Response to Arguments
Applicant amendment to include “part of the objected claims” limitation will not put the case in condition for allowance.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 20040229665) in view of Yang (US 20110148715) in view of Li (US 20070216589).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches, a communication device (Fig. 1, el. 100) comprising:
a housing assembly comprising first and second housings coupled at a hinge to pivot between a fully folded position and a fully unfolded position (Paragraph 35, 52); and
a patch antenna positioned at a back portion of the housing assembly that is exposed in both the fully folded position and the fully unfolded position (Fig. 1, el. 103, Fig. 6, Paragraph 44).
Mori does not teach the patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate.
Yang teaches patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate (Fig. 1 and Paragraph 11: patch antenna 100 in accordance with one embodiment is illustrated. The patch antenna 100 may be used in an electronic device (not shown), such as a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), and so on. The patch antenna 100 includes a radiator 10, a ground sheet 12, a dielectric substrate 14, an insulated substrate 16, and a feeding line 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mori with Yang in order to increase the effectiveness of the overall equipment.
Morin in view of Yang does not teach wherein the patch antenna is configured to transmit and to receive a circularly polarized radio frequency (RF) signal.
Li teaches patch antenna, for receiving and/or transmitting a circularly polarized radio frequency (Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori in view of Yang with Li in order to improve the performance of communication systems, enhances signal quality, reduces interference, and improves energy efficiency.
Examiner found another art that teach the limitations:
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 20040229665) in view of Cho (US 20110063174) in view of Li (US 20070216589).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches, a communication device (Fig. 1, el. 100) comprising:
a housing assembly comprising first and second housings coupled at a hinge to pivot between a fully folded position and a fully unfolded position (Paragraph 35, 52); and
a patch antenna positioned at a back portion of the housing assembly that is exposed in both the fully folded position and the fully unfolded position (Fig. 1, el. 103, Fig. 6, Paragraph 44).
Mori does not teach the patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate.
Cho teaches patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate (Fig. 1 and abstract: a patch antenna.
The patch antenna includes a high dielectric constant substrate having a cavity, a radiator disposed on a portion of one surface of the high dielectric constant substrate corresponding to the cavity, a feeder line disposed on the high dielectric constant substrate and supplying a signal to the radiator, and a ground part disposed on the high dielectric constant substrate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mori with Cho in order to increase the effectiveness of the overall equipment.
Mori in view of Cho does not teach wherein the patch antenna is configured to transmit and to receive a circularly polarized radio frequency (RF) signal.
Li teaches patch antenna, for receiving and/or transmitting a circularly polarized radio frequency (Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori in view of Cho with Li in order to improve the performance of communication systems, enhances signal quality, reduces interference, and improves energy efficiency.
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 20040229665) in view of Kim (US 20160118720) in view of Li (US 20070216589).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches, a communication device (Fig. 1, el. 100) comprising:
a housing assembly comprising first and second housings coupled at a hinge to pivot between a fully folded position and a fully unfolded position (Paragraph 35, 52); and
a patch antenna positioned at a back portion of the housing assembly that is exposed in both the fully folded position and the fully unfolded position (Fig. 1, el. 103, Fig. 6, Paragraph 44).
Mori does not teach the patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate.
Kim teaches patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate (Fig. 4 and Paragraph 14: patch antenna may include: a substrate; a ground portion formed on a first surface of the substrate; a second radiator having a plurality of patches may be formed on a second surface of the substrate, the plurality of patches being connected to the ground portion via a plurality of vias; a first radiator formed in a periphery of the second radiator with a gap from the second radiator; and a feeding probe disposed on the first radiator to enable power to be directly fed to the first radiator, and to enable power to be fed to the second radiator through coupling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mori with Kim in order to increase the effectiveness of the overall equipment.
Mori with Kim does not teach wherein the patch antenna is configured to transmit and to receive a circularly polarized radio frequency (RF) signal.
Li teaches patch antenna, for receiving and/or transmitting a circularly polarized radio frequency (Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori with Kim with Li in order to improve the performance of communication systems, enhances signal quality, reduces interference, and improves energy efficiency.
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 20040229665) in view of BAHRAMIABARGHOU (US 20230146159) in view of Li (US 20070216589).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches, a communication device (Fig. 1, el. 100) comprising:
a housing assembly comprising first and second housings coupled at a hinge to pivot between a fully folded position and a fully unfolded position (Paragraph 35, 52); and
a patch antenna positioned at a back portion of the housing assembly that is exposed in both the fully folded position and the fully unfolded position (Fig. 1, el. 103, Fig. 6, Paragraph 44).
Mori does not teach the patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate.
BAHRAMIABARGHOU teaches patch antenna comprising: (i) a ground plane; (ii) a substrate comprising a low dielectric constant and low loss material and positioned on the ground plane; and (iii) a conductive radiator patch positioned on the substrate (Fig. 14 and Paragraph 40: the patch antenna elements 32 may have the same size, shape, distance above the ground plane and dielectric substrate as broadside radiator 18, e.g., a patch antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mori with BAHRAMIABARGHOU in order to increase the effectiveness of the overall equipment.
Mori with BAHRAMIABARGHOU does not teach wherein the patch antenna is configured to transmit and to receive a circularly polarized radio frequency (RF) signal.
Li teaches patch antenna, for receiving and/or transmitting a circularly polarized radio frequency (Paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori with Kim with Li in order to improve the performance of communication systems, enhances signal quality, reduces interference, and improves energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Mori in view of Yang in view of LI, teaches, communications subsystem configured to allow the communication device to communicate with a communications satellite via at least one of an uplink and a downlink (Mori Paragraph 12, 14, 77); a memory that stores a communications application; and a controller communicatively coupled to the communications subsystem and the memory, and which: in response to identifying a trigger to execute the communications application, communicates, via the communications subsystem and the patch antenna with the communications satellite (Mori Paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 11, see claims 1-2 rejection.
Regarding claim 18, see claims 1-2 rejection.
Claims 2, 11, 18 can be rejected in combination with any other cited references above.
Claims 3-4, 12, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 20040229665) in view of Yang (US 20110148715) in view of Li (US 20070216589) in view of Mittelstadt (US 6490465).
Regarding claim 3, Mori in view of Yang in view of LI, teaches, at least one display coupled to the housing assembly and communicatively coupled to the controller, and wherein the controller presents, on the at least one display, display content (Mori: display).
Mori in view of Yang in view of Li does not teach display content comprising one or more visual elements among: (i) a status of communication with the communications satellite; (ii) information received from the communications satellite; (iii) a control interface to control the communication with the communications satellite; and (iv) an input interface to enter information to send to the communications satellite.
Mittelstadt teaches a mobile telephone, Mittelstadt also teaches the above (abstract: mobile telephone displays a status menu on a mobile telephone display. The status menu includes an antenna position status that indicates if an antenna for the mobile telephone is properly positioned. The mobile telephone continually updates the antenna position status in the status menu when the status menu is displayed, and claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mori with Mittelstadt in order to increase the effectiveness of the overall equipment and enhance user’s experience.
Regarding claim 4, Mori in view of Yang in view of Li in view of Mittelstadt teaches the communications application comprises an emergency alert application; and the controller presents a communications user interface, at the at least one display, indicating a status of sending an emergency alert based on communication with the communications satellite (Mittelstadt: claim 4: a display configured to provide information regarding at least one selected for a group consisting of status of the apparatus, status of the wireless network, and presence of the communication with one or more emergency service providers).
Regarding claim 12, see claim 3 rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 4 rejections.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 3 rejections.
Claims 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 20040229665) in view of Yang (US 20110148715) in view of LI (US 20070216589) in view of Mittelstadt (US 6490465) in view of Mulloni (US 9667873).
Regarding claim 6, Mori in view of Yang in view of LI in view of Mittelstadt teaches the claimed mobile device.
Mori in view of Yang in view of LI in view of Mittelstadt does not teach a pivot sensor communicatively coupled to the controller and configured to detect a pivot position of the housing assembly, and wherein the controller: monitors the pivot sensor; and selects, based on the pivot position of the housing assembly, one of the at least one display to present display content.
Mulloni teaches the above (claim 13: pivot position, wherein the initial image sensor pose is estimated based on a targetless first image captured by the image sensor, and update the display in real-time with an indication of a desired movement direction for the image sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Mori with Yang in view of LI with Mulloni in order to enhance user’s experience.
Regarding claim 14. See claim 6 rejections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-10, 13, 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIA EL-ZOOBI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692