DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/25/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The abstract language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-20, and 22-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gan et al. (US 20230013454 A1; hereinafter Gan).
Regarding Claim 1, Gan discloses:
A first wireless communication device, comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: [(See Gan ¶356-359; Fig. 13)]
transmit, to a second wireless communication device in association with negotiation of a setup session, a request message that includes an information container including one or more negotiation parameter sets and one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets; and [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)
[0278] In other words, the method shown in FIG. 7 further includes: S711: The transmit end sends the request message to the receive end. S712: The receive end sends the response message to the transmit end.
[0279] In a possible implementation, the request message is a request management frame, and the response message is a response management frame. In this implementation, after sending the request management frame to the multi-link receive end, the multi-link transmit end receives an acknowledgment (acknowledge, ACK) frame returned by the multi-link receive end. After sending the response management frame to the multi-link transmit end, the multi-link receive end receives an ACK frame returned by the multi-link transmit end. In this process, the transmit end and the receive end complete negotiation of the TID-to-link mapping relationship.
[0280] In another possible implementation, TID-to-link mapping negotiation may alternatively be performed in a block acknowledgment setup session, the request message is an ADDBA request frame, and the response message is an ADDBA response frame. In this implementation, a single MAC protocol data unit (MAC protocol data unit, MPDU) of each TID that does not need a block acknowledgment or that is under no acknowledgment protocol is transmitted over all links, where the all the links are links in multi-link setup.
[0306] For another example, the quantity of TIDs is 2, the quantity of links is 3, and two link identifier bitmap fields are TID #1 110 101 and TID #2 101, where a TID #1 and a TID #2 also need to be indicated by using a sequence, and are indicated by using four bits or three bits. If the TID# 1 is 0000, and the TID #2 is 0001, it indicates that TID #1 is mapped to a link #1 and a link #2, and the TID #2 is mapped to the link #1 and a link #3, a TID #3 to a TID #8 are mapped to all links (the link #1, the link #2, and the link #3).
[0329] The block acknowledgment parameter set field includes fields such as an aggregate MAC protocol data unit (aggregate MAC protocol data unit, A-MSDU) support field, a block acknowledgment policy field, a service type field, and a buffer size field. FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a block acknowledgment parameter set field.
[0331] To support a bitmap of a 1K or longer block acknowledgment frame, the buffer size field in the block acknowledgment parameter set field shown in FIG. 10 may be extended. FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of an ADDBA extension element according to an embodiment of this application. It can be seen from FIG. 11 that the ADDBA extension element uses a 10-bit buffer size field in a 1-bit (No-fragmentation (No-fragmentation)), 2-bit (HE fragmentation operation (HE fragmentation operation)), or 5-bit (reserved) joint block acknowledgment parameter set to together indicate a quantity of buffers on a TID indicated by a TID field in the block acknowledgment parameter set. If the transmit end does not support an A-MSDU, a size of each buffered service is equal to a maximum quantity of MSDUs. If the transmit end supports an A-MSDU, a size of each service buffer is equal to a maximum quantity of A-MSDUs. An added bit is a most significant bit, and the 10-bit buffer size field of the block acknowledgment parameter set field is a 10-bit least significant bit. Alternatively, a quantity of added bits may be placed in another element (for example, a newly added element), and the quantity of bits may be another quantity of bits, for example, one byte.
]
receive, from the second wireless communication device in association with the negotiation of the setup session and in accordance with the request message, a response message that includes a set of values for one or more of the one or more negotiation parameter sets or the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)
[0278] In other words, the method shown in FIG. 7 further includes: S711: The transmit end sends the request message to the receive end. S712: The receive end sends the response message to the transmit end.
[0279] In a possible implementation, the request message is a request management frame, and the response message is a response management frame. In this implementation, after sending the request management frame to the multi-link receive end, the multi-link transmit end receives an acknowledgment (acknowledge, ACK) frame returned by the multi-link receive end. After sending the response management frame to the multi-link transmit end, the multi-link receive end receives an ACK frame returned by the multi-link transmit end. In this process, the transmit end and the receive end complete negotiation of the TID-to-link mapping relationship.
[0280] In another possible implementation, TID-to-link mapping negotiation may alternatively be performed in a block acknowledgment setup session, the request message is an ADDBA request frame, and the response message is an ADDBA response frame. In this implementation, a single MAC protocol data unit (MAC protocol data unit, MPDU) of each TID that does not need a block acknowledgment or that is under no acknowledgment protocol is transmitted over all links, where the all the links are links in multi-link setup.
[0306] For another example, the quantity of TIDs is 2, the quantity of links is 3, and two link identifier bitmap fields are TID #1 110 101 and TID #2 101, where a TID #1 and a TID #2 also need to be indicated by using a sequence, and are indicated by using four bits or three bits. If the TID# 1 is 0000, and the TID #2 is 0001, it indicates that TID #1 is mapped to a link #1 and a link #2, and the TID #2 is mapped to the link #1 and a link #3, a TID #3 to a TID #8 are mapped to all links (the link #1, the link #2, and the link #3).
[0329] The block acknowledgment parameter set field includes fields such as an aggregate MAC protocol data unit (aggregate MAC protocol data unit, A-MSDU) support field, a block acknowledgment policy field, a service type field, and a buffer size field. FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a block acknowledgment parameter set field.
[0331] To support a bitmap of a 1K or longer block acknowledgment frame, the buffer size field in the block acknowledgment parameter set field shown in FIG. 10 may be extended. FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of an ADDBA extension element according to an embodiment of this application. It can be seen from FIG. 11 that the ADDBA extension element uses a 10-bit buffer size field in a 1-bit (No-fragmentation (No-fragmentation)), 2-bit (HE fragmentation operation (HE fragmentation operation)), or 5-bit (reserved) joint block acknowledgment parameter set to together indicate a quantity of buffers on a TID indicated by a TID field in the block acknowledgment parameter set. If the transmit end does not support an A-MSDU, a size of each buffered service is equal to a maximum quantity of MSDUs. If the transmit end supports an A-MSDU, a size of each service buffer is equal to a maximum quantity of A-MSDUs. An added bit is a most significant bit, and the 10-bit buffer size field of the block acknowledgment parameter set field is a 10-bit least significant bit. Alternatively, a quantity of added bits may be placed in another element (for example, a newly added element), and the quantity of bits may be another quantity of bits, for example, one byte.
]
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more negotiation parameter sets includes one or more of a block acknowledgement session parameter set comprising a block acknowledgment action that indicates whether a negotiation parameter set is associated with the request message or the response message, a dialog token, or one or more negotiation parameters corresponding to each respective traffic identifier of one or more traffic identifiers. [(See Gan ¶278-280; ¶326-331; Fig. 7; Table 2-4)]
Regarding Claims 3 and 18, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 2, wherein the one or more negotiation parameters comprise one or more of a block acknowledgment timeout value, a starting sequence number, or an add block acknowledge extension. [(See Gan ¶278-280; ¶326-331; Fig. 7; Table 2-4)]
Regarding Claims 4 and 19, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 2, wherein each of the one or more negotiation parameter sets includes, for each traffic identifier of the one or more traffic identifiers, an aggregation of the one or more negotiation parameters. [(See Gan ¶278-280; ¶326-331; Fig. 7; Table 2-4)]
Regarding Claims 5 and 20, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein each traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter set of the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets indicates a mapping between each traffic identifier of one or more traffic identifiers and one or more links associated with the setup session. [(See Gan ¶278-284; ¶294-309; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claims 7 and 22, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, to receive the response message, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
receive an acknowledgment of each of the one or more negotiation parameter sets or the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶278-284; ¶326-331; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claims 8 and 23, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the request message further comprises a default negotiation parameter set and a default traffic identifier-to-link mapping. [(See Gan ¶201, ¶278-284; ¶294-309; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claims 9 and 24, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
transmit, to the second wireless communication device in association with renegotiation of the setup session and for each traffic identifier of one or more traffic identifiers, a second request message that includes the information container, the information container including one or more second negotiation parameter sets and one or more second traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets; and [(See Gan ¶278-311; ¶312; Fig. 7)]
receive, from the second wireless communication device in association with the renegotiation of the setup session and in accordance with the second request message, a second response message that includes a second set of values for one or more of the one or more second negotiation parameter sets or the one or more second traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶278-311; ¶312; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claims 10 and 25, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
transmit, to the second wireless communication device via the request message, one or more negotiation parameter sets acceptable to the first wireless communication device for the negotiation of the setup session; and [(See Gan ¶278-309; Fig. 7; Table 1)]
receive, from the second wireless communication device, a second request message comprising a second container, the second container including the one or more negotiation parameter sets acceptable to the first wireless communication device and the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶278-309; Fig. 7; Table 1)]
Regarding Claims 11 and 26, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more negotiation parameter sets includes one or more parameters that aid the second wireless communication device in selecting the set of values for one or more of the one or more negotiation parameter sets or the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets for inclusion in the response message. [(See Gan ¶278-309; Fig. 7; Table 1)]
Regarding Claims 12 and 27, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the information container comprises one or more information elements according to a type of negotiation associated with the setup session. [(See Gan ¶278-282; ¶326-331 Fig. 7; Table 2-4)]
Regarding Claims 13 and 28, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 12, wherein the information container comprises one or more target wake time parameters and information corresponding to one or more links in accordance with a negotiation of a multi-link target wake time setup session. [(See Gan ¶278-282; ¶326-331 Fig. 7; Table 2-4)]
Regarding Claim 14, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein:
the response message includes a status indicator corresponding to each of the one or more negotiation parameter sets or the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets for inclusion in the response message, the status indicator indicating, for each traffic identifier of one or more traffic identifiers, whether the negotiation is successful or fails. [(See Gan ¶278-284; ¶326-331; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claim 15, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein:
the first wireless communication device comprises an access point, a station, or a multi-link device, and [(See Gan ¶201 and ¶228; Fig. 7)]
the second wireless communication device comprises an access point, a station, or a multi-link device. [(See Gan ¶201 and ¶228; Fig. 7)]
Regarding Claim 16, Gan discloses:
A first wireless communication device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: [(See Gan ¶356-359; Fig. 13)]
receive, from a second wireless communication device in association with negotiation of a setup session, a request message that includes an information container including one or more negotiation parameter sets and one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets; and [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)]
transmit, to the second wireless communication device in association with the negotiation of the setup session and in accordance with the request message, a response message that includes a set of values for one or more of the one or more negotiation parameter sets or the one or more traffic identifier-to-link mapping parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)]
Regarding Claim 29, Gan discloses:
The method for wireless communication by a first wireless communication device, comprising:
transmitting, to a second wireless communication device in association with negotiation of a setup session, a request message that includes an information container including one or more negotiation parameter sets, at least one negotiation parameter set of the one or more negotiation parameter sets being associated with a type of traffic; and [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)]
receiving, from the second wireless communication device in association with the negotiation of the setup session and in accordance with the request message, a response message that includes a set of values for one or more of the one or more negotiation parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)]
Regarding Claim 30, Gan discloses:
The method for wireless communication by a first wireless communication device, comprising:
receiving, from a second wireless communication device in association with negotiation of a setup session, a request message that includes an information container including one or more negotiation parameter sets, at least one negotiation parameter set of the one or more negotiation parameter sets being associated with a type of traffic; and [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)]
transmitting, to the second wireless communication device in association with the negotiation of the setup session and in accordance with the request message, a response message that includes a set of values for one or more of the one or more negotiation parameter sets. [(See Gan ¶ 173; ¶278-306; ¶ 322-331 Fig. 7-11; Table 1-4)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gan and further in view of Jang et al. (US 20220312522 A1; hereinafter Jang).
Regarding Claims 6 and 21, Gan discloses:
The first wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
transmit an authentication message for authenticating the second wireless communication device, wherein transmitting the information container is in accordance with the authentication message.
However Jang, analogous art also teaching TID mapping, ADDBA, and Multi-link, does disclose:
wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to:
transmit an authentication message for authenticating the second wireless communication device, wherein transmitting the information container is in accordance with the authentication message. [(see Jang ¶80-85, ¶308-310, and ¶327-328; Fig. 3)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Gan with that of Jang to include an authentication process in order to include a secure setup procedure as per Jang (¶81), with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468