DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 11/24/2025.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 1-24 are pending.
5. Claims 4, 6, 10-12, 16, 18, 22-24 were previously objected to for allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant argues that Kim fails to teach or suggest "receiving a configuration indicating a set of cells that are configured for serving the UE and support mobility signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling" as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claims 7, 13, and 19; and that Kim is completely silent with respect to cells supporting handover signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling.
Examiner Response:
In response to Applicant's argument that the reference does not teach or reasonably suggest the functionality upon which the Examiner relies for the rejection; the Examiner first emphasizes for the record that the claims employ a broader in scope than the Applicant's disclosure in all aspects. In addition, the Applicant has not argued any narrower interpretation of the claim limitations, nor amended the claims significantly enough to construe a narrower meaning to the limitations. Since the claims breadth allows multiple interpretations and meanings, which are broader than Applicant's disclosure, the Examiner is required to interpret the claim limitations in terms of their broadest reasonable interpretations while determining patentability of the disclosed invention. See MPEP 2111. In other words, the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach.
Hence, the prior art, Kim explicitly states in Sections [0148] Configuration information of a cell group configured in a terminal for example, configuration information or bearer configuration information of each PDCP, RLC, or MAC layer; Section [0197] The network base station configure PCells and a plurality of SCells in the terminal to communicate in each MAC layer with carrier aggregation technology; Fig. [1B] Depicts the UE device and eNB device both including MAC and PHY entities/layers (a layer referred to an entity see 0053) within the devices; Section [0278] The RRC message includes an indicator for configuration information indicating handover (i.e. mobility) and the mobilitycontrolInfo indicator; Section [0633] When configuration indicator for configuring a cell group is included, a first indicator mobilityControlInfo may also be included.
Based on the above disclosure in Kim, it is evident to one skilled in the art, that the base station which is considered a serving cell manager of set of cells/group of cells configures the UE/terminal with configuration information indicating cell group information for each MAC layer and with carrier aggregation for supporting mobility/handover via the included mobilitycontrolinfo and the indicating handover in the RRC message. It is evident that the terminal is configured with information and bearer configuration corresponding to cell groups mapped to each layers including MAC layer. Moreover, the Figure 1B provide clear evidence that both the UE and eNB devices can perform operations, support and communicate according to the radio protocol layer of MAC layer and PHY layer. In fact, the MAC and PHY entities residing within the devices are known and suggests that the UE is capable of receiving configuration information using or via the protocols i.e. MAC and PHY.
Additionally, regarding Applicant’s argument that Kim is completely silent on cells supporting handover signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling, Examiner respectfully disagree.
It is so because Kim’s disclosure explicitly state in Section [0197] The network base station configure PCells and a plurality of SCells in the terminal to communicate in each MAC layer with carrier aggregation technology; Section [0643] Bearer configuration information, indicator information indicating an operation of a protocol layer (e.g., MAC layer) of each bearer or indicator triggering new operation; Section [0644] When configuration information or an indicator for configuring, activating, modifying, or reconfiguring dual connectivity, a cell group (i.e. set of cells) is included, a first indicator mobilityControlInfor may be included; Section [0065] A data bearer is under the control of the MME which is a device that performs mobility management function for the UE and connected to a plurality of base stations; Section [0100] The NR CN (core network) perform functions such as mobility support and bearer configuration; Section [0278] The RRC message includes an indicator for configuration information indicating handover (i.e. mobility) and the mobilitycontrolInfo indicator.
Based on the above citations in Kim, it is clearly evident that Kim is not silent on cells and mobility/handover. Kim discloses the cell groups or set of cells are configured for and in the terminal/UE as configuration information and bearer configuration. The configuration information and bearer configuration includes an indicator of a protocol layer and MAC layer for mobility. This suggests that the UE is capable of receiving information relating to mobility via MAC layer. Moreover, the mobilityControlInfo recited in Kim is an indicator for mobility via MAC layer.
Therefore, Applicant's remarks and arguments to the rejected claims are insufficient to distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior art or overcome the rejection of said claims as discussed above. Further, it is not clear as to how Applicant's claimed invention is different than the cited prior art. Applicant's argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for the above reasons. Since no claim amendments were presented, this office action is made final. The pending application is not in condition for allowance at this time.
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 4, 6, 10-12, 16, 18, 22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
2. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 13-15, 17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 20220022067 hereafter Kim.
As to Claim 1. (Original) Kim discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising [Fig. 1A, Sections 0007, 0051: Provided is a method and apparatus for activation and deactivation of a cell group in a mobile communication system. Examples of a terminal may include a user equipment (UE) capable of performing a communication function]:
receiving a configuration indicating a set of cells that are configured for serving the UE [Section 0197: The network base station configure PCells and a plurality of SCells in the terminal to communicate in each MAC layer with carrier aggregation technology] and support mobility signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling [Figs. 1B, 1F, Sections 0148, 0152, 0278, 0633: For example, configuration information of a cell group (i.e. set of cells) configured in a terminal for example configuration information or bearer configuration information of each PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer. A terminal receives a message, a PDCCH indicator (i.e. PHY layer see 0264), MAC control information or an RRC message indicating to activate cell group. The RRC message includes an indicator for configuration information indicating handover (i.e. mobility) and the mobilitycontrolInfo indicator. When configuration indicator for configuring a cell group is included, a first indicator mobilityControlInfo may also be included];
receiving signaling that indicates a group of cells for the UE to remove [i.e. deactivate, release or discard] from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0492, 0818: When the release of cell group information is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated in the RRC message. When an indicator indicating to deactivate a cell group or a PSCell of the cell group is received in a PHY layer or a MAC layer, perform a corresponding procedure of a protocol layer for cell group deactivation. A terminal receive a message (e.g., DCI of a PDCCH, MAC control information, or an RRC message) from a base station, when cell group indicator is included in the message, the terminal determine whether a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated],
and releasing the indicated group of cells from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0452, 0818: When the release of cell group is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated. When RAN notification area (RNA) updating is performed, the terminal receive and apply the indicator information indicating whether to discard or release the SCell or the PSCell (or indicated cells) of the cell group. When a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated in the message, a cell group release may be performed based embodiments of the disclosure].
As to Claim 2. (Original) Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCI or a MAC control element (MAC CE) [Sections 0381, 0818: An indication to deactivate the BWP of the current cell (PCell, PSCell, or SCell) or the cell is received through the DCI of the PDCCH (L1 control signal). A terminal receive a message e.g., DCI of a PDCCH or MAC control information from a base station, when cell group configuration information or a cell group indicator is included in the message, the terminal determine whether a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated].
As to Claim 3. (Original) Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the signaling comprises a first set of bits, each bit in the first set indicating whether to release a corresponding group of cells in the set of cells [Sections 0408-0409, 0514, 0818: The base station define a bitmap in DCI of a PDCCH transmitted in the PCell and map each bit of the bitmap to indicate each SCell or each SCell group identifier value, or a cell group identifier. After receiving the DCI of the PDCCH in a PCell, the terminal read the DCI and may determine whether there is a bitmap including an indication to suspend cell group of the cell group according to a bit value. MAC CE or MAC control information may be designed bitmap information included in the MAC control information to indicate deactivation (i.e. release) or suspension of a cell group, a cell, or a BWP. A terminal receive a message DCI of a PDCCH or MAC control information from a base station, when cell group indicator is included in the message, the terminal determine whether a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Kim discloses the method of claim 4, wherein releasing the corresponding group of cells comprises removing each cell in the group from the configuration for serving the UE [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0452, 0818: When the release of cell group is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated. When RAN notification area (RNA) updating is performed, the terminal receive and apply the indicator information indicating whether to discard or release the SCell or the PSCell (or indicated cells) of the cell group. When a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated in the message, a cell group release may be performed based embodiments of the disclosure].
As to Claim 7. (Original) Kim discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity [i.e. Base Station], comprising [Fig. 1A, Sections 0007, 0064: Provided is a method and apparatus for activation and deactivation of a cell group in a mobile communication system. A radio access network (RAN) includes base station]:
transmitting a configuration indicating a set of cells that are configured for serving a user equipment (UE) [Section 0197: The network base station configure PCells and a plurality of SCells in the terminal to communicate in each MAC layer with carrier aggregation technology] and support mobility signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling [Figs. 1B, 1F, Sections 0148, 0152, 0278, 0633: For example, configuration information of a cell group (i.e. set of cells) configured in a terminal for example configuration information or bearer configuration information of each PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer. A terminal receives a message, a PDCCH indicator (i.e. PHY layer see 0264), MAC control information or an RRC message indicating to activate cell group. The RRC message includes an indicator for configuration information indicating handover (i.e. mobility) and the mobilitycontrolInfo indicator. When configuration indicator for configuring a cell group is included, a first indicator mobilityControlInfo may also be included];
transmitting first signaling that indicates a group of cells for the UE to remove [i.e. deactivate, release or discard] from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0492, 0818: When the release of cell group information is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated in the RRC message for example. When an indicator indicating to deactivate a cell group or a PSCell of the cell group is received in a PHY layer or a MAC layer, perform a corresponding procedure of a protocol layer for cell group deactivation. A terminal receive a message (e.g., DCI of a PDCCH, MAC control information, or an RRC message) from a base station, when cell group indicator is included in the message, the terminal determine whether a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated];
and removing the indicated group from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0452, 0818: When the release of cell group is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated. When RAN notification area (RNA) updating is performed, the terminal receive and apply the indicator information indicating whether to discard or release the SCell or the PSCell (or indicated cells) of the cell group. When a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated in the message, a cell group release may be performed based embodiments of the disclosure].
As to Claim 8. (Original) The method of claim 7, wherein the first signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCT or a MAC control element (MAC CE) [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 7, wherein the first signaling comprises a first set of bits, each bit in the first set indicating whether to release a corresponding group of cells in the set of cells [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communications, comprising [Fig. 1A, Sections 0007, 0051: Provided is a method and apparatus for activation and deactivation of a cell group in a mobile communication system. Examples of a terminal may include a user equipment (UE) capable of performing a communication function]:
at least one memory [Storage 1s-30] comprising computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor [Controller 1s-40] configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to [Fig. 15/1S, Sections 0820, 0824-0825: A terminal include a storage 1s-30 and a controller 1s-40. The storage 1s-30 store program for an operation of the terminal or configuration information and include a storage medium, the storage may include one or more memories. The controller 1s-40 may control overall operations of the terminal; records and reads data to and from the storage and include at least one processor]
receive a configuration indicating a set of cells that are configured for serving the UE [Section 0197: The network base station configure PCells and a plurality of SCells in the terminal to communicate in each MAC layer with carrier aggregation technology] and support mobility signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling [Figs. 1B, 1F, Sections 0148, 0152, 0278, 0633: For example, configuration information of a cell group (i.e. set of cells) configured in a terminal for example configuration information or bearer configuration information of each PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer. A terminal receives a message, a PDCCH indicator (i.e. PHY layer see 0264), MAC control information or an RRC message indicating to activate cell group. The RRC message includes an indicator for configuration information indicating handover (i.e. mobility) and the mobilitycontrolInfo indicator. When configuration indicator for configuring a cell group is included, a first indicator mobilityControlInfo may also be included];
receive signaling that indicates a group of cells for the UE to remove [i.e. deactivate, release or discard] from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0492, 0818: When the release of cell group information is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated in the RRC message for example. When an indicator indicating to deactivate a cell group or a PSCell of the cell group is received in a PHY layer or a MAC layer, perform a corresponding procedure of a protocol layer for cell group deactivation. A terminal receive a message (e.g., DCI of a PDCCH, MAC control information, or an RRC message) from a base station, when cell group indicator is included in the message, the terminal determine whether a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated];
and release the indicated group from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0452, 0818: When the release of cell group is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated. When RAN notification area (RNA) updating is performed, the terminal receive and apply the indicator information indicating whether to discard or release the SCell or the PSCell (or indicated cells) of the cell group. When a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated in the message, a cell group release may be performed based embodiments of the disclosure].
As to Claim 14. (Original) Kim discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor [Controller 1s-40] being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to receive the signaling comprises the at least one processor being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause [Fig. 15/1S, Sections 0820, 0824-0825: A terminal include a storage 1s-30 and a controller 1s-40. The storage 1s-30 store program for an operation of the terminal or configuration information and include a storage medium, the storage may include one or more memories. The controller 1s-40 may control overall operations of the terminal; records and reads data to and from the storage and include at least one processor] the UE to receive at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) or a MAC control element (MAC CE) [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. (Original) Kim discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor [Controller 1s-40] being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to [Fig. 15/1S, Sections 0820, 0824-0825: A terminal include a storage 1s-30 and a controller 1s-40. The storage 1s-30 store program for an operation of the terminal or configuration information and include a storage medium, the storage may include one or more memories. The controller 1s-40 may control overall operations of the terminal; records and reads data to and from the storage and include at least one processor] receive the signaling comprises the at least one processor [Controller 1s-40] being configured to execute the computer- executable instructions and cause the UE to receive a first set of bits, each bit in the first set indicating whether to release a corresponding group of cells in the set of cells [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. (Original) Kim discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor [Controller 1s-40] being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE [Fig. 15/1S, Sections 0820, 0824-0825: A terminal include a storage 1s-30 and a controller 1s-40. The storage 1s-30 store program for an operation of the terminal or configuration information and include a storage medium, the storage may include one or more memories. The controller 1s-40 may control overall operations of the terminal; records and reads data to and from the storage and include at least one processor] to release the corresponding group of cells comprises the at least one processor [Controller 1s-40] being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to deactivate each cell in the group from serving the UE [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Kim discloses a network entity [i.e. Base Station] configured for wireless communications, comprising [Fig. 1A, Sections 0007, 0064: Provided is a method and apparatus for activation and deactivation of a cell group in a mobile communication system. A radio access network (RAN) includes base station]:
at least one memory [Storage 1t-40] comprising computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor [Controller 1t-50] configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the network entity to [Fig. 1T, Sections 0827, 0831-0832: A base station include a storage 1t-40 and a controller 1t-50. The storage 1t-40 store basic program for an operation of the base station; the storage provide stored data according to a request of the controller 1t-50 may include a storage medium; the storage include one or more memories. The controller may control overall operations of the base station, the controller include at least one processor]:
transmit a configuration indicating a set of cells that are configured for serving a user equipment (UE) [Section 0197: The network base station configure PCells and a plurality of SCells in the terminal to communicate in each MAC layer with carrier aggregation technology] and support mobility signaling via physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling [Figs. 1B, 1F, Sections 0148, 0152, 0278, 0633: For example, configuration information of a cell group (i.e. set of cells) configured in a terminal for example configuration information or bearer configuration information of each PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer. A terminal receives a message, a PDCCH indicator (i.e. PHY layer see 0264), MAC control information or an RRC message indicating to activate cell group. The RRC message includes an indicator for configuration information indicating handover (i.e. mobility) and the mobilitycontrolInfo indicator. When configuration indicator for configuring a cell group is included, a first indicator mobilityControlInfo may also be included];
transmit first signaling that indicates a group of cells for the UE to remove [i.e. deactivate, release or discard] from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0492, 0818: When the release of cell group information is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated in the RRC message for example. When an indicator indicating to deactivate a cell group or a PSCell of the cell group is received in a PHY layer or a MAC layer, perform a corresponding procedure of a protocol layer for cell group deactivation. A terminal receive a message (e.g., DCI of a PDCCH, MAC control information, or an RRC message) from a base station, when cell group indicator is included in the message, the terminal determine whether a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated];
and remove the indicated group from the set of cells [Fig. 1R, Sections 0213, 0452, 0818: When the release of cell group is indicated, the terminal release or discard the cell group indicated. When RAN notification area (RNA) updating is performed, the terminal receive and apply the indicator information indicating whether to discard or release the SCell or the PSCell (or indicated cells) of the cell group. When a cell group is indicated to be released or deactivated in the message, a cell group release may be performed based embodiments of the disclosure].
As to Claim 20. (Original) Kim discloses the network entity [i.e. Base Station] of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the network entity to transmit the first signaling comprises the at least one processor being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause [Fig. 1T, Sections 0827, 0831-0832: A base station include a storage 1t-40 and a controller 1t-50. The storage 1t-40 store basic program for an operation of the base station; the storage provide stored data according to a request of the controller 1t-50 may include a storage medium; the storage include one or more memories. The controller may control overall operations of the base station, the controller include at least one processor] the network entity to transmit at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) or a MAC control element (MAC CE) [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 21. (Original) Kim discloses the network entity [i.e. Base Station] of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the network entity to transmit the first signaling comprises the at least one processor being configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the [Fig. 1T, Sections 0827, 0831-0832: A base station include a storage 1t-40 and a controller 1t-50. The storage 1t-40 store basic program for an operation of the base station; the storage provide stored data according to a request of the controller 1t-50 may include a storage medium; the storage include one or more memories. The controller may control overall operations of the base station, the controller include at least one processor]:
network entity to transmit a first set of bits, each bit in the first set indicating whether to release a corresponding group of cells in the set of cells [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. Kim et al. US 20240007913 in particular title “Operation on a set of cells based on Layer 2 mobility”
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
February 26, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477