DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 12/24/2025. Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 15-18 have been amended. Claims 2-3 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US 20170215749 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Zhuo”) in view of US 20190269914 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Moaddeb”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhuo, a non-invasive blood pressure monitor, teaches a vital-sign detection device for detecting a vital sign (abstract), the vital-sign detection device comprising:
a cuff (102; paragraph [0028]; Figure 1);
a bladder at least partly made from a stretchable sheet material on an inside of the cuff (104; paragraph [0028], [0075], [0078]; Figure 1), the bladder being dimensioned to fit onto a body part of a wearer (paragraph [0028]); and
at least one sensor that includes an electronic element (116; paragraph [0036]; Figure 1); but does not explicitly teach at least one sensor that includes an electronic element arranged in and/or on the stretchable sheet material of the bladder in a location so as to be pressed onto the body part by deformation of the bladder.
However, Moaddeb teaches a stretchable bladder made of sheet material on an inside of a cuff (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; Figures 2-4);
at least one sensor that includes an electronic element arranged in and/or on the stretchable sheet material of the bladder in a location so as to be pressed onto the body part by deformation of the bladder (28; paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; Figures 2-4); and
wherein at least a portion of the electronic element arranged in or on the stretchable sheet material of the bladder is stretchable to compensate for the deformation of the bladder (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; Figures 2-4; “The hydrogel electrode 520 can be flexible and stretchable”; paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhuo, to have an electrode sensor attached to the bladder, as taught by Moaddeb, because doing so ensures the sensor is properly placed against a user thus allows for more accurate physiological sensor data.
Regarding claim 4, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the at least one sensor further includes at least one sensing component arranged on the stretchable sheet material and connected to the electronic element (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 5, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the at least one sensing component and the electronic element are positioned on opposite sides of the stretchable sheet material (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 6, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the at least one sensing component is accommodated in an interior bladder chamber between the cuff and the bladder (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 7, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the electronic element is positioned on a side of the stretchable sheet material facing the body part of the wearer (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 8, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches further comprising circuitry connecting the at least one sensing component to the electronic element, the circuitry including vias extending through the stretchable sheet material (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 9, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the electronic element is connected to the sensing component by circuits extending along inner and outer sides of the stretchable sheet material to opposite end portions thereof, wherein said the opposed end portions overlap each other and form together an overlapping loop portion at which the circuits on the inside and outside of the stretchable sheet material contact each other (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 10, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the electronic element is connected to the at least one sensing component by circuits extending along inner and outer sides of the stretchable sheet material to an end portion thereof, wherein the end portion extends beyond and/or projects from a bladder portion of the stretchable sheet material (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 11, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the cuff includes an outer ring element made from a non-stretchable material, wherein the bladder is at least radially supported by the outer ring element (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 12, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the outer ring element has a U-shaped cross-section and/or a concave inner peripheral ring surface with a pair of inwardly extending rims to which the stretchable sheet material is attached so that an interior bladder chamber is defined partly by the stretchable sheet material and partly by the outer ring element (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 13, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches further comprising a pump constructed to inflate the bladder (paragraph [0052]; Figures 2C; as taught by Zhuo).
Regarding claim 14, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the pump is arranged at an outer peripheral side of the cuff and communicates with an interior bladder chamber between the cuff and the bladder via a channel extending through an outer ring portion of the cuff (paragraph [0052]; Figures 2C; as taught by Zhuo).
Regarding claim 15, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes different types of sensing components that sense a plurality of different vital signs (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 16, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one sensing component selected from: a blood pressure detector, an ECG detector, an EMG detector, a nerve impulse detector, a bio-impedance detector, a fluid flow detector, and an oxygen saturation detector (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 17, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the sensor includes at least one photodiode and at least one light source for measuring light transmission or reflection, wherein the photodiode and light source are accommodated in an interior bladder chamber between the cuff and the bladder, and wherein the stretchable sheet material is transparent so as to allow the light source and photodiode to visually detect the body part through the stretchable sheet material (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 18, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one pressure sensor that measured a pressure in an interior bladder chamber between the cuff and the bladder and/or a pressure of the bladder against the body part (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; as shown in Figures 2-4; as taught by Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 19, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches wherein the cuff and the bladder are configured to fit onto a finger of a human body (paragraph [0028]; as taught by Zhuo).
Regarding claim 20, Zhuo, in view of Moaddeb, teaches further comprising a data and/or sensor signal transmitter that transmits detected signals and/or data derived therefrom to an external data processing and/or display unit (paragraph [0030]; as taught by Zhuo).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the prior art rejection of record. Specifically, Applicant argues that Zhuo, in view of Moaddeh, fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein at least a portion of the electronic element arranged in or on the stretchable sheet material of the bladder is stretchable to compensate for the deformation of the bladder”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Moaddeh teaches wherein at least a portion of the electronic element arranged in or on the stretchable sheet material of the bladder is stretchable to compensate for the deformation of the bladder (paragraphs [0040]-[0042]; Figures 2-4; “The hydrogel electrode 520 can be flexible and stretchable”; paragraph [0077]).
As such Applicant’s argument is found to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791