DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 2, “blocking the path of spray inside tank” should read –blocking the path of spray inside the tank--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 3, the limitation "said body and deflectors" is recited in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winsted (US 5058612 A).
In regards to claim 1, Winsted discloses a safety device comprising: a main body (15) (Fig. 1) that fits onto an existing tank (11) manway (12) in place of the original door (as seen in Fig. 1); securing arms (34) (Fig. 3) attached via quick release clamps (col. 4, lines 23-27) to said main body (15); a solid spray deflector (22) (Fig. 2) attached to inside of said main body (15), and a rubber spray deflector (23) attached to the bottom of said main body (as seen in Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 3, Winsted discloses a safety device as in claim 1, wherein said body (15) (Fig. 1) and deflectors (22, 23) (Fig. 2) allow for a hose (27-29) to pass through into the tank (as seen in Fig. 2), while still blocking the path of spray inside tank (as seen in Fig. 2, the hose 27-29 fill the through-hole seen in Fig. 3, further blocking spray from inside the tank).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winsted (US 5058612 A) in view of Johnson (US 2105458 A).
In regards to claim 2, Winsted teaches a safety device as in claim 1, wherein said securing arms (34) (Fig. 3) are
Winsted does not teach the securing arms are adjustable in depth and rotation.
Johnson teaches the securing arms (65-69, 72-73) (Fig. 2) being adjustable in depth and rotation (pg. 3, col 2, lines 44-72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the securing arms of Winsted to include the adjustable securing arms as taught by Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the safety device to operate with differently sized manhole openings (see Johnson, pg. 3, col 2, lines 73-75 through pg. 4, col. 1, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Swan (WO 2025196401 A1) discloses a support apparatus for a pressurized fluid tool.
Anderson (US 20220219188 A1) discloses a slurry preparation sprayer apparatus.
Belue (US 20210016333 A1) discloses a cleaning apparatus for a tank.
Johnson (US 9725237 B2) discloses an inflatable hatch sealing device.
Harman (US 20170008045 A1) discloses a system and process for cleaning tanker truck interiors.
Moulder (US 5720310 A) discloses a tank car cleaning and rinsing apparatus and method.
Jaeger (US 5718382 A) discloses an apparatus for cleaning vessels fitted into a manhole with clamps.
Wieringa (US 4941493 A) discloses a device for washing and drying the inside tank of a tanker truck.
McKenzie (US 4030513 A) discloses a tank washer.
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615