DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed 3/17/2026.
Election/Restriction
During a telephone conversation with R. James Balls on 9/19/2025 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-17. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Mr. Balls affirmed the election in the response filed 3/17/2026.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant’s arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered. In view of the claims as newly amended, new rejections are presented. Arguments directed to the claims as amended in view of Lee are moot. As the new reference relied upon below is similar to Lee the examiner will address Applicant comments with respect to Lee and Kim as applied to the rejection below.
103 Rejections
In summary, Applicant remarks the problems of Kim are not pertinent to the problem of Linares since Linares is directed to compositions to condition hair and Kim is directed to a personal cleansing solvent.
This is not persuasive. As discussed below, Linares teaches hair conditioning composition, but also teaches rinse off formulations and teaches these to include shampoo (i.e. cleansing composition) and body washes, thus it would be obvious to add a cleansing component to the hair conditioner of Lee.
Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant argues that US’694 no longer applies as a TD has been filed. Furthermore, US’694 requires fatty acids which are not required by the instant claims.
This is not persuasive. While Applicant has indicated that a TD has been filed, this does not appear in the file wrapper. With respect the US’694 containing fatty acids, this is not persuasive as the instant claims recite comprising language which permits the inclusion of additional ingredients.
Applicant argues that US’397 requires 65-85% of polar fatty compounds which is not required by the instant claims and the instant claims require one or more polyols which is not required in the present application.
This is not persuasive. With respect the US’397 containing polar fatty compounds, this is not persuasive as the instant claims recite comprising language which permits the inclusion of additional ingredients. US’397 defines essentially free to be less than 5% as such some amounts are permitted and reads on polyol in claim 1 which can be present in any amounts.
Applicant argues that US’769 requires direct dyes, etc. which is not required by the instant claims.
This is not persuasive. With respect the US’769 containing dyes, this is not persuasive as the instant claims recite comprising language which permits the inclusion of additional ingredients.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 fails to include a proper conjunction between caprylyl glycol and glycerin. Consistent with the amendments to claims 10 and 15, it seems applicant inadvertently forgot to include an “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linares (US 2019/0358136), Sommer (US 2019/0151231) and KR20120136699.
Linares teaches hair care compositions (reading on cosmetics) which are substantially anhydrous and optically clear (Abs). The composition can be formulated as shampoos, body washes, etc. indicating they are suitable for skin [0010 and 0041].
Regarding claims 1(b), 8 and 17(b): Linares teaches the inclusion of cationic surfactant in amounts 0.005-15% [0035].
Regarding claims 1(c), 9-11, 14-15 and 17(c), 17(g): Linares teaches the inclusion of fatty compounds, these include fatty alcohols, fatty alcohol derivatives, fatty acid derivatives and mixture. Suitable fatty alcohols include cetyl alcohol and suitable fatty acid esters include cetyl palmitate, these can be used in amounts ranging from about 10-40% [0034]. It would have been prima facie obvious to use about 10-40% of a mixture of fatty alcohols including pure fatty alcohols, such as cetyl alcohol, along with the taught fatty acid esters as mixture are taught to be suitable for use, this results in a weight concentration of fatty alcohols and fatty esters that overlaps with the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 1(d), 7, 12 and 17(d): Linares teaches the composition to comprise 40-70% of an anhydrous alcohol, these include monoalcohols such as ethanol and polyols including 1,2-propanediol (i.e. propylene glycol) [0039], thus the selection of either is prima facie obvious as they are both taught to be suitable for use. Furthermore, Sommer teaches topical compositions (Abs) and teaches that ethanol in topical compositions can cause dryness and/or peeling of the skin, particularly in patients with sensitive skin [0330], as such it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the composition of Linares to be ethanol free and instead use propylene glycol to formulate a composition that is better suitable for a wider variety of subject, including those with sensitive skin.
Regarding claim 1(e) and 17(e): Linares teaches the composition to be substantially anhydrous which means the composition may include up to 5% water, even more preferably 0% [0039]. As discussed above, Linares and Sommers make obvious the use of propylene glycol and the formulation of ethanol-free compositions.
Regarding claims 2-3: Linares teaches the compositions to initially be liquid compositions and teaches that during use water is added to the composition and a thick and rich cream (i.e. an emulsion) is formed via manual manipulation [0016], this suggests that the initial liquid formulation is in a non-emulsified form. Linares also teaches the composition to be transparent and optically clear which means that the particles in the composition are reduced to a size where they are not observable via visual means [0008], which reads on solubilized.
Regarding claims 17(f)-17(h): These are optional ingredients and this are not required.
Regarding claims 17(i): Linares teaches the inclusion of 0.01-2.5% of vitamins, reading on miscellaneous ingredient.
However, Linares does not teach the composition to comprise the claimed compound of formula I.
Regarding claims 1(a) and 4-6: KR’699 discloses a solvent for cleaning skin and hair [0001]. The cleansing solvent has excellent cleansing power while being safe and not irritating to the skin (pg. 6). The solvent can exhibit superior drying rate and superior hair styling agent cleaning ability and also ensures good hair condition after cleaning (pg. 8-pg. 9). A suitable solvent is 1,2-isopropylidene glycerol (wherein R1 and R2 are methyl) [0040]. The composition comprising the solvent comprises less than 90% water (pg. 9) and can comprise other ingredients such as 1-50% anionic surfactant (pg. 11), as such the solvent can be calculated to be present in amounts of at least 9-90%.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Linares with those of KR’699. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to add 9-90% of 1,2-isopropylidene glycerol to the composition of Linares as KR’699 teaches this solvent to be have superior cleansing ability and ensure good hair condition after cleaning. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both Linares and KR’699 teach cosmetic composition for application to hair and Linares teaches that that the hair conditioner composition can be formulated as shampoos and body cleaners [0010 and 0017], thus it would be obvious to add a cleansing component to the hair conditioner.
Claim(s) 1-12, 13, 14-15, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linares (US 2019/0358136), Sommer (US 2019/0151231) and KR20120136699, as applied to claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2020/0206111).
As discussed above, the prior art makes obvious the limitations of claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17, however, they do not teach the inclusion of a thickening agent and a film forming polymer as required by instant claims 13 and 16.
Lee discloses a hair care and conditioning composition (reading on cosmetic) which is substantially anhydrous and comprises propylene glycol, cationic surfactant(s) and fatty compound(s). Lee teaches the compositions to be solubilized and non-emulsified (Abs) and transparent [0007].
Regarding claims 13 and 17(f): Lee teaches that one or more thickening agents such as polyacrylate crosspolymers, carboxylic acid polymers, etc. These are included to increase the viscosity of the composition [0066] can be include in amounts ranging from about 0.01-20% [0079].
Regarding claim 16 and 17(h): Lee teaches that one or more thickening agents such as vinylpyrrolidone homopolymers/copolymers [0066] can be include in amounts ranging from about 0.01-20% [0079]. Lee teaches preferred polymers of these types are PVP and PVP/VA copolymer, these are film forming agents as evidenced by the filed specification (pg. 24).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the above reference with those of Lee. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to add a thickening agent such as polyacrylate crosspolymers and/or vinylpyrrolidone homopolymers/copolymers as these are taught to be used to increase the viscosity of the composition. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as Linares teaches that conventional cosmetic ingredients can be added and Lee teaches that thickening agents are known to be used in hair conditioning compositions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18455694 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose cosmetic compositions which are transparent, solubilized and non-emulsified comprising isopropylidene glycol, cationic surfactants, fatty alcohols, polyols, water, monoalcohols and miscellaneous ingredients which are the same or overlapping. All these ingredients are present in overlapping amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18343397 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose cosmetic compositions which are transparent, solubilized and non-emulsified comprising fatty esters, isopropylidene glycol, cationic surfactants, fatty alcohols, water, monoalcohols and miscellaneous ingredients which are the same or overlapping. All these ingredients are present in overlapping amounts. Regarding US’397 teaches the composition to be essentially free of propylene glycol and ethanol. US’397 defined essentially free to be less than 5% as such some amounts are permitted and these overlap with the claimed less than 2% ethanol and reads on polyol in claim 1 which can be present in any amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US Patent 12,268,769.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose cosmetic compositions which are transparent, solubilized and non-emulsified comprising fatty acids, isopropylidene glycol, cationic surfactants, fatty alcohols, polyols, water, monoalcohols, emollients and miscellaneous ingredients which are the same or overlapping. All these ingredients are present in overlapping amounts.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613