Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Species II and Group 2, Species B in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species I of Group 1, which requires each of the first tower assembly and the second tower assembly respectively comprises a first angle iron as a front leg and a second angle iron as a rear leg as shown in Fig. 1, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The Applicant states that claim 1 and all dependents encompass Species II, Fig. 2. However, according to para. [0035], the angle iron assembly of fig. 1 may be replaced with a truss rod design. Since claim 2 is drawn to the angle iron legs of the embodiment of fig. 1, the claim and its dependents are not drawn to truss legs of fig. 2 and are therefore withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because: i) reference character “28” has been used to designate both a leg connected to wall 40 via bolt 36 in Fig. 4 and a leg connected to wall 42 via bolt 38 in Fig. 6; and ii) reference character “30” has been used to designate both a leg connected to wall 42 via bolt 38 in Fig. 4 and a leg connected to wall 40 via bolt 36 in Fig. 6.
Specification
The para. [0039] and [0044] are objected because of inconsistency.
According to [0039] and Fig. 4, the specification discloses leg 28 is coupled to wall 40 via bolt 36 and leg 30 is coupled to wall 42 via bolt 38. However, according to [0044] and Fig. 6, the specification discloses leg 28 is coupled to wall 42 via bolt 38 and leg 30 is coupled to wall 40 via bolt 36.
Applicant is required to correct such inconsistency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teeter 20160021835 in view of Hegemann 4090528 and NPL: Johnson - Angles, Angle Irons & V-Shapes, referred to as Johnson thereafter.
Regarding claim 1, Teeter teaches the invention as claimed: An irrigation span assembly (22, Fig. 1) for transferring water from a center pivot (32, Fig. 1 and [0033]), the irrigation span assembly comprising:
a central hose (comprising multiple 24s); wherein the central hose comprises a plurality of hose segments (24s, see Fig. 1); wherein the plurality of hose segments comprise: a first hose segment (annotated Fig. 1); a second hose segment (annotated Fig. 1); and a third hose segment (annotated Fig. 1);
a plurality of nozzle connectors (86, Fig. 6 and [0026 and 0054]); wherein the plurality of nozzle connectors comprise: a first nozzle connector (the 86 positioned in the first hose segment, see annotated Fig. 1), a second nozzle connector (the 86 positioned in the second hose segment, see annotated Fig. 1), and a third nozzle connector (the 86 positioned in the first hose segment, see annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the first, second and third nozzle connectors (annotated Fig. 1) each comprise: a front connection insert (the 92 in Fig. 6 fluidly upstream relative to flow direction in 24); a rear connection insert (the 92 in Fig. 6 fluidly downstream relative to flow direction in 24); a central connector body (88); and a central sprinkler outlet (46); wherein the central sprinkler outlet extends from the central connector body (see Fig. 6);
wherein the first hose segment (annotated Fig. 1) is connected at a first end (annotated Fig. 1) to the first nozzle connector (annotated Fig. 1); wherein the first hose segment (annotated Fig. 1) is connected at a second end (annotated Fig. 1) to the second nozzle connector (annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the second nozzle connector (annotated Fig. 1) is connected between the first hose segment (a portion of the first hose segment, annotated Fig. 1) and the second hose segment (annotated Fig. 1);
wherein the third nozzle connector (annotated Fig. 1) is connected between the second hose segment (annotated Fig. 1) and the third hose segment (a portion of the third hose segment, annotated Fig. 1); and
an assembly (36, Figs. 1-3), wherein the assembly comprises: a first wall (38, Fig. 3) and a second wall (39, Fig. 3).
Teeter does not teach said assembly is an angle iron assembly, wherein said first wall and said second wall are joined at a central joint; wherein said first wall and said second wall intersect to form a central channel within the angle iron assembly having a central channel floor; wherein said central hose runs between said first wall and said second wall; wherein said central hose runs within the central channel; wherein said first and second walls are oriented to form an angle; wherein the central joint is oriented downward.
However, Hegemann teaches an angle iron assembly (45, Figs. 1-4 and col. 4, l. 66 to col. 5, l. 3), wherein the angle iron assembly comprises: a first wall (77) and a second wall (79, Figs. 2 and 4); wherein the first wall (77) and the second wall (79) are joined at a central joint (two 87s, Figs. 2 and 4); wherein the first wall (77) and the second wall (79) intersect (to 65 at 55s, see Fig. 2) to form a central channel (the triangle-shaped space formed between 65, 77, and 79, see Fig. 2) within the angle iron assembly (45) having a central channel floor (two 89s, see Figs. 2 and 4); wherein the central hose (11) runs between the first wall (77) and the second wall (79, see Fig. 4); wherein the central hose (11) runs within the central channel (see Fig. 2); wherein the first and second walls (77 and 79) are oriented to form an angle (a respective angle of the angle irons 77 and 79, col. 4, l. 66 to col. 5, l. 3); wherein the central joint (the two 89s part of 87s) is oriented downward (see Figs. 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Teeter to be the angle iron assembly as taught by Hegemann in order to equalize the forces applied to the supporting system from the pipeline during transporting across uneven terrain with less cost and system weight (Hegemann, col. 1, ll. 5-10 and col. 2, ll. 29-40).
Teeter in view of Hegemann does not teach said angle is a 90-degree angle.
However, Johnson teaches an angled iron wall is oriented to from various degree angles for desired applications, which includes 90-degree angle (para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first wall and the second wall of Teeter in view of Hegemann to form a 90-degree angle as taught by Johnson because it is noted that the optimization of ranges, i.e., forming a 90-degree angle, as it is disclosed and claimed in the instant application, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, as it would have taken only ordinary skill in the art to change the angle of the angle iron for desired applications as taught by Johnson, In re Aller, MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PURTELL 3417766 teaches an irrigation span assembly comprising a central hose and an angle iron assembly, wherein the angle iron assembly comprises a first wall and a second wall intersect at a central joint to form a central channel, the central hose runs within the central channel, and the central joint oriented downward.
Shoap 20210190241, Kamerath 11274781, and Lemkin 4722481 teach a nozzle connector comprises a front connection inset, a rear connection insert, a central connector body, and a central outlet extends from the central connector body.
/JINGCHEN LIU/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741