DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, 21 and 22, in the reply filed on January 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3 (line 1) “inner support” should recite –inner support body--.
In claim 11 (line 1) “inner support” should recite –inner support body--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mathijsen (FR 2 762 366).
As to claim 1, Mathijsen discloses an edge system capable of joining a first decorative body 1 with a second decorative body 2, the edge system comprising:
an inner support body 4 having:
a first support flange A positionable adjacent an inner surface of the first decorative body (Figure 12 reprinted below with annotations);
a second support flange B being positionable adjacent an inner surface of the second decorative body, the second support flange and the first support flange defining an angle therebetween; and
an attachment truss C extending between the first support flange and the second support flange;
an outer body 3-30 having an internal channel formed therein, the outer body being configured to be placeable between the first decorative body and the second decorative body; and
a fastener having a head portion 27 and a shaft portion 26, the head portion being translatably receivable within the internal channel of the outer body, the shaft portion being sized to extend from the head portion to the inner support body to facilitate connection between the outer body and the inner support body (Figures 12-13).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 2, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first support flange A and the second support flange B define an angle therebetween equal to 90 degrees (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 3, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 includes a bore extending therethrough adjacent an intersection of the first support flange A and the second support flange B (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 4, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the attachment truss C includes an opening, the shaft portion 26 of the fastener being sized to be receivable within the opening in the attachment truss (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 5, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 3-30 includes an exposed plate 38 having a finished outer surface (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 6, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 3-30 includes a first attachment arm 10 and a second attachment arm 11, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both extending from the exposed plate 38 in spaced relation to each other (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 7, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the exposed plate 38, the first attachment arm 10 and the second attachment arm 11 collectively define the internal channel (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 8, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first attachment arm 10 and the second attachment arm 11 both include respective distal portions spaced from each other to define a gap therebetween, the gap being sized to allow for passage of the shaft portion 26 therethrough (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 9, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 is configured to be selectively moveable along the shaft portion 26 to facilitate application of a compressive force on the first decorative body 1 and the second decorative body 2 between the inner support body and the outer body 3-30 (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 10, Mathijsen discloses an edge system capable of joining a first decorative body 1 with a second decorative body 2, the edge system comprising:
an inner support body 4 configured to include a first portion positionable adjacent an inner surface of the first decorative body and a second portion positionable adjacent an inner surface of the second decorative body;
an outer body 3-30 having an internal channel formed therein, the outer body being configured to be placeable between the first decorative body and the second decorative body; and
a fastener having a head portion 27 and a shaft portion 26, the head portion being translatably receivable within the internal channel of the outer body, the shaft portion being sized to extend from the head portion to the inner support body to facilitate connection between the outer body and the inner support body (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 11, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 includes a bore extending therethrough, the bore being sized to facilitate passage of the shaft portion 26 therethrough (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 12, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 includes an attachment truss C configured to extend between the first decorative body 1 and the second decorative body 2 (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 13, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the attachment truss C includes an opening, the shaft portion 26 of the fastener being sized to be receivable within the opening in the attachment truss (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 14, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 3-30 includes an exposed plate 38 having a finished outer surface (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 15, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 3-30 includes a first attachment arm 10 and a second attachment arm 11, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both extending from the exposed plate 38 in spaced relation to each other (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 16, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the exposed plate 38, the first attachment arm 10 and the second attachment arm 11 collectively define the internal channel (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 17, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first attachment arm 10 and the second attachment arm 11 both include respective distal portions spaced from each other to define a gap therebetween, the gap being sized to allow for passage of the shaft portion 26 therethrough (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 18, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 is configured to be selectively moveable along the shaft portion 26 to facilitate application of a compressive force on the first decorative body 1 and the second decorative body 2 between the inner support body and the outer body 3-30 (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 21, Mathijsen discloses an edge system capable of joining a first decorative body 1 with a second decorative body 2, the edge system comprising:
an inner support body 4 having a first support flange A positionable adjacent an inner surface of the first decorative body, a second support flange B positionable adjacent an inner surface of the second decorative body, the second support flange and the first support flange defining an angle therebetween, and an attachment truss C extending between the first support flange and the second support flange;
an outer body 3-30 including an exposed plate 38, a first attachment arm 10 and a second attachment arm 11, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both extending from the exposed plate in spaced relation to each other, the exposed plate, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm collectively defining a longitudinal internal channel, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both including respective distal portions spaced from each other to define a gap therebetween sized to allow passage of a shaft; and
a fastener having a head portion 27 and an externally threaded shaft portion 26, the head portion being translatably receivable within the internal channel of the outer body to allow selective positioning of the fastener relative to the outer body, the shaft portion extending from the head portion through the gap and to the inner support body, the shaft portion being receivable within a bore extending through the inner support body adjacent an intersection of the first support flange and the second support flange and being receivable within an opening in the attachment truss, and an internally threaded nut 28 engageable with the shaft portion such that tightening of the nut on the shaft portion draws the inner support body toward the outer body to apply a compressive force on the first decorative body and the second decorative body between the inner support body and the outer body (Figures 12-13).
As to claim 22, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first support flange A and the second support flange B define an angle therebetween equal to 90 degrees, the exposed plate 38 has a finished outer surface, and the outer body 3-30 is an extruded body (Figures 12-13).
Conclusion
2/21/26 /MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619