DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 4 and 5, and claim 16, lines 4 and 5, the phrase “the interior of the van is designed to house all of the tools needed to install the windows” is indefinite. The scope of the claim is unascertainable since it is unclear exactly what tools are “needed” to install windows. Some windows or applications may require specific tools that others may not. Additionally, some tools may make the installation easier, but aren’t necessarily needed.
In claim 2, lines 1 and 2, the phrase, “The van of claim 1 wherein a metal brake for cutting, bending, and finishing commonly used siding” is indefinite. Applicant does not positively recite a relationship between the metal brake and the van and thus that relationship is indefinite.
In claim 4, lines 1 and 2, applicant claims, “wood racks are secured to the studs and braces on the opposite interior wall from the metal brake”. However, the claims only inferentially recite the metal brake is associated with an interior wall. There are no limitations detailing how the metal brake is attached or positioned with respect to an interior wall. A similar problem appears in claim 6.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the bottom of the metal brake" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the bottom of the metal brake" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claims 5-15 and 17-20, applicant repeatedly uses the term “can be mounted”. This appears to make the structure which “can be mounted” optional. However, some of the claims define further structures in relation to the optionally mounted equipment thus making it unclear is the structures in relation to the optionally mounted structures are also optional. For example, in claim 8, applicant claims “a dust collection vent and piping is connected to the miter saw”. The miter saw is claimed as being optional in claim 7 from which claim 8 depends. Thus, it is unclear if the dust collection vent and piping is also optional. For purposes of examination below, all structures defined in relation to optionally claimed structures are treated as also being optional. Applicant should distinctly claim what is required to be part of the claimed invention and that which is not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cargo Van (https://adventurevans.com/cargo_vans).
Re claim 1, Cargo Van discloses a van outfitted to carry all the tools necessary for installing windows and doors (as shown in the four photos, the van has a large cargo space which is capable of carrying a large amount of tools, including whatever is necessary to install windows and doors), the van includes a side opening door (the photos show a side door) and a rear door (the rear door is shown in the photos) to provide access to an interior of the van, the interior of the van is designed to house all of the tools needed to install the windows and doors (as shown in the four photos, the van has a large cargo space which is capable of carrying a large amount of tools, including whatever is necessary to install windows and door), and on opposite interior walls of the van, there are a plurality of studs and interconnecting braces to mount various tools (see the annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargo Van (https://adventurevans.com/cargo_vans) in view of Packout (Packout Hangout & Organization Nation).
Re claims 2 and 3, Cargo Van discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for a metal brake for cutting, bending and finishing commonly used siding.
Packout teaches using a metal brake for cutting, bending, and finishing commonly used siding in a vehicle, where the commonly used siding is aluminum sheet metal. See the annotated figure below which shows a metal brake that is capable of cutting, bending, and finishing aluminum sheet metal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a van, such as that disclosed by Cargo Van, to have a metal brake for cutting, bending and finishing commonly used siding, where the commonly used siding is aluminum sheet metal, as taught by Packout, in order to furnish the van with a tool that is commonly needed at a jobsite. Packout is specifically directed window installation and the tools that are needed to complete jobs at a jobsite.
Re claim 4, Cargo Van further discloses wood racks are secured the studs and braces on the opposite interior wall from the metal brake. See the annotated figure below. The structures identified as wood racks are capable of restraining wood placed behind them. Additionally, whatever wall the metal brake is placed against, there is at least one rack on the other side of the vehicle opposite from the metal brake.
Re claim 5, a cutting table can be mounted to the studs and braces by folding supports. The claim only requires that a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding supports. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim.
Re claim 6, the cutting table is mounted on the opposite interior wall from the metal brake. The claim only requires that a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding supports. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim.
Re claim 7, a miter saw used to make accurate cross cuts and miters in a strip of wood or metal can be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. The claim only requires that a miter saw CAN be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim.
Re claim 8, a dust collection vent and piping connected to the miter saw is capable of being housed in the vehicle. The claim only requires that a miter saw CAN be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim. Since the dust collection vent and piping is defined relation to the optional miter saw, Cargo Van meets the claim limitation because it is capable of housing the claimed structure.
Re claim 9, Cargo Van discloses that a dust collection vent and piping connect to a dust collector with a collection bag is capable of being housed in the vehicle. The claim only requires that a miter saw CAN be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim because it is capable of housing the claimed structure.
Re claim 10, Cargo Van discloses a table saw is capable of being disposed below the dust collector with a collection bag so that the dust from the table saw can be collected in the collection bag. Since the dust collector with a collection bag also appears to be optional, the table saw must also be optional as it is claimed in relation to the miter saw and cutting table.
Re claim 11, Cargo Van discloses a power extension cord can be mounted above the table saw. As noted above the Cargo Van is capable of housing such a structure and thus meets the claim limitations.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargo Van (https://adventurevans.com/cargo_vans) in view of Packout (Packout Hangout & Organization Nation) and Chang (US 2016/0031054).
Re claim 16, Cargo Van discloses a van outfitted to carry all the tools necessary for installing windows and doors (as shown in the four photos, the van has a large cargo space which is capable of carrying a large amount of tools, including whatever is necessary to install windows and doors), the van includes a side opening door (the photos show a side door) and a rear door (the photos show a rear door) to provide access to an interior of the van, the interior of the van is designed to house all of the tools needed to install the windows and doors (as shown in the four photos, the van has a large cargo space which is capable of carrying a large amount of tools, including whatever is necessary to install windows and doors), on opposite interior walls of the van, there are a plurality of studs and interconnecting braces to mount various tools.
Cargo Van does not disclose a metal brake for cutting, bending and finishing sheet siding or a dust collection vent and piping connected to a dust collector with a collection bag.
Packout teaches using a metal brake for cutting, bending, and finishing commonly used siding in a vehicle, where the commonly used siding is aluminum sheet metal. See the annotated figure below which shows a metal brake that is capable of cutting, bending, and finishing aluminum sheet metal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a van, such as that disclosed by Cargo Van, to have a metal brake for cutting, bending and finishing commonly used siding, where the commonly used siding is aluminum sheet metal, as taught by Packout, in order to furnish the van with a tool that is commonly needed at a jobsite. Packout is specifically directed window installation and the tools that are needed to complete jobs at a jobsite.
Chang teaches dust collection vent (the hole at the end of the conduit 5 in figure 1) and piping (conduit 5) connected to a dust collector (100, figure 1) with a collection bag (72, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a van, such as that disclosed by the combination of Cargo Van and Packout above, to have a dust collection vent and piping connected to a dust collector with a collection bag, as taught by Chang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide for safe operation of tools within the vehicle that create dust.
Re claim 17, Cargo Van further discloses a cutting table can be mounted to the studs and braces by folding supports. The claim only requires that a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding supports. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim
Re claim 18, Cargo Van further discloses a miter saw used to make accurate cross cuts and miters in a strip of wood or metal can be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. The claim only requires that a miter saw CAN be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. Accordingly, since a cutting table CAN be mounted to the studs and braces by folding parts, the structure shown by Cargo Van meets the functional limitations of the claim.
Re claim 19, Cargo Van further discloses a dust collection vent and piping is connected to the miter saw is capable of being housed in the vehicle. The claim only requires that a miter saw CAN be mounted on the interior wall adjacent the cutting table. Since the dust collection vent and piping is defined relation to the optional miter saw, Cargo Van meets the claim limitation because it is capable of housing the claimed structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12-15 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle arrangements.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
March 5, 2026