DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendments of 03/20/2024 have been entered in full. Claims 46-65 are pending and under consideration.
Double Patenting
Claims 46-58 and 60 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 16, 17, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11786558. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The pending and patented claims are all drawn to methods comprising administering CD34+ cells to a subject that has received an organ transplant. Patented claim 1 is drawn to an embodiment of the generic method of pending claims 46 and 52. The limitations in patented dependent claims 2, 3,4,5,7, 9, 10, 12, 16, 17, 19, and 20 recite species within or overlapping with the broader limitations in corresponding pending dependent claims 47, 49, 50, 51, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 60, and 60, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 63-65 recite the limitation "said population of CD34+ cells" in 59. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 46 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210369782 (‘Agarwal’; of record).
Claims 46 and 52 are drawn to a method that recites the single step of administering a population of CD34+ cells to a subject that has received an organ transplant. Claim 52 further stipulates that the cell population comprises no more than 1 x 104 CD3+ cells per kilogram of the subject. Preamble language in claims of patents directed to administration of a drug are expressions of purpose and intended result, and as such are non-limiting, since language does not result in manipulative difference in steps of claims. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Labs Inc., 246 F.3d 1368, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (61 PTCJ 623, 4/27/01), where a patent for administering the anti-cancer drug paclitaxel was anticipated by a scientific article describing the same method but with no anti-tumor response. That court held that expressions of anti-tumor efficacy did not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art. The court further held that preamble language in claims of patents directed to administration of anticancer drug are expressions of purpose and intended result, and as such are non-limiting, since language does not result in manipulative difference in steps of claims. Expressions of efficacy in claims of patents directed to administration of anticancer drug will not be given limiting effect, even though new uses of old processes are patentable, since claimed process in present case is not directed to new use, and it consists of same steps described in prior art reference, and since newly discovered results of known processes directed to same purpose are inherent, and thus are not patentable.
Therefore in the instant case, Applicant's assertions of alternative intended results (“establishing a mixed chimerism, establishing a T-cell macrochimerism of at least about 4%, preventing a host-versus-graft response,” in claim 46) do not distinguish the claimed method over prior art that teaches the same single step of administering a population of CD34+ cells to a subject that has received an organ transplant, wherein the cell population comprises no more than 1 x 104 CD3+ cells per kilogram of the subject.
Agarwal teaches a method of stem cell transplantation that facilitates engraftment and reconstitutes immunocompetence of the recipient (Abstract). Agarwal teaches that hematopoietic stem cell transplantation can also be performed to induce immune tolerance to donor matched solid organ grafts [0003][0012]. Donor cell populations for transplantation are enriched for CD34+ hematopoietic stem cells [0072]. The dose of cells may be higher than 106 CD34+ cells/kg, with the proviso that not more than about 3×103 CD3+ cells/kg are administered ([0073]; claim 5). Agarwal, therefore, teaches the same method step as in claim 52, which would necessarily produce all of the same results.
Claims 46, 47, 49-51, 53, 57, and 59-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9974807 (‘Strober’; of record).
While teaching the same intended outcomes is not necessary for a finding of anticipation, it is nevertheless noted that Strober does in fact teach the intended outcomes of establishing mixed chimerism and preventing rejection, as in instant claims 46 and 59 (see Strober claim 1). Strober teaches that these outcomes are achieved by a method comprising administering CD34+ cells to the recipient of a solid human organ transplantation (see claim 1). The method of Strober claim 1 is a species that anticipates the generic method of pending claim 46. At least 1×106 purified CD34+ cells/kilogram recipient weight are administered, as in pending claim 47 (see Strober claim 5). The solid human organ is selected from a group consisting of a kidney, a heart, an intestine, a liver, a lung, and a pancreas (Strober, claim 9) as in pending claims 49, 50, 61, and 62. Claim 51 recites an inherent property of the transplanted organs. In one embodiment, the organ donor and the donor of the CD34+ cells are the same individual (Strober, claim 7); this would necessarily result in HLA-matching of the organ and CD34+ cells, as in pending claim 53. The cells are administered from 1 to 30 days after solid organ transplantation (col.32, lines 13-46), as in pending claims 59-62. Strober, therefore, teaches the same method steps as in pending claims 46, 47, 49-51, 53, 57, 59, 60, and 62, which would necessarily produce all of the same results.
Claims 46-51, 53, 57, 59-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200088718 (‘Zdanowski’; of record).
Zdanowski teaches methods for establishing mixed chimerism in a solid organ transplant recipient. The methods include providing to a subject that has received or will receive a solid organ transplant a product containing CD34+ cells derived from bone marrow of a deceased donor [0011]. This method is a species that anticipates the generic method of pending claims 46 and 57. Zdanowski further teaches the dosage recited in instant claim 47 [0012-0013]. The cellular product may be provided prior to, during, one, two, three, four, five, or six days or one, two, three, or four weeks after the solid organ transplant [0173] as in claims 48 and 59. The solid organ may be a kidney, lung, pancreas, heart, intestine, colon, liver, as in claims 49, 50, 61 and 62 [0020]. Claim 51 recites an inherent property of the transplanted organs. A single donor may be the source of the transplanted organ and the CD34+ cells, which assures HLA matching as in claim 53 [0181]. Zdanowski, therefore, teaches the same method steps as in pending claims 46-51, 53, 57, and 59-62, which would necessarily produce all of the same results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210369782 (‘Agarwal’), as applied to claims 46 and 52 above, US 9974807 (‘Strober’), as applied to claims 46, 47, 49-51, 53, 57, and 59-62 above, and further in view of US 20200088718 (‘Zdanowski’), as applied to claims 46-51, 53, 57, 59-62 above, and the following.
Even if it could be argued that any of Agarwal, Strober or Zdanowski do not fully anticipate claims as detailed above, it is clear that these references provide teaching, suggestion, and motivation to administer a population of bone marrow derived CD34+ cells to a subject that has received an organ transplant, and they set forth general conditions for doing so. Additional teachings in the references are as follows.
Strober teaches the administration of anti-thymocyte globulin as in claim 54 (col. 34, line 41 to col. 35, line 34), administration of a corticosteroid as in claim 55 (col. 35, line 34 to col. 37, line 35) and administration of tacrolimus as in claim 56 (col. 9, lines 6-13; col. 44, line 28 to col. 46 line 31). In each case, the doses and scheduling times in Strober include or overlap with the corresponding values in the instant claims.
Zdanowski complements Strober in teaching the general conditions of pending claims 54-56 and 58. Zdanowski teaches that administering a population of CD34+ cells to a subject that has received an organ transplant may be accompanied by administration of anti-thymocyte globulin, corticosteroids [0174], tacrolimus and mTOR inhibitors [0175]; these agents may be tapered or withdrawn after stable mixed chimerism is established [0177-0178].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL C GAMETT, Ph.D., whose telephone number is (571)272-1853. The examiner can normally be reached on M-W. Please note the examiner’s part-time schedule. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DANIEL C GAMETT/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1647