DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18 and 20-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes (Pub. No.: US 2012/0131458) in view of Hjelmstedt (Pub. No.: US 2014/0033257) and Brown et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0325382).
Regarding claim 1, Hayes discloses a method for controlling a media receiving device comprising: after launching a receiver application, receiving, by the receiver application from a sender application of the computing device (Fig. 1, element 110. Hayes’ element 110 can be seen as a computing device) via the wireless connection (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0029]), instructions that correspond to a command received by the computing device, wherein the command is a command to present a media content item (Figs. 3A-3D, paras. [0046]-[0050]) on a media playback device (Fig. 6, element 612, para. [0082]; Display 612 can be seen as a media playback device. Alternatively, the shared display device 140 can be seen as the media playback device.), wherein the instructions identify address information at which the media content item can be obtained (para. [0048]; “Sending flicked content, as referred to herein, may include sending a reference to the flicked content. For example, a sending device may send a reference to the flicked content to a receiving device, which may then obtain the flicked content (e.g., from a data repository).”); obtaining, by the media receiving device from a server associated with the address information and via a wireless connection between the media receiving device and the server and based at least in-part on the instructions, a portion of the media content item (para. [0065]; “In one example, a user on a cellular phone viewing a video streamed online may select the video with a flick. The cellular phone may then send a link to the video to a television (or device in communication with the television). The television through a connected network card may download the video and play the video.”); transferring, by the media receiving device to the media playback device via a wired connection between the media receiving device and the media playback device, the portion of the media content item (Fig. 6, elements 218, 602 and 612, para. [0082]). upon transferring the portion of the media content item to the media playback device, causing the portion of the media content item to begin being presented on the media playback device (para. [0065]); and causing, during the presentation of the portion of the media content item, the computing device to present a user control interface on the computing device, wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item (para. [0065]; Hayes states that “[t]he user may then control the playback of the video being played on television with the cellular phone. The system may, by default, provide playback control from the source of the video (the cellular phone in this example). Furthermore, the user may transfer playback control to another device (e.g. a tablet) within the same room.” As the user can control playback of the video, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display information about the media content item in proximity to the controls, such as the information shown in figure 3C, such that the user would know what video was being controlled. Further, Examiner will show, below, how Hjelmstedt further provides teaching related to this limitation.).
It could be argued that Hayes does not explicitly disclose wherein the media receiving device is detachably coupled to the media playback device via the wired connection. However, in analogous art, Hjelmstedt discloses an HDMI dongle 22 (similar to Applicant's media receiving device) that is connected to the HDMI input of a television set 16 (similar to Applicant's media playback device) that can be controlled by instruction sent from a smart phone/pad 18 (similar to Applicant's computing device), such that the HDMI dongle can provide streaming media over the internet to the television set via the HDMI input (Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Hayes to allow for the media receiving device to be detachably coupled to the media playback device via the wired connection. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for a user to essentially “upgrade” or “update” a television that did not have “smart television” capabilities by inserting an HDMI dongle into an HDMI port of said television, thus saving the user from having to purchase a new television while giving said user some of the benefits of smart television functionality (Hjelmstedt, paras. [0004], [0076] and [0077]).
It could further be argued that Hayes does not explicitly disclose wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item. However, Hjelmstedt further discloses that “the system 10 provides a remote control 18 equipped with, a screen, and at least one of a WI-FI adapter 20, a cellular network radio communication capability, and a web browser, the WI-FI adapter 20 is in connection with a WI-FI access point 25. A software application program adapted to connect 24, 26 to the backend system 14 through, shows electronic program information (EPG) about media content on the remote control 18 screen browsing said electronic program information and selecting a media content to be viewed by an end-user 112 of the remote control 18 (para. [0079]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hayes to allow for the user control interface to include information about the media content item. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow the remote control to display information relevant to the user experience, which could increase user involvement and satisfaction with the system.
It could also be argued that the combination of Hayes and Hjelmstedt does not explicitly disclose initiating, by the media receiving device, a wireless communication session between the media receiving device and a computing device, wherein initiating the wireless communication session causes the media receiving device to be connected to the computing device via a wireless connection; launching a receiver application on the media receiving device, wherein the receiver application enables the media receiving device to receive commands from the computing device. However, in analogous art, Brown discloses that, when sending information between multiple devices, “[t]he data sent from the first device 100 containing the application for the drop target or to launch such an application, may be in response to the connection being established between the first and second devices 100, 300 (Fig. 5, para. [0122]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayes and Hjelmstedt to allow for initiating, by the media receiving device, a wireless communication session between the media receiving device and a computing device, wherein initiating the wireless communication session causes the media receiving device to be connected to the computing device via a wireless connection; launching a receiver application on the media receiving device, wherein the receiver application enables the media receiving device to receive commands from the computing device. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the devices to be properly connected when such a connection was requested, and for the applications necessary to carry out the user’s requested actions to be properly launched in order to perform said requested actions.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: receiving, by the media receiving device and via the user control interface of the computing device, an instruction for controlling the presentation of the portion of the media content item on the media playback device (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the method of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the instruction corresponds to at least one of a play command for starting the presentation of the portion of the media content item and a pause command for stopping the presentation of the portion of the media content item (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: determining, by the media receiving device, the portion of the media content item obtained from the server based on an instruction for controlling the presentation of the portion of the media content item received by the computing device (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the wired connection is an HDMI connection (Hjelmstedt, Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein, when the media receiving device is detachably coupled to the media playback device, a portion of the media receiving device is located within the media playback device and a portion of the media receiving device located outside of the media playback device (Hjelmstedt, Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 8, Hayes discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a media receiving device (Fig. 6, element 618, paras. [0087]-[0089]. Communication interface 618 can be seen as a media receiving device. Alternatively, the designated management device of Hayes can be seen as the media receiving device, as Hayes states in para. [0038] that “[t]he shared display device (140) may include functionality to receive, process, and/or manage the content received from multiple sources. The shared display device (140) may be managed by a designated management device (not shown).”), cause the media receiving device to perform operations comprising: after launching a receiver application, receiving, by the receiver application from a sender application of the computing device (Fig. 1, element 110. Hayes’ element 110 can be seen as a computing device) via the wireless connection (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0029]), instructions that correspond to a command received by the computing device, wherein the command is a command to present a media content item (Figs. 3A-3D, paras. [0046]-[0050]) on a media playback device (Fig. 6, element 612, para. [0082]; Display 612 can be seen as a media playback device. Alternatively, the shared display device 140 can be seen as the media playback device.), wherein the instructions identify address information at which the media content item can be obtained (para. [0048]; “Sending flicked content, as referred to herein, may include sending a reference to the flicked content. For example, a sending device may send a reference to the flicked content to a receiving device, which may then obtain the flicked content (e.g., from a data repository).”); obtaining, by the media receiving device from a server associated with the address information and via a wireless connection between the media receiving device and the server and based at least in-part on the instructions, a portion of the media content item (para. [0065]; “In one example, a user on a cellular phone viewing a video streamed online may select the video with a flick. The cellular phone may then send a link to the video to a television (or device in communication with the television). The television through a connected network card may download the video and play the video.”); transferring, by the media receiving device to the media playback device via a wired connection between the media receiving device and the media playback device, the portion of the media content item (Fig. 6, elements 218, 602 and 612, para. [0082]); upon transferring the portion of the media content item to the media playback device, causing the portion of the media content item to begin being presented on the media playback device (para. [0065]); and causing, during the presentation of the portion of the media content item, the computing device to present a user control interface on the computing device, wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item (para. [0065]; Hayes states that “[t]he user may then control the playback of the video being played on television with the cellular phone. The system may, by default, provide playback control from the source of the video (the cellular phone in this example). Furthermore, the user may transfer playback control to another device (e.g. a tablet) within the same room.” As the user can control playback of the video, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display information about the media content item in proximity to the controls, such as the information shown in figure 3C, such that the user would know what video was being controlled. Further, Examiner will show, below, how Hjelmstedt further provides teaching related to this limitation.).
It could be argued that Hayes does not explicitly disclose wherein the media receiving device is detachably coupled to the media playback device via the wired connection. However, in analogous art, Hjelmstedt discloses an HDMI dongle 22 (similar to Applicant's media receiving device) that is connected to the HDMI input of a television set 16 (similar to Applicant's media playback device) that can be controlled by instruction sent from a smart phone/pad 18 (similar to Applicant's computing device), such that the HDMI dongle can provide streaming media over the internet to the television set via the HDMI input (Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Hayes to allow for the media receiving device to be detachably coupled to the media playback device via the wired connection. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for a user to essentially “upgrade” or “update” a television that did not have “smart television” capabilities by inserting an HDMI dongle into an HDMI port of said television, thus saving the user from having to purchase a new television while giving said user some of the benefits of smart television functionality (Hjelmstedt, paras. [0004], [0076] and [0077]).
It could further be argued that Hayes does not explicitly disclose wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item. However, Hjelmstedt further discloses that “the system 10 provides a remote control 18 equipped with, a screen, and at least one of a WI-FI adapter 20, a cellular network radio communication capability, and a web browser, the WI-FI adapter 20 is in connection with a WI-FI access point 25. A software application program adapted to connect 24, 26 to the backend system 14 through, shows electronic program information (EPG) about media content on the remote control 18 screen browsing said electronic program information and selecting a media content to be viewed by an end-user 112 of the remote control 18 (para. [0079]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hayes to allow for the user control interface to include information about the media content item. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow the remote control to display information relevant to the user experience, which could increase user involvement and satisfaction with the system.
It could also be argued that the combination of Hayes and Hjelmstedt does not explicitly disclose initiating, by the media receiving device, a wireless communication session between the media receiving device and a computing device, wherein initiating the wireless communication session causes the media receiving device to be connected to the computing device via a wireless connection; launching a receiver application on the media receiving device, wherein the receiver application enables the media receiving device to receive commands from the computing device. However, in analogous art, Brown discloses that, when sending information between multiple devices, “[t]he data sent from the first device 100 containing the application for the drop target or to launch such an application, may be in response to the connection being established between the first and second devices 100, 300 (Fig. 5, para. [0122]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayes and Hjelmstedt to allow for initiating, by the media receiving device, a wireless communication session between the media receiving device and a computing device, wherein initiating the wireless communication session causes the media receiving device to be connected to the computing device via a wireless connection; launching a receiver application on the media receiving device, wherein the receiver application enables the media receiving device to receive commands from the computing device. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the devices to be properly connected when such a connection was requested, and for the applications necessary to carry out the user’s requested actions to be properly launched in order to perform said requested actions.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, and further discloses the operations further comprising: receiving, by the media receiving device and via the user control interface on the computing device, an instruction for controlling the presentation of the portion of the media content item on the media playback device (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 9, and further discloses wherein the instruction corresponds to at least one of a play command for starting the presentation of the portion of the media content item and a pause command for stopping the presentation of the portion of the media content item (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, and further discloses the operations further comprising: determining, by the media receiving device, the portion of the media content item obtained from the server based on an instruction for controlling the presentation of the portion of the media content item received by the computing device (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the wired connection is an HDMI connection (Hjelmstedt, Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, and further discloses wherein, when the media receiving device is detachably coupled to the media playback device, a portion of the media receiving device is located within the media playback device and a portion of the media receiving device is located outside of the media playback device (Hjelmstedt, Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 15, Hayes discloses a media receiving device (Fig. 6, element 618, paras. [0087]-[0089]. Communication interface 618 can be seen as a media receiving device. Alternatively, the designated management device of Hayes can be seen as the media receiving device, as Hayes states in para. [0038] that “[t]he shared display device (140) may include functionality to receive, process, and/or manage the content received from multiple sources. The shared display device (140) may be managed by a designated management device (not shown).”) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 6, element 604, paras. [0078]-[0083]); and one or more computer-readable media storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the media receiving device to perform operations comprising: after launching a receiver application, receiving, by the receiver application from a sender application of the computing device (Fig. 1, element 110. Hayes’ element 110 can be seen as a computing device) via the wireless connection (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0029]), instructions that correspond to a command received by the computing device, wherein the command is a command to present a media content item (Figs. 3A-3D, paras. [0046]-[0050]) on a media playback device (Fig. 6, element 612, para. [0082]; Display 612 can be seen as a media playback device. Alternatively, the shared display device 140 can be seen as the media playback device.), wherein the instructions identify address information at which the media content item can be obtained (para. [0048]; “Sending flicked content, as referred to herein, may include sending a reference to the flicked content. For example, a sending device may send a reference to the flicked content to a receiving device, which may then obtain the flicked content (e.g., from a data repository).”); obtaining, by the media receiving device from a server associated with the address information and via a wireless connection between the media receiving device and the server and based at least in-part on the instructions, a portion of the media content item (para. [0065]; “In one example, a user on a cellular phone viewing a video streamed online may select the video with a flick. The cellular phone may then send a link to the video to a television (or device in communication with the television). The television through a connected network card may download the video and play the video.”); transferring, by the media receiving device to the media playback device via a wired connection between the media receiving device and the media playback device, the portion of the media content item (Fig. 6, elements 218, 602 and 612, para. [0082]); upon transferring the portion of the media content item to the media playback device, causing the portion of the media content item to begin being presented on the media playback device (para. [0065]); and causing, during the presentation of the portion of the media content item, the computing device to present a user control interface on the computing device, wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item (para. [0065]; Hayes states that “[t]he user may then control the playback of the video being played on television with the cellular phone. The system may, by default, provide playback control from the source of the video (the cellular phone in this example). Furthermore, the user may transfer playback control to another device (e.g. a tablet) within the same room.” As the user can control playback of the video, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display information about the media content item in proximity to the controls, such as the information shown in figure 3C, such that the user would know what video was being controlled. Further, Examiner will show, below, how Hjelmstedt further provides teaching related to this limitation.).
It could be argued that Hayes does not explicitly disclose wherein the media receiving device is detachably coupled to the media playback device via the wired connection. However, in analogous art, Hjelmstedt discloses an HDMI dongle 22 (similar to Applicant's media receiving device) that is connected to the HDMI input of a television set 16 (similar to Applicant's media playback device) that can be controlled by instruction sent from a smart phone/pad 18 (similar to Applicant's computing device), such that the HDMI dongle can provide streaming media over the internet to the television set via the HDMI input (Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Hayes to allow for the media receiving device to be detachably coupled to the media playback device via the wired connection. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for a user to essentially “upgrade” or “update” a television that did not have “smart television” capabilities by inserting an HDMI dongle into an HDMI port of said television, thus saving the user from having to purchase a new television while giving said user some of the benefits of smart television functionality (Hjelmstedt, paras. [0004], [0076] and [0077]).
It could further be argued that Hayes does not explicitly disclose wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item. However, Hjelmstedt further discloses that “the system 10 provides a remote control 18 equipped with, a screen, and at least one of a WI-FI adapter 20, a cellular network radio communication capability, and a web browser, the WI-FI adapter 20 is in connection with a WI-FI access point 25. A software application program adapted to connect 24, 26 to the backend system 14 through, shows electronic program information (EPG) about media content on the remote control 18 screen browsing said electronic program information and selecting a media content to be viewed by an end-user 112 of the remote control 18 (para. [0079]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hayes to allow for the user control interface to include information about the media content item. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow the remote control to display information relevant to the user experience, which could increase user involvement and satisfaction with the system.
It could also be argued that the combination of Hayes and Hjelmstedt does not explicitly disclose initiating, by the media receiving device, a wireless communication session between the media receiving device and a computing device, wherein initiating the wireless communication session causes the media receiving device to be connected to the computing device via a wireless connection; launching a receiver application on the media receiving device, wherein the receiver application enables the media receiving device to receive commands from the computing device. However, in analogous art, Brown discloses that, when sending information between multiple devices, “[t]he data sent from the first device 100 containing the application for the drop target or to launch such an application, may be in response to the connection being established between the first and second devices 100, 300 (Fig. 5, para. [0122]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayes and Hjelmstedt to allow for initiating, by the media receiving device, a wireless communication session between the media receiving device and a computing device, wherein initiating the wireless communication session causes the media receiving device to be connected to the computing device via a wireless connection; launching a receiver application on the media receiving device, wherein the receiver application enables the media receiving device to receive commands from the computing device. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the devices to be properly connected when such a connection was requested, and for the applications necessary to carry out the user’s requested actions to be properly launched in order to perform said requested actions.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the media receiving device of claim 15, and further discloses the operations further comprising: receiving, by the media receiving device and via the user control interface on the computing device, an instruction for controlling the presentation of the portion of the media content item on the media playback device, wherein the instruction corresponds to at least one of a play command for starting the presentation of the portion of the media content item and a pause command for stopping the presentation of the portion of the media content item (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the media receiving device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the media receiving device is included in the media playback device (Hayes, Fig. 1, element 140, para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the media receiving device of claim 15, and further discloses the operations further comprising: determining, by the media receiving device, the portion of the media content item obtained from the server based on an instruction for controlling the presentation of the media content item received by the computing device (Hayes, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the media receiving device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the wired connection is an HDMI connection (Hjelmstedt, Fig. 2, elements 16, 18 and 22, paras. [0071]-[0084]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 15.).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the user control interface is displayed as an overlay on an application screen of the computing device (Brown, para. [0064]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the user control interface is displayed as an overlay on an application screen of the computing device (Brown, para. [0064]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Hayes, Hjelmstedt and Brown discloses the media receiving device of claim 15, and further discloses wherein the user control interface is displayed as an overlay on an application screen of the computing device (Brown, para. [0064]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 15.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10:
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as being unpatentable over Hayes, U.S. Publication No. 2012/0131458 ("Hayes") in view of Hjelmstedt, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0033257 ("Hjelmstedt") and Brown et al., U.S. Publication No. 2014/0325382 ("Brown").
Without conceding there is merit to the rejections, claim 1 as presented recites, inter alia:
A method for controlling a media receiving device comprising: ...
transferring, by the media receiving device to the media playback device
via a wired connection between the media receiving device and the media playback device, the portion of the media content item, wherein the media receiving device is detachably coupled to the media playback device via the
wired connection;
upon transferring the portion of the media content item to the media
playback device, causing the portion of the media item to begin being
presented on the media playback device; and
causing, during the presentation of the portion of the media content item,
the computing device to present a user control interface on the computing device, wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item.
Hayes fails to teach at least "causing, during the presentation of the portion of the media content item, the computing device to present a user control interface on the computing device, wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item." The Office Action asserts Hayes teaches "transferring, by the media receiving device to the media playback device via a wired connection between the media receiving device and the media playback device, the portion of the media content item. (Action, p. 4). Further, in rejecting claims 2 and 3, the Action asserts Hayes teaches "receiving, by the media receiving device from the computing device, an instruction for controlling a presentation of the portion of the media content item on the media playback device... wherein the instruction corresponds to at least one of a play command for starting the presentation of the portion of the media content item and a pause command for stopping the presentation of the portion of the media content item". (Action, pp. 5-6.) In making these rejections, the Office Action points to paragraph [0065] of Hayes, which reads:
In an embodiment, a display screen on a shared display device is split up into different sections. For example, the display screen may include two or four sections, where each section displays content flicked to the display screen by a particular device. If four users, each with a device, flick content to a shared display screen with four sections, each user may have their own section for displaying content that is flicked by that user. In turn, each user has control over the playback of the content played in that section (e.g., using trickplay functions-fast-forward, pause, reverse, play, frame step, etc.). In one example, a user on a cellular phone viewing a video streamed online may select the video with a flick. The cellular phone may then send a link to the video to a television (or device in communication with the television). The television through a connected network card may download the video and play the video. The user may then control the playback of the video being played on television with the cellular phone.
Even assuming Hayes discloses the features as asserted by the Office Action as noted above, Hayes fails to disclose "causing, during the presentation of the portion of the media content item, the computing device to present a user control interface on the computing device, wherein the user control interface includes information about the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item." As indicated above, Hayes discloses control over playback of the content, such as by using "fast-forward, pause, reverse, play and frame step." In particular, while Hayes discusses control over playback, there is no disclosure that amounts to a control interface that includes "information about the media content item." In fact, the disclosure of Hayes is silent as to any user control interface on the computing device that includes information related to the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item, as recited in the amended claim.
Accordingly, Applicant submits that Hayes fails to teach the limitations of amended claim 1. None of the other cited references cure the deficiencies of Hayes, whether considered alone or in combination. Thus, claim 1 as amended is not obvious in light of the cited prior art.
Further in this regard, Applicant notes that claim 21, as newly presented, recites "wherein the user control interface is displayed as an overlay on an application screen of the computing device." It is respectfully that these claim features further distinguish this claim from the prior art.
For at least these reasons discussed above, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is patentable over the cited references and, therefore, requests that the rejections of claim 1 and its dependent claims be withdrawn.
Moreover, independent claims 8 and 15 may be compared with claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 8 and 15 are patentable for at least the reasons discussed above in connection with claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 8 and 15, as well the claims depending therefrom, be withdrawn.
Examiner’s response:
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that “the disclosure of Hayes is silent as to any user control interface on the computing device that includes information related to the media content item and controls to modify the presentation of the media content item.” Applicant has noted that Hayes does disclose “fast-forward, pause, reverse, play and frame step,” and further, as the user can control playback of the video, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display information about the media content item in proximity to the controls, such as the information shown in figure 3C, such that the user would know what video was being controlled.
However, if Applicant is not convinced by this position, Examiner has also shown how Hjelmstedt further provides teaching related to this limitation. That is, Hjelmstedt discloses that “the system 10 provides a remote control 18 equipped with, a screen, and at least one of a WI-FI adapter 20, a cellular network radio communication capability, and a web browser, the WI-FI adapter 20 is in connection with a WI-FI access point 25. A software application program adapted to connect 24, 26 to the backend system 14 through, shows electronic program information (EPG) about media content on the remote control 18 screen browsing said electronic program information and selecting a media content to be viewed by an end-user 112 of the remote control 18 (para. [0079]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hayes to allow for the user control interface to include information about the media content item. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow the remote control to display information relevant to the user experience, which could increase user involvement and satisfaction with the system.
Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18 and 20-23 are rejected.
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 March 5, 2026