Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Objection
Claims 5 & 13 recite the limitation “the three contact areas define a datum plan” which seems to have a scrivener’s error as it seems “a datum plane” is described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “casing comprises only three contact areas against which the second side of the circuit board abuts” which is unclear if the term “comprises only three contact areas” limits the casing to only the three contact areas as there are other features later claimed (i.e. a spacer). It seems the claim is citing “at least three contact areas” or a direct claim of “comprises three contact areas”.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11 & 13-14 recite an element of “contact areas” which are structurally unclear as to what is required. Examiner looks to the specification for the structure of a protrusion [0041: protrusion of the front part 36 or from the mounting skirt 38].
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheve (US 20190285513: “Cheve”) in view of Fell (US 20220034691; “Fell”).
Claim 1. Cheve discloses a sensor module (Fig. 1: 14) configured to detect a mechanical vibration of a component (Fig. 1: 10 & 12) [0006], the sensor module (14) comprising: a base (Fig. 6: 18) configured to be secured on the component (Fig. 1: 10 & 12)[0022: a wheel 10 having a plurality of lugs 12 and a sensor module 14 according to the present disclosure mounted on two adjacent lugs 12]; a circuit board (Fig. 6: 20) mechanically connected to the base (Fig. 6: 18) and having a first side facing (Fig. 6: 36 bottom face) the base (18) and a second side (Fig. 6: 38 top face) facing away from the base (18); and a casing (Fig. 6: 16) inside which is housed the circuit board (20)[0025: a protective cover 16 covers the potting material 48 and protects the second side 38 of the circuit board 20]; wherein the casing (16) comprises only two contact areas (two inserts 72) against which the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) abuts [0028: The inserts 72 may be threaded onto the pins 60 like nuts until the base wall 76 comes into contact with the second side 38 of the circuit board 20]. Cheve does not explicitly disclose:
the casing comprises only three contact areas against which the second side of the circuit board abuts.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the casing (12) comprises only three contact areas (Fig. 1: 36(a-c)) against which the second side of the circuit board (Fig. 1: 30 bottom side towards casing 12) abuts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing to Cheve’s case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by providing additional securing of the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 2. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are positioned so that two contact areas are equidistant from the third contact area.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) are positioned so that two contact areas (24b-c &36b-c) are equidistant from the third contact area (Fig. 1: 24a & 36a which is equidistant to both 24b 36b and 24c 36c) [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged at an equal distance from two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by evenly securing the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 3. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses two contact areas (72 two inserts) are positioned at a longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 2: case 16 with longitudinal end having two 72 inserts contact areas)[0028]. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
one of the contact areas is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches one of the contact areas (Fig. 1: 24-a w/ 36-a on top) is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing, and the two other contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (b-c)) are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 1 shows arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged on the opposite longitudinal end of the case from two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board’s longitudinal ends in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 4. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) comprises a front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and a mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of the casing are the mounting skirt) extending from the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and surrounding the circuit board (20)[0025: and a protective cover 16 covers the potting material 48 and protects the second side 38 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 5. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 4. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas define a datum plan parallel to the front part.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) define a datum plan parallel (Fig. 1: three contact areas are level in a plane) to the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal plane of housing 12 to parallel to plane defined by three contacts (a-c)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged level with two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area leveled out with the two contact areas improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by evenly securing the circuit board ends evenly in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 6. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 4. Cheve further discloses the two contact areas (72 two on longitudinal end) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (horizontal surface of 12 with two 72 interfaces at edge next to mounting skirt) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of 16 casing). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (Fig. 6: 12 horizontal surface) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of casing 12 with contact areas at edge) [0035] & [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board edges for a walled or skirted casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board edges in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 7. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one spacer connecting the base and the circuit board, the at least one spacer being connected to the circuit board in a zone of the circuit board positioned between the three contact areas.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) connecting the base (42) and the circuit board (30), the at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) being connected to the circuit board (30) in a zone of the circuit board (Fig. 4 post near center of 30 which is between end mounted contact areas) positioned between the three contact areas (Fig. 6: 24 with 36 a-c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area and a central spacer on the opposing circuit board ends to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board end in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 8. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses a potting material (48) between the casing (16) and the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) [0028].
Claim 9. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses the circuit board (20) comprises a piezoelectric vibration sensor (42) [0025: a piezoelectric vibration sensor 42, and a wireless transmitter 44 and an antenna 46 may be mounted to the first side 36 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 10. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 1. Cheve further discloses a vehicle wheel assembly (10 & 12) comprising: a wheel (10) having a component comprising studs (12); and a sensor module (20) according to claim 1 mounted on the studs (12) of the wheel (10)[0022: FIG. 1 shows a wheel 10 having a plurality of lugs 12 and a sensor module 14 according to the present disclosure mounted on two adjacent lugs 12].
Claim 11. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 2. Cheve further discloses two contact areas (72 two inserts) are positioned at a longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 2: case 16 with longitudinal end having two 72 inserts contact areas)[0028]. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
one of the contact areas is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing, and the two other contact areas are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches one of the contact areas (Fig. 1: 24-a w/ 36-a on top) is positioned at a first longitudinal end of the casing (12), and the two other contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (b-c)) are positioned at a second opposite longitudinal end of the casing (Fig. 1 shows arrangement of two contacts (b&c) on other longitudinal end from single contact (a)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged on the opposite longitudinal end of the case to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area on opposite edges of the circuit board improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board ends in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 12. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 11. Cheve further discloses the casing (16) comprises a front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and a mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of the casing are the mounting skirt) extending from the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal face of casing 16) and surrounding the circuit board (20)[0025: and a protective cover 16 covers the potting material 48 and protects the second side 38 of the circuit board 20].
Claim 13. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 12. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas define a datum plan parallel to the front part.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) define a datum plan parallel (Fig. 1: three contact areas are level in a plane) to the front part (Fig. 6: horizontal plane of housing 12 to parallel to plane defined by three contacts (a-c)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board from a casing arranged level with two contact areas to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area leveled out with the two contact areas improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by evenly securing the circuit board ends evenly in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 14. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 13. Cheve further discloses the two contact areas (72 two on longitudinal end) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (horizontal surface of 12 with two 72 interfaces at edge next to mounting skirt) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of 16 casing). Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the three contact areas are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part next to the mounting skirt.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches the three contact areas (Fig. 1: 24 &36 (a-c)) are respectively positioned at the edge of the front part (Fig. 6: 12 horizontal surface) next to the mounting skirt (Fig. 6: vertical sides of casing 12 with contact areas at edge) [0035] & [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area to a circuit board edges for a walled or skirted casing to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board edges in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 15. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 14. Cheve, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one spacer connecting the base and the circuit board, the at least one spacer being connected to the circuit board in a zone of the circuit board positioned between the three contact areas.
Fell teaches a housing, a sensor module arranged in the housing, a potting compound which at least partially fills the housing and which encloses the sensor module, and at least one mounting element via which the sensor module is mounted to the housing (12) [Abstract]. Fell further teaches at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) connecting the base (42) and the circuit board (30), the at least one spacer (Fig. 4: central post extending down from 42 is a spacer) being connected to the circuit board (30) in a zone of the circuit board (Fig. 4 post near center of 30 which is between end mounted contact areas) positioned between the three contact areas (Fig. 6: 24 with 36 a-c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Fell’s third contact area and a central spacer on the opposing circuit board base to Cheve’s, as modified, case and circuit board with two contact areas because a third contact area and supporting spacer improves stability and reliability to the circuit board by securing the circuit board ends by multiple direction securing in a high shock environment [Fell 0005].
Claim 16. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 15. Cheve further discloses a potting material (48) between the casing (16) and the second side (38) of the circuit board (20) [0028].
Claim 17. Dependent on the sensor module according to claim 16. Cheve further discloses the circuit board (20) comprises a piezoelectric vibration sensor (42)[0025: a first sensor, such as a piezoelectric vibration sensor 42, and a wireless transmitter 44 and an antenna 46 may be mounted to the first side 36 of the circuit board 20].
Prior Art Considered but not Utilized
The prior art made of record and not relied upon and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided in the following table:
Prior Art Document Identifier
Inventor
Comment
CN 201843899 U
XU, YAN
hub unit as one matched with the automobile part unit and a constant-velocity universal joint, comprising a main machine with very wide and the back maintaining market, the dosage is very large.
DE 102007045109
STEPHAN BERND et al.
The casing has a mechanical contact surface and includes two sensors fastened inside, connected to an amplifier, to detect vibrations emitted.
DE 102005003829
HAYASHI KENJI et al.
device has been developed for adjusting an optical axis, in which two ultrasonic sensors, for example on the front End of a frame of a truck,
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855