DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 7 recites "p1ercmg" should read "piercing". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites "1s" should read "is". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2-3 recites "through and through holes" should read "through holes". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites "1s" should read "is". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites "inside cover" should read "inside the insulation cover". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 7 recites "p1ercmg" should read "piercing". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites "inside cover" should read "inside the insulation cover". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: line 6 recites "surrounding o the" should read "surrounding to the". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clark [US 20230411946 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Clark discloses a compression connector assembly (Fig 22A) for securing wires (700, 720) therein, the compression connector assembly comprising: a connector (10) comprising: a central groove (30) to accommodate a main wire (700) therethrough; a plurality of tap wire holes (50), each of the plurality of tap wire holes (50) adapted to accommodate at least one tap wire (720) therethrough; and a plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown, ‘insulation piercing members’ extending from the bottom wall of connector 10 which extend into the opening 30 to pierce through and contact wire 700; see [0055]) facing towards the accommodated main wire (700), wherein each of the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown) are provided surrounding to the central groove (30) such that when the connector (10) is pressed the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown) pierces the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720) to thereby establish a splice connection between the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720) [0055-0058].
Regarding Claim 2, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark further discloses the connector (10) is a C-shaped connector (connector 10 is substantially C-shaped with two side walls resembling the letter C, see Fig 22A), and each of the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown, see [0055-0058] are conductive piercing teeth adapted to maintain splice connection connectivity between the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720).
Regarding Claim 3, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark further discloses the connector (10) is substantially C-shaped (see Fig 22A).
Regarding Claim 6, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark further discloses each of the plurality of tap wire holes (50) accommodate a single tap wire (720), and wherein the connector (10) is adapted to include maximum up to four tap wires (720, see Fig 22A; [0057]).
Regarding Claim 9, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark further discloses an insulation cover (600, Fig 22A) adapted to enclose the connector (10) therein, wherein the insulation cover (600) comprises a plurality of through holes (618 and 622, see Fig 21), matching the central groove (30) and the plurality of tap wire holes (50) of the enclosed connector (10), to allow entry and exit of the main wire (700) and the at least one tap wire (720) therethrough.
Regarding Claim 10, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 9, Clark further discloses the insulation cover (600) is adapted to receive the connector (10) at placement guides (portion 616, walls 610 and space 612, see Fig. 23-24) provided centrally at the insulation cover (600) when in open position (see Fig 22) and completely encloses the connector (10) in closed position (see Fig 21), and wherein the insulation cover (600) comprises a snap fit mechanism (snap arms 110 and corresponding snap tabs 112, see [0062]) to close the insulation cover (600).
Regarding Claim 11, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 9, Clark further discloses the insulation cover (600) comprises a gel (605, see Fig 22A) that enables the main wire (700) and the at least one tap wire (720) to seat rigidly inside and thereby seals surrounding parts inside the insulation cover (600) to form a seal tight enclosure for the connector (10) [0072].
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clark [US 20230411946 A1].
Regarding Claim 12, Clark discloses a compression connector assembly (Fig 22A) for securing wires (700 and 720) therein, the compression connector assembly comprising: a connector (10) comprising: a central groove (30) to accommodate a main wire (700) therethrough; a plurality of tap wire holes (50), each of the plurality of tap wire holes (50) adapted to accommodate at least one tap wire (720) therethrough; and a plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown, ‘insulation piercing members’ extending from the bottom wall of connector 10 which extend into the opening 30 to pierce through and contact wire 700; see [0055]) facing towards the accommodated main wire (700), wherein each of the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown) are provided surrounding to the central groove (30) such that when the connector (10) is pressed the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown) pierces the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720) to thereby establish a splice connection between the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720) [0055-0058]; and an insulation cover (600) adapted to enclose the connector (10) therein, wherein the insulation cover (600) comprises a plurality of through and through holes (618 and 620, see Fig 21), matching the central groove (30) and the plurality of tap wire holes (50) of the enclosed connector (10), to allow entry and exit of the main wire (700) and the at least one tap wire (720) therethrough.
Regarding Claim 13, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 12. Clark further discloses the insulation cover (600) is adapted to receive the connector (10) at placement guides (portion 616, walls 610 and space 612, see Fig. 23-24) provided centrally at the insulation cover (600) when in open position (see Fig 22) and completely encloses the connector (10) in closed position (see Fig 21), and wherein the insulation cover (600) comprises a snap fit mechanism (snap arms 110 and corresponding snap tabs 112, see [0062]) to close the insulation cover (600).
Regarding Claim 14, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 12. Clark further discloses the insulation cover (600) comprises a gel (605, see Fig 22A) that enables the main wire (700) and the at least one tap wire (720) to seat rigidly inside and thereby seals surrounding parts inside the insulation cover (600) to form a seal tight enclosure for the connector (10) [0072].
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clark [US 20230411946 A1].
Regarding Claim 16, Clark discloses a compression connector (10, Fig 22A) for securing wires (700, 720) therein, the compression connector (10) comprising: a central groove (30) to accommodate a main wire (700) therethrough; a plurality of tap wire holes (50), each of the plurality of tap wire holes (50) adapted to accommodate at least one tap wire (720) therethrough; and a plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown, ‘insulation piercing members’ extending from the bottom wall of connector 10 which extend into the opening 30 to pierce through and contact wire 700; see [0055]) facing towards the accommodated main wire (700), wherein each of the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown) are provided surrounding to the central groove (30) such that when the connector (10) is pressed the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown) pierces on the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720) to thereby establish a splice connection between the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720) [0055-0058].
Regarding Claim 17, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 16, Clark further discloses the connector (10) is a C-shaped connector (connector 10 is substantially C-shaped with two side walls resembling the letter C, see Fig 22A), and each of the plurality of pointed and piercing teeth's (not shown, see [0055-0058] are conductive piercing teeth adapted to maintain splice connection connectivity between the accommodated main wire (700) and the at least one accommodated tap wire (720).
Regarding Claim 19, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 16, Clark further discloses each of the plurality of tap wire holes (50) accommodate a single tap wire (720), and wherein the connector (10) is adapted to include maximum up to four tap wires (720, see Fig 22A; [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark [US 20230411946 A1] in view of Di Maggio et al. [US 20230223711 A1].
Regarding Claim 4, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark further discloses the main wire and tab wires having a core conductor surrounded by an insulative jacket. Clark does not explicitly disclose the main wire and the at least one tap wire is a shielded wire cable having a core conductor at least partially axially surrounded by a shield conductor which is at least partially axially surrounded by an insulative jacket.
However, Di Maggio discloses shielded wire cables (200) having a core conductor (222) and at least partially surrounded by a shield conductor (210) which is at least partially axially surrounded by an insulative jacket (221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark as suggested by Di Maggio to provide the main wire and the at least one tap wire is a shielded wire cable having a core conductor at least partially axially surrounded by a shield conductor which is at least partially axially surrounded by an insulative jacket. Doing so would shield the cables from electro-magnetic interferences and such to reduce cross-talks between adjacent conductive components as taught by Di Maggio.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark [US 20230411946 A1] in view of Robicheau et al. [US 20200235498 A1].
Regarding Claim 7, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark further discloses the connector (10) crimps and makes electrical connection to both wires (700 and 720). Clark does not explicitly disclose the connector is made of aluminum (Al) material.
However, Robicheau discloses a connector (10, Fig 4) which crimps and electrically connects a main wire (700) and tap wires (702, 704, 706 and 708), the connector (10) can be made of aluminum (Al) material [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark as suggested by Robicheau to provide the connector to be made of aluminum (Al) material. It is well known in the art to use aluminum for compression connectors as disclosed by Robicheau and it would have been routine design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide aluminum as the material for the connector of Clark.
Claim(s) 5, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark [US 20230411946 A1].
Regarding Claim 5, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Clark does not explicitly disclose the main wire is an aluminum photovoltaic (PV) cable, and the at least one tap wire is a copper photovoltaic (PV) cable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark to utilize copper or aluminum photovoltaic cables in the connector of Clark. Copper and aluminum are the most common and well-known conductor materials used for electrical wiring, including photovoltaic applications, because of the high conductivity, availability, and cost efficiency of the two materials. Substituting these known materials for the connector of Clark would have been routine design choice and material selection that yields predictable results. See MPEP 2144.06. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use copper or aluminum photovoltaic cables in order to adapt the connector for renewable energy or other power applications such as in outdoor environments.
Regarding Claim 15, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 12, Clark does not explicitly disclose the main wire is an aluminum photovoltaic (PV) cable, and the at least one tap wire is a copper photovoltaic (PV) cable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark to utilize copper or aluminum photovoltaic cables in the connector of Clark. Copper and aluminum are the most common and well-known conductor materials used for electrical wiring, including photovoltaic applications, because of the high conductivity, availability, and cost efficiency of the two materials. Substituting these known materials for the connector of Clark would have been routine design choice and material selection that yields predictable results. See MPEP 2144.06. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use copper or aluminum photovoltaic cables in order to adapt the connector for renewable energy or other power applications such as in outdoor environments.
Regarding Claim 18, Clark discloses all the limitations of claim 16, Clark does not explicitly disclose the main wire is an aluminum photovoltaic (PV) cable, and the at least one tap wire is a copper photovoltaic (PV) cable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark to utilize copper or aluminum photovoltaic cables in the connector of Clark. Copper and aluminum are the most common and well-known conductor materials used for electrical wiring, including photovoltaic applications, because of the high conductivity, availability, and cost efficiency of the two materials. Substituting these known materials for the connector of Clark would have been routine design choice and material selection that yields predictable results. See MPEP 2144.06. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use copper or aluminum photovoltaic cables in order to adapt the connector for renewable energy or other power applications such as in outdoor environments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose the connector comprises a plurality of pre-fitted sheared screws, each of the plurality of pre-fitted sheared screws connecting to respective tap wire holes of plurality of tap wire holes such that the at least one tap wire passing through the respective tap wire holes are tightened using a screw driver, along with all other limitations of claim 8 and claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose the connector comprises a plurality of pre-fitted sheared screws, each of the plurality of pre-fitted sheared screws connecting to respective tap wire holes of plurality of tap wire holes such that the at least one tap wire passing through the respective tap wire holes are tightened using a screw driver, along with all other limitations of claim 20 and claim 16.
Conclusion
/T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834