DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 4, Figure 4, Claims 1-6 and 8-12 with claim 1 is generic in the reply filed on 6/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that searching these Species together should be no undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because search other Species require additional search in other areas, class/subclass. Claims 1-6 and 8-12 will be examined herewith.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “substantially” is a relative term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoji et al. [JP 2003-163123A].
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Yoji et al. discloses a transformer [figures 5a-5b], comprising:
- a first magnetic core, comprising a first base and a first pillar, wherein the first pillar is disposed at a center of the first base;
- a second magnetic core, comprising a second base and two second pillars, wherein the second pillars are respectively formed on opposite ends of the second base, the second pillars extend toward the first base, the first pillar extends toward the second base and is disposed between the second pillars, and a length of the first pillar is substantially the same as a length of each of the second pillars [figures 1c and 5b];
a first winding assembly [23a], surrounding the first pillar and disposed between the first pillar and the second pillars; and
a second winding assembly [21a], surrounding the first pillar and disposed between the first pillar and the second pillars, wherein the first winding assembly and the second winding assembly are separated from each other, wherein the first winding assembly is disposed between the second winding assembly and the first base, and the second winding assembly is disposed between the first winding assembly and the second base [figure 5b].
Regarding claim 2, Yoji et al. discloses an air gap is formed between the first base and the second pillars [figure 5b], an additional air gap is formed between the second base and the first pillar [figure 5b], and the air gap and the additional air gap are disposed on opposite ends of the first pillar [figure 5b].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. [US 5,359,313] in view of Yoji et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Watanabe et al. discloses a transformer [figures 1-5] comprising:
- a second core [60] having center pillar [63], two side pillars [62] and a first base [61], wherein a length of the first pillar is substantially the same as a length of each of the second pillars [figure 4];
- a second core [70] having a second base;
- a first coil [30] wound around the center pillar and disposed between the center pillar and the two side pillars; and
- a second coil [50] wound around the center pillar and disposed between the center pillar and the two side pillars, wherein the first coil and the second coil are separated from each other, wherein the first winding assembly is disposed between the second winding assembly and the first base, and the second winding assembly is disposed between the first winding assembly and the second base [figures 1 and 4].
Watanabe et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the pillars relative to the first and second cores.
Yoji et al. discloses a transformer [figure 5] comprising:
- a first core [14] having a first pillar [11] disposed at a center of a base of the first core [figure 5b];
- a second core [15] having two second pillars formed on opposite ends of a base of the second base [figure 5b]; and
- at least one coil [21a, 23a] surrounding the first pillar, wherein a length of the first pillar is substantially the same as a length of each of the second pillars [figures 5 and 1].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the center pillar and two side pillar arrangement of the first and second cores of Yoji et al. in Watanabe et al. for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
Regarding claim 2, Yoji et al. discloses an air gap is formed between the first base and the second pillars [figure 5b], an additional air gap is formed between the second base and the first pillar [figure 5b], and the air gap and the additional air gap are disposed on opposite ends of the first pillar [figure 5b].
Regarding claims 4-5, Watanabe et al. discloses the transformer further comprises a winding base [10]disposed on the first base, and the first winding assembly and the second winding assembly are disposed between the winding base and the second base, wherein the winding base comprises a plurality of pins [21, 22, 23], and the first winding assembly or the second winding assembly winds around the pins.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Watanabe et al. discloses the transformer further comprises a spacing member [11] formed of insulative material, disposed between the first winding assembly and the second winding assembly, wherein the first coil [30] is disposed between the spacing member [11] and the first base, and the second winding assembly is disposed between the spacing member and the second base [figures 1 and 4].
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe et al. discloses the insulative material made of plastic.
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe et al. discloses the transformer further comprises a winding base [10], and the winding base comprises: a tubular portion [12], surrounding the first or center pillar, wherein the first winding assembly surrounds the tubular portion; and a planar portion [11] connected to the tubular portion and disposed between the first winding assembly and the second winding assembly.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. in view of Yoji et al. as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Kyoso et al. [US 6,522,233 B1].
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe et al. in view of Yoji et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the winding base.
Kyoso et al. discloses a magnetic device [figures 3-4B] comprising:
- a core having legs [4a, 4b, 5a, 5b];
- first and second coils [1, 2a/2b] arranged around one of the core leg [figures 3-4A]; and
- a winding base [3] including a tubular portion, wherein the first and second coils arranged around the tubular portion [figure 4A], and a planar portion [3b] connected to the tubular portion and disposed between the first and second coils [figure 4A].
Kyoso et al. further discloses a spacing member [7b] arranged between the planar portion and the second coil [figure 4A].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the winding base [bobbin] and spacing arrangement of Kyoso et al. in Watanabe et al. for the purpose of improving insulating and/or spacing between the coils.
Regarding claim 12, both Watanabe et al. and Kyoso et al. discloses the spacing member material formed of insulative material.
Resin or plastic is a known insulative material use for forming spacing in magnetic device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use resin or plastic for the spacing member for the purpose of facilitating insulation.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837