CTNF 18/455,796 CTNF 92614 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 8/25/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/25/2023 and 4/8/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Miyamoto (US 5818202) . As to claim 1, Miyamoto discloses a circuit device comprising: a current source circuit (Fig. 12 fixed-current power supplies 6-1, 6-2, 6-3, and 6-4) ; a first charging circuit (Fig. 12 T2) configured to supply, based on an output current of the current source circuit, a first charging current, as a charging current to a charging node (Column 16 lines 31-65 and Columns 17 lines 1-34…charging apparatus is provided with a charging terminal 3 (charging node) for the charging of the secondary cell 2) ; a second charging circuit (Fig. 12 T1) configured to supply, based on the output current of the current source circuit, a second charging current, which is greater than the first charging current, as the charging current to the charging node (the fixed-current power supply 6-1 is driven by the ON signal from the output Q0 of the counter 22, so that the secondary cell 2 is charged by supplying it with a 2 C charging current) ; and a control circuit (current-adjusting means 7 and control means 8) configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current (an ON signal is output from the comparator 21) , a current source control value (Q0 through Q3) for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit (Column 16 lines 56-67 and Column 17 lines 1-2 an ON signal is output from the comparator 21 of the above-noted control means 8, this being input to the CLK clock signal terminal of the counter 22 provided in the current-adjusting means 7….The above-noted counter 22 selects one of the output terminals in the sequence Q0 through Q3 each time the ON signal is input to the clock signal terminal CLK thereof, thereby outputting the ON signal therefrom) , wherein the control circuit controls, when the current setting value is in a first current range, a first current mode (1C) in which the first charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the first charging circuit to the charging node (Column 17 lines 18-26…an ON signal is output from the comparator 21 of the control means 8, this being input to the clock signal terminal CLK of the counter 22 provided in the current-adjusting means 7, causing the Q0 output thereof to be switched OFF and the Q1 output thereof to be switched ON, this action causing selection of the fixed-current power supply 6-2, so that the second charging operation, in which the secondary cell 2 is supplied with a 1 C charging current, is started) , controls, when the current setting value is in a second current range on a current side higher than the first current range, a second current mode (2C) in which the second charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the second charging circuit to the charging node ( Column 17 lines 13-17 .. first in the first charging operation, the fixed-current power supply 6-1 is driven by the ON signal from the output Q0 of the counter 22, so that the secondary cell 2 is charged by supplying it with a 2 C charging current) , and sets the current source control value ( Q0 through Q3) such that the output current of the current source circuit is zero or is reduced during a switching period of the current source control value (Fig. 14 Column 17 lines 27-33 .. each time the output voltage of the secondary cell 2 reaches the reference voltage in each of the charging operations, the charging current C rate is made successively lower than the charging current C rate used in the previous charging operation, and the charging operation is repeated) . As to claim 2, Miyamoto discloses the circuit device according to claim 1, wherein when the current source control value is greater than a threshold value, the control circuit sets the current source control value such that the output current is zero or is reduced during the switching period (Column 17 lines 18-33..If … the current-adjusting means 7, causing the Q0 output thereof to be switched OFF and the Q1 output thereof to be switched ON, this action causing selection of the fixed-current power supply 6-2, so that the second charging operation, in which the secondary cell 2 is supplied with a 1 C charging current, is started… Thereafter in the same manner, each time the output voltage of the secondary cell 2 reaches the reference voltage in each of the charging operations, the charging current C rate is made successively lower than the charging current C rate used in the previous charging operation) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto (US 5818202) . As to claim 3, Miyamoto discloses the circuit device according to claim 1. The embodiment shown in Fig 14 of Miyamoto does not disclose/teach wherein the control circuit sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to a non-supply state during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode Miyamoto teaches an embodiment wherein the control circuit sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to a non-supply state during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode (Column 25 lines 25-22 In the first charging operation, the charging is performed with a 2C charging current, and at the point at which approximately 750 seconds have elapsed from the start of the charging, the charging is temporarily interrupted and, after a waiting time of 60 seconds, the next charging operation, using a charging current of 1 C is started, that charging operation being stopped when 2550 seconds have elapsed). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of Miyamoto to wherein the control circuit sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to a non-supply state during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode in order to measure the output voltage after removing the internal polarization and allowing the output voltage to stabilize (Column 13 lines 1-3). As to claim 4, Miyamoto discloses the circuit device according to claim 3, wherein the control circuit outputs a first enable signal for controlling the first charging current to a supply state or the non- supply state (Q1) and a second enable signal for controlling the second charging current to the supply state or the non- supply state (Q0) , The embodiment shown in Fig 14 of Miyamoto does not disclose/teach during the switching period, sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to the non- supply state by deactivating the first enable signal and the second enable signal Miyamoto teaches an embodiment during the switching period, sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to the non-supply state by deactivating the first enable signal and the second enable signal (Column 25 lines 25-22 In the first charging operation, the charging is performed with a 2 C charging current, and at the point at which approximately 750 seconds have elapsed from the start of the charging, the charging is temporarily interrupted and, after a waiting time of 60 seconds, the next charging operation, using a charging current of 1 C is started, that charging operation being stopped when 2550 seconds have elapsed). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of Miyamoto to during the switching period, sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to the non- supply state by deactivating the first enable signal and the second enable signal in order to measure the output voltage after removing the internal polarization and allowing the output voltage to stabilize (Column 13 lines 1-3) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto (US 5818202) in view of Jiang (US20210359534) . As to claim 5, Miyamoto discloses the circuit device according to claim 1, wherein in the first current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the first charging circuit, a first current having a current value indicated by the current source control value (Column 17 lines 18-26) , and in the second current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the second charging circuit, a second current having a current value indicated by the current source control value (Column 17 lines 18-26) . Miyamoto does not disclose/teach the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain Jiang teaches the first charging circuit (CU1/COM1) supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain (132 - when the current is less than the fast charge threshold the voltage control amplifier COM1 takes effect and current increases from 0.5A-1A - i.e. first gain) and the second charging circuit (CUN/COM2) supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain (135 - equal to fast charge threshold current so current control amplifier COM2 takes effect boosting the charging from 1A to 2A which has a higher gain than the first). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit device of Miyamoto to include the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain in order to adjust the charging voltage which improves charging efficiency (15) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding dependent claim 6 , Although the prior art discloses a circuit device comprising: a current source circuit; a first charging circuit configured to supply, based on an output current of the current source circuit, a first charging current, as a charging current to a charging node; a second charging circuit configured to supply, based on the output current of the current source circuit, a second charging current, which is greater than the first charging current, as the charging current to the charging node; and a control circuit configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current, a current source control value for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit, wherein the control circuit controls, when the current setting value is in a first current range, a first current mode in which the first charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the first charging circuit to the charging node, controls, when the current setting value is in a second current range on a current side higher than the first current range, a second current mode in which the second charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the second charging circuit to the charging node, and sets the current source control value such that the output current of the current source circuit is zero or is reduced during a switching period of the current source control value, wherein in the first current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the first charging circuit, a first current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain, and in the second current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the second charging circuit, a second current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of: “ wherein the current source circuit includes first to n-th current sources whose output or non-output of first to n-th constant currents, having current values weighted in binary, is controlled based on the current source control value, n being an integer of 2 or more, and during the switching period of the current source control value, the control circuit sets the current source control value at which the first to n-th constant currents are not output, or sets the current source control value at which p-th to n-th constant currents on a high-current side among the first to n-th constant currents are not output, p being an integer of 2 or more and n or less”. Regarding dependent claim 9 , Although the prior art discloses a circuit device comprising: a current source circuit; a first charging circuit configured to supply, based on an output current of the current source circuit, a first charging current, as a charging current to a charging node; a second charging circuit configured to supply, based on the output current of the current source circuit, a second charging current, which is greater than the first charging current, as the charging current to the charging node; and a control circuit configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current, a current source control value for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit, wherein the control circuit controls, when the current setting value is in a first current range, a first current mode in which the first charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the first charging circuit to the charging node, controls, when the current setting value is in a second current range on a current side higher than the first current range, a second current mode in which the second charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the second charging circuit to the charging node, and sets the current source control value such that the output current of the current source circuit is zero or is reduced during a switching period of the current source control value, wherein in the first current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the first charging circuit, a first current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain, and in the second current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the second charging circuit, a second current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of: “ wherein the current source circuit includes a first current source circuit including m current sources whose output or non-output of m constant currents, having current values weighted in binary, is controlled based on a first current source control value, m being an integer of 2 or more, and a second current source circuit including n current sources whose output or non-output of n constant currents, having current values weighted in binary, is controlled based on a second current source control value, n being an integer of m or more, and the control circuit outputs the first current source control value and the second current source control value as the current source control value, during a switching period of the first current source control value, sets the first current source control value at which the m constant currents are not output, or sets the first current source control value at which s constant currents on a high-current side among the m constant currents are not output, s being an integer of 1 or more and less than m, and during a switching period of the second current source control value, sets the second current source control value at which the n constant currents are not output, or sets the second current source control value at which t constant currents on a high-current side among the n constant currents are not output, t being an integer of 1 or more and less than n ”. As to claims 7-8, and 10-11 , is also objected to as they include the allowable subject matter in claim 6 and 9. 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion and Related Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. TATSUMOTO et al (US 20150311731) is cited for having a control circuit configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current, a current source control value for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit (Fig. 10C). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TYNESE V MCDANIEL whose telephone number is (313)446-6579. The examiner can normally be reached on M to F, 9am to 530pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/455,796 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859