DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on August 25, 2023. The earliest effective filing date of the application is August 25, 2016.
Status of Application
The amendment filed September 14, 2026 with the Request for Continued Examination has been entered. The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 144 – 154
Withdrawn claims: 154
Previously cancelled claims: 1 – 144
Claims currently under consideration: 144 – 153
By not repeating the previously presented objection/rejection(s), it is sufficiently clear that said objection/rejection(s) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 144 and 146 – 150 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayfield et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,732,351 B2) as evidenced by Healthspan (Alpha-Lactalbumin Protein. Healthspan. (n.d.). Retrieved from: https://www.gethealthspan.com/treatments/protein-powder?zp_type=product&zp_slug=protein-powder).
Regarding claim 144, Mayfield teaches a chloroplast comprising one or more polynucleotides encoding one mammalian alpha-lactalbumin (Abstract). Mayfield teaches the proteins produced can be delivered without purification, compared to conventional bioreactor systems, e.g., CHO, bacteria, or yeast, to yield bioactive compounds useful in an edible delivery system (col. 1, lines 59 – 62). Therefore, the proteins naturally present in the chloroplast are present in the final product (i.e., the composition comprises non-animal proteins). Mayfield teaches the invention is an edible delivery system comprising food (col. 1, lines 63 – 67).
With respect to the limitation “wherein the food product does not comprise any milk protein other than the recombinant a-lactalbumin”, given the chloroplast encodes one mammalian alpha-lactalbumin, the chloroplast does not comprise any milk protein other than the recombinant a-lactalbumin.
With respect to the limitation “wherein the α-lactalbumin imparts on the food product a texture or a taste of a dairy product”, given α-lactalbumin is naturally present in dairy milk, any α-lactalbumin imparts on the food product of claim 144 an attribute of a dairy product, including taste. This position is further evidenced by Healthspan, which states α-lactalbumin has a mild, clean flavor similar to standard whey but lighter (p. 3, What does Alpha-Lactalbumin taste like?). The instant specification identifies whey protein as a taste agent, taste enhancer, and/or taste stabilizer (p. 39, lines 14 – 18). Therefore, alpha-lactalbumin has a dairy flavor, and as a result, inherently imparts a dairy taste on a food product. Therefore the edible delivery system (i.e., food product) of Mayfield anticipates claim 144.
Regarding claim 146, Mayfield teaches the food is an infant formula (col. 11, lines 13 – 18).
Regarding claim 147, Mayfield teaches the one mammalian polypeptide is a milk or colostrum polypeptide from a mammal selected from the group consisting of human, canine, feline, bovine, porcine, ovine and caprine (col. 3, lines 51 – 55). Absent evidence to the contrary, the polypeptide selected from the given mammal species is interpreted to have 100% identity to the protein naturally present in the given species.
Regarding claims 148 – 150, the claims recite the following limitations with respect to the source of the α-lactalbumin:
the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by a fungal cell or bacterial cell,
the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by a filamentous fungal cell, and
the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by an Aspergillus or Trichoderma filamentous fungal cell.
There is no material difference between, for example, α-lactalbumin generated in a fungal or bacterial cell, such as an Aspergillus filamentous fungal cell, as described by the instant disclosure and the same protein that may be naturally present in milk. While a protein may be prepared by a certain method, or obtained from a certain source, in product claims, the protein itself it considered, regardless of how it is made or where it is from. See MPEP § 2113.I. Therefore, “the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by a fungal cell or bacterial cell” is interpreted broadly to mean any α-lactalbumin, regardless of its original source.
Therefore, the edible delivery system of Mayfield anticipates claims 148 – 150.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 144 – 153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,991,824 B2 – Cited in Action filed on October 27, 2025) as evidenced by Healthspan (Alpha-Lactalbumin Protein. Healthspan. (n.d.). Retrieved from: https://www.gethealthspan.com/treatments/protein-powder?zp_type=product&zp_slug=protein-powder).
Regarding claim 144, Huang teaches a seed composition (i.e., a food product) containing a flour, extract, or malt obtained from mature monocot seeds (i.e., one or more native non-animal proteins) and one or more seed-produced human milk proteins (i.e., a recombinant milk protein) in substantially unpurified form (col. 6, lines 1 – 7). Huang teaches milk proteins such as alpha-lactalbumin are known to have a number of nutritional and other beneficial effects, particularly for infants (col 5, lines 10 – 15). Huang teaches the food is an infant formula (Claim 4).
While Huang does not explicitly teach the recombinant milk protein is alpha-lactalbumin, Huang’s acknowledgment that alpha-lactalbumin is beneficial for infants, in combination with Huang’s teaching that the composition is an infant formula, suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art that the one or more seed-produced human milk proteins may be alpha-lactalbumin. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to have selected alpha-lactalbumin as the human milk protein in the seed composition of Huang on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
With respect to the limitation “wherein the food product does not comprise any milk protein other than the recombinant a-lactalbumin”, given the seed composition (i.e., a food product) may comprise only one seed-produced human milk protein (i.e., alpha-lactalbumin), the modified the seed composition (i.e., a food product) of Huang does not comprise any milk protein other than the recombinant a-lactalbumin.
With respect to the limitation “wherein the α-lactalbumin imparts on the food product a texture or a taste of a dairy product”, given α-lactalbumin is naturally present in dairy milk, any α-lactalbumin imparts on the food product of claim 144 an attribute of a dairy product, including taste. This position is further evidenced by Healthspan, which states α-lactalbumin has a mild, clean flavor similar to standard whey but lighter (p. 3, What does Alpha-Lactalbumin taste like?). The instant specification identifies whey protein as a taste agent, taste enhancer, and/or taste stabilizer (p. 39, lines 14 – 18). Therefore, alpha-lactalbumin has a dairy flavor, and as a result, inherently imparts a dairy taste on a food product.
Regarding claim 145, Huang teaches the milk protein preferably includes at least 0.25 weight percent of the total protein in the harvested mature seeds (col. 6, lines 55 – 57). Therefore, the weight ratio of alpha-lactalbumin to plant protein is at least 1:400, which may increase to, for example, 1:100 or higher.
The range of weight ratios of alpha-lactalbumin to native non-animal protein, at least 1:400, as disclosed by Huang, overlaps with the claimed range of 100 to 1 to 1 to 100. MPEP § 2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 146, Huang teaches the food is an infant formula (Claim 4).
Regarding claim 147, given the purpose of the invention of Huang is to provide a human infant formula, it would have been obvious to provide a composition comprising alpha-lactalbumin that is at least 80% identical to human alpha-lactalbumin due to its suitability for its intended purpose. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claims 148 – 150, the claims recite the following limitations with respect to the source of the α-lactalbumin:
the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by a fungal cell or bacterial cell,
the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by a filamentous fungal cell, and
the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by an Aspergillus or Trichoderma filamentous fungal cell.
There is no material difference between, for example, α-lactalbumin generated in a fungal or bacterial cell, such as an Aspergillus filamentous fungal cell, as described by the instant disclosure and the same protein that may be naturally present in milk. While a protein may be prepared by a certain method, or obtained from a certain source, in product claims, the protein itself it considered, regardless of how it is made or where it is from. See MPEP § 2113.I. Therefore, “the recombinant α-lactalbumin is produced by a fungal cell or bacterial cell” is interpreted broadly to mean any α-lactalbumin, regardless of its original source.
Therefore, the modified seed composition (i.e., a food product) of Huang is encompassed by claims 148 – 150.
Regarding claim 151, Huang teaches the malt obtained from mature monocot seeds (i.e., one or more native non-animal proteins) is hydrolyzed by the naturally present enzymes in the germinating seed (col. 37, lines 14 – 22). More specifically, Huang teaches proteolytic enzymes (i.e., enzymes that hydrolyze proteins) work on the proteins in the seed and render them soluble (col. 37, lines 19 – 22). Therefore, the seed composition of Huang comprises hydrolyzed non-animal proteins.
Regarding claim 152, Huang teaches the seed composition comprises a flour, extract, or malt obtained from mature monocot seeds (i.e., plant proteins).
Regarding claim 153, Huang teaches preferred plants for hosting recombinant milk proteins are also dicots exemplified by soybean (Glycine spp.) (col. 33, lines 18 – 31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the disclosure of Mayfield concern the production and biological activity of alpha-lactalbumin, not its use to impart dairy sensory properties to a food product (p. 6, paragraph 2).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In this case, the fact that Mayfield is silent regarding the taste or texture imparted onto the food product by alpha-lactalbumin does not render novel the inherent properties of alpha-lactalbumin.
Applicant argues Mayfield does not teach that alpha-lactalbumin imparts a dairy taste or dairy texture to the edible composition (p. 6, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. As expounded upon above, Healthspan provides evidence that alpha-lactalbumin has a mild, clean flavor similar to standard whey but lighter (p. 3, What does Alpha-Lactalbumin taste like?). The instant specification identifies whey protein as a taste agent, taste enhancer, and/or taste stabilizer (p. 39, lines 14 – 18). Therefore, alpha-lactalbumin has a dairy flavor, and as a result, inherently imparts a dairy taste on a food product.
Applicant argues the claims require the recombinant alpha-lactalbumin itself to impart the claimed texture or taste (p. 7, paragraph 2; p. 9, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. As expounded upon above, alpha-lactalbumin inherently has a dairy taste. Therefore alpha-lactalbumin itself imparts a dairy taste onto a food product.
Applicant argues Huang neither teaches the limitation “the alpha-lactalbumin imparts to the food product a texture or taste of a dairy product” or provides a reason that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang’s composition to reach the limitation (p. 8, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. As expounded upon above, alpha-lactalbumin inherently has a dairy taste. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the presently claimed invention by following the teachings of Huang, because Huang suggests the selection of alpha-lactalbumin, which inherently imparts a dairy taste in food.
Applicant argues one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found within the teachings of Huang the motivation to apply the quantitative reasoning supplied for other milk proteins to alpha-lactalbumin (p. 9, paragraph 5; p. 10, paragraph 1).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. MPEP § 2141.02.IV states a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole. Huang teaches alpha-lactalbumin is a suitable protein for use in the infant formula (col. 5, lines 10 – 15). Therefore, when considering the entirety of the Huang reference, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the quantitative reasoning supplied by Huang for other milk proteins to alpha-lactalbumin with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues Huang addresses different properties than the precisely claimed flavor and texture properties (p. 8, paragraphs 4 and 5; p. 10, paragraph 3).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In this case, the fact that Huang is silent regarding the taste or texture imparted onto the food product by alpha-lactalbumin does not render novel the inherent properties of alpha-lactalbumin.
Applicant argues the dependent claims are not rendered obvious by Huang due to Huang’s deficiency in teaching the precisely claimed sensory characteristics imparted by the alpha-lactalbumin (p. 10, paragraphs 3 – 6; p. 11).
Applicant’s argument has been carefully considered however the argument is not persuasive. As expounded upon above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the presently claimed invention by following the teachings of Huang, because Huang suggests the selection of alpha-lactalbumin, which inherently imparts a dairy taste in food.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793