DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information disclosure statement of 02/12/2026 has been received and reviewed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-6, lines 1, “the lock device for a container” should be “the lock device for the container”.
Claims 15-20, lines 1, “the lock device for a truck tool box” should be “the lock device for the truck tool box”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 was previously rejected under 35 USC § 112. Applicant has successfully addressed these issues in the amendments filed on 02/12/2026. Accordingly, the rejection to the claim has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20180096382 to Ha.
Regarding claim 1, Ha discloses:
A non-electric lock device for a container (fig 1), comprising: a striker member (12a) fixed external a lid (12) of the container (fig 2); a protective lock casing (30) fixed external the container (fig 1); the protective lock casing houses: a non-electric, removable cylinder assembly (60); and a non-electric rotary latch (42); the rotary latch is actuated from a latched position (fig 7) to an unlatched position (fig 5) to unlock the lock device and pop open the lid of the container, and is actuated from the unlatched position to the latched position by the striker member when engaged with the rotary latch for locking the lock device (movement from fig 5 to 7).
Regarding claim 2, Ha discloses:
The lock device for a container as set forth in claim 1, wherein: the container is a truck tool box (100 is a truck tool box).
Regarding claim 3, Ha discloses:
The lock device for a container as set forth in claim 1, wherein: the cylinder assembly includes an actuator cam (41) that rotates to actuate a catch (catch A seen in fig 4) of the rotary latch from the latched position to the unlatched position, thus releasing the strike member (see movement from fig 7 to fig 5, 41 rotates to unlock 42 and release the strike member).
Regarding claim 4, Ha discloses:
The lock device for a container as set forth in claim 1, wherein: the actuation of a catch of the rotary latch from the latched position to the unlatched position allows a resilient member (43) of the rotary latch to change from a loaded state (fig 7) with a stored positive potential energy to an unloaded state (fig 5) with positive kinetic energy, which is applied to the catch to move the catch to an unlatched position and quickly release the strike member, thus allowing the lid to pop open (fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, Ha discloses:
The lock device for a container as set forth in claim 1, wherein: the striker member includes a protective shroud cover (bottom portion of 12) that fully covers over and protects an upper most distal portions portion of the protective lock casing (fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ha discloses:
The lock device for a container as-set forth in claim 1, wherein: the protective lock casing is comprised of a top opening (34) for accommodating a striker of the striker member (fig 4).
Regarding claim 7, Ha discloses:
A non-electric lock device (fig 1), comprising: a striker member (12a); a protective lock casing (30) that houses: a non-electric, removable cylinder assembly (60); and a non-electric rotary latch (42); the rotary latch is actuated from a latched position (fig 7) to an unlatched position (fig 5) for unlocking the lock device and for popping open the lid of the container, and is actuated from the unlatched position to the latched position by the striker member when engaged with the rotary latch for locking the lock device (see movement from fig 7 to fig 5).
Regarding claim 8, Ha discloses:
The lock device as set forth in claim 7, wherein: the striker member is comprised of: a protective shroud cover (bottom portion of 12).
Regarding claim 9, Ha discloses:
The lock device as set forth in claim 7, wherein: the protective lock casing is comprised of: a top protective side with a top side opening (34) that accommodates a striker of the striker member (fig 4); and a back protective side (31) with a back opening (32) for assembly of the rotary latch within the protective casing (fig 4).
Regarding claim 10, Ha discloses:
The lock device as set forth in claim 9, wherein: top side opening of the top protective side of the protective lock casing is fully covered over and protected by a protective shroud cover of the striker member when in closed position (fig 2).
Regarding claim 11, Ha discloses:
The lock device as set forth in claim 9, wherein: the back opening of the back protective side of the protective lock casing is fully covered and protected by a rear protective enclosure (internal wall of 30 that covers 32).
Regarding claim 12, Ha discloses:
The lock device as set forth in claim 9, wherein: the back opening of the back protective side of the protective lock casing is comprised of a plurality of recessed surfaces (right and left sides of 31 are recessed) to accommodate the cylinder assembly and the rotary latch (figs 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Ha discloses:
The lock device as set forth in claim 7, wherein: the cylinder assembly includes: a driver member (20); and an actuator cam (70); the driver member moves the actuator cam to engage a lock member (41) of the rotary latch for unlatching the rotary latch.
Claim 14 is rejected as per the rejection of claims 1-2 above.
Claim 15 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 3 above.
Claim 16 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim 17 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 5 above.
Claim 18 is rejected as per the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 19, Ha discloses:
The lock device for a truck tool box as set forth in claim 14, wherein: the cylinder assembly includes: an actuator cam (41) that engages the rotary latch for unlatching the rotary latch (see movement between figs 7 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180096382 to Ha in view of US 20170233155 to Daws.
Regarding claim 20, Ha does not explicitly disclose:
The lock device for a truck tool box as set forth in claim 14, wherein: the striker member is fixed external the lid of the truck tool box by a first set of fasteners; and the protective lock casing is fixed external the truck tool box by a second set of fasteners.
However, Daws teaches that it is well known in the art for a striker member (40) to be fixed by a first ser of fasteners (see fasteners of 40 in fig 1); and the protective lock casing (144) to be fixed by a second set of fasteners (124). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Daws into Ha at least because doing so would provide additional security via fasteners holding the striker and casing in place.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 02/12/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675