DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 2-8 in the reply filed on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/12/2026.
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of instant claim 2 is suggested in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 9,353,021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-7 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hacker et al. (US Pat. No.: 6,101,406) in view of Donig et al. (US Pat. No.: 6,743,201).
Regarding claim 2, Hacker discloses (fig. 5-6, 10) a cassette manifold (cassette 12) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a fluid path (fluid chamber 18) configured to carry fluid (col. 6, ln. 32-37), the fluid path including at least two probes (ion sensor 28 and thermistor assembly, col. 21, ln. 32-40), at least one probe being a thermal well (36) adapted to receive a sensor (thermistor 224) for transmitting temperature (col. 21, ln. 35-40), the two probes permitting conductivity sensing of fluid passing along the fluid path (col. 16, ln. 23-27, ln. 61-67).
Hacker fails to disclose the cassette comprising a plurality of fluidically separate fluid paths, allowing the fluid paths to carry fluids having different compositions or characteristics.
Donig teaches (fig. 1) a cassette manifold (cassette 10) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a plurality of fluidically separate fluid paths, allowing the fluid paths to carry fluids having different compositions or characteristics (col. 4, ln. 35-63), the cassette manifold configured to deliver dialysis fluids (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cassette manifold of Hacker such that it comprises a plurality of fluidically separate fluid paths, allowing the fluid paths to carry fluids having different compositions or characteristics, as taught by Donig, in order to configure the cassette manifold to deliver dialysis fluids (Doing, abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Hacker discloses wherein the sensor is a thermistor (col. 21, ln. 35-40).
Regarding claim 4, Hacker discloses wherein said thermal well comprises: a hollow housing of a thermally and electrically conductive material (col. 16, ln. 61-64), said housing having an outer surface and an inner surface (fig. 5) said inner surface being of a predetermined shape so as to form a mating relationship with a sensing probe (fig. 5, 10), whereby said mating thermally and electrically couples the inner surface with a sensing probe (col. 21, ln. 30-40; col. 22, ln. 12-20).
Regarding claim 5, Hacker discloses wherein the probes are electrically conductive leads of a conductivity sensor (col. 21, ln. 35-40; col. 32, ln. 65-col. 33, ln. 16).
Regarding claim 6, Hacker discloses wherein the two probes are configured to make contact with fluid in the fluid path (col. 16, ln. 23-28, ln. 65-67).
Regarding claim 7, Hacker discloses wherein one of the probes is sealed to the cassette using an O-ring seal (228), a retaining plage (212) and fastener (coupling 202) (fig. 1, 10).
Hacker in view of Donig fail to disclose wherein the probes are sealed to the cassette using an o-ring seal, a retaining plate and fastener.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the other probe such that it is sealed to the cassette using an O-ring seal, a retaining plage and fastener, in order to configure the probes to be detachable (Hacker col. 21, ln. 20-23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Hacker in view of Donig disclose a cassette comprising the cassette manifold of claim 2 and said probes and sensor, as discussed above. Hacker further discloses wherein the probes and sensors are mounted onto, and electrically connected with a printed circuit board (printed circuit board subassembly 404), the sensor is connected with two wires to transmit temperature signals to the printed circuit board (col. 21, ln. 35-40), the printed circuit board having an edge connector (electrical cable 434) through which sensor information may be transmitted from the sensors to a system controller (430) (col. 32, ln. 25-30).
Regarding the at least one probe being a thermal well adapted to receive a sensor for transmitting temperature, Hacker discloses the two wires to transmit temperature signals but is silent to an additional wire to transmit electrical conductivity signals. Regarding the other probe, the ion sensor 28, Hacker discloses that the sensor emits a light directed through an optical fiber (col. 33, ln. 1-10). Hacker fails to disclose, teach or suggest that the probes are connected to the printed circuit board with one wire to transmit electrical conductivity signals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schick et al. (Pub. No.: US 2007/0255527 A1) discloses a conductivity sensor. Kelly et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0131332 A1) discloses a fluid path including two probes.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781