DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/05/2025. Claims 1-9 are pending. Claims 1, 4, and 9 are independent. Claim 9 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 10, the term “stationary” should be amended to –movable-- because the fifth crimp member is part of the movable jaw.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 properly invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) by reciting “means for driving the crossbar linearly with respect to the fixed shank to fully crimp the crimp tube and impart multiple crimps on each side of the crimp tube.” Based on the disclosure, the means is a second handle pivotably connected to the fixed shank (see Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an alignment fiducial" in each of lines 9 and 10 of the claim. The term “fiducial” is an adjective. The term “alignment” is also serving as an adjective in this case. It is unclear what “an alignment fiducial” is because it uses two adjectives without a noun or a structure after that. Therefore, it is unclear what the metes and bounds is for the claim because of the limitation “an alignment fiducial.” For the purpose of examination, the limitation “an alignment fiducial" is considered as “an alignment fiducial structure” which is an alignment reference point. Claims 2-3 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "an alignment fiducial" in each of lines 9 and 10 of the claim. The term “fiducial” is an adjective. The term “alignment” is also serving as an adjective in this case. It is unclear what “an alignment fiducial” is because it uses two adjectives without a noun or a structure after that. Therefore, it is unclear what the metes and bounds is for the claim because of the limitation “an alignment fiducial.” For the purpose of examination, the limitation “an alignment fiducial" is considered as “an alignment fiducial structure” which is an alignment reference point. Claims 5-8 are rejected because they depend on claim 4.
The art rejection(s) below is/are made as best understood by the examiner because of the 35 U.S.C. 112 issue(s) stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US Pub. No.: 2021/0015479).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses [claim 1] a medical/veterinary suture crimp tool (tool 80, Fig. 10) comprising: a stationary jaw at a distal end of a fixed shank (fixed jaw 84 at a distal end of a fixed shank/structure, Fig. 10. The stationary jaw is 84 with 46 since 46 is engaged with 84) and having across its width and extending at least partially along its length spaced fixed crimp members including at least first, second, and third crimp members (structures of back wall 49 of female component 46, disposed on either side of suture bores 31a and 31b, Fig. 9A; see also Paras. [0043] and [0045], as tool 80 engages the male blade and suture female components); a moveable jaw at a distal end of a linearly driven crossbar (sliding jaw 82 at the distal end of the linearly driven crossbar/structure, Fig. 10. The moveable jaw is 82 with 40 since 40 is engaged with 82) and having across its width and extending at least partially along its length, spaced crimp members including at least fourth, fifth, and sixth crimp members opposing, respectively, the first, second, and third crimp members of the stationary jaw (structures of male blade member 40 disposed between suture clamps 32a and 32b, Fig. 10; see also Paras. [0043] and [0045], as tool 80 engages the male blade and suture female components); an alignment fiducial structure associated with said fifth crimp member for alignment with an alignment fiducial structure of a crimp tube (the horizontal spaces disposed above the suture clamps 32a and 32b, such as the alignment fiducial structure/space shown in the Figure below, as the claim fails to define the structure of the alignment fiducial structure); a first handle connected to the fixed shank (handle connected to and extending from fixed jaw 84, Fig. 10); and a second handle pivotably connected to the fixed shank and configured to drive the crossbar linearly with respect to the fixed shank to fully crimp the crimp tube (remaining handle, Fig. 10; see also Para. [0045], as sliding jaw 82 moves relative to fixed jaw 84 to drive the male blade member deeper into the female suture component).
Regarding Claims 4, 7, and 8, Smith discloses [claim 4] a crimp tool (tool 80, Fig. 10) comprising: a stationary jaw at a distal end of a fixed shank (fixed jaw 84 at a distal end of a fixed shank/structure, Fig. 10. The stationary jaw is 84 with 46 since 46 is engaged with 84) and having spaced multiple crimp members each configured to provide a deformation on one side of a crimp tube (structures of back wall 49 of female component 46, disposed on either side of suture bores 31a and 31b, Fig. 9A; see also Paras. [0043] and [0045], as tool 80 engages the male blade and suture female components); a moveable jaw at a distal end of a linearly driven crossbar (sliding jaw 82 at the distal end of the linearly driven crossbar/structure, Fig. 10. The moveable jaw is 82 with 40 since 40 is engaged with 82) and having spaced multiple crimp members each configured to provide a deformation on an opposite side of the crimp tube thereby creating multiple crimps in the crimp tube when the stationary and moveable jaws are brought together about the crimp tube (structures of male blade member 40 disposed between suture clamps 32a and 32b, Figures 9A and 10; see also Paras. [0043] and [0045], as tool 80 engages the male blade and suture female components), each deformation on one side of the crimp tube opposing the deformation on the opposite side of the crimp tube (Figures 9A-9C); an alignment fiducial associated with at least one crimp member for alignment with an alignment fiducial of a crimp tube (the horizontal spaces disposed above the suture clamps 32a and 32b, such as the alignment fiducial structure/space shown in the Figure above, as the claim fails to define the structure of the alignment fiducial); a first handle connected to the fixed shank (handle connected to and extending from fixed jaw 84, Fig. 10); a second handle pivotably connected to the fixed shank (remaining handle, Fig. 10); and means for driving the crossbar linearly with respect to the fixed shank to fully crimp the crimp tube and impart multiple crimps on each side of the crimp tube (Fig. 10, as the handles are pivotably joined; see also Para. [0045], as sliding jaw 82 moves relative to fixed jaw 84 to drive the male blade member deeper into the female suture component); [claim 7] wherein crimp tool is fully capable to deform a crimp tube which has an oval cross-sectional shape (crimp tool is fully capable to deform a crimp tube which has an oval cross-sectional shape. Applicant should be noted that the crimp tube is not positively recited as part of the crimp tool); [claim 8] wherein the stationary jaw includes at least partially along its length spaced fixed crimp members including at least first, second, and third crimp members (Fig. 9A, as there are three structures of back wall 49 of female component 46, disposed on either side of suture bores 31a and 31b), the moveable jaw includes at least across its width and partially along its length at least fourth, fifth, and sixth crimp members opposing, respectively, the first, second, and third crimp members of the stationary jaw (Fig. 9A, as there are three structures of male blade member 40 disposed between suture clamps 32a and 32b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US Pub. No.: 2021/0015479) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, respectively, and further in view of Green (US Pat. No.: 4,354,628).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Smith discloses substantially all the limitations as taught above but fails to disclose that the second handle includes a distal socket about a drive member on the crossbar to linearly drive the crossbar.
Green teaches, in the field of endeavor (surgical tool with operable jaws), a second handle (lever 110, Fig. 2) that includes a distal socket (socket in which pivotal axis 112 is disposed, Fig. 2) about a drive member on the crossbar to linearly drive the crossbar (metal core 114 of lever 110, Figures 2 and 4; see also col. 6, Ins. 45-48; see also col. 5, Ins. 32-45).
Before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second handle of the tool of Smith to a distal socket about a drive member on the crossbar to linearly drive the crossbar as taught by Green in order to obtain the advantage of providing a driving means that is easy and fast to operate (Green, col. 10, Ins. 63-65; Smith, Para. [0045]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the argument(s) on page 6 of the remarks, claim 1 recites the limitation "an alignment fiducial" in each of lines 9 and 10 of the claim. The term “fiducial” is an adjective. The term “alignment” is also serving as an adjective in this case. It is unclear what “an alignment fiducial” is because it uses two adjectives without a noun or a structure after that. Therefore, it is unclear what the metes and bounds is for the claim because of the limitation “an alignment fiducial.” For the purpose of examination, the limitation “an alignment fiducial" is considered as “an alignment fiducial structure” which is an alignment reference point. Claims 2-3 are rejected because they depend on claim 1. Claim 4 recites the limitation "an alignment fiducial" in each of lines 9 and 10 of the claim. The term “fiducial” is an adjective. The term “alignment” is also serving as an adjective in this case. It is unclear what “an alignment fiducial” is because it uses two adjectives without a noun or a structure after that. Therefore, it is unclear what the metes and bounds is for the claim because of the limitation “an alignment fiducial.” For the purpose of examination, the limitation “an alignment fiducial" is considered as “an alignment fiducial structure” which is an alignment reference point. Claims 5-8 are rejected because they depend on claim 4.
In response to the argument(s) on pages 6-8 of the remarks, Smith discloses a medical/veterinary suture crimp tool (tool 80, Fig. 10) comprising: a stationary jaw at a distal end of a fixed shank (fixed jaw 84 at a distal end of a fixed shank/structure, Fig. 10. The stationary jaw is 84 with 46 since 46 is engaged with 84) and having across its width and extending at least partially along its length spaced fixed crimp members including at least first, second, and third crimp members (structures of back wall 49 of female component 46, disposed on either side of suture bores 31a and 31b, Fig. 9A; see also Paras. [0043] and [0045], as tool 80 engages the male blade and suture female components); a moveable jaw at a distal end of a linearly driven crossbar (sliding jaw 82 at the distal end of the linearly driven crossbar/structure, Fig. 10. The moveable jaw is 82 with 40 since 40 is engaged with 82) and having across its width and extending at least partially along its length, spaced crimp members including at least fourth, fifth, and sixth crimp members opposing, respectively, the first, second, and third crimp members of the stationary jaw (structures of male blade member 40 disposed between suture clamps 32a and 32b, Fig. 10; see also Paras. [0043] and [0045], as tool 80 engages the male blade and suture female components); an alignment fiducial structure associated with said fifth crimp member for alignment with an alignment fiducial structure of a crimp tube (the horizontal spaces disposed suture clamps 32a and 32b, such as the alignment fiducial structure/space, as the claim fails to define the structure of the alignment fiducial structure); a first handle connected to the fixed shank (handle connected to and extending from fixed jaw 84, Fig. 10); and a second handle pivotably connected to the fixed shank and configured to drive the crossbar linearly with respect to the fixed shank to fully crimp the crimp tube (remaining handle, Fig. 10; see also Para. [0045], as sliding jaw 82 moves relative to fixed jaw 84 to drive the male blade member deeper into the female suture component). Claims 1 and 4 fail to define the structure of the alignment fiducial structure. The horizontal spaces disposed suture clamps 32a and 32b, such as the alignment fiducial structure/space defines the alignment fiducial structure associated with the fifth crimp member.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771