DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an input unit” in claim 2 (identified as operation knob 81 in Applicant’s disclosure, refer to [0122] in published specification), “a switching unit” in claim 2 (identified as 82 in Applicant’s disclosure, refer to [0166]-[0168] in published specification), and “a holding unit” in claim 11 (identified as 69 in Applicant’s disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al. US 2024/0025679 (hereinafter “Kubo”) in view of Miyazaki et al. US 2017/0015516 A1 (hereinafter “Miyazaki”).
Regarding claim 1, Kubo teaches a medium transport device installable at an in-body discharge portion in a recording device (100, refer to FIG. 24), the recording device including a recording unit (103) configured to perform recording on a medium, the medium transport device comprising:
a transport unit (one of the pre-processing rollers 211A and 212A serving as the first conveyance roller and one of the upstream rollers 213a and 213b serving as the second conveyance roller, refer to [0158]) positioned, in the recording device, between a first discharge path (formed by 101 and 150) through which the medium is discharged to the in-body discharge portion and a first processing unit (400) configured to perform first processing on the medium discharged to the in-body discharge portion, the transport unit being configured to transport the medium discharged from the first discharge path in a medium transport direction to the first processing unit; and
an operation unit (215) configured to enable manual operation of the transport unit,
a unit mounting portion (131) mounted with a first processing unit (400),
wherein the operation unit transports the medium in a reverse direction (from downstream direction to upstream direction, toward 210Aa) opposite of the medium transport direction when being operated.
wherein the unit mounting portion is configured to be further mounted with a second processing unit (300) being a unit positioned downstream of the first processing unit in a transport direction of the medium, the second processing unit being configured to perform second processing on the medium received from the first processing unit.
Kubo teaches the claimed invention except
wherein the operation unit is configured to transport the medium while the first processing unit and the second processing unit remain attached to the recording device and remain connected to each other.
Miyazaki teaches a well-known post-processing device (7) that is attached to slide rails (33, refer to FIG. 3) to allow a user access to clear a jam. The post-processing unit remains attached to the recording device during jam clearance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kubo’s device with slide rails as taught by Miyazaki in order to allow a user to easily access a paper jam by a slidably attached post-processing apparatus. The combination would provide wherein Kubo’s first processing unit and second processing unit would remain attached to the recording device (in a separated state) and remain connected to each other (first processing unit and second processing unit are connected to each other, and also with recording device (by slide rail connection).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the operation unit is attachable and detachable (capable of being detached).
Regarding claim 8, a recording system (100) comprising:
the medium transport device according to claim 1; and
the recording device (100) including the recording unit (103) configured to perform recording on the medium, wherein a drive source (implicit, interpreted as a motor to drive elements of the recording device) is provided at the recording device.
Regarding claim 9, further comprising a first path forming member (broadest reasonable interpretation includes 150) attachable to and detachable from a device main body including the first discharge path, wherein the first discharge path is formed by attaching the first path forming member to the device main body.
Regarding claim 11, Kubo teaches wherein the recording unit is positioned below the transport unit and wherein the transport unit includes a holding unit (2102) configured to hold foreign matter generated in a transport path through which the medium is transported.
Regarding claim 12, Kubo teaches wherein the recording unit performs recording by ejecting a liquid onto the medium ([0052]).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo in view of Miyazaki, and further in view of Lee US 2015/0172491 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 2, Kubo teaches wherein the transport unit includes a rotating body (211A/212A and/or 213a/213b) configured to be rotated by a power of a drive source (implicit) to transport the medium, the operation unit includes:
an input unit (215) configured to enable manual input of an operating force.
Kubo fails to explicitly teach wherein the operation unit includes a switching unit configured to switch between a transmission state in which the operating force is transmitted to the rotating body, and a decoupled state in which the operating force is not transmitted to the rotating body, and when the rotating body is driven by the power of the drive source, the switching unit is in the decoupled state.
Lee teaches the well-known concept of using an input unit (knob 500) directly feed rollers to manually remove sheets in the event of a jam. Lee also teaches use of a switching unit (clutch unit, [0046]-[0047]) to selectively connect the knob to the rollers to thereby avoid any load on the drive source of the feed rollers during use of the knob.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kubo’s device with a switching unit as taught by Lee in order to selectively connect the knob to the rollers to thereby avoid any load on the drive source of the feed rollers during use of the knob.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of references (see rejection of claim 2 as a guide) would teach wherein the rotating body (rollers): transports the medium downstream in a transport direction by rotating in a first rotation direction (taught by Iguchi) and transports the medium upstream in the transport direction by rotating in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction (taught by Kubo) and the rotating body is rotatable only in the second rotation direction (taught by Lee) when the operating force is input to the input unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 10, and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653