DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 06/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Applicant disagrees that searching both inventions presents a serious search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because invention II is drawn to two stabilization devices that are communicatively coupled through separate controllers, wherein the two additional controllers and the communication between them would all require additional search and examination in addition to the single controller system of invention I. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “20a” and “200a” has been used to designate both the first sensor and first variable, as well as the second sensor and second variable. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narula (US 20220054349 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Narula discloses a wearable stabilization assembly (As set forth in the abstract and [0005]) comprising: a housing (FIG. 2A1 Housing 125 as set forth in [0047]) including a first sensor (FIG. 1-2A3 The TMD device 120 may include an attached accelerometer as set forth in [0059]) disposed at a first end of the housing (Accelerometers may be placed in one or more locations, for instance, on the resonators and/or on the distal part of the half-glove that covers the hand as set forth in [0084], the first end of the housing being the portion of the housing corresponding to one of the resonators 200 arranged inside the housing 125 as set forth in [0047]); a tensioning assembly disposed within the housing (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The tuned mass damper mechanism 120 comprises multiple mass-spring-damper systems or resonators 200 arranged inside the housing 125 of the tuned mass damper mechanism as set forth in [0047]) and operably coupled to the first sensor via a connection extending through the tensioning assembly (The connection between the accelerometer and resonator as set forth in [0084]) and including a first tensioning element (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A first spring of the one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]), a second tensioning element (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A second spring of the one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]), and a tensioning device operably coupled to each of the first tensioning element and the second tensioning element (FIG. 2A1-2A2 The motor 230 rotates and pulls wire 270, the wire 270 may tighten and restrict movement of coils proximal to the edges of the housing 125 which changes the stiffness of the springs and consequently affects the movements of the resonators 200 as set forth in [0060], the motor being coupled to the tension elements via wire 270 and mass 210); a mass operably coupled to each of the first tensioning element and the second tensioning element (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A mass-damper system or resonator 200 may include a resonating mass 210 and springs 220 within housing 125 as set forth in [0047]); and a controller communicatively coupled with the first sensor (The accelerometer may transfer data to the on-board microcontroller as set forth in [0084]) and, in response to the first sensor detecting a variable outside a predetermined variable parameter, the device is configured to translate the mass via the tensioning assembly (FIG. 2D2 When the attached accelerometer detects a change in frequency of the tremor, a specific pattern of motors may activate and rotate the wire(s) 270 that are attached to it, thus tightening them, and a mathematical model may inform which motors 230 are activated and when, as set forth in [0059], wherein, the resulting movement of the resonators 200 may be better tuned to interfere with the new movement of the tremor. If the tremor frequency changes again, a different pattern of motors 230 may be activated and/or deactivated to better counter the new tremor movement as set forth in [0060]; The mathematical model can determine which configuration of the mass-spring-damper system would most effectively dampen the tremor movements at a given moment in time. The model may use input measurements such as the masses of the resonators and the frequency of the tremors to determine the effective spring constant that would best counteract and reduce the amplitude of the tremoring hand. Tremor frequency can change during a tremor episode and/or between episodes. When the tremor frequency changes (e.g., a state change), a new mass-spring-damper system configuration may be needed to best damp the tremors in this new state as set forth in [0066]; FIG. 9 illustrates a graph 900 of a user's hand's response to a specific tuned mass damper system configuration at different tremor frequencies. Given system parameters such as resonator mass(es) and damping constant(s), the model can calculate the hand's resulting amplitude at different tremor frequencies. The goal is to implement a mass-spring-damping configuration that can minimize the hand's amplitude (indicated by the dips in the graph). The variable outside a predetermined variable parameter being, in this specific example, if the user's tremor has a frequency of 5 Hz, an effective spring constant of 100 N/m may be ideal to counteract the tremors. If the tremor frequency changes over time and increases to 6 Hz (20% increase), then the model indicates that an effective spring constant of 150 N/m may best counteract the tremors. These measurements and calculations can inform the device, and the device can thus implement the ideal effective spring constant whenever possible as set forth in [0067]).
Narula is silent as to how the motors are being controlled to operate according to the mathematical model for controlling the device, and thus fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the controller is the element configured to translate the mass via the tensioning assembly in response to sensing a change in tremor frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the disclosed mathematical model and motor control as disclosed using the on-board microcontroller, as set forth in [0084], such that the microcontroller receives the accelerometer data and controls the motors in response to the detected tremor frequency.
Regarding claim 7, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the second tensioning element is disposed on an opposite side of the mass than the first tensioning element each of the first tensioning element, the mass, and the second tensioning element being operably coupled in series (As seen in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 8, Narula discloses a wearable stabilization assembly (As set forth in the abstract and [0005]) comprising: a sensor (FIG. 1-2A3 The TMD device 120 may include an attached accelerometer as set forth in [0059]); a tensioning assembly (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The tuned mass damper mechanism 120 comprises multiple mass-spring-damper systems or resonators 200 arranged inside the housing 125 of the tuned mass damper mechanism as set forth in [0047], with one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]) coupled to the sensor (Accelerometers may be placed in one or more locations, for instance, on the resonators and/or on the distal part of the half-glove that covers the hand as set forth in [0084]); a mass operably coupled to the tensioning assembly (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A mass-damper system or resonator 200 may include a resonating mass 210 and springs 220 within housing 125 as set forth in [0047]); a power unit electrically coupled to the tensioning assembly (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The motors 230 may be powered by small, rechargeable batteries 260 inside the device 120 as set forth in [0060]); and a controller communicatively coupled with the sensor (The accelerometer may transfer data to the on-board microcontroller as set forth in [0084]) and the device is configured to activate the power unit to oscillate the mass via the tensioning assembly when a variable detected by the sensor is outside a predetermined variable parameter (FIG. 2D2 When the attached accelerometer detects a change in frequency of the tremor, a specific pattern of motors may activate and rotate the wire(s) 270 that are attached to it, thus tightening them, and a mathematical model may inform which motors 230 are activated and when, as set forth in [0059], wherein, the resulting movement of the resonators 200 may be better tuned to interfere with the new movement of the tremor. If the tremor frequency changes again, a different pattern of motors 230 may be activated and/or deactivated to better counter the new tremor movement as set forth in [0060]; The mathematical model can determine which configuration of the mass-spring-damper system would most effectively dampen the tremor movements at a given moment in time. The model may use input measurements such as the masses of the resonators and the frequency of the tremors to determine the effective spring constant that would best counteract and reduce the amplitude of the tremoring hand. Tremor frequency can change during a tremor episode and/or between episodes. When the tremor frequency changes (e.g., a state change), a new mass-spring-damper system configuration may be needed to best damp the tremors in this new state as set forth in [0066]; FIG. 9 illustrates a graph 900 of a user's hand's response to a specific tuned mass damper system configuration at different tremor frequencies. Given system parameters such as resonator mass(es) and damping constant(s), the model can calculate the hand's resulting amplitude at different tremor frequencies. The goal is to implement a mass-spring-damping configuration that can minimize the hand's amplitude (indicated by the dips in the graph). The variable outside a predetermined variable parameter being, in this specific example, if the user's tremor has a frequency of 5 Hz, an effective spring constant of 100 N/m may be ideal to counteract the tremors. If the tremor frequency changes over time and increases to 6 Hz (20% increase), then the model indicates that an effective spring constant of 150 N/m may best counteract the tremors. These measurements and calculations can inform the device, and the device can thus implement the ideal effective spring constant whenever possible as set forth in [0067]).
Narula is silent as to how the motors are being controlled to operate according to the mathematical model for controlling the device, and thus fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the controller is the element configured to translate the mass via the tensioning assembly in response to sensing a change in tremor frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the disclosed mathematical model and motor control as disclosed using the on-board microcontroller, as set forth in [0084], such that the microcontroller receives the accelerometer data and controls the motors in response to the detected tremor frequency.
Regarding claim 9, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 8 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein each of the sensor (Accelerometers may be placed in one or more locations, for instance, on the resonators and/or on the distal part of the half-glove that covers the hand as set forth in [0084]), the tensioning assembly (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The tuned mass damper mechanism 120 comprises multiple mass-spring-damper systems or resonators 200 arranged inside the housing 125 of the tuned mass damper mechanism as set forth in [0047], with one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]), the mass (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A mass-damper system or resonator 200 may include a resonating mass 210 and springs 220 within housing 125 as set forth in [0047]), the power unit (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The motors 230 may be powered by small, rechargeable batteries 260 inside the device 120 as set forth in [0060]), and the controller (Althought the location of the controller is not specified, it is operably coupled to the other device elements given it communicates with the accelerometer and controls the translation of the mass between the tensioning assembly via the motor, which is powered by the power unit) are operably coupled in series (All the elements are coupled between the housing 125 as seen in FIG. 2A1-2A3, all the elements coupled in a series).
Regarding claim 10, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 8 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the tensioning assembly (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The tuned mass damper mechanism 120 comprises multiple mass-spring-damper systems or resonators 200 arranged inside the housing 125 of the tuned mass damper mechanism as set forth in [0047], with one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]) includes a tensioning device (FIG. 2A1-2A2 The motor 230 rotates and pulls wire 270, the wire 270 may tighten and restrict movement of coils proximal to the edges of the housing 125 which changes the stiffness of the springs and consequently affects the movements of the resonators 200 as set forth in [0060]) and a first tensioning element (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A first spring of the one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]) operably coupled to the tensioning device (FIG. 2A1-2A2 The motor 230 rotates and pulls wire 270, the wire 270 may tighten and restrict movement of coils proximal to the edges of the housing 125 which changes the stiffness of the springs and consequently affects the movements of the resonators 200 as set forth in [0060], the motor being coupled to the tension elements via wire 270 and mass 210), the controller configured to bias the first tensioning element in response to the detected variable being outside the predetermined variable parameter (FIG. 2D2 When the attached accelerometer detects a change in frequency of the tremor, a specific pattern of motors may activate and rotate the wire(s) 270 that are attached to it, thus tightening them, and a mathematical model may inform which motors 230 are activated and when, as set forth in [0059], wherein, the resulting movement of the resonators 200 may be better tuned to interfere with the new movement of the tremor. If the tremor frequency changes again, a different pattern of motors 230 may be activated and/or deactivated to better counter the new tremor movement as set forth in [0060]; The variable outside a predetermined variable parameter being, in this specific example, if the user's tremor has a frequency of 5 Hz, an effective spring constant of 100 N/m may be ideal to counteract the tremors. If the tremor frequency changes over time and increases to 6 Hz (20% increase), then the model indicates that an effective spring constant of 150 N/m may best counteract the tremors. These measurements and calculations can inform the device, and the device can thus implement the ideal effective spring constant whenever possible as set forth in [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 10 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the controller is configured to activate the tensioning device (As set forth for claim 1 as modified) to dampen the detected variable to a variable that is within the predetermined variable parameter (FIG. 2D2 When the attached accelerometer detects a change in frequency of the tremor, a specific pattern of motors may activate and rotate the wire(s) 270 that are attached to it, thus tightening them, and a mathematical model may inform which motors 230 are activated and when, as set forth in [0059], wherein, the resulting movement of the resonators 200 may be better tuned to interfere with the new movement of the tremor. If the tremor frequency changes again, a different pattern of motors 230 may be activated and/or deactivated to better counter the new tremor movement as set forth in [0060]; The mathematical model can determine which configuration of the mass-spring-damper system would most effectively dampen the tremor movements at a given moment in time. The model may use input measurements such as the masses of the resonators and the frequency of the tremors to determine the effective spring constant that would best counteract and reduce the amplitude of the tremoring hand. Tremor frequency can change during a tremor episode and/or between episodes. When the tremor frequency changes (e.g., a state change), a new mass-spring-damper system configuration may be needed to best damp the tremors in this new state as set forth in [0066]; FIG. 9 illustrates a graph 900 of a user's hand's response to a specific tuned mass damper system configuration at different tremor frequencies. Given system parameters such as resonator mass(es) and damping constant(s), the model can calculate the hand's resulting amplitude at different tremor frequencies. The goal is to implement a mass-spring-damping configuration that can minimize the hand's amplitude (indicated by the dips in the graph). The variable outside a predetermined variable parameter being, in this specific example, if the user's tremor has a frequency of 5 Hz, an effective spring constant of 100 N/m may be ideal to counteract the tremors. If the tremor frequency changes over time and increases to 6 Hz (20% increase), then the model indicates that an effective spring constant of 150 N/m may best counteract the tremors. These measurements and calculations can inform the device, and the device can thus implement the ideal effective spring constant whenever possible as set forth in [0067], wherein if the detected variable is within the predetermined variable parameter, the accelerometer would communicate with the controller, and the device would no longer need to actuate or be triggered to actuate to dampen the tremor).
Regarding claim 12, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 11 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the tensioning assembly includes a second tensioning element (FIG. 2A1-2A3 A second spring of the one or more springs 220 attached from the ends of the housing 125 to either side of the resonating mass(es), allowing the resonating mass(es) to oscillate within the housing 125 as set forth in [0048]) and the controller is configured to activate the tensioning device to oscillate the mass between the first tensioning element and the second tensioning element to dampen the detected variable (The mass being oscillated via the relationship between the motors and springs is located between the first and second tensioning elements as shown in the annotated figure belo
Regarding claim 13, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 12 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the first tensioning element and the second tensioning element are arranged in parallel with the mass (As seen in the annotated figure above).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narula (US 20220054349 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Zhao (US 20200359971 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the housing includes a first retention feature and a second retention feature (FIG. 2E the devices 125 can be tightened to the wrist or forearm using detachable hook and loop straps 129 as set forth in [0071], the bottom part of the housing and the straps forming the first and second retention features).
Narula as modified fails to explicitly disclose a second sensor.
However, Zhao teaches wherein a second sensor can be used for data acquisition (Zhao: Various data sources may be used in order to increase measurement accuracy and/or increase quality control of data acquisition. The data that may be fused together includes concurrent information or data streams originating from different sensors and the data streams may be compared against each other. For example, a fusion process may involve comparing scan data in independent data streams from a plurality of sensors to cross-validate the quality of their scan data as set forth in [0049]).
Narula and Zhao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data acquisition via sensors in medical/therapeutic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sensor and controller configuration of Narula to incorporate the teaching of Zhao and include a second sensor (Zhao: Various data sources may be used in order to increase measurement accuracy and/or increase quality control of data acquisition. The data that may be fused together includes concurrent information or data streams originating from different sensors and the data streams may be compared against each other. For example, a fusion process may involve comparing scan data in independent data streams from a plurality of sensors to cross-validate the quality of their scan data as set forth in [0049]). Doing so would allow for the cross-validation of the obtained data/measurements, which would increase measurement accuracy and/or increase quality control of data acquisition (Zhao: As set forth in [0049]). In the case of Narula as modified, the second sensor would be another accelerometer in communication with the micro-controller, in order to validate the accuracy of the sensor measurements via a comparison, for use by the micro-controller to then translate the mass via the tensioning assembly in response to the accelerometer readings.
Narula as modified by Zhao fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the first retention feature includes the first sensor and a second retention feature includes the second sensor.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the sensor locations be wherein, the first retention feature includes the first sensor and a second retention feature includes the second sensor, in the device of Narula as modified because Applicant has not disclosed that the sensor locations provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose, or solve a stated problem. Specifically, the specification states in [0041] that “With reference to FIGS. 3-5B, the retention features 18 of the stabilization assembly 10 may include at least one sensor 20 disposed within one or more of the retention features 18. For example, a first retention feature 18a may include a first sensor 20a and a second retention feature 18b may include a second sensor 20b. In other aspects, the stabilization assembly 10 may include a single sensor 20 disposed in one of the retention features 18. In further aspects, the sensor 20 may be separate from the retention features 18 and the housing 12. It is contemplated that the sensors 20 may be configured as mechanical sensors, electrical sensors, and/or any combination of mechanical sensors and electrical sensors. In a non-limiting example, the sensors 20 may be electrodes positioned along a head of the wearer and are configured to measure electrical activity of the brain in the form of an electroencephalogram (EEG). In this configuration, the sensors 20 are in wireless communication with a controller 22 to communicate the detected electrical inputs 200 that correspond to the brain measurements measured by the EEG. In an additional configuration, the controller 22 and/or the one or more sensor(s) 20 may be separate from the retention features 18. For example, the sensor 20 may be positioned along a neural pathway of the wearer. Additionally or alternatively, the sensors 20 may be mounted on any practicable location along the body”. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the sensor locations of modified Narula, and Applicant's sensor locations, to perform equally well because both mechanisms perform the same function of detecting variables for use by the stabilization assembly to selectively dampen bodily movement.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify Narula as modified to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2, because such a modification is considered to be well within the skill level of the ordinary artisan in order to achieve the desired variable detection and thus fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Narula as modified.
Regarding claim 3, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 2 above.
Narula as modified by Zhao further teaches, wherein the controller is configured to receive a first vibration variable from the first sensor (The accelerometer may transfer data to the on-board microcontroller as set forth in [0084]) and a second vibration variable from the second sensor and is configured to compare the first vibration variable with the second vibration variable (Zhao: Various data sources may be used in order to increase measurement accuracy and/or increase quality control of data acquisition. The data that may be fused together includes concurrent information or data streams originating from different sensors and the data streams may be compared against each other. For example, a fusion process may involve comparing scan data in independent data streams from a plurality of sensors to cross-validate the quality of their scan data as set forth in [0049]; In the case of Narula as modified, the second sensor would be another accelerometer in communication with the micro-controller, in order to validate the accuracy of the sensor measurements via a comparison).
Regarding claim 4, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 3 above.
Narula as modified by Zhao further teaches, wherein the controller is configured to activate the tensioning device to bias the first tensioning element and the second tensioning element when both the first vibration variable and the second vibration variable are outside the predetermined variable parameter (FIG. 2D2 When the attached accelerometer detects a change in frequency of the tremor, a specific pattern of motors may activate and rotate the wire(s) 270 that are attached to it, thus tightening them, and a mathematical model may inform which motors 230 are activated and when, as set forth in [0059], wherein, the resulting movement of the resonators 200 may be better tuned to interfere with the new movement of the tremor. If the tremor frequency changes again, a different pattern of motors 230 may be activated and/or deactivated to better counter the new tremor movement as set forth in [0060]; The variable outside a predetermined variable parameter being, in this specific example, if the user's tremor has a frequency of 5 Hz, an effective spring constant of 100 N/m may be ideal to counteract the tremors. If the tremor frequency changes over time and increases to 6 Hz (20% increase), then the model indicates that an effective spring constant of 150 N/m may best counteract the tremors. These measurements and calculations can inform the device, and the device can thus implement the ideal effective spring constant whenever possible as set forth in [0067], wherein the disclosed mathematical model and motor control as disclosed are implemented using the on-board microcontroller, as set forth in [0084], such that the microcontroller receives the accelerometer data and controls the motors in response to the detected tremor frequency as set forth for claim 1 as modified above, wherein in the case of Narula as modified by Zhao, the second sensor would be another accelerometer in communication with the micro-controller, in order to validate the accuracy of the sensor measurements via a comparison, for use by the micro-controller to then translate the mass via the tensioning assembly in response to the accelerometer readings).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narula (US 20220054349 A1) as applied to claim 1, in view of Mirza (US 20220008237 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, the wearable stabilization assembly, further including a power unit electrically coupled to the tensioning device (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The motors 230 may be powered by small, rechargeable batteries 260 inside the device 120 as set forth in [0060]).
Narula is silent as to whether the power unit also powers and is coupled to the first sensor and controller.
However, Mirza teaches a power unit powers and is coupled to sensors and controller (Mirza: FIG. 2 Battery 240 powers electrical components of the device, for example the sensor array 210, the controller 220, and the sensors 230 as set forth in [0055]).
Narula and Mirza are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical/therapeutic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronics of Narula to incorporate the teaching of Mirza and include, wherein the power unit powers and is coupled to the sensors and controller (Mirza: FIG. 2 Battery 240 powers electrical components of the device, for example the sensor array 210, the controller 220, and the sensors 230 as set forth in [0055]). Doing so would mean the sensors and controller are being powered (As set forth in [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 5 above.
Narula as modified further discloses, wherein the controller (The disclosed mathematical model and motor control as disclosed implemented for use by the on-board microcontroller, as set forth in [0084], such that the microcontroller receives the accelerometer data and controls the motors in response to the detected tremor frequency as set forth for claim 1 above), in response to the predetermined variable parameter detected by the first sensor, is configured to activate the power unit and bias the first tensioning element and the second tensioning element via electrical communication between the power unit and the tensioning device (FIG. 2A1-2A3 The motors 230 may be powered by small, rechargeable batteries 260 inside the device 120 as set forth in [0060], and wherein the attached accelerometer detects a change in frequency of the tremor, a specific pattern of motors may activate and rotate the wire(s) 270 that are attached to it, thus tightening them, and a mathematical model may inform which motors 230 are activated and when, as set forth in [0059], wherein, the resulting movement of the resonators 200 may be better tuned to interfere with the new movement of the tremor. If the tremor frequency changes again, a different pattern of motors 230 may be activated and/or deactivated to better counter the new tremor movement as set forth in [0060], the batteries powering the motor being electrical communication).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narula (US 20220054349 A1) as applied to claim 8, in view of Davis (US 7121729 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Narula as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 8 above.
Narula as modified fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the mass is a fluid- filled mass.
However, Davis teaches, wherein the mass is a fluid- filled mass (Davis: FIG. 14 Spaces in mass 81 are filled with damping fluid 93. Either liquids or gases may be used for damping fluid 93 as set forth in column 5 lines 9-11).
Narula and Davis are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of mass and spring damping systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mass of Narula to incorporate the teaching of Davis and include, wherein the mass is a fluid-filled mass (Davis: FIG. 14 Spaces in mass 81 are filled with damping fluid 93. Either liquids or gases may be used for damping fluid 93 as set forth in column 5 lines 9-11). Doing so would assist to damp out vibrations (Davis: As set forth in column 4 line 59 – column 5 line 12)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Velten (WO 2015128090 A1) which is a device for reducing tremors, and Ziv-Ac (US 6458089 B1) which is also a device for reducing trembling.
/KEIRA EILEEN CALLISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785