DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,796,898 in view of Goto et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0129127).
Regarding claims 1 and 12: In addition to claims 1 and 12 disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 11,796,898, Goto discloses a detachable accessory for camera wherein: i) the potential of RDY(L) is set to high level if it is not ready for command data communication and set to low level if it is ready, ([0029]); ii) in Figure 3 at (T3), in response to RDY(B) detecting potential changes from high level to low level, a clock signal is output from CLK(B) to CLK(L), ([0031, 0032]); iii) also in response to RDY(B) detecting potential changes from high level to low level at (T3), and in synchronization with the clock signal in point (ii) above, a data signal is output from DATAB(B) to DATAB(L), ([0033]); iv) when the potential at RDY(B) is at a high level, there is no data signal communication between the accessory and the camera, ([0032]); v) therefore, while the accessory is attached to the camera, in response to a change of a potential from a high level to a low level at (T3) detected at RDY(B), communication with the accessory through DATAB(B) starts in synchronization with CLK(B).
Regarding claims 2-11 and 13-23: Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every limitation of claims 2-11 and 13-23 of the instant application 18/455,868 can be found in claims 2-11 and 13-23, respectively, of the U.S. Patent No. 11,796,898.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10-13, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0129127), and further in view of Okamoto et al. (JP 2017-151161).
Regarding claim 1:
Goto discloses an electronic apparatus (FIG. 1, (2), [0011]) detachably attached to an accessory (FIG. 1, (3), [0011]) via an accessory mount (FIG. 1, (31)/(21), [0012, 0014, 0047]), the electronic apparatus comprising a plurality of contacts (FIG. 2, (22), [0018]) electrically connectable to the accessory via the accessory mount (FIG. 2, connected to (32), [0025]), wherein the plurality of contacts include: a first signal contact used to transmit a data signal in a communication between the electronic apparatus and the accessory (FIG. 2, DATAB(B), [0022]); a second signal contact used to transmit a clock signal in synchronization with the data signal in the communication (FIG. 2, CLK(B), [0022, 0030, 0033]); and a third signal contact (FIG. 2, RDY(B), [0022]) configured to start the communication with the accessory via the first signal contact in response to a change of a potential of the third signal contact in a state where the electronic apparatus is attached to the accessory (i) the potential of RDY(L) is set to high level if it is not ready for command data communication and set to low level if it is ready, ([0029]); ii) in Figure 3 at (T3), in response to the potential at RDY(B) changes from high level to low level, a clock signal is output from CLK(B) to CLK(L), ([0031, 0032]); iii) also in response to the potential at RDY(B) changes from high level to low level at (T3), and in synchronization with the clock signal in point (ii) above, a data signal is output from DATAB(B) to DATAB(L), ([0033]); iv) when the potential at RDY(B) is at high level, there is no data signal communication between the accessory and the camera, ([0032]); v) therefore, while the accessory is attached to the camera, in response to a change of a potential from a high level to a low level at (T3) at RDY(B), communication with the accessory through DATAB(B) starts in synchronization with CLK(B)), wherein the first signal contact and the second signal contact are arranged next to each other, and wherein the third signal contact is disposed on an opposite side than the second signal contact with respect to the first signal contact (FIG. 2, wherein DATAB(B) is disposed between RDY(B) and CLK(B)).
Goto does not specifically disclose an accessory shoe; and the plurality of contacts arranged in a first direction orthogonal to a direction in which the accessory is attached.
Okamoto teaches an accessory shoe (FIGS. 2, 3, (106), [0014]); the plurality of contacts (FIGS. 4a, 4b, (PB1) to (PB24), [0018, 0020]) arranged in a first direction orthogonal to a direction in which the accessory (FIGS. 2, 3, (300a/b/c/d/e), “auxiliary imaging device” (300d), [0009, 0083-0085]) is attached (FIGS. 2, 3); and the plurality of contacts may be arranged in other shapes including a V-shape (FIG. 15a, [0114]) or in a circular arc shape (FIG. 15b, [0114]; “the same applies to the electrical contacts on the camera body side”, [0114]).
Since Okamoto teaches i) an accessory shoe may be utilized to connect an auxiliary imaging device which inherently contains a lens (thus essentially a removable lens unit, Goto discloses a removable lens unit) and ii) the row of contacts of the accessory shoe may be arranged in a line or in a curve (Goto’s contacts are arranged in a curve), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Okamoto’s with the electronic apparatus taught by Goto for the purpose of enabling an additional connector, i.e., an accessory shoe, to connect a variety of accessories to increase and improve the functionality of the camera system.
Regarding claim 2:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Goto further discloses that during the communication via the first signal contact (FIG. 3, signal (402) during (T1) to (T2), [0029-0031]), no communication is performed except for the clock signal to the accessory via the second signal contact (signal (401) transmitted from CLK(B) to CLK(L), [0030]) and a signal from the accessory via the third signal contact (FIG. 2, signal (L-level) is transmitted from RDY(L) to RDY(B), [0029, 0030]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design and control the functionalities of the contacts as desired since it is simple programming well known in the art. Applicant has not established the criticalness, and it would be merely a programming/design choice.
Regarding claim 6:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Okamoto further discloses a fourth signal contact used to transmit a control signal for controlling a light emission of an illumination unit from the electronic apparatus (FIG. 10, [0078, 0079]).
Goto and Okamoto do not specifically disclose that the fourth signal contact is on an opposite side than the first signal contact with respect to the second signal contact.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Okamoto’s with the electronic apparatus taught by Goto and Okamoto to enable the fourth signal contact to be on an opposite side than the first signal contact with respect to the second signal contact and for the control signal to be transmitted before or after the communication via the first signal contact and the second signal contact since designing and controlling the functionalities of the contacts as desired is simple programming well known in the art. Applicant has not established the criticalness, and it would be merely a programming/design choice.
Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ70.
Regarding claim 10:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Goto further discloses: a communication controller configured to control the communication with the accessory (FIG. 2, (24), [0016]).
Regarding claim 11:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Goto further discloses: the electronic apparatus is an image pickup apparatus (FIG. 1, (1), [0011]).
Regarding claims 12, 13, 17, 22, and 23:
Claims 12, 13, 17, 22, and 23 are similarly rejected respectively as in claims 1, 2, 6, 10, and 11 above.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0129127) and Okamoto et al. (JP 2017-151161) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, 10-13, 17, 22, and 23 above, and further in view of Kamiya et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2020/0174344).
Regarding claim 3:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1.
Goto and Okamoto do not specifically disclose an open drain communication.
Kamiya teaches an image capturing apparatus and accessories, wherein an open drain communication is executed via a first signal contact and a second signal contact ([0060, 0156-0160, 0173, 0183]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Kamiya’s with the electronic apparatus taught by Goto and Okamoto to enable an open drain communication to be executed via the first signal contact and the second signal contact for the purpose of preventing erroneous detection of mounting of an accessory on an image capturing apparatus while suppressing a decrease in reliability in terms of electrical connection (Kamiya: [0008]).
Regarding claim 4:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1.
Goto and Okamoto do not specifically disclose an open drain communication.
Kamiya teaches an image capturing apparatus and accessories, wherein an open drain communication is executed via a third signal contact ([0060, 0156-0160, 0173, 0183]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Kamiya’s with the electronic apparatus taught by Goto and Okamoto to enable an open drain communication to be executed via the third signal contact for the purpose of preventing erroneous detection of mounting of an accessory on an image capturing apparatus while suppressing a decrease in reliability in terms of electrical connection (Kamiya: [0008]).
Regarding claim 5:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the electronic apparatus according to claim 1.
Goto and Okamoto do not specifically disclose that the first signal contact and the second signal contact are signal contacts used for an I2C communication.
Kamiya teaches an image capturing apparatus and accessories, wherein the a signal contact and a second signal contact are signal contacts used for an I2C communication.
([0060, 0156-0160, 0173, 0183]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Kamiya’s with the electronic apparatus taught by Goto and Okamoto to enable the first signal contact and the second signal contact to be signal contacts used for an I2C communication for the purpose of preventing erroneous detection of mounting of an accessory on an image capturing apparatus while suppressing a decrease in reliability in terms of electrical connection (Kamiya: [0008]).
Regarding claims 14-16:
Claims 14-16 are similarly rejected respectively as in claims 3-5 above.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0129127) and Okamoto et al. (JP 2017-151161) as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, 10-13, 17, 22, and 23 above, and further in view of Motoki et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2015/0244924).
Regarding claim 21:
Goto and Okamoto disclose and teach of the accessory according to claim 12.
Goto and Okamoto do not specifically disclose a connector having a protrusion that protrudes in a direction of attaching to the electronic apparatus and a direction orthogonal to the first direction at a position on both outer sides of the plurality of contacts in the first direction.
Motoki teaches accessory for use with camera, wherein the plurality of contacts (FIG. 5, (Ts1) to (Ts12)) are arranged in a first direction (FIG. 5, X-axis direction) orthogonal to an attachment direction of the accessory to the electronic apparatus (Y-axis direction), wherein the accessory comprises a connector having a protrusion (indicated below) that protrudes in a direction of attaching to the electronic apparatus and a direction orthogonal to the first direction at a position on both outer sides of the plurality of contacts in the first direction (FIG. 5),
wherein the plurality of contacts include a reference potential contact connected to a reference potential on at least one of both ends (FIGS. 5, 7, (Ts1)/(Ts12)), and wherein the protrusion includes a slope portion on a side not facing the plurality of contacts so that a width in the first direction of a tip in a protruding direction is smaller than that at a position away from the tip (FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Motoki’s with the accessory taught by Goto and Okamoto for the purpose of providing a camera and an accessory shoe having high safety in communication (Motoki: [0006-0008]).
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852