 4d formed on housing walls from the front face with Cheve’s casing walls to provide planar support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 14. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 13. Cheve further discloses the two contact areas (72 two on longitudinal end) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (horizontal surface of 12 with two 72 interfaces at edge next to mounting skirt) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of 16 casing). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further the three contact areas (4d protrusions from the sidewalls down to the front face 4b) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s planar supporting bosses 4d formed on housing walls from the front face with Cheve’s casing walls to provide planar support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 16. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 15. Cheve further discloses a potting material (48) between the casing (16) and the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) [0028].
Claim 17. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 16. Cheve further discloses the circuit board (20) comprises a piezoelectric vibration sensor (42)[0025: a first sensor, such as a piezoelectric vibration sensor 42, and a wireless transmitter 44 and an antenna 46 may be mounted to the first side 36 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 18. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) forms an exterior of the sensor module [0022-0023].
Claims 19-20. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) a shell defining an interior in which the circuit board (20) is disposed [0022-0023]. Cheve does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas being fixed to the shell and wherein the three contact areas are disposed against the mounting skirt.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further teaches the casing (Fig. 7: 4a circuit casing for a sensor) has exactly three contact areas (4d) protruding inwardly [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a] being fixed to the shell (4a casing walls) and wherein the three contact areas (4d) are disposed against the mounting skirt (4a walls with 4e) [Col. 4 lines 12-27: A circuit board 12 is mounted in the chamber 4a prior to attaching the cover 6 to the housing 4. Circuit board 12 has a rectangular profile complemental to the interior profile of chamber 4a and is dimensioned to provide a minimal clearance in the opening. As seen in FIGS. 7, 8 and 10, circuit board 12 is provided with three semicircular recesses 12a in the bottom and two opposite side edges of the circuit board as oriented in the drawings. The radius defining the respective recesses 12a is larger than the corresponding radius defining the semicylindrical bosses 4d. Further, as may be seen particularly in FIG. 7, the recesses 12a in the side edges of circuit board 12 are offset upwardly from the bosses 4d such that engagement between the respective bosses 4d and recesses 12a occurs in the lower quadrant of each, thereby urging circuit board 12 downwardly upon the crest of the boss 4d engaging the recess 12a in the bottom edge of the circuit board. This provides a three-point interference fit for the circuit board 12 within the housing chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s housing 4 walls with stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed on housing walls with Cheve’s casing walls to support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claim 21. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses contact areas (two inserts 72) are arranged to come into contact with the second side of the circuit board (20) when the casing (Figs. 1 & 6: 12) is positioned over the circuit board (Figs. 1 & 6: 20). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are arranged to come into contact with the second side of the circuit board when the casing is positioned over the circuit board.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further teaches the three contact areas (4d) are arranged to come into contact [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a] with the second side (bottom 38) of the circuit board (12) when the casing is positioned over the circuit board (12) [Col. 4 lines 12-27: A circuit board 12 is mounted in the chamber 4a prior to attaching the cover 6 to the housing 4. Circuit board 12 has a rectangular profile complemental to the interior profile of chamber 4a and is dimensioned to provide a minimal clearance in the opening. As seen in FIGS. 7, 8 and 10, circuit board 12 is provided with three semicircular recesses 12a in the bottom and two opposite side edges of the circuit board as oriented in the drawings. The radius defining the respective recesses 12a is larger than the corresponding radius defining the semicylindrical bosses 4d. Further, as may be seen particularly in FIG. 7, the recesses 12a in the side edges of circuit board 12 are offset upwardly from the bosses 4d such that engagement between the respective bosses 4d and recesses 12a occurs in the lower quadrant of each, thereby urging circuit board 12 downwardly upon the crest of the boss 4d engaging the recess 12a in the bottom edge of the circuit board. This provides a three-point interference fit for the circuit board 12 within the housing chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s housing 4 walls with stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed on housing walls with Cheve’s casing walls to support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claims 22 & 23. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve does not explicitly disclose:
The casing includes three projections, each projection forming one of the contact areas and the casing comprises a base and a skirt extending from the base, the base and the skirt defining an interior in which the circuit board is disposed, the three projections extending along and in contact with the skirt.
Saffari teaches a photoelectric sensor assembly which is particularly low cost and of modular construction to permit field replaceability of the electronics of the device without need to replace the lens, housing, mounting block and other hardware elements that comprise a photoelectric sensor [Col. 1 lines 35-40]. Saffari further teaches the casing (Fig. 7: 4a circuit casing for a sensor) has exactly three contact areas (4d) includes three projections, each projection forming one of the contact areas and the casing comprises a base and a skirt extending from the base [Col. 3 lines 10-15: The ends of ribs 4c adjacent the open side of housing 4 have stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed thereon providing a shoulder between the respective rib 4c and bosses 4d. A third boss 4d is formed on the face of a bottom wall 4e of the housing adjacent chamber 4a] the base and the skirt (4a walls with 4e) defining an interior in which the circuit board (12) is disposed, the three projections extending along and in contact with the skirt (4a walls with 4e) [Col. 4 lines 12-27: A circuit board 12 is mounted in the chamber 4a prior to attaching the cover 6 to the housing 4. Circuit board 12 has a rectangular profile complemental to the interior profile of chamber 4a and is dimensioned to provide a minimal clearance in the opening. As seen in FIGS. 7, 8 and 10, circuit board 12 is provided with three semicircular recesses 12a in the bottom and two opposite side edges of the circuit board as oriented in the drawings. The radius defining the respective recesses 12a is larger than the corresponding radius defining the semicylindrical bosses 4d. Further, as may be seen particularly in FIG. 7, the recesses 12a in the side edges of circuit board 12 are offset upwardly from the bosses 4d such that engagement between the respective bosses 4d and recesses 12a occurs in the lower quadrant of each, thereby urging circuit board 12 downwardly upon the crest of the boss 4d engaging the recess 12a in the bottom edge of the circuit board. This provides a three-point interference fit for the circuit board 12 within the housing chamber 4a].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Saffari’s housing 4 walls with stepped-down semicylindrical bosses 4d formed on housing walls with Cheve’s casing walls to support the circuit board because the arrangement of a casing with integral circuit board support is cost efficient to manufacture and simplifies maintenance with fewer parts by providing circuit board support through a minimal three support points created integral to the casing [Saffari Col. 1 lines 35-45].
Claims 7, 11 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheve in view of Saffari and in further view of Fell (US 20220034691: “Fell”).
Claim 7. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one spacer connecting the base and the circuit board, the at least one spacer being connected to the circuit board in a zone of the circuit board positioned between the three contact areas.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) connecting the base (42) and the circuit board (30), the at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) being connected to the circuit board (30) in a zone of the circuit board (Fig. 4 post near center of 30 which is between end mounted contact areas) positioned between the three contact areas (Fig. 6: 24 with 36 a-c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area and a central spacer on the opposing circuit board ends to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 11. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 2. Cheve further discloses two contact areas (72 two inserts) are positioned at a longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 2: case 16 with longitudinal end having two 72 inserts contact areas)[0028]. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
one of the contact areas is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing, and the two other contact areas are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches one of the contact areas (Fig. 1: 24-a w/ 36-a on top) is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing (12), and the two other contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (b-c)) are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 1 shows arrangement of two contacts (b&c) on other longitudinal end from single contact (a)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged on the opposite longitudinal end of the case to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area on opposite edges of the circuit board improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board ends in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 15. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 14. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one spacer connecting the base and the circuit board, the at least one spacer being connected to the circuit board in a zone of the circuit board positioned between the three contact areas.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) connecting the base (42) and the circuit board (30), the at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) being connected to the circuit board (30) in a zone of the circuit board (Fig. 4 post near center of 30 which is between end mounted contact areas) positioned between the three contact areas (Fig. 6: 24 with 36 a-c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area and a central spacer on the opposing circuit board base to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area and supporting spacer improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board ends by multiple direction securing in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monica S Young whose telephone number is (303)297-4785. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 08:30-05:30 MST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855