DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a pharmaceutical agent” in line 4, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “a pharmaceutical agent” of claim 10, lines 2-3. If they are the same, “a pharmaceutical agent” in line 4 should be “the pharmaceutical agent”. If they are different, their relationships should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). Clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites “a stream” in line 3. Assuming that “a pharmaceutical agent” in claim 10, line 4 is the same as “a pharmaceutical agent” of claim 10, lines 2-3, it is still not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “a stream” of claim 10, line 2. If they are the same, “a stream of a pharmaceutical agent” in lines 3-4 should be “the stream of the pharmaceutical agent”. If they are different, their relationships should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). Clarification is required.
Claim 18 recites “timing of the applanation of the cornea” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “a timing of the applanation of the cornea” of claim 17, lines 3-4. If they are the same, “timing of the applanation of the cornea” in claim 18 should be “the timing of the applanation of the cornea”. If they are different, their relationships should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). Clarification is required.
Claim 19 recites “a first period of time” in line 3 and “a second time” in line 6, but it is not clear if either of these recitations is the same as, related to, or different from “a period of time” of claim 16, line 4. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN 106901688 (Shao)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Shao teaches a system for determining an intraocular pressure (IOP) of an eye, the system comprising: a pump (the air pump 111 for the pressing unit 100 along the direction A1 of Shao) configured to generate a puff of air; a nozzle (the gas nozzle 117 in the pressing unit 100 along the direction A1 of Shao) in communication with the pump and configured to direct the puff of air along a first axis toward the eye; a light source (the light source 120 along the direction A2 of Shao), and a first linear optical sensor (the imaging sensing unit 130 along the direction A3 of Shao)(see FIGS. 1-2 of Shao). Shao also teaches that the first direction A1 can range from 0 degrees to 90 degrees from the normal of the target surface 52 (page 5 of Shao), the angle between the first direction A1 and the second direction A2 ranges between 90 degrees to 0 degrees (page 5 of Shao), the angle between the first operation A1 and the third direction A3 ranges between 90 degrees to 0 degrees (page 5 of Shao), and the angle between the second direction A2 and the third direction operation A3 ranges between 180 degrees to 0 degrees (page 5 of Shao). Thus, given the values of the angles in which the first direction A1 is 90 degrees from the normal of the target surface 52, the angle between the first direction A1 and the second direction A2 is 90 degrees, the angle between the first operation A1 and the third direction A3 is 90 degrees, and the angle between the second direction A2 and the third direction operation A3 ranges between 180 degrees to 0 degrees, Shao anticipates that the claimed second axis (the second direction A2 and the third direction A3 of Shao) is transverse to the claimed first axis (the first direction A1 of Shao). Further, the illumination and detection of the light is of a spread-out nature and designed to hit a portion of eye (see FIG. 3A of Shao and the light spot 60) such that, given the values of the angles in which the first direction A1 is 90 degrees from the normal of the target surface 52, the angle between the first direction A1 and the second direction A2 is 90 degrees, the angle between the first operation A1 and the third direction A3 is 90 degrees, and the angle between the second direction A2 and the third direction operation A3 ranges between 180 degrees to 0 degrees, Shao anticipates that the second claimed axis (the second direction A2 and the third direction A3 of Shao) would result in a first portion of the beam of light illuminates a lateral surface of the eye and a second portion of the beam of light passes in front of the eye.
Alternatively, Shao teaches that the first direction A1 can range from 0 degrees to 90 degrees from the normal of the target surface 52 (page 5 of Shao), the angle between the first direction A1 and the second direction A2 ranges between 90 degrees to 0 degrees (page 5 of Shao), the angle between the first operation A1 and the third direction A3 ranges between 90 degrees to 0 degrees (page 5 of Shao), and the angle between the second direction A2 and the third direction operation A3 ranges between 180 degrees to 0 degrees (page 5 of Shao). This suggests that the positions of the pressing unit 100, the direction A1, the light source 120, the direction A2, the imaging sensing unit 130, and the direction A3 are subject to change based on desired results, operation, and spacing requirements. As such, the positions of the pressing unit 100, the direction A1, the light source 120, the direction A2, the imaging sensing unit 130, and the direction A3 are results-effective variables that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the desired results, operation, and spacing requirements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the positions of the pressing unit 100, the direction A1, the light source 120, the direction A2, the imaging sensing unit 130, and the direction A3 so as to obtain the desired results, operation, and spacing requirements. Thus, the features of “a second axis transverse to the first axis” and “wherein the beam of light comprises a width in the first axis such that a first portion of the beam of light illuminates a lateral surface of the eye and a second portion of the beam of light passes in front of the eye” would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 1, Shao teaches or suggests a system for determining an intraocular pressure (IOP) of an eye, the system comprising:
a pump (the air pump 111 of Shao) configured to generate a puff of air;
a nozzle (the gas nozzle 117 of Shao) in communication with the pump and configured to direct the puff of air along a first axis (the direction A1 of Shao) toward the eye;
a light source (the light source 120 of Shao) disposed distal of the nozzle and directed to emit a beam of light toward a first linear optical sensor (the imaging sensing unit 130 of Shao) along a second axis transverse to the first axis (the directions A2 and A3 of Shao),
wherein the beam of light comprises a width in the first axis such that a first portion of the beam of light illuminates a lateral surface of the eye and a second portion of the beam of light passes in front of the eye (see the above anticipatory and obviousness analyses with respect to this feature); and
the first linear optical sensor (the imaging sensing unit 130 of Shao) disposed distal of the nozzle and configured to receive the second portion of the beam of light (see the above anticipatory and obviousness analyses which would result in this feature).
wherein the first linear optical sensor comprises a linear array of sensor elements disposed along a third axis (the imaging sensing unit 130 comprises a one-dimensional CCD; pages 6-7 of Shao).
With respect to claim 8, Shao teaches or suggests a processor (the processing unit 150 of Shao) configured to: receive, from the first linear optical sensor, a first plurality of displacement measurements obtained over a first period of time (the processing unit 150 receiving the measurements; pages 3, 5, and 7-8 of Shao); and determine, based on the first plurality of displacement measurements and the first period of time, the intraocular pressure of the eye (the processing unit 150 determining IOP; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao).
With respect to claim 14, Shao teaches or suggests that the light source is configured to emit light having a center wavelength in a visible spectrum (the visible spectrum by the light source 120 of Shao; page 6 of Shao).
With respect to claim 15, Shao teaches or suggests a method for measuring intraocular pressure (IOP) of an eye of a patient, comprising:
generating a puff of air directed in a first axis (the direction A1 of Shao) toward a cornea of the eye, wherein the puff of air comprises a pressure (using the air pump 111 of Shao; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao);
emitting, by a light source, a beam of light (using the light source 120 of Shao; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao) toward a first optical sensor array along a second axis (the directions A2 and A3 of Shao) transverse to the first axis, wherein the beam of light comprises a width in the first axis such that a first portion of the beam of light illuminates a lateral surface of the eye and a second portion of the beam of light passes in front of the eye (see the above anticipatory and obviousness analyses with respect to this feature);
detecting, by the first optical sensor array, a width of the second portion of the beam of light (using the imaging sensing unit 130 of Shao; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao); and
determining, based on the detected width of the second portion of the beam of light and the pressure of the puff of air, the IOP of the eye (determining IOP using the spot size and shape measurements; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao).
With respect to claim 16, Shao teaches or suggests that the detecting the width of the second portion of the beam of light comprises: receiving, from the first optical sensor array, a first plurality of displacement measurements over a period of time (using the imaging sensing unit 130 of Shao; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao); and wherein the determining the IOP is based on the first plurality of displacement measurements (determining IOP using the spot size and shape measurements; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao).
With respect to claim 17, Shao teaches or suggests that the determining the IOP comprises: determining an applanation of the cornea; and wherein the determining the IOP is based on a timing of the applanation of the cornea (determining IOP using the spot size and shape measurements in time necessarily includes determining the applanation; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao).
With respect to claim 18, Shao teaches or suggests that determining timing of the applanation of the cornea comprises determining a maximum displacement based on the first plurality of displacement measurements (determining IOP using the spot size and shape measurements in time necessarily includes determining any displacement; pages 3, 5, 7-8, and 12 of Shao).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0055358 (Nakajima)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Shao teaches or suggests that the first direction A1 is 90 degrees from the normal of the target surface 52, the angle between the first direction A1 and the second direction A2 is 90 degrees, the angle between the first operation A1 and the third direction A3 is 90 degrees, and the angle between the second direction A2 and the third direction operation A3 ranges between 180 degrees to 0 degrees. Nakajima teaches that a collimator lens 25 may be part of the light focusing aspects of the light source so as to better channel the light to a desired location (paragraphs 0050 and 0052 of Nakajima). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a collimator lens 25 of Nakajima as part of the light source of Shao since it permits a better focus of light to desired location.
With respect to claim 3, the combination teaches or suggests that the light source comprises a light element (the light source 120 of Shao) and a collimating lens (the collimator lens 25 of Nakajima) configured to collimate the beam of light along at least the second axis.
Claims 9 and 19 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0300236 (Samakar)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Shao teaches or suggests the imaging sensing unit 130 comprises a one-dimensional CCD (pages 6-7 of Shao). Samakar teaches that a noncontact tonometer used for making IOP measurements can also be used for detecting when a patient has blinked and, once a blink is detected, the system triggers the pump to create a puff of air immediately following the blink for the IOP measurement (paragraphs 0041, 0046, and 0059 of Samakar). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the CCD camera of Shao and the control regime based on the patient’s blink of Samakar in the method and system of Shao since it discourages blinking from occurring during the IOP measurements.
With respect to claim 9, the combination teaches or suggests that the processor (the processing unit 150 of Shao as modified by Samakar) is further configured to: receive, from the first linear optical sensor, a second plurality of displacement measurements obtained over a second period of time preceding the first period of time (the readings from the CCD camera of Shao before the IOP measurements); detect, based on the second plurality of displacement measurements and the second period of time, a blink (the detection of the blink of Samakar); and cause the first linear optical sensor to obtain, based on detecting the blink, the first plurality of displacement measurements (performing the IOP measurements after the blink of Samakar).
With respect to claim 19, the combination teaches or suggests: receiving, from the first optical sensor array, a second plurality of displacement measurements obtained over a first period of time (the readings from the CCD camera of Shao before the IOP measurements); detecting, based on the second plurality of displacement measurements, a blink (the detection of the blink of Samakar); and causing the first optical sensor array to obtain, based on detecting the blink, the first plurality of displacement measurements at a second time subsequent to the first period of time (performing the IOP measurements after the blink of Samakar).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0145278 (Von Bunau)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Shao teaches or suggests that the IOP measurements are used as indications to provide medicine and therapeutic treatments (page 12 of Shao). Von Bunau teaches a drug administration unit 322, 422 incorporated into an air-puff tonometer 300, 400 (FIGS. 3-4 of Von Bunau). The drug administration unit includes a control unit that controls the drug administration (paragraphs 0035, 0040-0041, 046-0047, 0054-0055, and 0069 of Von Bunau). The subsequent measurements and analyses may take into account the drug administration and monitoring adherence to the treatment plan and the effectiveness of the drugs and their dosages (paragraphs 0035 and 0069-0070, 0073, and 0076-0078 of Von Bunau). Shao also teaches the monitoring of the effectiveness of a treatment (page 8 of Shao). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a drug administration unit 322, 422, the control unit, and the subsequent analyses of Von Bunau and Shao in the air-puff tonometer of Shao since it provides effective treatments to the eye and permits the monitoring of the progress of the treatment.
With respect to claim 10, the combination teaches or suggests that a drug delivery module comprising a dispensing nozzle (the drug administration unit 322, 422 of Von Bunau) for producing a stream or mist of a pharmaceutical agent, the drug delivery module positioned and oriented to eject a stream of a pharmaceutical agent into the eye, wherein the processor (the control unit 322, 422 of Von Bunau) is further configured to: cause the drug delivery module to eject the stream of the pharmaceutical agent into the eye (the control unit 322, 422 of Von Bunau is capable of this function); receive, from the first linear optical sensor, a third plurality of displacement measurements obtained over a third period of time (the subsequent monitoring of Von Bunau); and determine, based on the third plurality of displacement measurements whether the stream of the pharmaceutical agent reached the eye (the determining of effectiveness of the treatment of Von Bunau and Shao).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of WO 2006/066876 (Weber)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translations that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Weber teaches a contactless tonometer comprising a detection device (131, 132, 133) which is used to automatically determine the position of the cornea of the eye and an alignment device (160) which automatically adjusts or actuates the measuring axis of the measuring system which is predefined or can be predefined in a vertical manner in relation to the cornea corresponding to the detection of the position (abstract of Weber). The detection system uses optical beams with a transmitter 131 and a receiver 132 that are processed by the measuring unit 150 to ensure proper alignment or positioning (pages 10-11 of Weber). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the optical sensor system and the processing unit for the optical sensor system of Weber in the system of Shao since it ensures proper alignment.
With respect to claim 11, the combination teaches or suggests a third optical sensor (the optical sensor system of Weber) directed toward the first axis, wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on a proximity measurement from the third optical sensor, whether the eye is disposed within measurement range of the nozzle (the processing unit of Weber performs an alignment determination).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0130615 (Gonzalez Garcia)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Shao teaches a first linear optical sensor in the form of a one-dimensional CCD or other photosensitive elements (pages 6-7 of Shao). Gonzalez Garcia teaches that an array of photodiodes are a suitable substitution for a CCD (paragraph 0026 of Gonzalez Garcia or paragraph 0028 of US Application No. 63/157028 from which Gonzalez Garcia claims priority). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a one-dimensional array of photodiodes in place of the one-dimensional CCD of Shao since (1) it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or (2) Shao teaches that other photosensitive elements may be used and the optical sensor system and Gonzalez Garcia teaches such elements.
With respect to claim 12, the combination teaches or suggests that the first linear optical sensor comprises a one- dimensional array of photodiodes (the one-dimensional array of photodiodes of the combination).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0022608 (Narkiss)(previously cited). Citations to Shao will refer to the machine English translation that accompanied the Office Action mailed on 5/21/2026.
Narkiss teaches an air-puff pressure sensor in the nozzle of the tonometer so as to gauge the pressure applied to the eye and adjust the operational parameters if necessary or desired (paragraphs 0017, 0077, 0080, and 0088 of Narkiss). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air-puff pressure sensor in the nozzle of the tonometer so as to gauge the pressure applied to the eye and adjust the operational parameters if necessary or desired.
With respect to claim 20, the combination teaches or suggests detecting, by a pressure sensor, the pressure of the puff of air (detecting the air-puff pressure using the pressure sensor of Narkiss).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim objections
In view of the claim amendments filed on 7/31/2026, the claim objections are withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
In view of the claim amendments filed on 7/31/2026, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn with the exception to the rejection of claim 19.
With respect to the rejection of claim 19, the Applicant asserts:
This rejection is not persuasive since it does not address the rejection. It is not a question as to whether the first period of time and the second time are different. They clearly are different. The issue is whether the first period of time or the second time is the same as, different from, or related to “a period of time” of claim 16, line 4. The Applicant does not address this point either by amendment or by argument. The Examiner cannot find a reason to withdraw the rejection.
Prior art rejection based on U.S. Patent No. 3,304,769 (Stauffer)(previously cited)
In view of the claim amendments filed on 7/31/2026, the prior art rejection based on U.S. Patent No. 3,304,769 (Stauffer) is withdrawn
Prior art rejections based on Shao
The Applicant asserts:
Also, after citing to the anticipatory and obviousness analyses of Shao, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive since Shao teaches the axes angle ranges itself. Accordingly, Shao is implicitly disclosing that any of its disclosed axes angles is suitable for the operation that is described. That is, Shao implicitly connotes that the operation of the device is not hampered by the very operational parameters (e.g., the axes angle ranges) it offers. There is no evidence, rationale, or support that indicates that the teachings of Shao are wrong, are mistaken, or should not be taken at face value. Thus, the analysis regarding the placement of the axes and the width of the light beam is deemed proper since they are within the parameter ranges and teachings described by Shao itself. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is proper.
The rejection of claim 15 is proper for the same reasons that the rejection of claim 1 is proper.
The rejection of the dependent claims are proper since the rejections of claims 1 and 15 are proper and the prior art teaches or suggests all the features of these claims. The Applicant has not provided any further arguments that alter these determinations.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791