DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, & 7, the recitation “means of attachment to a power kite”, is being interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Regarding claim 15 the recitation “a means of relaying the wind data to a networked server”, is being interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11- 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SCHLEICHER ULRICH et al (DE 102004034894 A1).
Regarding claim 1 SCHLEICHER et al teaches at least one anemometry sensor 12 18; at least one electronic processing unit 20 connected to said at least one anemometry sensor 12 18 configured to process the data from said anemometry sensor 12 18; and a means of attachment to a power kite [0016].
Regarding claim 2 SCHLEICHER et al teaches power kite is a leading-edge inflatable power kite [0016].
Regarding claims 3 & 7 SCHLEICHER et al teaches said means of attachment to a power kite [0016] is a mount (inherent feature) holding said device to the leading edge.
Regarding claim 4 SCHLEICHER et al teaches said means of attachment to a power kite [0016] is incorporation into the leading edge (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5 SCHLEICHER et al teaches means of attachment (inherent) to a power kite comprises an attachment to one or more struts (interpreted as connecting junction) of said leading edge inflatable power kite [0016].
Regarding claim 6 SCHLEICHER et al teaches means of attachment (inherent) to a power kite comprises an attachment to the canopy of said power kite [0016].
Regarding claim 8 SCHLEICHER et al teaches anemometry sensors 12 18 is an ultrasonic anemometer (implied)[0010].
Regarding claim 9 SCHLEICHER et al teaches said ultrasonic anemometer is 1-dimensional, i.e. utilizes a single pair of ultrasonic transducers [0010].
Regarding claim 11 SCHLEICHER et al teaches said anemometry sensors is a hot-wire anemometer (abstract).
Regarding claim 12 SCHLEICHER et al teaches an inertial measurement unit [0021].
Regarding claim 13 SCHLEICHER et al teaches data from said inertial measurement [0021] unit is used to account for (intended use) measurement error stemming from kite motion (inherent function of measuring inertia).
Regarding claim 14 SCHLEICHER et al teaches a wireless antenna (implied via the GPS system) (abstract)[0009][0010].
Regarding claim 15 SCHLEICHER et al teaches a means of relaying the wind data to a networked server (implied via the GPS system) (abstract)[0009][0010].
Regarding claim 16 SCHLEICHER et al teaches a GPS unit (abstract)[0009][0010].
Regarding claim 17 SCHLEICHER et al teaches data from said GPS unit (abstract)[0009][0010] is used (intended use recitation) to correct for induced wind from kiter motion.
Regarding claim 18 SCHLEICHER et al teaches a magnetometer configured to provide wind direction data (inherent via the use of a GPS system (abstract)[0009][0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHLEICHER ULRICH et al (DE 102004034894 A1).
Regarding claim 10 SCHLEICHER et al does not teach said anemometry sensors is a vane anemometer. Since SCHLEICHER et al at the very least discloses a hot-wire anemometer (abstract), lacking any criticality it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of aerial wind monitoring vehicles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select whichever anemometer device available to the manufacture for the purpose of accurately monitoring wind speed and / or direction. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). In this particular instance 10 SCHLEICHER et al or anyone having skill in the art would have the necessary understanding to select a particular anemometer depending on a particular use case.
5. Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHLEICHER ULRICH et al (DE 102004034894 A1) in view of Schafer US 20150251755 A1.
Regarding claims 18-19 SCHLEICHER et al teaches all the basic features of the claimed invention. SCHLEICHER et al does not teach a thermometer and a barometer. Schaefer US 20150251755 A1 discloses an aerial system that comprises a thermometer and a barometer [0075].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of aerial wind monitoring systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by CHLEICHER et al to further include a thermometer and a barometer as taught by Schaefer for the purpose of optimizing the performance of wind monitoring during the flight path of an aerial vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250180596 A1 WIND SPEED AND DIRECTION MEASUREMENT SYSTEM AND DEVICE
US 11220320 B2 Lateral propulsion systems and architectures for high altitude balloons
CN 104797955 A Wind indicator
EP 0792461 B1 A METHOD AND A DEVICE FOR DETERMINING WIND VELOCITY OR VELOCITY OF A FLUID AND USE THEREOF
WO 9213825 A1 PROCESS FOR PREPARING SOLID BETAINES
US 4890488 A Ultrasonic anemometer
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855