DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 51 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 51 states, “the fumed or fused silica”. However currently claim 51 depends off of claim 46. The “fumed” or “fused” silica was discussed in claim 50. It appears claim 51 should dependent off of claim 50. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11781004. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 14-18, 46, 49-50 and 52-53 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14-18, 46, 49, 51-53 of U.S. Patent No. 11781004. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims claim the same electronic telecommunication article comprising a specific structure (IC, circuit board, antenna or optical cable) having a crosslinked fluoropolymer with same range (80-90%) by weight of polymerized units of perfluorinated monomers and cure sites and substantially similar claim language regarding all other features.
Claim 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 14-18, 46, 49-53 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14-18, 46, 49, 51-53 of copending Application No. 18266619 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims claim the same electronic telecommunication article comprising a specific structure (IC, circuit board, antenna or optical cable) having a crosslinked fluoropolymer with same range (80-90%) by weight of polymerized units of perfluorinated monomers and cure sites and substantially similar claim language regarding all other features.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is shown to be dependent on claim 4 which has been cancelled. Additionally claim 5 assumes that the antenna option was selected in claim 1, the claim must be revised to state “wherein the article is selected to be an antenna… or an outdoor structure” or some other variation to allow for the selection of the feature.
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 52 states the term “optionally” which creates ambiguity within the claim. Specifically within the claim context it is unclear if this should be treated as an “or” statement or is intended to be included with the preceding claimed limitation. Examiner suggest the language of “or” to prevent any ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, 11, 46, 49 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US PG. Pub. 2015/0296614)
Regarding claim 1 - Williams teaches an electronic telecommunication article comprising a crosslinked fluoropolymer layer (fig. 1, 10 [title] Williams states, “crosslinked fluoropolymer circuit material, circuit laminates”), wherein the fluoropolymer comprises at least 80, 85, or 90% by weight of polymerized units of perfluorinated monomers and cure sites ([paragraph 0020] Williams states, “Crosslinkable fluoropolymers are commercially available, for example a terpolymer of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, and tetrafluoroethylene comprising 50-82% of vinylidene fluoride monomer units having <1% of monomer units providing an iodine cure site”); wherein the article is an integrated circuit, printed circuit board ([paragraph 0016] Williams states, “Thermoplastic fluoropolymers are one of the lowest loss polymer systems available for printed circuit boards”), an antenna, or an optical cable.
Regarding claim 2 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer is a substrate, patterned (e.g. photoresist) layer, insulating layer, passivation layer, cladding (fig. 1, 10 [paragraph 0048] Williams states, “The subassembly is a single clad laminate 10 comprising a conductive metal layer 12 disposed on and in contact with a dielectric substrate layer 14. The dielectric substrate layer 14 comprises the crosslinked fluoropolymer”), protective layer, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the fluoropolymer further comprises cure sites selected from nitrile, iodine ([paragraph 0020] Williams states, “Crosslinkable fluoropolymers are commercially available, for example a terpolymer of vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, and tetrafluoroethylene comprising 50-82% of vinylidene fluoride monomer units having <1% of monomer units providing an iodine cure site”), bromine, and chlorine.
Regarding claim 9 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the perfluorinated monomers are selected from tetrafluoroethene (TFE) ([claim 4] Williams states, “wherein the fluoropolymer is a polymer of tetrafluoro ethylene”) and one or more unsaturated perfluorinated alkyl ethers ([paragraph 0021] Williams states, “allylated polyphenylene ethers”).
Regarding claim 11 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer is crosslinked with a curing agent is selected from
i) a peroxide ([paragraph 0024] Williams states, “A curing agent can be used to accelerate the curing reaction. For crosslinking groups having olefinic reactive sites, useful curing agents are organic peroxides such as dicumyl peroxide”) and an ethylenically unsaturated compound ([paragraph 0023] Williams states, “higher ethylenically unsaturated monomers such as divinyl benzene, triallyl cyanurate”);
ii) one or more compounds comprising an electron donor group and an ethylenically unsaturated group; or
iii) an amino organosilane ester compound or ester equivalent.
Regarding claim 46 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer further comprises silica ([paragraph 0027] Williams states, “Examples of particulate fillers include, without limitation, titanium dioxide (rutile and anatase), barium titanate, strontium titanate, silica (including fused amorphous silica)”), glass fibers, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 49– Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer further comprises a thermally conductive filler ([paragraph 0027] Williams states, “Examples of particulate fillers include, without limitation, titanium dioxide (rutile and anatase), barium titanate, strontium titanate, silica (including fused amorphous silica)”).
Regarding claim 50 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article, composition, or methods of claims 46 wherein the silica is fumed silica, fused silica ([paragraph 0027] Williams states, “Examples of particulate fillers include, without limitation, titanium dioxide (rutile and anatase), barium titanate, strontium titanate, silica (including fused amorphous silica)”), glass bubbles, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-12, 14-16 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verschere (WO2018107017) in view of Williams et al.
Regarding claim 1 - Verschere teaches an electronic telecommunication article comprising a crosslinked fluoropolymer layer ([page 5] Verschere states, “The fluoropolymer preferably is a curable elastomer and contains one or more cure-sites. Cure sites are functional groups that react in the presence of a curing agent or a curing system to cross-link the polymers”), wherein the fluoropolymer comprises at least 80, 85, or 90% by weight of polymerized units of perfluorinated monomers and cure sites ([page 1] Verschere states, “the fluoropolymer is a copolymer comprising at least 90 % by weight (based on the total weight of the polymer, which is 100 % by weight) of units derived from tetrafluoroethene (TFE) and one or more perfluorinated alkyl ethers corresponding to the general formula”); wherein the article is used in a substrate ([page 14] Verschere states, “The compositions may be used for impregnating substrates, printing on substrates (for example screen printing), or coating substrates”).
Verschere does not teach wherein the article is an integrated circuit, printed circuit board, an antenna, or an optical cable.
Williams teaches wherein the article is an integrated circuit, printed circuit board ([paragraph 0016] Williams states, “Thermoplastic fluoropolymers are one of the lowest loss polymer systems available for printed circuit boards”), an antenna, or an optical cable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic telecommunication article comprised of a crosslinked fluoropolymer layer used in a substrate as taught by Verschere with an electronic telecommunication article having a crosslinked fluoropolymer layer wherein the article is a printed circuit board as taught by Williams because Williams states, “a fluoropolymer in a circuit board dielectric material by crosslinking as described herein can increase the high temperature performance of the resulting material” [paragraph 0028].
Regarding claim 9 – Verschere in view of Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the perfluorinated monomers are selected from tetrafluoroethene (TFE) and one or more unsaturated perfluorinated alkyl ethers (Verschere; [page 1] Verschere states, “derived from tetrafluoroethene (TFE) and one or more perfluorinated alkyl ethers”).
Regarding claim 10 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 9 wherein the unsaturated perfluorinated alkyl ether of the fluoropolymer has the general formula Rf-O-(CF2)n-CF=CF2 (Verschere; see same equation as shown described in bottom page 1) wherein n is 1 or 0 and Rf is a perfluoroalkyl (Verschere; [page 2] Verschere states, “wherein n is 1 or 0 and Rf represents a perfluoroalkyl residue”) or perfluoroether group.
Regarding claim 11 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer is crosslinked with a curing agent is selected from
i) a peroxide (Verschere [page 9] Verschere states, “A peroxide cure system may also include in addition one or more coagent”) and an ethylenically unsaturated compound ([page 9] Verschere states, “coagent includes a polyunsaturated compound…2,4,6- trivinyl methyltrisiloxane; N,N'-m-phenylenebismaleimide; diallyl-phthalate and tri(5-norbornene-2- methylene)cyanurate”);
ii) one or more compounds comprising an electron donor group and an ethylenically unsaturated group; or
iii) an amino organosilane ester compound or ester equivalent.
Regarding to claim 12 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the curing agent comprises at least two ethylenically unsaturated groups ([page 9] Verschere states, “coagent includes a polyunsaturated compound…2,4,6- trivinyl methyltrisiloxane; N,N'-m-phenylenebismaleimide; diallyl-phthalate and tri(5-norbornene-2- methylene)cyanurate”) or at least one ethylenically unsaturated group and at least one alkoxy silane group.
Regarding claim 14 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1, wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer is crosslinked with an amine curing agent (Verschere [page 9] Verschere states, “Examples of useful coagents include triallyl cyanurate; triallyl isocyanurate; triallyl trimellitate; tri(methylallyl)isocyanurate; tris(diallylamine)-s- triazine”).
Regarding claim 15 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the fluoropolymer comprises 40 to 60% by weight of polymerized units of TFE based on the total weight of the fluoropolymer ([page 5] Verschere states, “The fluoropolymers may contain at least 50 % by weight of units derived from TFE”).
Regarding claim 16 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer comprises no greater than 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 or 0.1 wt.-% of polymerized units derived from non-fluorinated ([page 12] Verschere states, “Examples of non-fluorinated comonomers include but are not limited to ethene and propene. The amounts of units derived from these comonomers include from 0 to 8 %, or from 0 to 5, or from 0 to 1 % and preferably are 0 % (percents by weight based on the weight of the polymer)”) or partially fluorinated monomers and/or comprises no greater than 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 or 0.1 wt.% of ester-containing linkages.
Regarding claim 46 – Verschere in view of Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer further comprises silica (Verschere; [page 13] Verschere states, “Other additives include but are not limited to clay, silicon dioxide, barium sulphate, silica, glass fibers, or other additives known and used in the art”), glass fibers, or a combination thereof.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Hosoda et al. (US PG. Pub. 2019/0144700).
Regarding claim 5 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 4, but fails to teach wherein the antenna is an antenna of a computer device or an outdoor structure.
Hosoda teaches wherein the electronic telecommunication article ([paragraph 0121] Hosoda states, “The heat-meltable resin may, for example, be a fluororesin made of a fluoropolymer”) is an antenna of a computer device or an outdoor structure ([paragraph 0276] Hosoda states, “The film or laminate obtainable by the production method of the present invention, is useful for antenna parts, printed circuit boards”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic telecommunication article comprised of a crosslinked fluoropolymer layer as taught by Williams with a fluoropolymer layer used in conjunction with an antenna as taught by Hosoda because this material will protect the antenna, obtain excellent adhesion and prevent a “a trouble such as decreased in electrical characteristics” [Hosoda; paragraph 0141].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Surendran et al. (US PG. Pub. 2014/0162065).
Regarding claim 7 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer has
i) a dielectric constant (Dk) of less than 2.75, 2.70, 2.65, 2.60, 2.55, 2.50, 2.45, 2.40, 2.35, 2.30, 2.25, 2.20, 2.15, 2.10, 2.05, 2.00, 1.95 ([paragraph 0028] Williams states, “a dielectric constant that can be adjusted to 1 to 13, for example from 2 to 7, from 2.5 to 3, or from 2 to 9, depending on the fluoropolymer, the degree of crosslinking, and the type and amount of filler or fillers”).
Williams fails to explicitly teach ii) a dielectric loss of less than 0.01, 0.009, 0.008, 0.007, 0.006, 0.005, 0.004, 0.003, 0.002, 0.001, 0.0009, 0.0008, 0.0007, 0.0006; or a combination thereof.
Surendran teaches wherein the fluoropolymer layer has i) a dielectric constant (Dk) of less than 2.75, 2.70, 2.65, 2.60, 2.55, 2.50, 2.45, 2.40, 2.35, 2.30, 2.25, 2.20, 2.15, 2.10, 2.05,2.00,or 1.95; ii) a dielectric loss of less than 0.01, 0.009, 0.008, 0.007, 0.006, 0.005, 0.004, 0.003, 0.002, 0.001, 0.0009, 0.0008, 0.0007,or 0.0006; or a combination thereof ([paragraph 0045] Surendran states, “the fluoropolymer having dielectric constants of about 1.8 to about 2.55, preferably 2.1; dielectric loss of about 0.005 to about 0.0002, preferably 0.0003”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer as taught by Williams with the specific dielectric constant and dielectric loss ranges of the fluoropolymer as taught by Surendran because these values provide reduced crosstalk, improved signal quality and reduced power loss within the PCB.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Nowak et al. (US PG. Pub. 2019/0023830).
Regarding claim 14 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer is crosslinked with an amine curing agent.
Nowak teaches wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer is crosslinked with an amine curing agent ([paragraph 0165] Nowak states, “Chain extenders or crosslinkers are also known as curing agents, curatives, or hardeners. In polyurethane/urea systems, a curative is typically comprised of hydroxyl-terminated or amine-terminated compounds which react with isocyanate groups present in the mixture”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer as taught by Williams with the crosslinked fluoropolymer being crosslinked with an amine curing agent as taught by Nowak because amines are known to allow for control of the cure speed ensuring optimal performance.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Karasawa (US PG. Pub. 2011/0260945).
Regarding claim 17 – Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer is insoluble in 3-ethoxy perfluorinated 2-methyl hexane or 3-methoxy perfluorinated 4-methyl pentane.
Karasawa teaches wherein a fluoropolymer is insoluble ([paragraph 0028] Karasawa states, “In one embodiment, a coating composition is prepared by dispersing particles of a fluoropolymer (fluoropolymer B) which is insoluble in a solvent”) in 3-ethoxy perfluorinated 2-methyl hexane or 3-methoxy perfluorinated 4-methyl pentane.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic telecommunication article comprising a crosslinked fluoropolymer as taught by Williams with the fluoropolymer being insoluble as taught by Karasawa because Karasawa states, “the present disclosure contains solvent insoluble fluoropolymer particles and therefore can properly improve the viscosity without shortening a working life up to drying of a coating composition. Therefore, it becomes easy to perform thick coating of the coating composition and a thick transparent coating membrane can be formed by a single coating operation” [paragraph 0023].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Cao et al. (US PG. Pub. 2006/0148971).
Regarding claim 18 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 1 but fail to teach wherein the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer further comprises crystalline fluoropolymer particles.
Cao teaches wherein the fluoropolymer layer further comprises crystalline fluoropolymer particles ([Abstract] Cao states, “A fluoropolymer coating composition contains a homogeneous mixture of crystalline submicron fluoropolymer particles”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer as taught by Williams with the fluoropolymer further comprising crystalline fluoropolymer particles as taught by Cao because Cao states, “the coating compositions can provide transparent or translucent applied coatings having sufficiently good properties to permit their use in optical applications and other end uses requiring high coating quality.” [paragraph 0022].
Claim(s) 51 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Dill et al. (US PG. Pub 2019/0143634).
Regarding claim 22 – Jing in view of Chapman teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 21 but fails to teach wherein the silica is fumed silica, fused silica, glass bubbles, or a combination thereof.
Dill teaches wherein the silica is fumed silica ([paragraph 0021] Dill states, “said inorganic particles comprise particles selected from the group consisting of silica aerogel, fumed silica”), fused silica, glass bubbles, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer having a silica as taught by Jing in view of Chapman with the silica being fumed silica as taught by Dill because fumed silica is an effective thickening agent and reinforcement filler.
Regarding claim 51 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 22 but fails to teach wherein the fumed or fused silica has an aggregate particle size of at least 500 nm, 1 micron, 1.5 microns, or 2 microns.
Dill teaches wherein the fumed or fused silica ([paragraph 0021] Dill states, “said inorganic particles comprise particles selected from the group consisting of silica aerogel, fumed silica”) has an aggregate particle size of at least 500 nm, 1 micron, 1.5 microns, or 2 microns ([paragraph 0021] Dill states, “said inorganic particles comprise particles selected from the group consisting of silica aerogel, fumed silica, precipitated silica, synthetic amorphous silica, and mixtures thereof; wherein said inorganic particles have a particle size between 0.1 to 100 microns”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer having fused silica as taught by Williams with fumed silica having an aggregate particle size of between 500nm-2um as taught by Dill because this material and sizing will form an effective thickening agent and reinforcement filler.
Regarding claim 52 – Williams teach the electronic telecommunication article of claim 46 but fail to teach wherein the silica comprises a hydrophobic surface treatment optionally comprising a fluorinated alkoxy silane compound.
Dill teaches wherein the silica ([paragraph 0021] Dill states, “said inorganic particles comprise particles selected from the group consisting of silica aerogel, fumed silica”) comprises a hydrophobic surface treatment ([paragraph 0021] Dill states, “wherein said inorganic particles comprise a hydrophobic surface treatment”) optionally comprising a fluorinated alkoxy silane compound.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer having a silica as taught by Williams with the silica comprising a hydrophobic surface treatment as taught by Dill because this feature will prevent corrosion and mold extending the lifespan of the overall structure.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Hamer et al. (US PG. Pub. 2016/0237298).
Regarding claim 53 – Williams teaches the electronic telecommunication article of claim 46 but fail to teach wherein the silica is present in an amount of at least 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, or 70 wt.% based on the total amount of the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer.
Hamer teaches wherein the silica ([paragraph 0072] Hamer states, “In some embodiments, the dried coating compositions comprises no greater than 60, 55, 50, 45 or 40 wt-% of (e.g. silica) inorganic nanoparticles”) is present in an amount of at least 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, or 70 wt.% based on the total amount of the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer ([paragraph 0012] Hamer states, “A dried coating may also be cured (i.e., crosslinked) as a result of reaction between the reactive functional groups of the fluoropolymer and the aziridine compound”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer having a silica as taught by Williams with the silica being in the amount of 10-70 wt% based on the total amount of the crosslinked fluoropolymer layer as taught by Hamer because Hamer states, “In order to improve mechanical properties, such as abrasion resistance and pencil hardness” [paragraph 0072].
Conclusion
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847