Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein a number-average particle size of the fillers is 0.5 μm or more and 10 μm or less” while claim 5 (which depends upon claim 3) recites that “the number-average particle size of the fillers is 15 μm or more and 40 μm or less.” Since claim 5 is dependent upon claim 3, and claims 3 and 5 recite different number-average particle sizes, these claims are considered indefinite because it is not possible to satisfy both ranges and it is not clear which number-average particle size range is intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nemoto et al. (US 2010/0272989).
With respect to claims 1 and 10, Nemoto et al. disclose a molded article (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 111 and/or 120) comprising: a composition comprising: at least one or more thermal conductive fillers (as discussed at least in paragraph 101); and a resin or rubber (as discussed at least in paragraphs 73-74), wherein the fillers have a shape factor SF1 of 120 or more and 400 or less (as shown at least by figs. 13-24 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 130-139) and a shape factor SF2 of 140 or more and 325 or less (as shown at least by figs. 25-36 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 130-139).
With respect to claims 2 and 11, Nemoto et al. further disclose comprising: the resin (as discussed at least in paragraphs 73-74).
With respect to claims 4 and 13, Nemoto et al. further disclose comprising: the rubber (as discussed at least in paragraphs 73-74).
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Nemoto et al. further disclose wherein the composition has a thermal conductivity of 1.2 W/mK or more (as discussed at least in paragraphs 101, 109-139, and/or as shown at least by fig. 37).
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Nemoto et al. further disclose wherein a content of the fillers is 5% by volume or more and 50% by volume or less with respect to the composition (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 109-139).
With respect to claims 8 and 17, Nemoto et al. further disclose wherein the content of the fillers is 5% by volume or more and 20% by volume or less with respect to the composition (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 109-139).
With respect to claim 9, Nemoto et al. further disclose wherein an aspect ratio of the fillers is 6 or less (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 85-88 and/or 126-134).
With respect to claim 18, Nemoto et al. disclose a fixing member (as discussed at least in paragraphs 20, 65-71 and/or 108 and/or as shown at least by fig. 37) comprising: a substrate layer; and an elastic layer provided on the substrate layer (as discussed at least in paragraph 108), wherein at least one of the substrate layer or the elastic layer contains the composition according to claim 1 (as discussed at least in paragraphs 108-139).
With respect to claim 19, Nemoto et al. disclose a fixing device (as shown at least by fig. 37) comprising: a first rotary member (e.g., “fixing roller” and/or “fixing belt”); and a second rotary member (e.g., “pressure roller” and/or “fixing belt”) that is arranged in contact with an outer surface of the first rotary member, wherein at least one of the first rotary member or the second rotary member is the fixing member according to claim 18 (as discussed at least in paragraphs 20, 65-71 and/or 108 and/or as shown at least by fig. 37).
With respect to claim 20, Nemoto et al. disclose an image forming apparatus comprising: an image holder; a charging device that charges a surface of the image holder; an electrostatic latent image forming device that forms an electrostatic latent image on the charged surface of the image holder; a developing device that develops the electrostatic latent image formed on the surface of the image holder with a toner to form a toner image; a transfer device that transfers the toner image formed on the surface of the image holder to a recording medium; and the fixing device according to claim 19 that fixes the toner image to the recording medium (as discussed at least in paragraphs 20, 65-71 and/or 108 and/or as shown at least by fig. 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemoto et al. (US 2010/0272989) in view of Sugawara et al. (US 2014/0199102).
With respect to claims 3, 5, 12 and 14, Nemoto et al. disclose the composition according to claim 1, but are silent with regards to the particle size and thus do not disclose wherein the number-average particle size of the fillers is 15 μm or more and 40 μm or less.
With further respect to claims 3, 5, 12 and 14, Sugawara et al. teach a fixing member wherein the number-average particle size of the fillers is 15 μm or more and 40 μm or less (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the filler size of Sugawara et al. for the filler of Nemoto et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in achieving fixation.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW