DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment/Arguments
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on February. This action is made FINAL.
Allowable Subject Matter
III. Claims 8, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
IV. Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoara et al. (US 2024/0031804 A1) in view of Anand (US 2019/0052661 A1), and Nair et al. (US 2018/0324585 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Nicoara teaches a method comprising: receiving, at an authentication
server function (AUSF), an authentication request from a user equipment (UE) initiating a registration request (see paragraph [0034], The AUSF may receive an authentication request from the AMF. The associated subscriber may be initially connecting to the network. This reads on receiving, at an authentication server function (AUSF), an authentication request from a user equipment (UE) initiating a registration request); determining that an authentication vector (AV) associated with the UE is not stored at the AUSF (see paragraphs [0034] & [0039], The AV cache (see paragraph [0023]) may have been flushed, so the AV cache does not have any stored Avs associated with the subscriber. If it is determined that the AV is not present in the AV cache, the AV is requested from the UDM. This reads on determining that an authentication vector associated with the UE is not stored at the AUSF); sending, in response to determining that the authentication vector is not stored at the AUSF, an authentication get request to a unified data management (UDM) (see paragraph [0039], If it is determined that the AV is not present in the AV cache, the AV is requested from the UDM. This reads on sending, in response to determining that the authentication vector is not stored at the AUSF, an authentication get request to a unified data management (UDM)); receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors (see paragraphs [0035] & [0039], AV is requested from the UDM, for example, the AUSF requests AV from the UDM, the AV is received from the UDM. The AUSF may request the UDM send AVs to the AUSF (see paragraph [0027]). The AUSF may receive AVs from the UDM (see paragraph [0026]). This reads on receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors); and sending, in response to authenticating the UE, an authentication response (see paragraph [0050], If the authentication is successful, the AUSF may send a successful authentication message. The message may be sent to the AMF confirming successful authentication. This reads on sending, in response to authenticating the UE, an authentication response).
Nicoara does not specifically teach determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response.
Anand teaches determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response (AV) (see paragraph [0047], A determination is made as to whether the authentication input received as included in the authentication request matches the authentication key stored in a user profile. This reads on determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Nicoara adapt to include determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response because comparing UE identity information to authentication keys is a well-known and predictable mechanism for authentication of the UE for attachment/connection (see Anand above).
Nicoara and Anand do not teach a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station.
Nair teaches a Fifth Generation (5G) base station (see paragraph [0006]); and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station (see paragraph [0076], The HSS sends an authentication response to AMF/MME, the AMF/MME sends an attach response to the UE through gNB. This reads on a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Nicoara and Anand combination adapt to include a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station because it is well-known in 5G networks that messages, such as the ones in the Nicoara and Anand combination above, are sent to the UE via base station.
Regarding claim 2 Nicoara teaches wherein the at least one authentication vector is a first authentication vector and the authentication response includes at least one second authentication vector, the method further comprising: storing the at least one second authentication vector at the AUSF (see paragraph [0035], An authentication vector (AV) may be received from the UDM. The AUSF may receive the AV sent by the UDM in response to the AV request sent pursuant to UE authentication. The AUSF may receive the AV and the AV may be cached at the AUSF AV cache (see paragraph [0023]). Multiple Avs may be stored in the AV cache. This process may repeat as many times as necessary. This reads on wherein the at least one authentication vector is a first authentication vector and the authentication response includes at least one second authentication vector, the method further comprising: storing the at least one second authentication vector at the AUSF).
Regarding claim 7 Nicoara teaches wherein the authentication response includes five authentication and key agreement (AKA) vectors (see paragraph [0035], The AUSF may receive the Authentication Vector (AV) from the UDM. Multiple AVs may be sent and stored in the AV cache. This operation can repeat as many times as necessary with the desired number of AVs. This reads on wherein the authentication response includes five authentication and key agreement (AKA) vectors).
Regarding claim 9 Nicoara teaches a system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations (see paragraphs [0071] & [0073] – [0074], Computing devices may include a processing unit and a memory unit, the memory unit including a software module to be executed on the processing unit. This reads on system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations) comprising: receiving, at an authentication server function (AUSF), an authentication request from a user equipment (UE) initiating a registration request (see paragraph [0034], The AUSF may receive an authentication request from the AMF. The associated subscriber may be initially connecting to the network. This reads on receiving, at an authentication server function (AUSF), an authentication request from a user equipment (UE) initiating a registration request); determining that an authentication vector (AV) associated with the UE is not stored at the AUSF (see paragraphs [0034] & [0039], The AV cache (see paragraph [0023]) may have been flushed, so the AV cache does not have any stored Avs associated with the subscriber. If it is determined that the AV is not present in the AV cache, the AV is requested from the UDM. This reads on determining that an authentication vector associated with the UE is not stored at the AUSF); sending, in response to determining that the authentication vector is not stored at the AUSF, an authentication get request to a unified data management (UDM) (see paragraph [0039], If it is determined that the AV is not present in the AV cache, the AV is requested from the UDM. This reads on sending, in response to determining that the authentication vector is not stored at the AUSF, an authentication get request to a unified data management (UDM)); receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors (see paragraphs [0035] & [0039], AV is requested from the UDM, for example, the AUSF requests AV from the UDM, the AV is received from the UDM. The AUSF may request the UDM send AVs to the AUSF (see paragraph [0027]). The AUSF may receive AVs from the UDM (see paragraph [0026]). This reads on receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors); and sending, in response to authenticating the UE, an authentication response (see paragraph [0050], If the authentication is successful, the AUSF may send a successful authentication message. The message may be sent to the AMF confirming successful authentication. This reads on sending, in response to authenticating the UE, an authentication response).
Nicoara does not specifically teach determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response.
Anand teaches determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response (AV) (see paragraph [0047], A determination is made as to whether the authentication input received as included in the authentication request matches the authentication key stored in a user profile. This reads on determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Nicoara adapt to include determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response because comparing UE identity information to authentication keys is a well-known and predictable mechanism for authentication of the UE for attachment/connection (see Anand above).
Nicoara and Anand do not teach a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station.
Nair teaches a Fifth Generation (5G) base station (see paragraph [0006]); and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station (see paragraph [0076], The HSS sends an authentication response to AMF/MME, the AMF/MME sends an attach response to the UE through gNB. This reads on a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Nicoara and Anand combination adapt to include a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station because it is well-known in 5G networks that messages, such as the ones in the Nicoara and Anand combination above, are sent to the UE via base station.
Regarding claim 10 Nicoara, Anand, and Nair teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 15 Nicoara teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (see paragraphs [0071] & [0073] – [0074], Computing devices may include a processing unit and a memory unit, the memory unit including a software module to be executed on the processing unit. This reads on one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations), comprising: receiving, at an authentication server function (AUSF), an authentication request from a user equipment (UE) initiating a registration request (see paragraph [0034], The AUSF may receive an authentication request from the AMF. The associated subscriber may be initially connecting to the network. This reads on receiving, at an authentication server function (AUSF), an authentication request from a user equipment (UE) initiating a registration request); determining that an authentication vector (AV) associated with the UE is not stored at the AUSF (see paragraphs [0034] & [0039], The AV cache (see paragraph [0023]) may have been flushed, so the AV cache does not have any stored Avs associated with the subscriber. If it is determined that the AV is not present in the AV cache, the AV is requested from the UDM. This reads on determining that an authentication vector associated with the UE is not stored at the AUSF); sending, in response to determining that the authentication vector is not stored at the AUSF, an authentication get request to a unified data management (UDM) (see paragraph [0039], If it is determined that the AV is not present in the AV cache, the AV is requested from the UDM. This reads on sending, in response to determining that the authentication vector is not stored at the AUSF, an authentication get request to a unified data management (UDM)); receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors (see paragraphs [0035] & [0039], AV is requested from the UDM, for example, the AUSF requests AV from the UDM, the AV is received from the UDM. The AUSF may request the UDM send AVs to the AUSF (see paragraph [0027]). The AUSF may receive AVs from the UDM (see paragraph [0026]). This reads on receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors); and sending, in response to authenticating the UE, an authentication response (see paragraph [0050], If the authentication is successful, the AUSF may send a successful authentication message. The message may be sent to the AMF confirming successful authentication. This reads on sending, in response to authenticating the UE, an authentication response).
Nicoara does not specifically teach determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response.
Anand teaches determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response (AV) (see paragraph [0047], A determination is made as to whether the authentication input received as included in the authentication request matches the authentication key stored in a user profile. This reads on determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Nicoara adapt to include determining to authenticate the UE based on comparing information included in the authentication request with at least one authentication vector included in the authentication response because comparing UE identity information to authentication keys is a well-known and predictable mechanism for authentication of the UE for attachment/connection (see Anand above).
Nicoara and Anand do not teach a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station.
Nair teaches a Fifth Generation (5G) base station (see paragraph [0006]); and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station (see paragraph [0076], The HSS sends an authentication response to AMF/MME, the AMF/MME sends an attach response to the UE through gNB. This reads on a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Nicoara and Anand combination adapt to include a Fifth Generation (5G) base station; and sending, the response, to the 5G base station to register the UE at the 5G base station because it is well-known in 5G networks that messages, such as the ones in the Nicoara and Anand combination above, are sent to the UE via base station.
Regarding claim 16 Nicoara teaches wherein the at least one authentication vector is a first authentication vector and the authentication response includes at least one second authentication vector, the method further comprising: storing the at least one second authentication vector at the AUSF or storing the at least one second authentication vector at an unstructured data storage function (UDSF) (see paragraph [0035], An authentication vector (AV) may be received from the UDM. The AUSF may receive the AV sent by the UDM in response to the AV request sent pursuant to UE authentication. The AUSF may receive the AV and the AV may be cached at the AUSF AV cache (see paragraph [0023]). Multiple Avs may be stored in the AV cache. This process may repeat as many times as necessary. This reads on wherein the at least one authentication vector is a first authentication vector and the authentication response includes at least one second authentication vector, the method further comprising: storing the at least one second authentication vector at the AUSF).
Regarding claim 19 Nicoara, Anand, and Nair teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
V. Claims 3-5, 11-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoara et al. (US 2024/0031804 A1) in view of Anand (US 2019/0052661 A1), Nair et al. (US 2018/0324585 A1), and Dao et al. (US 2020/0112907 A1).
Regarding claim 3 Nicoara, Anand, and Nair teach the method of claim 1 including wherein the at least one authentication vector is a first authentication vector and the authentication response includes at least one second authentication vector, the method further comprising: storing the at least one second authentication vector (see Nicoara, paragraph [0035], An authentication vector (AV) may be received from the UDM. The AUSF may receive the AV sent by the UDM in response to the AV request sent pursuant to UE authentication. The AUSF may receive the AV and the AV may be cached at the AUSF AV cache (see paragraph [0023]). Multiple Avs may be stored in the AV cache. This process may repeat as many times as necessary. This reads on wherein the at least one authentication vector is a first authentication vector and the authentication response includes at least one second authentication vector, the method further comprising: storing the at least one second authentication vector at the AUSF) and except for storing the at least one second authentication vector at an unstructured data storage function (UDSF).
Dao teaches storing data at an unstructured data storage function (UDSF) (see paragraph [0316], Operation data collected from the CP functions such as SMF, AMF, UDM, UE, etc. may be stored in the UDSF. This reads on storing data at an unstructured data storage function (UDSF)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make storing the at least one second authentication vector in the Nicoara, Anand, and Nair combination adapt to include storing the at least one second authentication vector at an unstructured data storage function (UDSF) because it is well-known that that UDSF may store data collected from the CP functions such as SMF, AMF, UDM, UE (see Dao, above) and therefore can be used to store authentication vectors.
Regarding claim 4 Dao teaches receiving the authentication request via an N12 interface (see page 21, TABLE 2, The authentication request is received by the AUSF from the AMF (see Nicoara, paragraph [0034]). The N12 interface is an interface between the AUSF and AMF. This reads on receiving the authentication request via an N12 interface).
Regarding claim 5 Dao teaches sending the authentication get request via an N13 interface (see page 21, TABLE 2, The authentication get request is sent by the AUSF and received at UDM (see Nicoara, paragraph [0034]). The N13 interface is an interface between the AUSF and UDM. This reads on sending the authentication get request via an N13 interface).
Regarding claim 11 Nicoara, Anand, Nair, and Dao teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 12 Nicoara, Anand, Nair, and Dao teach limitations as recited in claims 4-5 and therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 17 Nicoara, Anand, Nair, and Dao teach limitations as recited in claims 4-5 and therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 6, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicoara et al. (US 2024/0031804 A1) in view of Anand (US 2019/0052661 A1), Nair et al. (US 2018/0324585 A1), and Sangameswaran et al. (US 12,206,742).
Regarding claim 6 Nicoara, Anand, and Nair teach the method of claim 1 including an AUSF in communication with cloud component UDM (see Nicoara, paragraph [0023], The AUSF located on edge enables 5G-AKA UE authentication and is in communication with UDM (see Fig. 1) and except for wherein the AUSF is a common AUSF in communication with a plurality of UDMs that are associated with respective geographic regions.
Sangameswaran teaches for wherein the AUSF is a common AUSF in communication with a plurality of UDMs that are associated with respective geographic regions (see col. 4, lines 45-61 and Fig. 1, A first part of a 5G network includes AUSF and UDM. There can be multiple instances of the same network function such as multiple instances of UDM in a particular part of the 5G Core network. This reads on a common AUSF in communication with a plurality of UDMs that are associated with respective geographic regions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the AUSF in the Nicoara, Anand, and Nair combination adapt to include the AUSF in communication with a plurality of UDMs that are associated with respective geographic regions because it can allow for the network to be more reliable by providing redundancy in the network in case one or another network function fails (see Sangameswaran, col. 1, line 14-17).
Regarding claim 13 Nicoara, Anand, Nair, and Sangameswaran teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 18 Nicoara, Anand, Nair, and Sangameswaran teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Response to Arguments
VII. Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15 applicant argues that Nicoara does not teach receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors. Applicant suggests that Nicoara teaches receiving multiple AVs in multiple response messages.
The examiner disagrees.
Nicoara teaches receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors (see paragraphs [0035] & [0039]).
AV is requested from the UDM, for example, the AUSF requests AV from the UDM, the AV is received from the UDM. The AUSF may request the UDM send AVs to the AUSF (see paragraph [0027]). The AUSF may receive AVs from the UDM (see paragraph [0026]).
This reads on receiving, from the UDM, an authentication response comprising a plurality of authentication vectors.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 9, and 15 will remain. Claims 2-7, 10-13, and 16-19 will remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons given above.
Conclusion
VIII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aghili et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0345894 A1 discloses registration and security enhancements for a WTRU with multiple USIMS including a UDM sending multiple AVs in a response to AUSF (see paragraph [0112]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
February 15, 2026