DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: '600': electric motor, ‘560’: end cover module. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the assembly space, first chamber and second chamber, end wall, vibration generator, head portion, rear portion, shell, and end cover module must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference characters "100" and "120" have both been used to designate the massage head.
Figure 7, ‘221’ and ‘231’ have both been used to designate the first insertion socket.
Figures 14 and 15, ‘310’, ‘320’ and ‘321’ all designate the same corresponding structure of the shell.
Figure 1 and Figure 3, designate the same portion of the massage head with different reference characters: ‘110’ and ‘130’ respectively.
In figure 8: ‘522’, Figure 12: ‘520’, Figure 13: ‘520’,’523’, ‘522’, and Figure 15: ‘500’, all the reference characters appear to designate the same threading structure but have different reference characters and also specifically in Figure 13: the reference characters designate the same corresponding structure.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7-9 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4: the recitation of “a rotary cylinder having an annular sidewall and an end wall arranged on one end of the sidewall”, should read ---a rotary cylinder having an annular sidewall and an end wall arranged on one end of the annular sidewall---.
Claim 7: the recitation of “arranged on an outer sidewall of the shell”, should read ---arranged on an outer sidewall of the shell portion---, to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 8: the recitation of “mounting portions are connected to the shell at a position”, should read ---mounting portions are connected to the shell portion at a position---, to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 9: the recitation of “one end of the connector”, should read ---one end of the strip-shaped connector---, to avoid any antecedent basis issues.
Claim 15: the recitation of “one the side of the partition plate”, should read ---the side of the partition plate--- and the recitation of “and one end of the buffer column is inserted into this first insertion socket”, should read ---and one end of the buffer column is inserted into the first insertion socket---, for clarity and grammatical issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 10-13, 15-17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “assembly space” is unclear as to where the assembly space is intended to be. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, without sufficient description of the assembly space, it is interpreted that the assembly space and all subsequent recitations of “assembly space” are just the inside space of the shell portion of Figure 3.
Similarly, the recitation of “rotor” is unclear as to whether the structure is the inner rotor or the outer rotor. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient description of the rotor, it is interpreted that the rotor and all subsequent recitations of only “rotor” are the outer rotor ‘610’ of Figure 3.
Regarding claim 2, with the recitation of “first chamber” and “second chamber” it is unclear as to which part of the massage head corresponds to the first/ second chamber. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient detail of the description, it is understood to be interpreted that the first chamber is the space where the eccentric member ‘680’ is located in the assembly space of the massage head ‘100’ and the second chamber is the space where the stator, rotor ‘610’, and balancing member ‘660’ are located in the same assembly space of the massage head ‘100’.
Similarly, with the recitation of “assembly chamber”, it is unclear as to if the assembly chamber is different from the assembly space in the massage head. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, without sufficient description of the assembly chamber, it is interpreted that the assembly chamber is within the same space as the assembly space.
Regarding claim 3, with the recitation of “and the balancing member is arranged on the inner rotor and/or, one end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member extends out of the stator and the rotor and the balancing member is arranged on the end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member”, it is unclear as to how the balancing member could both be arranged on the end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member and on the inner rotor in the same instance. It is interpreted to be that the balancing member is either arranged on the end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member or on the outside of the outer rotor as depicted in Figure 3.
Additionally, with the recitation of “wherein the electric motor is an inner rotor motor having an inner rotor” it is unclear as to which structure is the electric motor / inner rotor. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient description of the electric motor and the inner rotor, it is interpreted that the motor inside of the outer rotor portion of Figure 3, is an inner rotor motor because there is a rotor inside of the outer rotor portion.
Regarding claim 4, with the recitation of “and the balancing member is arranged on the sidewall and/ or the end wall”, it is unclear as to which side of the sidewall the end wall is located on. Additionally, it is unclear how the balancing member can be arranged on both the sidewall and the end wall. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, without sufficient description of the end wall, it is interpreted that the bottom of the outer rotor furthest away from the output shaft, is the end wall.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation of “outer edge” is unclear as to what edge portion of either the balancing member and/ or the eccentric member the edge is corresponding to. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, it is interpreted that the outer edge is the edge touching the motor when either the balancing or eccentric is placed upon the motor in such configuration.
Additionally, with the recitation of “0.8 to 1.2” it is unclear as to what metric this corresponds to. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, it is interpreted that the metric is the distance from an outer edge as explained before and is in mm, keeping consistent with the other distance metrics in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of “a first symmetrical plane in parallel with the output shaft, the balancing member comprises a second symmetrical plane in parallel with the output shaft, and an angle formed between the first symmetrical plane and the second symmetrical planes is less than 10°” is unclear as to where the first and second symmetrical plane are in relation to being parallel with the output shaft and how they are symmetrical. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, without sufficient description of the first symmetrical plane and the second symmetrical plane, it is interpreted that two planes may be drawn with symmetry to the output shaft, since the definition of symmetry is held as “the quality of being made up of exactly similar parts facing each other or around an axis”, where there is symmetry when the two parts are lined up next to each other on the same side of the output shaft because they rotate about it.
Regarding claims 10-13 and 15-16, the recitation of “the connector” is unclear as to whether the connector is the strip-shaped connector or a different corresponding structure. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient description of the connector, it is interpreted that the connector is the same corresponding structure as the strip-shaped connector or that it is a connector piece that goes through a hole/ socket of the buffer assembly.
Additionally, claims 11-13 and 15-16, the recitations of the limitation "the connector" have insufficient antecedent basis for said limitations in the claims.
Regarding claim 11, the recitation of “the end cover module is fixed to one end of the end cover module” is unclear as to how the end cover module is fixed to one end of the end cover module, thereby being itself. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient description of the end cover module being fixed to one end of the end cover module, it is interpretated as this limitation is the end cover module capable of being fixed to other portions of the buffer assembly.
Additionally, it is unclear with the recitation of “end cover” and “end cover module” and all limitations as such, as to whether the end cover and the end cover module are different corresponding structures. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient description of the end cover and the end cover module, it is interpreted that they are the same corresponding structure.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation of “vibration generator” is unclear as to which component the vibrational generator corresponds to. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, without sufficient description of the vibration generator, it is interpretated that the vibration generator is either the eccentric member, or the motor, or the motor and the eccentric member together.
Regarding claim 18, the recitation of “and a trigger unit corresponding to the control button is arranged on one side of the main control board that faces the control button” is unclear as to what structure corresponds to the trigger unit. Under broadest reasonable interpretation without sufficient description of the trigger unit, it is interpreted that the trigger unit is the push button with the main control board and that the control button faces the main control board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 4B of Stanbridge.
Figure 2: Annotated Figures 3 and 4 of Liu.
Figure 3: Annotated Figure 6 of Choe.
Figure 4: Annotated Figure 1A of Stanbridge.
Figure 5: Annotated Figures 7-8 of Liu.
Figure 6: Annotated Figure 9 of Liu.
Figure 7: Annotated Figure 11A of Marton.
Figure 8: Annotated Figure 2 of Marton.
Claims 1-8 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu (CN 112137869 A), in view of Marton (US 20210038472 A1) and further in view of Stanbridge (US 20160213558 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a massage device (Figure 6 above; massage device), comprising:
an assembly space (Figure 6 above; where there is an assembly space where the motor is in);
a mounting bracket mounted in the assembly space and fixed to the massage head portion (Figure 2 above; there is a mounting bracket for the motor, that goes into the assembly space of Figure 6 above fixed to the massage head ‘30’ portion);
wherein the electric motor comprises a stator, a rotor, and an output shaft; the stator is fixed to the mounting bracket (Figure 2 above; where the motor has a stator, rotor, an output shaft, and the stator is fixed to the mounting bracket);
the rotor is rotatable relative to the stator, and the output shaft is fixed to the rotor and is rotatably connected to the mounting bracket (Figure 2 above; where when assembled the output shaft is rotatably connected to the mounting bracket because the hole is big enough to allow, the rotor is also rotatable relative to the stator that is assembled with the mounting bracket);
Liu is silent to an eccentric member and a balancing member.
Marton discloses a percussive massager comprising:
an eccentric member (Figure 8 above; eccentric member);
a balancing member (Figure 8 above; semi-annular balancing member);
the eccentric member is fixed to the output shaft to rotate eccentrically with the output shaft, and is configured to convert a rotation output by the electric motor into a vibration of the massage head (Figure 8 above; where the eccentric member is fixed to the output shaft ‘312’ to rotate mechanically in response to applied electrical energy – Marton [0037], Marton Figure 2; ‘516’ is the massage head that receives the vibration);
and the balancing member is connected to the rotor or the output shaft such that the balancing member is capable of rotating with the rotor or the output shaft (Figure 8 above; where the balancing member is connected to the output shaft ‘312’ and is capable of rotating with the output shaft, the balancing member is also capable of connecting/ rotating with the outer rotor);
and the balancing member is configured to increase a weight of the rotor or an end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member to balance two sides (Marton [0070]; where the balancing member is a semi-annular weight ring (as seen above in Figure 8), that would increase the weight of a rotor, and balances the mass of the eccentric member, thereby being capable of balancing two sides);
the eccentric member, the output shaft, the rotor and the balancing member are capable of respectively performing a balanced circular rotation to prevent any deflection of the two ends of the output shaft (Marton [0070]; where the balancing member is a semi-annular weight ring (as seen above in Figure 8 and balances the mass of the eccentric member, thereby being capable of balancing two ends of the output shaft).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of Liu to include a balancing member and an eccentric member as taught by Marton, since, including a balancing member allows for the eccentric member to be counterbalanced as the eccentric member is engaged with the motor and because an eccentric member allows for offset motion and forces to be applied to help create a percussive motion (Marton [0070]).
Modified Liu is silent to a massage head having at least one massage surface and an assembly space.
Stanbridge discloses a massage gun comprising:
a massage head having at least one massage surface (Figure 1 above; where there is a massage head with a massage surface and an assembly chamber that comprises the assembly space, as seen there are three massage heads);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu to include a massage head having at least one massage surface as taught by Stanbridge, since, multiple massage surfaces allow for the capability of vibrating at an optimal frequence that maximizes the benefits of vibrational therapy (Stanbridge [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1.
Liu discloses a massage device wherein:
the mounting bracket is located in an assembly chamber defined in the assembly space along a radial direction of the output shaft to divide the assembly chamber into a first chamber and a second chamber arranged along an axial direction of the output shaft (Figure 2 above; where the mounting bracket is located in the assembly space of Figure 3 above where the motor is – motor is with the mounting bracket and the mounting bracket divides the assembly space/ chamber into a first and second chamber if components are located on different sides of the mounting bracket);
the stator and the rotor, are located in the second chamber, and the output shaft extends from the second chamber into the first chamber; and the mounting bracket is plate-shaped (Figure 2 above; where there is a stator and a rotor on one side of the mounting bracket, the output shaft extends from the second chamber to the first chamber space because there is a through hole for the portion to extend through and Embodiment I [031]; where the connection piece ‘722’ of the mounting bracket of Figure 2 above can be plate-shaped and is shown to be plate-shaped).
Marton discloses a massage gun comprising:
the eccentric member and the balancing member (Figure 7 above; where the eccentric member and the balancing member are provided symmetric about each other and capable of being symmetrical about the mounting bracket).
Although Marton does not disclose the eccentric member and the balancing member being symmetric about the mounting bracket, Marton does disclose the eccentric member and the balancing member on one side of the motor mounting bracket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the balancing member to be on the same side of the mounting bracket as the motor since such a modification would simply involve merely moving the semi annular balancing member to be placed on the side of the mounting bracket with the motor without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Which thereby would make the eccentric member and the balancing member symmetric about the mounting bracket and still allow the balancing member to be secured and counterbalance the mass of the eccentric member, and thereby the forces applied to them as intended (Marton [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1,
wherein a weight of the eccentric member ranges from 11g to 45 g, and a weight of the balancing member ranges from 4 g to 11 g; a ratio of a distance between an outer edge of the eccentric member and the output shaft to a distance between an outer edge of the balancing member and the output shaft ranges from 0.8 to 1.2; and/or, the distance between the outer edge of the eccentric member and the output shaft ranges from 16 mm to 26 mm, and similarly, the distance between the outer edge of the balancing member and the output shaft also ranges from 16 mm to 26 mm (Figure 7 above; where there is an eccentric member and a balancing member with an output shaft ‘312’).
However, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge does not explicitly disclose wherein a weight of the eccentric member ranges from 11g to 45 g, and a weight of the balancing member ranges from 4 g to 11 g; a ratio of a distance between an outer edge of the eccentric member and the output shaft to a distance between an outer edge of the balancing member and the output shaft ranges from 0.8 to 1.2; and/or, the distance between the outer edge of the eccentric member and the output shaft ranges from 16 mm to 26 mm, and similarly, the distance between the outer edge of the balancing member and the output shaft also ranges from 16 mm to 26 mm, as required by the claim.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing or presenting the weight of the eccentric member/ balancing member and the distance between the outer edge would result in a difference in function of the modified Liu in view of Stanbridge device.
Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed weights and distances. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed weights and distances solves any stated problem, offering a range of weights and distances i.e. ([0093] of specification) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the eccentric member and the balancing member of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to have an a weight between 11g-45g and 4g-11g respectively and 0.8 to 1.2 and 16mm-26mm distance as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 6, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1.
Marton discloses the massage device wherein:
both the eccentric member and the balancing member are located on the same side of the output shaft the eccentric member comprises a first symmetrical plane in parallel with the output shaft the balancing member comprises a second symmetrical plane in parallel with the output shaft and an angle formed between the first symmetrical plane and the second symmetrical planes is less than 10° (Figure 7 above; where both the eccentric member and the balancing member are to be on top of each other on the same side of the output shaft ‘312’ and where a plane can be drawn for the eccentric member and the balancing member in parallel, thereby making a first and second plane and it would be less than 10* because the two respective parts are near touching).
Regarding claim 7, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1, wherein:
the massage head comprises a shell portion and a massage portion arranged on an outer sidewall of the shell (Figure 1 above where the massage head has a shell portion and a massage portion arranged on an outer sidewall of the shell);
the massage portion has the massage surface (Figure 4 above; where the massage portion has the massage surface because they are the same portion, but also it is the massage surface for therapy to a patient);
the shell portion forms the assembly space (Figure 1 above; where there is a shell portion that forms an assembly space that the motor can be connected into and Figure 6 above where the motor assembly is affixed to the massage head as indicated by the dotted arrow);
and the mounting bracket is fixed to an inner sidewall of the assembly space at a position corresponding to the massage portion (Figure 2 above; where there is a mounting bracket and Figure 6 above where there is an assembly space as to which a position is corresponding to the massage portion indicated by the dotted arrow).
Regarding claim 8, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 7.
Modified Liu discloses the massage device wherein:
the massage device comprises multiple massage portions arranged on the massage head at intervals around a circumferential direction of the shell portion (Figure 1 above; where there are multiple massage portions arranged on the massage heads at intervals around a circumferential direction of the shell portion);
the mounting bracket comprises a bracket body and several mounting portions (Figure 2 above; where the mounting bracket comprises the bracket body because they are the same corresponding structure and there are several mounting portions as indicated);
the mounting portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the bracket body (Figure 2 above; where the mounting portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the bracket body because there is a first through hole therein where the mounting portions are structured circumferentially around);
and the mounting portions are connected at a position corresponding to the massage portion (Figure 2 above; where there are mounting portions and Figure 6 above where the mounting portions are with the locating groove ‘723’ of the Figure and are positioned to the massage portion as seen by the dotted arrow).
Modified Liu is silent to the shell.
Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
the shell (Figure 1 above; where there is a shell portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu to include a shell with the massage head as taught by Stanbridge, since, the shell of the massage head allows for the capability of vibrating at an optimal frequence that maximizes the benefits of vibrational therapy (Stanbridge [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1,
Liu discloses the massage device further comprising:
a vibration generator mounted in the assembly space comprising the electric motor (Figure 6 above; where there is an assembly space where the motor is in, and the vibration generator is the electric motor);
Liu is silent to a detection component, an indicator light and a main control board.
Marton discloses a massage device comprising:
a detection component configured to detect a current/voltage of the vibration generator (Marton [0139]; where the current sensing circuit ‘1550’ is included with the modified motor controller circuit, thereby detecting the current of the motor to the local circuit ground and a current sensing resistor ‘900’ – [0111]);
and an indicator light and a main control board (Marton [0066]; where there are LEDs used to indicated the charged state of the battery assembly, [0060]; PCB = main electronic control board);
wherein the indicator light and the detection component are electrically connected to the main control board (Marton [0060]; where the LEDs are connected with the PCB (main control board), [0117]; where the detection component (current sensing resistor is with the PCB (main control board) – thereby connected);
and the main control board is configured to trigger the indicator light based on the current/voltage detected by the detection component (Marton [0039]; where the motor controller circuit (with the PCB) is including to sense the motor current corresponding to the LEDs to display the ranges – thereby triggering the LEDs based on the current).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of Liu to include a detection component, indicator light, and main control board as taught by Stanbridge, since, the detection component, indicator light and the main controller board work together to help provide an indication of the operational state of the massage device (Marton [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 17,
Liu discloses the massage device wherein:
the massage device comprises a handheld assembly (Figure 6 above; handheld assembly that can be held by a user);
Liu is silent to a control button, trigger unit, and main control board.
Marton discloses the massage device comprising:
the massage device comprises a control button (Marton [0060]; ‘162’ is a push button);
and a trigger unit corresponding to the control button is arranged on one side of the main control board that faces the control button (Marton [0060]; where the pushbutton switch ‘162’ (control button) is arranged on the PCB (main control board));
a main control board (Marton [0060]; where the PCB is the main control board);
a peripheral sidewall of the rear shell defines a mounting hole in which the indicator light is mounted (Figure 8 above; where there are LEDs (indicator lights) ‘168A-E’ mounted in the holes (mounting holes) on a peripheral sidewall of the rear shell of the massage device);
the control button is mounted in the rear shell and is exposed on an end surface of the rear shell facing away from the middle shell (Figure 8 above; where ‘162’ is the control button that is mounted in the rear shell and is exposed on an end surface facing away from a middle shell).
which comprises a rear shell (Figure 8 above; rear shell);
and the rear shell is detachably connected to an end of the middle shell away from the massage head (Figure 8 above; rear shell detachably connected to a middle shell away from the massage head).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of Liu to include a detection component, indicator light, and main control board as taught by Stanbridge, since, the detection component, indicator light and the main controller board work together to help provide an indication of the operational state of the massage device (Marton [0060]).
Modified Liu is silent to having a head portion and the middle shell.
Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
a head portion (Figure 1 above; where there is a massage head portion (head portion));
a rear portion (Figure 4 above; where the rear portion is the bottom of the handheld assembly);
the massage head is located on the head portion (Figure 1 above; where the massage head is the head portion);
the handheld assembly comprises a shell (Figure 4 above; where ‘102’ is the shell);
which comprises a middle shell (Figure 4 above; where the handheld tube is a middle shell).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu to include a massage head having at least one massage surface as taught by Stanbridge, since, multiple massage surfaces allow for the capability of vibrating at an optimal frequence that maximizes the benefits of vibrational therapy (Stanbridge [0048-0049]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 17, wherein the main control board comprises a trigger circuit (Marton [0039]; where there is a circuit that triggers the LEDs to display (light) according to the sensor and [0060]; where the PCB is the main control board);
which comprises a first trigger threshold and a second trigger threshold greater than the first trigger threshold and the trigger circuit is configured to trigger the indicator light to emit a first color when the current/voltage in the vibration generator is equal to or greater than the first trigger threshold and to trigger the indicator light to emit a second color when the current/voltage in the vibration generator is equal to or greater than the second trigger threshold (Marton [0039]; where the LEDs display ranges of pressures based on the battery voltage and [0066]; where the LEDs display different colors based the indicated state of the battery (i.e. the voltage/ current), [0119]; the LEDs light different colors based on a duty cycle of the voltage/ current state of the battery).
Although modified Liu in view of Stanbridge does not explicitly disclose different trigger thresholds, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge does disclose the indicator lights, a trigger circuit, a vibration generator, and a main control board. It would have been readily understood on one of ordinary skill in the art that there could be a trigger threshold, because the different pressures for the indicators define the color switching based on battery voltage, that there would need to be different trigger thresholds for the indicators in order for the indicators to change colors.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu (CN 112137869 A), in view of Marton (US 20210038472 A1) further in view of Stanbridge (US 20160213558 A1) and even further in view of Wersland (US 20210169733 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1, wherein the balancing member is arranged on the rotor and/or, one end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member extends out of the stator and the rotor and the balancing member is arranged on the end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member (Figure 7 above; where there is first a balancing member arranged to be on the output shaft ‘312’, and then an eccentric member following the balancing member).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the balancing member to be on the same side of the mounting bracket as the motor, such that it is arranged on the end of the output shaft away from the eccentric member since such a modification would simply involve merely moving the semi annular balancing member to be placed on the side of the mounting bracket with the motor without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Which thereby would make the eccentric member and the balancing member symmetric about the mounting bracket and still allow the balancing member to be secured and counterbalance the mass of the eccentric member, and thereby the forces applied to them as intended (Marton [0070]).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge is silent to the electric motor being an inner rotor motor having an inner rotor.
Wersland discloses a percussive massage device wherein:
the electric motor is an inner rotor motor having an inner rotor (Wersland [0029]; where the rotor ‘122’ is inside of the motor ‘102’, making it an inner rotor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include a rotor on the inside of the motor, thereby making an inner rotor as taught by Wersland, since, a rotor inside of the motor allows for the motor to generate rotational torque, making for a more reliable motor with greater efficiency (Wersland [0027, 0029]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1.
Liu discloses the massage device wherein:
the electric motor is an outer rotor motor having an outer rotor, the outer rotor comprises a rotary cylinder having an annular sidewall and an end wall arranged on one end of the sidewall (Figure 2 above; where there is a motor with an outer rotor, the outer rotor is an annular sidewall as part of a rotary cylinder, the end wall is at one end of the annular sidewall).
Marton discloses the massage device wherein:
the balancing member is arranged on the sidewall and/or the end wall (Figure 7 above; where there is a balancing member that is semi-annular and thereby capable of being arranged on the annular sidewall)
and the motor is fixed to the mounting bracket (Figure 2 above; where the motor is fixed to the mounting bracket).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the balancing member to be from the stacked position with the eccentric member to be arranged on the annular sidewall of the outer rotor since such a modification would simply involve merely moving the semi-annular balancing member to be arranged with the curvature of the annular sidewall of the outer rotor without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04), while still allowing the balancing member to be secured and counterbalance the mass of the eccentric member, and thereby the forces applied to them as intended (Marton [0070]).
Wersland discloses the massage device wherein:
the stator is located in the motor (Wersland [0029]; where the stator ‘124’ is located in the motor ‘102’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge by moving the stator to be on the inside of the motor as taught by Wersland, since, a stator inside of the motor makes the motor more reliable and have a greater efficiency (Wersland [0027, 0029]).
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu (CN 112137869 A), in view of Marton (US 20210038472 A1) further in view of Stanbridge (US 20160213558 A1) and even further in view of Choe (KR 20220050726 A).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 1.
Modified Liu discloses the massage device further comprising:
a handheld assembly configured to be held by an user (Figure 6 above; handheld assembly that can be held by a user);
a buffer column configured to reduce a vibration transmission between the massage head and the handheld assembly (Figure 6 above; where ‘74’ are buffers part of a buffer column that absorb vibration and reduce noise between the massage head and the handheld assembly);
the buffer column being elastic or flexible (Liu Embodiment I [037]; where the buffer ‘74’ column is a rubber member which is a material that is elastic and flexible);
and an end thereof being connected to the handheld assembly (Figure 6 above; where the buffer ‘74’ column is connected to the handheld assembly);
the handheld assembly comprising at least one strip-shaped connector made of rigid material (Figure 2 above and Liu Embodiment I [030]; where ‘75’ is a fastener that is a screw that is in rigid contact allowing the structure to be locked together);
one end of the connector directly or indirectly being connected to the handheld assembly, and the other end thereof passing through the buffer column to be fixed via the handheld assembly (Figure 2 above; where the fastener ‘75’ is inside a buffer column (dampening member ‘74’) and there are multiple making the buffer columns connected to the handheld assembly).
Modified Liu is silent to a massage head and a connecting assembly configured to connect the handheld assembly to the massage head.
Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
a massage head (Figure 1 above; massage head);
and a connecting assembly configured to connect the handheld assembly and the massage head (Figure 1 above; where there is a portion of the massage device capable of holding the buffer assembly, and holds the cylindrical component ‘505’ that protects the gap between the vibrating head and the body (handheld tube portion) of the massager, and is connected to the massage head, thereby making it a connecting assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu to include a massage head having at least one massage surface and a connecting assembly as taught by Stanbridge, since, multiple massage heads allow for the capability of vibrating at an optimal frequence that maximizes the benefits of vibrational therapy and are respectfully connected to the massage head (Stanbridge [0048-0049]) and since, the connecting assembly serves as a cover for the cylindrical component ‘505’ and acts as a stabilizing means for the massage head ‘502’ (Stanbridge [0069]).
Although modified Liu in view of Stanbridge does not explicitly disclose the strip-shaped connector being made of a rigid material, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge does disclose a fastener screw (strip-shaped connector) ‘75’ that is in rigid contact with its connection parts of the massage device. It would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that a fastener screw would reasonably be made of a rigid, high-strength material.
Choe discloses the massage device comprising:
a buffer assembly (Figure 3 above; buffer assembly);
one end of the buffer assembly abutting the massage head (Figure 3 above; where the buffer assembly is abutting the massage head).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include a buffer assembly as taught by Choe since, it allows for noise generated during vibration to be even further reduced (Choe [0237]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 9.
Liu discloses the massage device wherein:
the handheld assembly (Figure 6 above; where there is the handheld assembly);
the connector comprises a limiting end and a connecting end (Figure 6 above; where there is a limiting end of the screw, the connecting end is fixed through the buffer column to the massage device);
a radial size of the limiting end is larger than that of the hole (Figure 6 above where the limiting end of the strip-shaped connector is larger than that of the hole that is connected therethrough with);
Marton discloses the massage device wherein:
the connecting end is configured to be fixed to the massage portion through a hole (Marton Figure 12; where there are screws ‘410’ that connect the distal end of the body to the upper body portion that is the massage portion with a massage surface);
the limiting end is configured to abut the side facing away from the massage portion when the connecting end is fastened to the massage head (Marton Figure 12; where the screws ‘410’ have a limiting end facing away from the massage head section and a connecting end fastened into the upper body portion with the massage portion having a massage surface).
one end of the connector is connected to the massage portion (Marton Figure 12; where the screws ‘410’ are connected to the massage portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of Liu to include strip-shaped connectors to connect a massage portion with the distal part of the assembly as taught by Marton, since, the strip-shaped connectors allow for the massage portion to be more secured with a distal end of the massage device (Marton [0071]).
Modified Liu is silent to a handheld tube. a massage head and a connecting assembly.
Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
a handheld tube (Figure 4 above; handheld tube);
and a massage head (Figure 1 above; massage head);
and a connecting assembly (Figure 1 above; where there is a portion of the massage device capable of holding the buffer assembly, and holds the cylindrical component ‘505’ that protects the gap between the vibrating head and the body (handheld tube portion) of the massager, and is connected to the massage head, thereby making it a connecting assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu to include a connecting assembly as taught by Stanbridge, since, the connecting assembly serves as a cover for the cylindrical component ‘505’ and acts as a stabilizing means for the massage head ‘502’ (Stanbridge [0069]).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge fails to disclose an end cover module.
Choe discloses the massage device comprising:
wherein the buffer assembly further comprises an end cover module (Figure 3 above; where the buffer assembly comprises an end cover module);
the end cover module is fixed to an end portion (Figure 3 above; where the end cover module is fixed to an end portion of );
connector capable of connecting with the other end thereof engaging with the end cover module (Choe [0105]; where the through hole (coupling hole) can be a screw coupling – connector capable of engaging with the end cover module);
and the end cover module comprises a through hole (Figure 3 above; through hole with the end cover module).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include an end cover with the buffer assembly as taught by Choe and connect the end cover to a connecting assembly, since, the end cover module allows for further noise reduction of the vibration assembly (Choe [0237]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 9.
Liu discloses the massage device wherein:
the handheld assembly comprises a handheld tube (Figure 6 above; where there is the handheld assembly and the handheld tube is the bottom portion that a user’s hand would hold);
and a buffer column (Figure 5 above; buffer column);
Marton discloses the massage device wherein:
the connecting end is configured to be fixed to the massage portion through a hole (Marton Figure 12; where there are screw ‘410’ that connect the distal end of the body to the upper body portion that is the massage portion with a massage surface);
the limiting end is configured to abut the side facing away from the massage portion when the connecting end is fastened to the massage head (Marton Figure 12; where the screws ‘410’ have a limiting end facing away from the massage head section and a connecting end fastened into the upper body portion with the massage portion having a massage surface).
one end of the connector is connected to the massage portion (Marton Figure 12; where the screws ‘410’ are connected to the massage portion).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of Liu to include strip-shaped connectors to connect a massage portion with the distal part of the assembly as taught by Marton, since, the strip-shaped connectors allows for the massage portion to be more secured with a distal end of the massage device (Marton [0071]).
Modified Liu is silent to a massage head and a connecting assembly.
Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
a massage head (Figure 1 above; massage head);
and a connecting assembly (Figure 1 above; where there is a portion of the massage device capable of holding the buffer assembly, and holds the cylindrical component ‘505’ that protects the gap between the vibrating head and the body (handheld tube portion) of the massager, and is connected to the massage head, thereby making it a connecting assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu to include a massage head having at least one massage surface and a connecting assembly as taught by Stanbridge, since, multiple massage surfaces allow for the capability of vibrating at an optimal frequence that maximizes the benefits of vibrational therapy (Stanbridge [0048-0049]) and since, the connecting assembly serves as a cover for the cylindrical component ‘505’ and acts as a stabilizing means for the massage head ‘502’ (Stanbridge [0069]).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge fails to disclose an end cover module.
Choe discloses the massage device comprising:
wherein the buffer assembly further comprises an end cover module (Figure 3 above; end cover module);
the end cover module is fixed to one end of the end cover module (Figure 3 above; where the end cover is fixed to the second buffer plate);
and the other end thereof engaging with the end cover module (Choe [0105]; where the through hole (coupling hole) can be a screw coupling – connector capable of engaging with the end cover module);
and the end cover module comprises a through hole (Figure 3 above; through hole with the end cover module);
and the end cover module comprises an end cover (Figure 3 above; where the end cover is an end cover module);
the end cover is configured to be connected to the handheld tube (Figure 3 above; end cover that is configured to be connected to a lower holding piece, 1150a and 1170a of Choe Figure 6, Figure 4; above handheld tube);
the buffer column is mounted on the end cover (Figure 5 above; buffer column, Figure 3 above; end cover);
and one end of the buffer column abuts the buffer assembly to reduce a vibration transmission between the buffer assembly and the end cover (Figure 5 above; buffer column, Figure 3 above; buffer assembly and end cover).
Although modified Liu in view of Stanbridge and further in view of Choe does not disclose the end cover being configured to the handheld tube, the buffer column being mounted on the end cover, and one end of the buffer column abutting the buffer assembly to reduce a vibrational transmission between the buffer assembly and the end cover, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge and further in view of Choe does disclose, a buffer assembly, buffer columns, an end cover and a handheld tube, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the orientations of the buffer assembly inside the cover portion as previously described of Stanbridge is for holding a component that stabilizes the vibrational motor of the massage device and dampens the noise of the vibration of the motor through the buffer assembly as does the buffer assembly of Choe.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include an end cover with the buffer assembly as taught by Choe and connect the end cover to a connecting assembly, since, the end cover module allows for further noise reduction of the vibration assembly (Choe [0237]) and since the connecting assembly serves as a cover for the cylindrical component ‘505’ and acts as a stabilizing means for the massage head ‘502’ (Stanbridge [0069]), thereby a connecting assembly for the buffer assembly would further allow for the stabilization of the massage head and for the buffer assembly.
Regarding claim 12, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 11, wherein:
the buffer column comprises a first through hole (Figure 5 above; buffer column with a first through hole);
the buffer column is sleeved on the connector and is tightly engaged with the connector to reduce the vibration transmission between the connector and the motor (Figure 5 above; where the buffer column ‘74’ (dampening member) is sleeved around the connector ‘75’ (fastener), Liu [016] before Embodiment II; the damping member ‘74’ (buffer column) has good vibration absorption and reduces the noise of the motor, [018] before Embodiment II; buffer column ‘74’ is provided with a fastener ‘75’ (connector) which improves the damping effect of the buffer column).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge fails to disclose an end cover.
Choe discloses the massage device comprising:
an end cover (Figure 3 above; end cover).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include an end cover with the buffer assembly as taught by Choe, since, the end cover module allows for further noise reduction of the vibration assembly (Choe [0237]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge and further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 9.
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge discloses:
the handheld assembly (Figure 4 above; handheld assembly);
and the massage head (Figure 1 above; massage head).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge is silent to a buffer plate assembly with a buffer assembly.
Choe discloses a massage device comprising:
wherein the buffer assembly comprises a buffer plate assembly (Figure 3 above; where the buffer assembly includes the buffer plates making the buffer plate assembly);
one end of the buffer plate assembly abuts the end of the massage head, and the other end thereof abuts the connector (Figure 3 above; where one end of the buffer plate assembly abuts the end of the massage head ‘1210’ and the other end thereof abuts the connector (connection member ‘1180’));
the connector comprises an end cover module fixed to an end; one end of the connector is connected to the massage head portion (Figure 3 above; where the connector ‘1180’ is connected to the end cover, and one end of the connector is connected to the massage head portion ‘1210’);
and the other end thereof engages with the end cover module (Figure 3 above; where the connector ‘1180’ has a portion ‘1182’ that engages with the end cover);
and the buffer plate assembly is clamped between the end cover module and the massage head to reduce a vibration transmission between the massage head and the end cover module (Figure 3 above; where the buffer plate assembly is clamped between the end cover and the massage head ‘1210’ and the end cover provides vibrational noise dampening, adding more plate components further reduces the vibrational transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include an end cover and a buffer plate assembly with the buffer assembly as taught by Choe, since, the end cover module and is a part of the buffer assembly that allows for further noise reduction of the vibration assembly (Choe [0237]) and because the buffer plates help to protect the end cover module even when an external force acts on the vibration module (Choe [0201]), thereby further allowing for the vibration transmission to be reduced because they are clamped together.
Regarding claim 14, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge and further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 13, wherein:
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
the massage head (Figure 1 above; massage head);
a connecting column is arranged on one end of the massage head facing the connecting assembly capable of holding the buffer assembly that comprises the buffer plate assembly (Figure 1 above; where ‘422a-c’ are pins that act as connecting columns arranged on one end of the massage head that connect it to the connecting assembly of Figure 4 above).
the connecting column capable of being inserted into the first insertion socket (Figure 1 above; where the pins ‘422a-c’ (connecting columns) are inserted into the sockets of ‘421a-c’ of Stanbridge Figure 4c, thereby being capable of being inserted into the first insertion socket – this allows for the connecting columns to help restrict movement of the vibrating portion that connects the two portions (massage head and connecting assembly) of the massage device together – Stanbridge [0064]);
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge is silent to a buffer plate assembly with a buffer assembly.
Choe discloses a massage device comprising:
the buffer plate assembly (Figure 3 above; the buffer plate assembly);
one side of the buffer plate assembly facing the massage head portion comprises a first insertion socket (Figure 3 above; where there is a 1st insertion socket facing the massage head at the top);
one side of the buffer plate assembly facing the end cover module comprises a second insertion socket (Figure 3 above; where there is a 2nd insertion socket facing the end cover module on one side of the buffer plate assembly);
the end cover module comprises an end cover (Figure 3 above end cover);
one end of the buffer column is exposed on the end cover and is inserted into the second insertion socket (Figure 6/ Figure 2 above; ‘74’ (buffer column) where the buffer column is inside of a hole in the vibrational assembly, and Figure 3 above where the buffer column could therefore be inside the second insertion socket which is also a hole as such touching the end cover);
and the first insertion socket and the second insertion sockets are coaxial and communicated with each other (Figure 3 above; where the 1st insertion socket and the 2nd insertion socket are coaxial with each other so as to be communicated with each other).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include an end cover and a buffer plate assembly with the buffer assembly as taught by Choe, since, the end cover module and is a part of the buffer assembly that allows for further noise reduction of the vibration assembly (Choe [0237]) and because the buffer plates help to protect the end cover module even when an external force acts on the vibration module (Choe [0201]), thereby further allowing for the vibration transmission to be reduced.
Regarding claim 15, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge and further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 13.
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge discloses the massage device comprising:
a buffer column capable of being arranged on the second buffer plate extending along a thickness direction of the second buffer plate (Figure 6 above; where there is a buffer column ‘74’ inside a socket of the massage device to reduce vibrational noise of the assembly);
a buffer column capable of being arranged on the second buffer plate (Figure 6 above; where the buffer column ‘74’ is inside of a socket of the mounting bracket, thereby capable of being arranged on the second buffer plate);
and one end of the buffer column is capable of being inserted into this first insertion socket (Figure 6 above; where there is a buffer column ‘74’ that is inserted into a socket of the mounting bracket);
and the buffer column comprises a first through hole running through a lengthwise direction thereof (Figure 5 above; buffer column with a first through hole in a lengthwise direction);
the connector passes through the first through hole, to be fixed to the massage head portion (Figure 6 above; where ‘74’ is the buffer column and there is a fastener ‘75’ that is within the buffer column ‘74’ to help it to be fixed to the massage head portion);
the connector (Figure 6 above; where the fastener ‘75’ is the connector inside of the buffer column ‘74’);
and the massage head (Figure 1 above; massage head).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge fails to disclose a buffer plate assembly, and the buffer column being fixed within the buffer plate assembly.
Choe discloses the massage device comprising:
the buffer plate assembly comprises a partition plate and a second buffer plate located between the partition plate and the end cover module (Figure 3 above; partition plate, and second buffer plate located between the partition plate and the end cover);
the second buffer plate (Figure 3 above; where there is a second buffer plate with a second insertion socket capable of having a buffer column inside);
one the side of the partition plate facing the second buffer plate comprises a first insertion socket (Figure 3 above; where one side of the partition plate faces the second buffer plate and comprises the first insertion socket);
first insertion socket (Figure 3 above; first insertion socket);
one side of the end cover module facing the second buffer plate comprises a second insertion socket (Figure 3 above; where there is a first insertion socket, an end cover module facing the second buffer plate on one side and the second buffer plate has a second insertion socket, the first insertion socket is capable of holding the buffer column of Liu, because the buffer column is already installed in a socket thereof in Liu);
partition plate and a second insertion socket (Figure 3 above; where there is a partition plate with a socket capable of having a buffer column inside to be inserted therethrough to the second insertion socket);
and the first insertion socket passes through the partition plate (Figure 3 above; where the first insertion socket is all the way through the partition plate);
the second insertion socket passes through the end cover module (Figure 3 above; where the second insertion socket is passing through the end cover);
the first insertion socket, and the second insertion socket to be fixed to the massage head portion, to reduce a vibration transmission between the the end cover, and the partition plate (Figure 3 above; where there is a first insertion socket and a second insertion socked that are fixed to a massage head portion ‘1211’ and the end cover provides vibrational noise dampening, adding more plate components with insertion sockets further reduces the vibrational transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include an end cover and a buffer plate assembly with the buffer assembly as taught by Choe, since, the end cover module and is a part of the buffer assembly that allows for further noise reduction of the vibration assembly (Choe [0237]) and because the buffer plates help to protect the end cover module even when an external force acts on the vibration module (Choe [0201]), thereby further allowing for the vibration transmission to be reduced.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have readily understood that providing the buffer column ‘74’ of the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, where the buffer column ‘74’ is provided in a socket of the mounting portion, and the buffer assembly with the buffer plate assembly of Choe, with the specific plates and sockets, that the buffer column ‘74’ is readily available to further reduce vibrational noise and has the means to hold the buffer column ‘74’ within the specific plates.
Regarding claim 16, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge and further in view of Choe further discloses the massage device according to claim 15, wherein:
the buffer assembly comprises a first buffer plate located between the partition plate and the massage head (Figure 3 above; where there is a buffer assembly with a first buffer plate located between the partition plate and the massage head);
both the first buffer plate and the second buffer plate are soft rubber plate (Figure 3 above; where there is a first and a second buffer plate);
while the partition plate is a rigid plate; and/or, the buffer column and the second buffer plate are integrally formed; and/or, the buffer column is elastic (Figure 5 above; buffer column ‘74’, Figure 3 above; partition plate and second buffer plate, Liu Embodiment I [037]; where the buffer column ‘74’ is a rubber member with good absorption vibration – rubber is elastic);
one end of the buffer column engaging with the end cover module extends out of the second insertion socket (Figure 5 above; where there is the buffer column ‘74’, Figure 3 above; where there is the end cover module and a second insertion socket capable of receiving the buffer column ‘74’ as previously described in claim 15 above);
two ends of the connector comprise a limiting end and a connecting end (Figure 6 above; where there is a limiting end of the screw, the connecting end is fixed through the buffer column to the massage device);
the connecting end is configured to be fixed to the massage head (Marton Figure 12; where there are screws ‘410’ that connect (connecting end) the distal end of the body to the upper body portion that is the massage portion with a massage surface and Figure 1 above; massage head);
and the limiting end is configured to abut the end of the buffer column extending out of the second insertion socket (Figure 6 above; where there are connectors ‘75’ with a limiting end sticking out of the end of the buffer column ‘74’, Choe [0105]; where the coupling hole ‘1124’ of Figure 3 above, has an upper surface ‘11122’ that may be a screw coupling (this is to connect the second insertion socket with the end cover; second insertion socket) and Figure 3 above; where there is a second insertion socket).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include the connector extending through the buffer assembly as taught by Choe, since, a screw is a coupling member (connector) that allows for the portions of the buffer assembly to be connected together (Choe [0143]).
However, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, further in view of Choe does not explicitly disclose that both the first buffer plate and the second buffer plate are soft rubber plate, while the partition plate is a rigid plate, as required by the claim.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the material of the first and second buffer plate and the partition plate would result in a difference in function of the modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, further in view of Choe device.
Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed materials. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed materials solves any stated problem, offering a different materials for the first and second buffer plate and the partition plate i.e. ([0125], [0121] and [0126] of the specification) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the materials as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of the first and second buffer plate and the partition plate of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to have both the first buffer plate and the second buffer plate as a soft rubber plate, while the partition plate is a rigid plate as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu (CN 112137869 A), in view of Marton (US 20210038472 A1) further in view of Stanbridge (US 20160213558 A1) further in view of Wersland (US 10702448 B2).
Regarding claim 20, modified Liu in view of Stanbridge further discloses the massage device according to claim 17, wherein the massage device comprises a and a handheld assembly (Figure 6 above; handheld assembly);
and the handheld assembly comprises an outer shell (Figure 6 above; where the handheld assembly is the outer shell of the massage device).
Modified Liu in view of Stanbridge is silent to a dampening balance block.
Wersland discloses the massage device comprising:
a dampening balance block (Wersland Figure 4; ‘402’ and [090]; where ‘402 is a dampening (balance) block).
the handheld assembly comprises an outer shell in which the damping balance block is arranged (Wersland Figure 4; ‘402’ is the dampening (balance) block, Figure 8; ‘310’ is inside of the outer shell of the handheld assembly and in Figure 4, ‘402’ was near it inside – so they are both inside the outer shell);
the damping balance block is configured to reduce the vibration of the handheld assembly (Wersland [092]; where the dampening (balance) block ‘402’ that absorbs vibration – thereby reducing vibration to the handheld assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the massage device of modified Liu in view of Stanbridge to include a dampening balance block as taught by Wersland, since, the dampening (balance block) ‘402’ helps to manage vibration from the actuating components to the housing (Wersland [091]).
Conclusion
The following prior art were considered but not used on a 35 U.S.C. § 102 or 103 rejection:
Lee (US 20190247271 A1): single motor massager.
Liu (CN 113813156 A): massage assembly with a similar electronics assembly.
Fujisawa (US 20040068213 A1): controllable massage machine.
/AISLINN M JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785