DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 01/07/2026.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-15, 17-21 and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallal et al. (US 2022/0191083 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2011/0222638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dallal teaches a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
canceling a frequency-dependent subband impairment in accordance with receiving the second message, the cancelling being in accordance with:
the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate in accordance with the second message including the second command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate, or
an update to the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate in accordance with the second message including the command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate (determine which of the impairments experienced are relatively most severe with greatest amount of resources processing update impairment list (second communication factors) “For example, the UE 115-b may select the one or more second communication factors based on determining the communication factors or impairments having the largest impact on a processing ability of the UE 115-b. In some aspects, the UE 115-b may transmit the impairment report including the indication of the one or more second communication factors during the connection establishment procedure” see Dallal: ¶[0113-0115]; ¶[0176]).
Dallal does not explicitly teaches receiving, from a network node, a first message including a first command to estimate a current frequency-dependent subband impairment; and receiving, from a network node, a second message including a second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate.
However, Park teaches the receiving, from a network node, a first message including a first command to estimate a current frequency-dependent subband impairment (UE 10 receiving signal into plurality of subband at step 103 and to estimate current IQ Imbalance and phase noise at steps 104-105 see Park: Fig.7; Fig.4 steps 102-105; ¶[0040]; ¶[0026-00209]); and receiving, from a network node, a second message including a second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate (iteratively (corresponding update) estimate IQ imbalance from the data channel based on the carrier frequency offset estimate from he first subband and the IQ estimates form prior subbands see Park: Fig.4 step 106; ¶[0035-0036]) in order to estimate of the frequency dependent IQ imbalance in a received wireless communication signal (see Park: ¶[0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Dallal to include (or to use, etc.) the receiving, from a network node, a first message including a first command to estimate a current frequency-dependent subband impairment; and receiving, from a network node, a second message including a second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate as taught by Park in order to estimate of the frequency dependent IQ imbalance in a received wireless communication signal (see Park: ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Dallal further comprising updating the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate in accordance with the second message including the second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate (update impairment list and select second communication factors based on determining the communication factors or impairments having the largest impact on a processing ability of the UE “For example, the UE 115-b may select the one or more second communication factors based on determining the communication factors or impairments having the largest impact on a processing ability of the UE 115-b. In some aspects, the UE 115-b may transmit the impairment report including the indication of the one or more second communication factors during the connection establishment procedure” see Dallal: ¶[0115]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 2 as described hereinabove. Dallal further comprising: receiving, from the network node, one or more pilot symbols; and measuring the one or more pilot symbols, wherein the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate is updated in accordance with measuring the one or more pilot symbols (receiving capability report on step 310-a and the UE 115-b may determine, via a measurement of the downlink channel or based on a configuration of the UE 115-b, which impairments are adversely affecting signaling between the base station 105-b and the UE 115-b and may determine which of the impairments experienced at the UE 115-b are relatively most severe or associated with a relatively greatest amount of resources for processing see Dallal: Fig.3; ¶[0113]; ¶[0115]; ¶[0176]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Dallal further comprising receiving, at each slot of a group of slots, an additional respective first message including either a command to update a respective current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a command to maintain a respective current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate (additional measure downlink channel at step 325 and additional update indications of third communication factor at step 330 see Dallal: Fig.3; ¶[119-0120]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Dallal further teaches wherein: the second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate and the third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate are associated with a same single bit that indicates whether to update or maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate; the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate is maintained in accordance with the single bit having a first value; and the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate is updated in accordance with the single bit having a second value (update impairment report based on an indication one or more second communication factors “At 320, the UE 115-b may transmit, to the base station 105-b via an impairment report, an indication of one or more second communication factors from the set of communication factors based at least in part on the information associated with the set of communication factors” see Dallal: ¶[0114]; ¶[0130]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Dallal further teaches wherein; the first message is received in according with initializing a connection with the network node and the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate is an initial frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate (initiate connection establish include capability exchange between base station and UE see Dallal: Fig.3 step 305; ¶[0111]).
Regarding claim 9, Dallal taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Dallal further comprising transmitting, to the network node, a fourth message indicating a capability of the UE to cancel the frequency-dependent subband impairment (second capability report at step 310-b see Dallal: Fig.3; ¶[0116]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Claim 10 recites a user equipment that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 2 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 3 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 4 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 5 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 6 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 9 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 18, Dallal teaches a method for wireless communication by a network node, comprising:
learning a variation rate associated with a frequency-dependent subband impairment (base station 105b updating the capability based on impairment report at steps 320 and 310-b see Dallal: Fig.3; ¶[0114-0116]);
receiving a first message that a user equipment (UE) to supports the frequency-dependent subband impairment (receiving impairment report from UE to update impairment “At 310-b, may, in some implementations, transmit the capability report to the UE 115-b indicating one or more first communication factors for which the base station 105-b is capable of compensating downlink communication to the UE 115-b” and “At 320, the UE 115-b may transmit, to the base station 105-b via an impairment report, an indication of one or more second communication factors from the set of communication factors based at least in part on the information associated with the set of communication factors” see Dallal: Fig.3; ¶[0114]; ¶[0016]; Fig.3 step 310-b).).
Dallal does not explicitly teaches transmitting a second message including a first command to estimate a current frequency dependent subband impairment and transmitting a third message including a second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment, the third message including the second command or the third command in accordance with the variation rate and the UE supporting the frequency-dependent subband impairment .
However, Park teaches the transmitting a second message including a first command to estimate a current frequency dependent subband impairment (UE 10 receiving signal into plurality of subband at step 103 and to estimate current IQ Imbalance and phase noise at steps 104-105 see Park: Fig.7; Fig.4 steps 102-105; ¶[0040]; ¶[0026-00209]);and transmitting a third message including a second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment, the third message including the second command or the third command in accordance with the variation rate and the UE supporting the frequency-dependent subband impairment (iteratively (corresponding update) estimate IQ imbalance from the data channel based on the carrier frequency offset estimate from he first subband and the IQ estimates form prior subbands see Park: Fig.4 step 106; ¶[0035-0036]) in order to estimate of the frequency dependent IQ imbalance in a received wireless communication signal (see Park: ¶[0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Dallal to include (or to use, etc.) the transmitting a second message including a first command to estimate a current frequency dependent subband impairment and transmitting a third message including a second command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate or a third command to maintain the current frequency-dependent subband impairment, the third message including the second command or the third command in accordance with the variation rate and the UE supporting the frequency-dependent subband impairment as taught by Park in order to estimate of the frequency dependent IQ imbalance in a received wireless communication signal (see Park: ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 18 as described hereinabove. Dallal further comprising transmitting one or more pilot symbols, wherein the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate is associated with the one or more pilot symbols (receiving capability report on step 310-a and the UE 115-b may determine, via a measurement of the downlink channel or based on a configuration of the UE 115-b, which impairments are adversely affecting signaling between the base station 105-b and the UE 115-b and may determine which of the impairments experienced at the UE 115-b are relatively most severe or associated with a relatively greatest amount of resources for processing see Dallal: Fig.3; ¶[0113]; ¶[0115]; ¶[0176]).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 4 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 5 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 18 as described hereinabove. Claim 26 recites a network node that perform the same functionalities as the method of claim 18.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 19 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 20 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 21 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 22 as described hereinabove.
Claims 7-8, 16 and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallal et al. (US 2022/0191083 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2011/0222638 A1) and further in view of Soltani et al. (US 2022/0408289 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Dallal does not explicitly teaches wherein the first message is received in accordance with one or more of a difference between a current temperature at the network node and a previous temperature at the network node being greater than a temperature threshold, an update to one or more transmission antennas at the network node, or a periodic schedule for an update command.
However, Soltani teaches the wherein the first message is received in accordance with one or more of a difference between a current temperature at the network node and a previous temperature at the network node being greater than a temperature threshold, an update to one or more transmission antennas at the network node, or a periodic schedule for an update command (update phase noise profile based on change in temperature “the transmitting device may detect a triggering condition (for example, a change in temperature, transmit power, operating band, or voltage, among other examples), and may transmit an update of the phase noise profile” see Soltani: ¶[0077]) in order provide reliability of wireless communication (see Soltani: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Dallal to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein the first message is received in accordance with one or more of a difference between a current temperature at the network node and a previous temperature at the network node being greater than a temperature threshold, an update to one or more transmission antennas at the network node, or a periodic schedule for an update command as taught by Soltani in order provide reliability of wireless communication (see Soltani: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 7 as described hereinabove. Dallal further teaches wherein the previous temperature is associated with a time period corresponding to receiving, from the network node, prior to receiving the second message, a third message indicating another command to update a previous frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate (initiate connection establish include capability exchange between base station and UE and At 310-b, may, in some implementations, transmit the capability report to the UE 115-b indicating one or more first communication factors for which the base station 105-b is capable of compensating downlink communication to the UE 115-b see Dallal: Fig.3 step 305; ¶[0111]; step 310-b).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 7 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 7 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 8 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 23 as described hereinabove. Dallal further teaches wherein the second message includes the command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate in accordance with the network node updating the one or more transmission antennas (update impairment report based on an indication one or more second communication factors “At 320, the UE 115-b may transmit, to the base station 105-b via an impairment report, an indication of one or more second communication factors from the set of communication factors based at least in part on the information associated with the set of communication factors” see Dallal: ¶[0114]; ¶[0130]).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Dallal taught the method of claim 23 as described hereinabove. Dallal further teaches wherein the second message includes the command to update the current frequency-dependent subband impairment estimate in accordance with the periodic schedule (update impairment report based on an indication one or more second communication factors and periodical reporting “The UE 115-a may transmit the second impairment report 215 according to various reporting options, including periodically, aperiodically, semi-persistently, or semi-statically” see Dallal: ¶[0114]; ¶[0130]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
April 28, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478