DETAILED ACTION
The double patenting rejection from the previous non-final rejection is withdrawn in response to the terminal disclaimer filed on 01/09/2026.
The amendment submitted on 01/09/2026 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 9, and 17-18 were amended, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onggosanusi et al. (US 2018/0175993 A1, hereinafter “Onggosanusi”) in view of Myung et al. (US 2019/0191486 A1, hereinafter “Myung”).
As to Claim 1:
Onggosanusi describes a method for multiplexing a CSI report onto an uplink data channel.
Specifically, Onggosanusi teaches:
Receiving downlink control information (DCI)
(“[B]oth UL data and CSI-UCI are transmitted with a same number of layers (rank) wherein the number of layers is indicated in an associated UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0227).
Here, “indicated” maps to “receiving”, and
“DCI” maps to “downlink control information (DCI)”).
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to ... indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “an UL-related DCI” maps to “the DCI”,
“in” maps to “comprises”,
“indicated by resource allocation field” maps to “indication information of N bits”,
“allocated for UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “used to ... indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data”, and
“field” maps to “N is an integer greater than or equal to 1” because this is part of the definition of a data field).
Performing transmission based on the indication information in the DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “allocated for UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “performing transmission”, and
“as indicated by ... an UL-related DCI” maps to “based on the indication information in the DCI”).
Onggosanusi does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data
However, Myung does describe a method that includes reinterpreting DCI fields to request aperiodic sounding reference signal transmission and CSI feedback.
Specifically, Myung teaches:
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data
(“[A]mong various fields that can be included in TB-based scheduling DCI (first DCI), a particular field, for example, a field for requesting aperiodic CSI feedback transmission (referred to as an a-CSI field) and/or a field for triggering aperiodic sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (referred to as an a-SRS field)” (Myung, 0154).
Here, “an a-SRS field” in “scheduling DCI” maps to “the DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fields for triggering SRS transmission in Myung into Onggosanusi’s method for CSI reporting. The DCI described in Onggosanusi triggers data transmission and CSI reporting, so it would be obvious to accomplish this explicitly with a field.
As to Claim 2:
Onggosanusi teaches:
The DCI further comprises an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “a DCI used for CSI request” maps to “the DCI further comprises a ... channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits”, and
“aperiodic” maps to “aperiodic channel state information (CSI)”).
The aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the aperiodic CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “aperiodic” maps to “the aperiodic CSI”,
“CSI request” maps to “the ... CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the ... CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1”).
As to Claim 3:
Onggosanusi teaches:
A situation that the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits indicates that the transmission of the aperiodic CSI is not triggered and a situation that the indication information of N bits indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered cannot coexist
(“Fig. 12 illustrates several examples of multiplexing scheme wherein CSI-UCI is transmitted together with UL-SCH data ... The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0036, 0225).
Here, the fact that all of the example multiplexing schemes in Fig. 12 include “Data” and “CSI-UCI segment 1” as well as “CSI-UCI segment 2” maps to “a situation that the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits indicates that the transmission of the aperiodic CSI is not triggered and a situation that the indication information of N bits indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered cannot coexist”).
As to Claim 9:
Onggosanusi teaches:
Sending downlink control information (DCI)
(“[B]oth UL data and CSI-UCI are transmitted with a same number of layers (rank) wherein the number of layers is indicated in an associated UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0227).
Here, “indicated” maps to “sending”, and
“DCI” maps to “downlink control information (DCI)”).
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to ... indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “an UL-related DCI” maps to “the DCI”,
“in” maps to “comprises”,
“indicated by resource allocation field” maps to “indication information of N bits”,
“allocated for UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “used to ... indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data”, and
“field” maps to “N is an integer greater than or equal to 1” because this is part of the definition of a data field).
Performing transmission based on the indication information in the DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “allocated for UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “performing transmission”, and
“as indicated by ... an UL-related DCI” maps to “based on the indication information in the DCI”).
Onggosanusi does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data
However, Myung does teach:
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data
(“[A]mong various fields that can be included in TB-based scheduling DCI (first DCI), a particular field, for example, a field for requesting aperiodic CSI feedback transmission (referred to as an a-CSI field) and/or a field for triggering aperiodic sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (referred to as an a-SRS field)” (Myung, 0154).
Here, “an a-SRS field” in “scheduling DCI” maps to “the DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fields for triggering SRS transmission in Myung into Onggosanusi’s method for CSI reporting. The DCI described in Onggosanusi triggers data transmission and CSI reporting, so it would be obvious to accomplish this explicitly with a field.
As to Claim 10:
Onggosanusi teaches:
The DCI further comprises an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “a DCI used for CSI request” maps to “the DCI further comprises a ... channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits”, and
“aperiodic” maps to “aperiodic channel state information (CSI)”).
The aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the aperiodic CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”:
“This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “aperiodic” maps to “the aperiodic CSI”,
“CSI request” maps to “the ... CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the ... CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1”).
As to Claim 11:
Onggosanusi teaches:
A situation that the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits indicates that the transmission of the aperiodic CSI is not triggered and a situation that the indication information of N bits indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered cannot coexist
(“Fig. 12 illustrates several examples of multiplexing scheme wherein CSI-UCI is transmitted together with UL-SCH data ... The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0036, 0225).
Here, the fact that all of the example multiplexing schemes in Fig. 12 include “Data” and “CSI-UCI segment 1” as well as “CSI-UCI segment 2” maps to “a situation that the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits indicates that the transmission of the aperiodic CSI is not triggered and a situation that the indication information of N bits indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered cannot coexist”).
As to Claim 16:
Ongossanusi teaches:
A base station comprising a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a program stored on memory and executing the processor
(“In certain embodiments, a plurality of instructions, such as a BIS algorithm is stored in memory. The plurality of instructions are configured to cause the controller/processor 378 to perform the BIS process” (Ongossanusi, 0112). Fig. 3B in Onggosanusi shows a block diagram of a base station.
Here, element 102 in Fig. 3B maps to “a base station”,
element 372a, “RF transceiver”, maps to “a transceiver”,
element 380, “memory”, maps to “a memory”,
element 378, “controller/processor”, maps to “a processor”,
“instructions” map to “a program”,
“stored in memory” maps to “stored on memory”, and
“cause the controller/processor” maps to “executing the processor”).
When executing the program, the processor implements the transmission method according to
(See Claim 9 for a full mapping of this method).
As to Claim 17:
Onggosanusi teaches:
The DCI further comprises an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”:
“This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “a DCI used for CSI request” maps to “the DCI further comprises a ... channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits”, and
“aperiodic” maps to “aperiodic channel state information (CSI)”).
The aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the aperiodic CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “aperiodic” maps to “the aperiodic CSI”,
“CSI request” maps to “the ... CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the ... CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1”).
As to Claim 18:
Onggosanusi teaches:
A terminal comprising a transceiver, a memory, a processor, and a program stored on the memory and executed by the processor, to implement the steps
(Fig. 3A in Onggosanusi shows a block diagram of a user terminal.
Here, element 116 in Fig. 3A maps to “a terminal”,
element 310, the “RF transceiver”, maps to “a transceiver”,
element 360, “memory”, maps to “a memory”,
element 340, “processor”, maps to “a processor”, and
element 362, “applications” maps to “a program stored on the memory and executed by the processor, to implement the steps”).
Receiving downlink control information (DCI) by the transceiver
(“[B]oth UL data and CSI-UCI are transmitted with a same number of layers (rank) wherein the number of layers is indicated in an associated UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0227).
Here, “indicated” maps to “receiving ... by the transceiver”, and
“DCI” maps to “downlink control information (DCI)”).
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to ... indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “an UL-related DCI” maps to “the DCI”,
“in” maps to “comprises”,
“indicated by resource allocation field” maps to “indication information of N bits”,
“allocated for UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “used to indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data”, and
“field” maps to “N is an integer greater than or equal to 1” because this is part of the definition of a data field).
Performing transmission based on the indication information in the DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “allocated for UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “performing transmission”, and
“as indicated by ... an UL-related DCI” maps to “based on the indication information in the DCI”).
Onggosanusi does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data
However, Myung does describe a method that includes reinterpreting DCI fields to request aperiodic sounding reference signal transmission and CSI feedback.
Specifically, Myung teaches:
The DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data
(“[A]mong various fields that can be included in TB-based scheduling DCI (first DCI), a particular field, for example, a field for requesting aperiodic CSI feedback transmission (referred to as an a-CSI field) and/or a field for triggering aperiodic sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (referred to as an a-SRS field)” (Myung, 0154).
Here, “an a-SRS field” in “scheduling DCI” maps to “the DCI comprises indication information of N bits, the indication information of N bits is used to explicitly indicate whether the DCI triggers transmission of data”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fields for triggering SRS transmission in Myung into Onggosanusi’s method for CSI reporting. The DCI described in Onggosanusi triggers data transmission and CSI reporting, so it would be obvious to accomplish this explicitly with a field.
As to Claim 19:
Onggosanusi teaches:
The DCI further comprises an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “a DCI used for CSI request” maps to “the DCI further comprises a ... channel state information (CSI) indication field of X bits”, and
“aperiodic” maps to “aperiodic channel state information (CSI)”).
The aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the aperiodic CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 4 applies (in general for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi shows different message configurations for CSI reporting and states in the column entitled “CRI reporting”: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “aperiodic” maps to “the aperiodic CSI”,
“CSI request” maps to “the ... CSI indication field of X bits is used to indicate whether transmission of the ... CSI is triggered, and X is an integer greater than or equal to 1”).
As to Claim 20:
Onggosanusi teaches:
A situation that the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits indicates that the transmission of the aperiodic CSI is not triggered and a situation that the indication information of N bits indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered cannot coexist
(“Fig. 12 illustrates several examples of multiplexing scheme wherein CSI-UCI is transmitted together with UL-SCH data ... The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0036, 0225).
Here, the fact that all of the example multiplexing schemes in Fig. 12 include “Data” and “CSI-UCI segment 1” as well as “CSI-UCI segment 2” maps to “a situation that the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits indicates that the transmission of the aperiodic CSI is not triggered and a situation that the indication information of N bits indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered cannot coexist”).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onggosanusi (US 2018/0175993 A1) in view of Myung (US 2019/0191486 A1) and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0078072 A1, hereinafter “Kang”).
As to Claim 4:
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
N is 1
However, Kang does describe transmitting a DCI that includes a 1-bit CSI request field.
Specifically, Kang teaches:
N is 1
(“A CSI request field requesting CSI feedback comprises 1 bit” (Kang, 0113).
Here, “a CSI request field ... comprises 1 bit” maps to “N is 1”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kang’s 1-bit CSI request field into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report and uplink data together. The binary decision of whether to send CSI uplink only requires one bit to answer.
As to Claim 5:
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
When the indication information of 1 bit is 0, it indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered, and when the indication information of 1 bit is 1, it indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered; or
When the indication information of 1 bit is 0, it indicates that transmission of data is triggered, and when the indication information of 1 bit is 1, it indicates that transmission of data is not triggered
However, from this list Kang does at least teach:
When the indication information of 1 bit is 0, it indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered, and when the indication information of 1 bit is 1, it indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered
(“If the CSI request field is 1 bit, in case of ‘0’, a CSI report is not triggered. In case of ‘1’, a CSI report is triggered” (Kang, 0113).
Here, “the CSI request field is 1 bit” maps to “the indication information of 1 bit”,
“in case of ‘0’” maps to “when the indication information ... is 0”,
“a CSI report is not triggered” maps to “the transmission of the data is not triggered”,
“in case of ‘1’” maps to “when the indication information of 1 bit is 1”, and
“indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered” maps to “indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kang’s 1-bit CSI request field into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report and uplink data together. The binary decision of whether to send CSI uplink only requires one bit to answer.
As to Claim 12:
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
N is 1
However, Kang does teach:
N is 1
(“A CSI request field requesting CSI feedback comprises 1 bit” (Kang, 0113).
Here, “a CSI request field ... comprises 1 bit” maps to “N is 1”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kang’s 1-bit CSI request field into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report and uplink data together. The binary decision of whether to send CSI uplink only requires one bit to answer.
As to Claim 13:
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
When the indication information of 1 bit is 0, it indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered, and when the indication information of 1 bit is 1, it indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered; or
When the indication information of 1 bit is 0, it indicates that transmission of data is triggered, and when the indication information of 1 bit is 1, it indicates that transmission of data is not triggered
However, from this list Kang does teach:
When the indication information of 1 bit is 0, it indicates that the transmission of the data is not triggered, and when the indication information of 1 bit is 1, it indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered
(“If the CSI request field is 1 bit, in case of ‘0’, a CSI report is not triggered. In case of ‘1’, a CSI report is triggered” (Kang, 0113).
Here, “the CSI request field is 1 bit” maps to “the indication information of 1 bit”,
“in case of ‘0’” maps to “when the indication information ... is 0”,
“a CSI report is not triggered” maps to “the transmission of the data is not triggered”,
“in case of ‘1’” maps to “when the indication information of 1 bit is 1”, and
“indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered” maps to “indicates that the transmission of the data is triggered”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kang’s 1-bit CSI request field into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report and uplink data together. The binary decision of whether to send CSI uplink only requires one bit to answer.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onggosanusi (US 2018/0175993 A1) in view of Myung (US 2019/0191486 A1) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10,965,426 B2, hereinafter “Lee”).
As to Claim 6:
Onggosanusi teaches:
The DCI is uplink DCI for scheduling uplink transmission
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi describes different configurations for reporting resources for CSI reference signals. Table 1 states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the DCI is uplink DCI for scheduling uplink transmission”).
The uplink DCI triggers the transmission of data
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi describes different configurations for reporting resources for CSI reference signals. Table 1 states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the uplink DCI”, and
“used for CSI request” maps to “triggers the transmission of data”).
The uplink DCI comprises an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi describes different configurations for reporting resources for CSI reference signals. Table 1 states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the uplink DCI”, and
“used for CSI request” maps to “comprises an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits”).
Sending uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) data information on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the uplink DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “sending uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) data information”,
“via PUSCH” maps to “on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”, and
“indicated ... in an UL-related DCI” maps to “scheduled by the uplink DCI”).
When the uplink DCI triggers the transmission of data, the uplink DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending UL-SCH data information and aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the uplink DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-SCH data transmission ... indicated ... in an UL-related DCI” maps to “when the uplink DCI triggers the transmission of data”,
Here, “this UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request” maps to “the uplink DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits”,
“used for CSI request” maps to “the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered”, and
“CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH ... allocated for UL-SCh data transmission” maps to “sending UL-SCH data information and aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the uplink DCI”).
The uplink DCI
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the uplink DCI”).
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
When ... the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which transmission of aperiodic CSI is not triggered, sending ... data information
When the ... DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the ... DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI
However, Lee does describe a method for reporting aperiodic CSI.
Specifically, Lee teaches:
When ... the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which transmission of aperiodic CSI is not triggered, sending ... data information
(“Seventh Alternative, Modulation Order Per UCI Content ... a UE may perform mapping by always configuring the modulation order for a specific UCI (for example, HARQ-ACK) ... and may perform mapping by configuring the modulation order for the other CSI” (Lee, col. 25, lines 38-48). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field.
Here, the case where the “CSI request field” is set to “00” in Table 8 maps to “when ... the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which transmission of aperiodic CSI is not triggered”, and
“perform mapping ... for ... HARQ-ACK” maps to “sending ... data information”).
When the ... DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the ... DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI
(“Transmission of the CSI over the PUSCH is possible only in the case of frequency selective scheduling and aperiodic CSI transmission ... Currently, the LTE standard uses the 2-bit CSI request field in DCI format 0 or 4 to operate aperiodic CSI feedback ... It may be considered that the PUSCH resource excludes or includes HARQ-ACK transmission RE” (Lee, col. 14, lines 44-46; col. 17, lines 60-61; col. 23, lines 39-40). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field.
Here, “PUSCH resource excludes ... HARQ-ACK transmission” maps to “when the ... DCI does not trigger the transmission of data”,
“01”, meaning “aperiodic CSI report is triggered for a serving cell” maps to “the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered”,
“transmission of the CSI over the PUSCH” maps to “sending the ... CSI on the PUSCH”, and
“DCI format ... to operate aperiodic CSI feedback” maps to “the aperiodic CSI ... scheduled by the DCI”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexibility of requesting any combination of a CSI report and uplink data, as described in Lee, into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report onto a PUSCH with uplink data. If the PUSCH can transmit the CSI and uplink data together, it would be obvious to support sending them each in isolation.
As to Claim 7:
Onggosanusi teaches:
Aperiodic CSI
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 3 applies (in general) for CSI reporting with reasonably small payload – either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0148).
Here, “CSI” that is “aperiodic” maps to “aperiodic CSI”).
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI is downlink DCI for scheduling downlink transmission
When the downlink DCI triggers the transmission of data, receiving downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI, and determining whether to report aperiodic CSI based on an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits included in the DCI
When the downlink DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the DCI includes an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the ... CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the ... CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI
However, Lee does teach:
The DCI is downlink DCI for scheduling downlink transmission
(“For example, the DCI includes a transport format and resource allocation information of a downlink shared channel (DL-SCH)” (Lee, col. 10 lines 35-37).
Here, “the DCI includes ... resource allocation information of a downlink shared channel (DL-SCH)” maps to “the DCI is downlink DCi for scheduling downlink transmission”).
When the downlink DCI triggers the transmission of data, receiving downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI, and determining whether to report aperiodic CSI based on an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits included in the DCI
(“[T]he DCI includes ... information about resource allocation of an upper layer control message such as a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” (Lee, col. 10 lines 35-42). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field.
Here, any case in table 8 where the CSI request field is not ‘00’ maps to “when the downlink DCI triggers the transmission of data”,
“a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” maps to “receiving downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”,
“the DCI includes ... information about resource allocation” maps to “scheduled by the downlink DCI”, and
the different states of the CSI indicator in Table 8 (e.g. ‘00’ and ‘01’) map to “determining whether to report aperiodic CSI based on an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits included in the DCI”).
When the downlink DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the DCI includes an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the ... CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the ... CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI
(“[D]ownlink control information (DCI) format 0 is used for the aperiodic CSI report request ... [T]he DCI includes ... information about resource allocation of an upper layer control message such as a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” (Lee, col. 2, lines 64-65 ... col. 10 lines 35-42). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field, and Table 5 shows different scheduling schemes for CSI.
Here, the case where the “DCI” does not have “resource allocation” for “a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” maps to “when the downlink DCI does not trigger the transmission of data”,
the “CSI request field” in Table 8 maps to “the DCI includes a ... CSI indication field of X bits”, and
states ‘01’, 10’, and ‘11’ in Table 8 map to “the ... CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of ... CSI is triggered”,
“(DCI) format 0 is used for the aperiodic CSI report request” maps to “sending the ... CSI ... scheduled by the downlink DCI”, and
the use of the “PUCCH” in Table 5 for “periodic CSI transmission” maps to “sending the ... CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexibility of requesting any combination of a CSI report and uplink data, as described in Lee, into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report onto a PUSCH with uplink data. If the PUSCH can transmit the CSI and uplink data together, it would be obvious to support sending them each in isolation.
As to Claim 8:
Onggosanusi teaches:
When the aperiodic CSI indication field instructs to report the aperiodic CSI, reporting the aperiodic CSI and ... information
(“Each of the embodiments described in Component 4 applies (in general) for CSI reporting ... either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic ... [T]he associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by mapping it across using the same number of PRBs and/or OFDM symbols as that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI) ... [B]oth UL data and CSI-UCI are transmitted with a same number of layers (rank) wherein the number of layers is indicated in an associated UL-related DCI” (Onggosanusi, 0225, 0227).
Here, the “resource allocation field” for “CSI” that is “aperiodic” maps to “the aperiodic CSI indication field”,
“the associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH” maps to “when the aperiodic CSI indication field instructs to report the aperiodic CSI”, and
“both UL data and CSI-UCI are transmitted” maps to “reporting the aperiodic CSI and ... information”).
The aperiodic CSI
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 3 applies (in general) for CSI reporting with reasonably small payload – either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0148).
Here, “CSI” that is “aperiodic” maps to “the aperiodic CSI”).
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
Feedback information of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) corresponding to the PDSCH scheduled by the downlink DCI
However, Lee does teach:
Feedback information of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) corresponding to the PDSCH scheduled by the downlink DCI
(“[T]he DCI includes ... information about resource allocation of an upper layer control message such as a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH ... HARQ ACK/NACK: This is a response signal to a downlink data packet on a PDSCH” (Lee, col. 10 lines 35-42; col. 12, lines 55-56).
Here, “HARQ ACK/NACK” maps to “feedback information of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)”,
“on a PDSCH” maps to “corresponding to the PDSCH”, and
“the DCI includes ... information about resource allocation of ... the PDSCH” maps to “the PDSCH scheduled by the downlink DCI”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexibility of requesting any combination of a CSI report and uplink data, as described in Lee, into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report onto a PUSCH with uplink data. If the PUSCH can transmit the CSI and uplink data together, it would be obvious to support sending them each in isolation.
As to Claim 14:
Onggosanusi teaches:
The DCI is uplink DCI for scheduling uplink transmission
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi describes different configurations for reporting resources for CSI reference signals. Table 1 states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the DCI is uplink DCI for scheduling uplink transmission”).
The uplink DCI triggers the transmission of data
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi describes different configurations for reporting resources for CSI reference signals. Table 1 states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the uplink DCI”, and
“used for CSI request” maps to “triggers the transmission of data”).
The uplink DCI comprises an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi describes different configurations for reporting resources for CSI reference signals. Table 1 states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the uplink DCI”, and
“used for CSI request” maps to “comprises an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits”).
Sending uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) data information on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the uplink DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225).
Here, “UL-SCH data transmission” maps to “sending uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) data information”,
“via PUSCH” maps to “on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”, and
“indicated ... in an UL-related DCI” maps to “scheduled by the uplink DCI”).
When the uplink DCI triggers the transmission of data, the uplink DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending UL-SCH data information and aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the uplink DCI
(“The associated CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH by allocating a small number of PRBs or a fraction of PRB ... of that allocated for UL-SCH data transmission (as indicated by resource allocation field in an UL-related DCI)” (Onggosanusi, 0225). Also, Table 1 in Onggosanusi states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-SCH data transmission ... indicated ... in an UL-related DCI” maps to “when the uplink DCI triggers the transmission of data”,
Here, “this UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request” maps to “the uplink DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits”,
“used for CSI request” maps to “the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered”, and
“CSI-UCI can be transmitted via PUSCH ... allocated for UL-SCh data transmission” maps to “sending UL-SCH data information and aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the uplink DCI”).
The uplink DCI
(Table 1 in Onggosanusi states: “This UL-related DCI can be a DCI used for CSI request”.
Here, “UL-related DCI” maps to “the uplink DCI”).
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
When ... the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which transmission of aperiodic CSI is not triggered, sending ... data information
When the ... DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the ... DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI
However, Lee does teach:
When ... the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which transmission of aperiodic CSI is not triggered, sending ... data information
(“Seventh Alternative, Modulation Order Per UCI Content ... a UE may perform mapping by always configuring the modulation order for a specific UCI (for example, HARQ-ACK) ... and may perform mapping by configuring the modulation order for the other CSI” (Lee, col. 25, lines 38-48). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field.
Here, the case where the “CSI request field” is set to “00” in Table 8 maps to “when ... the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which transmission of aperiodic CSI is not triggered”, and
“perform mapping ... for ... HARQ-ACK” maps to “sending ... data information”).
When the ... DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the ... DCI includes the aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the aperiodic CSI on the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI
(“Transmission of the CSI over the PUSCH is possible only in the case of frequency selective scheduling and aperiodic CSI transmission ... Currently, the LTE standard uses the 2-bit CSI request field in DCI format 0 or 4 to operate aperiodic CSI feedback ... It may be considered that the PUSCH resource excludes or includes HARQ-ACK transmission RE” (Lee, col. 14, lines 44-46; col. 17, lines 60-61; col. 23, lines 39-40). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field.
Here, “PUSCH resource excludes ... HARQ-ACK transmission” maps to “when the ... DCI does not trigger the transmission of data”,
Here, “01”, meaning “aperiodic CSI report is triggered for a serving cell” maps to “the aperiodic CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered”,
“transmission of the CSI over the PUSCH” maps to “sending the ... CSI on the PUSCH”, and
“DCI format ... to operate aperiodic CSI feedback” maps to “the aperiodic CSI ... scheduled by the DCI”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexibility of requesting any combination of a CSI report and uplink data, as described in Lee, into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report onto a PUSCH with uplink data. If the PUSCH can transmit the CSI and uplink data together, it would be obvious to support sending them each in isolation.
As to Claim 15:
Onggosanusi teaches:
Aperiodic CSI
(“Each of the embodiments described for Component 3 applies (in general) for CSI reporting with reasonably small payload – either periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic” (Onggosanusi, 0148).
Here, “CSI” that is “aperiodic” maps to “aperiodic CSI”).
The combination of Onggosanusi and Myung does not explicitly disclose:
The DCI is downlink DCI for scheduling downlink transmission
When the downlink DCI triggers the transmission of data, receiving downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI, and determining whether to report aperiodic CSI based on an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits included in the DCI
When the downlink DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the DCI includes an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the ... CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the ... CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI
However, Lee does teach:
The DCI is downlink DCI for scheduling downlink transmission
(“For example, the DCI includes a transport format and resource allocation information of a downlink shared channel (DL-SCH)” (Lee, col. 10 lines 35-37).
Here, “the DCI includes ... resource allocation information of a downlink shared channel (DL-SCH)” maps to “the DCI is downlink DCi for scheduling downlink transmission”).
When the downlink DCI triggers the transmission of data, receiving downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI, and determining whether to report aperiodic CSI based on an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits included in the DCI
(“[T]he DCI includes ... information about resource allocation of an upper layer control message such as a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” (Lee, col. 10 lines 35-42). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field.
Here, any case in table 8 where the CSI request field is not ‘00’ maps to “when the downlink DCI triggers the transmission of data”,
“a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” maps to “receiving downlink data on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”,
“the DCI includes ... information about resource allocation” maps to “scheduled by the downlink DCI”, and
the different states of the CSI indicator in Table 8 (e.g. ‘00’ and ‘01’) map to “determining whether to report aperiodic CSI based on an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits included in the DCI”).
When the downlink DCI does not trigger the transmission of data, the DCI includes an aperiodic CSI indication field of X bits, and the ... CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of aperiodic CSI is triggered, sending the ... CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) scheduled by the downlink DCI
(“[D]ownlink control information (DCI) format 0 is used for the aperiodic CSI report request ... [T]he DCI includes ... information about resource allocation of an upper layer control message such as a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” (Lee, col. 2, lines 64-65 ... col. 10 lines 35-42). Also, Table 8 in Lee shows the significance of the possible values of a 2-bit CSI request field, and Table 5 shows different scheduling schemes for CSI.
Here, the case where the “DCI” does not have “resource allocation” for “a random access response transmitted on the PDSCH” maps to “when the downlink DCI does not trigger the transmission of data”,
the “CSI request field” in Table 8 maps to “the DCI includes a ... CSI indication field of X bits”, and
states ‘01’, 10’, and ‘11’ in Table 8 map to “the ... CSI indication field is set to a state in which the transmission of ... CSI is triggered”,
“(DCI) format 0 is used for the aperiodic CSI report request” maps to “sending the ... CSI ... scheduled by the downlink DCI”, and
the use of the “PUCCH” in Table 5 for “periodic CSI transmission” maps to “sending the ... CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flexibility of requesting any combination of a CSI report and uplink data, as described in Lee, into Onggosanusi’s method for multiplexing a CSI report onto a PUSCH with uplink data. If the PUSCH can transmit the CSI and uplink data together, it would be obvious to support sending them each in isolation.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477