DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, 21 and 22, in the reply filed on January 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathijsen (FR 2 762 366) in view of Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik (DE 2 252 377).
As to claim 1, Mathijsen discloses an edge system joining a first decorative body 1 with a second decorative body 2, the first decorative body having a first joint surface and the second decorative body having a second joint surface facing the first joint surface, the first joint surface and the second joint surface being spaced from each other to define a gap therebetween, the edge system comprising:
an inner support body 4 having:
a first support flange 8 positionable adjacent an inner surface of the first decorative body;
a second support flange 9 being positionable adjacent an inner surface of the second decorative body, the second support flange and the first support flange defining an angle therebetween; and
an attachment truss A extending between the first support flange and the second support flange (Figure 6 reprinted below with annotations);
an outer body 26,30 having an internal channel 31 formed therein, the outer body being configured to be received within the gap between the first joint surface and the second joint surface; and
a fastener having a head portion 27 and a shaft portion 26, the head portion being translatably receivable within the internal channel of the outer body, the shaft portion being sized to extend from the head portion to the inner support body to facilitate connection between the outer body and the inner support body (Figures 6-8).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow]
Mathijsen fails to disclose an edge system wherein the outer body is configured to be received entirely within the gap between the first joint surface and the second joint surface.
Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik teaches an edge system wherein an outer corner connector body 8 is configured to be received entirely within a gap between a first joint surface of a first panel 2 and a second joint surface of a second panel 2; the outer connector body being recessed entirely within the gap between adjacent end surfaces of the panels, providing for a smoother, snag-free corner between the first and second panels (Figure 5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the edge system disclosed by Mathijsen to comprise an outer body recessed entirely within the gap between adjacent end surfaces of the first and second decorative bodies, as taught by Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik, in order to provide for a smoother, snag-free corner between the first and second decorative bodies.
As to claim 2, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first support flange 8 and the second support flange 9 define an angle therebetween equal to 90 degrees (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 3, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 includes a bore extending therethrough adjacent an intersection of the first support flange 8 and the second support flange 9 (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 4, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the attachment truss A includes an opening, the shaft portion 26 of the fastener being sized to be receivable within the opening in the attachment truss (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 5, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 26,30 includes an exposed plate 30 having a finished outer surface (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 6, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 26,30 includes a first attachment arm B and a second attachment arm B, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both extending from the exposed plate 30 in spaced relation to each other (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 7, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the exposed plate 30, the first attachment arm B and the second attachment arm B collectively define the internal channel 31 (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 8, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first attachment arm B and the second attachment arm B both include respective distal portions spaced from each other to define a gap therebetween, the gap being sized to allow for passage of the shaft portion 26 therethrough (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 9, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 is configured to be selectively moveable along the shaft portion 26 to facilitate application of a compressive force on the first decorative body 1 and the second decorative body 2 between the inner support body and the outer body 26,30 (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 10, Mathijsen discloses an edge system joining a first decorative body 1 with a second decorative body 2, the edge system comprising:
an inner support body 4 configured to include a first portion positionable adjacent an inner surface of the first decorative body and a second portion positionable adjacent an inner surface of the second decorative body;
an outer body 26,30 having an internal channel formed therein, the outer body being configured to be received within a gap between a first joint surface of the first decorative body and a second joint surface of the second decorative body, the first joint surface and the second joint surface facing each other; and
a fastener having a head portion 27 and a shaft portion 26, the head portion being translatably receivable within the internal channel of the outer body, the shaft portion being sized to extend from the head portion to the inner support body to facilitate connection between the outer body and the inner support body (Figures 6-8).
Mathijsen fails to disclose an edge system wherein the outer body is configured to be received entirely within the gap between the first joint surface and the second joint surface, wherein no portion of the outer body extends over any outer surface of the first decorative body or the second decorative body or around any corner of the first decorative body or the second decorative body.
Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik teaches an edge system wherein an outer corner connector body 8 is configured to be received entirely within a gap between a first joint surface of a first panel 2 and a second joint surface of a second panel 2, wherein no portion of the outer connector body extends over any outer surface of the first or second panel or around any corner of the first or second panel; the outer connector body being recessed entirely within the gap between adjacent end surfaces of the panels, providing for a smoother, snag-free corner between the first and second panels (Figure 5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the edge system disclosed by Mathijsen to comprise an outer body recessed entirely within the gap between adjacent end surfaces of the first and second decorative bodies, as taught by Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik, in order to provide for a smoother, snag-free corner between the first and second decorative bodies.
As to claim 11, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 includes a bore extending therethrough, the bore being sized to facilitate passage of the shaft portion 26 therethrough (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 12, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 includes an attachment truss A configured to extend between the first decorative body 1 and the second decorative body 2 (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 13, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the attachment truss A includes an opening, the shaft portion 26 of the fastener being sized to be receivable within the opening in the attachment truss (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 14, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 26,30 includes an exposed plate 30 having a finished outer surface (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 15, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the outer body 26,30 includes a first attachment arm B and a second attachment arm B, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both extending from the exposed plate 30 in spaced relation to each other (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 16, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the exposed plate 38, the first attachment arm 10 and the second attachment arm 11 collectively define the internal channel (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 17, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the first attachment arm B and the second attachment arm B both include respective distal portions spaced from each other to define a gap therebetween, the gap being sized to allow for passage of the shaft portion 26 therethrough (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 18, Mathijsen discloses an edge system wherein the inner support body 4 is configured to be selectively moveable along the shaft portion 26 to facilitate application of a compressive force on the first decorative body 1 and the second decorative body 2 between the inner support body and the outer body 26,30 (Figures 6-8).
As to claim 21, Mathijsen discloses an edge system capable of joining a first decorative body 1 with a second decorative body 2, the edge system comprising:
an inner support body 4 having a first support flange 8 positionable adjacent an inner surface of the first decorative body, a second support flange 9 positionable adjacent an inner surface of the second decorative body, the second support flange and the first support flange defining an angle therebetween, and an attachment truss A extending between the first support flange and the second support flange;
an outer body 26,30 configured to be received within a gap between a first joint surface of the first decorative body and a second joint surface of the second decorative body, the first joint surface and the second joint surface facing each other and being spaced from each other to define the gap, the outer body including an exposed plate 30, a first attachment arm B and a second attachment arm B, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both extending from the exposed plate in spaced relation to each other, the exposed plate, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm collectively defining a longitudinal internal channel 31 extending longitudinally along a length of the outer body between opposing end surfaces thereof, the first attachment arm and the second attachment arm both including respective distal portions spaced from each other to define a second gap therebetween sized to allow passage of a shaft, wherein the outer body defines a consistent or uniform transverse cross section along the entire length thereof; and
a fastener having a head portion 27 and an externally threaded shaft portion 26, the head portion being translatably receivable within the internal channel of the outer body to allow selective positioning of the fastener relative to the outer body, the shaft portion extending from the head portion through the gap and to the inner support body, the shaft portion being receivable within a bore extending through the inner support body adjacent an intersection of the first support flange and the second support flange and being receivable within an opening in the attachment truss, and an internally threaded nut 28 engageable with the shaft portion such that tightening of the nut on the shaft portion draws the inner support body toward the outer body to apply a compressive force on the first decorative body and the second decorative body between the inner support body and the outer body (Figures 6-8).
Mathijsen fails to disclose an edge system wherein the outer body is configured to be received entirely within the gap between the first joint surface and the second joint surface, the exposed plate having a finished outer surface that mates flush with an outer surface of the first decorative body and an outer surface of the second decorative body, and wherein the outer body is an extruded body.
Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik teaches an edge system wherein an outer corner connector body 8 is configured to be received entirely within a gap between a first joint surface of a first panel 2 and a second joint surface of a second panel 2, an exposed plate of the outer connector body having a finished outer surface that mates flush with an outer surface of the first panel and an outer surface of the second panel, and wherein the outer body is an extruded body; the outer connector body being recessed entirely within the gap between adjacent end surfaces of the panels, providing for a smoother, snag-free corner between the first and second panels (Figure 5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the edge system disclosed by Mathijsen to comprise an outer body recessed entirely within the gap between adjacent end surfaces of the first and second decorative bodies, as taught by Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik, in order to provide for a smoother, snag-free corner between the first and second decorative bodies.
As to claim 22, Mathijsen as modified by Josef Scheppach Machinenfabrik discloses an edge system wherein the first support flange 8 and the second support flange 9 define an angle therebetween equal to 90 degrees, the exposed plate 30 has a finished outer surface, and the outer body 30 (8 Josef Scheppach Machinenfabrik Figure 5) is an extruded body (Figures 6-8).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathijsen in view of Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Rosner (US 4,470,234).
As to claim 23, Mathijsen as modified by Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik fails to disclose an edge system wherein the outer body has a concave outer surface. Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik does not disclose structural or functional significance as to the specific outer surface shape of the outer body.
Rosner teaches an edge system wherein an outer body 22 has a concave outer surface.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the shape of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific shape of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the edge system disclosed by Mathijsen as modified by Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik wherein the outer body has a concave outer surface, as taught by Rosner, as Josef Scheppach Maschinenfabrik does not disclose structural or functional significance as to the specific outer surface shape of the outer body, and as such practice is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
06/09/26 /MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619