The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 13, 14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brock US 5,899,630. Brock discloses a paver work machine (10)
comprising:
A hopper see Fig. 1; a screed (12) and a heat exchange system (14) comprising a thermal energy circuit (16-36) configured to heat the screed.
The heat exchange system (16-34) comprising:
1st and 2nd heat exchangers (24, 26), a feed line (28), a return line (30), a pump (32), a heater (34), a heat transfer medium such as oil and suitable reservoir and a feedback control system including a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of the screed plate (21) or the heat transfer medium in the feed line (28).
What Brock does not do is identify each part of the heat exchange system with the nomenclature claimed. However, Fig. 1 clearly illustrates each component of the heat exchange system and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the heat exchange system claimed and the heat exchange system disclosed by Brock are art recognized equivalents. Col. 2, ln. 61-Col. 4, ln. 58.
With respect to claims 2, 3, 5 Brock illustrates the heat transfer medium circulates in one direction and discloses the system could be open or closed looped.
With respect to claims 4, 9 Brock discloses the pump (32) and heating medium to heat the top of the screed plate (12). Col. 3, ln. 32-55.
With respect to claims 13, 16-18 discloses a method of operating a heat exchange system comprising a heat pump (32) configured to heat a screed plate during paving operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the screed heating method of Brock includes the steps claimed. Col. 4, ln. 41-58.
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brock US 5,899,630 in view of Stallgies et al. US 2015/0337505. Brock discloses a paver work machine (10) comprising:
A hopper, see Fig. 1; a screed (12) and a heat exchange system (14) comprising a thermal energy circuit (16-36) configured to heat the screed.
The heat exchange system (16-34) comprising:
1st and 2nd heat exchangers (24, 26), a feed line (28), a return line (30), a pump (32), a heater (34), a heat transfer medium such as oil and suitable reservoir and a feedback control system including a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of the screed plate (21) or the heat transfer medium in the feed line (28). Wherein heat is transferred between the condenser and the screed within a defined ambient temperature range. What Brock does not do is disclose an electric pump (32). However, Stallgies et al. teaches it is known to provide paving machine (1) with electro-hydraulic systems, including fluid reservoirs and a hydraulic pump which is driven electrically by an electric motor and to which an actuator is connected to a hydraulic circuit. [0009]. A control device (17) including an operator input for activating the pump,
electric motor of the pump to energize the hydraulic circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the paving machine of Brock with the electric pump and control unit taught by Stallgies et al. in order to improve pump performance, monitoring and adjusting.
Claim(s) 10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brock US 5,899,630 in view of Utterodt et al. US 2011/0318102. Brock discloses a paver work machine (10) comprising:
A hopper, see Fig. 1; a screed (12) and a heat exchange system (14) comprising a thermal energy circuit (16-36) configured to heat the screed.
The heat exchange system (16-34) comprising:
1st and 2nd heat exchangers (24, 26), a feed line (28), a return line (30), a pump (32), a heater (34), a heat transfer medium such as oil and suitable reservoir and a feedback control system including a temperature sensor configured to detect the temperature of the screed plate (21) or the heat transfer medium in the feed line (28). Wherein heat is transferred between the condenser and the screed within a defined ambient temperature range. What Brock does not do is heat the hopper. However, Utterodt et al. teach it is known to heat paving machine hoppers (124) having longitudinal conveyors (24). Wherein a heating element (not shown) is disposed within the hopper (22) adjacent the longitudinal conveyor. Temperature sensors (146) are positioned on opposite sides of the hopper, at different heights, in order to monitor the asphalt
temperature in the hopper. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the paving machine of Brock with a heated hopper and control unit taught by Utterodt et al. in order to prevent clumping of the asphalt in the hopper.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11, 12, 15, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR)
system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 3/2/2026