DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on November 21, 2025. Claims 1, 17, and 20 are amended; and claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni (U.S. Patent No. 11,318,883) in view of Aoki et al. (U.S. 2022/0416667).
With regard to claim 1, Kulkarni teaches a trailer light management system ([abstract] A towing vehicle includes a towing control unit with circuitry to detect whether a light is connected to the electrical harness electrically coupling the vehicle to the trailer) comprising:
a constant current source circuit ([abstract] The towing control unit may include lamp connectivity circuits… corresponding connectivity circuit) configured to supply a first current to a trailer light ([col. 3, lines 4-10] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal); and
a processor communicatively coupled with the constant current source circuit (Fig. 1, processing circuitry 110), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain a first trigger signal ([abstract] To determine whether the turn light is connected, the corresponding connectivity circuit periodically generates a test signal);
cause the constant current source circuit to supply the first current to the trailer light responsive to obtaining the first trigger signal ([abstract] To determine whether the turn light is connected, the corresponding connectivity circuit periodically generates a test signal. Based on characteristics of a response signal to the test signal. The connectivity circuit determines whether the corresponding turn signal light of the trailer is connected based on a response to the test signal);
determine a voltage drop in the constant current source circuit responsive to supplying the first current ([col. 3, lines 5-15] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal generated in response to the first test signal), wherein the voltage drop is a difference between a supply voltage to the constant current source circuit and a voltage at an output of the constant current source circuit ([col. 3, lines 5-15] The first current threshold is set to be different than the second current threshold. In some such example systems, the processing circuitry detects a presence of corrosion between the connector and the lamps based on a different between the first voltage and the second voltage; [col. 8, lines 42-66] the voltage on the input is greater than a reference voltage (e.g., in non-inverting input of comparator circuit 200A) when the current conducted by the light due to the test signal 301 satisfies (e.g., is greater than or equal to) a threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.). Accordingly, the output of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may (a) be at a high voltage (e.g., a supply voltage, etc.) when the current related to the response signal 302 is above the threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.) and (b) be at a ground when the voltage of the response signal 302 is below the threshold current);
determine that a predefined condition is met based on the voltage drop ([col. 10, lines 1-21] The trailer control unit 104 first applies a current threshold of 350 μA and then detect the resultant voltage across the system. The trailer control unit 104 may then apply a current threshold of 700 μA and measure the resultant voltage. When the voltage after the second current threshold is applied is not twice the voltage after the first current threshold (or some linear correlation thereto), the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is no corrosion present (e.g., because the response of the LED would be non-linear)); and
perform a predefined action responsive to determining that the predefined condition is met ([col. 10, lines 1-21] the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is no corrosion present (e.g., because the response of the LED would be non-linear)). However, Kulkarni does not specifically teach:
- wherein the first current is a constant current
Aoki teaches a light-emitting element driving control device that is driven by a switching regulator [abstract]. Aoki shows LED light-emitting devices on vehicles such as headlights (including, as necessary, high beams, low beams, small lights, fog lights, etc.) X11, daylight running lights (DRLs) X12, taillights (including, as necessary, small lights, rear lights, etc.) X13, stoplights X14, turn lights X15, etc. [0186]. Aoki also teaches a current is a constant current ([0061] The LED driving device 10 supplies the LED string 20 with a constant output current IOUT; [0210] The clock signal oscillator OSC incorporates a constant current source circuit, a comparator, a capacitor, etc.; [0329] The light-emitting element driving device supplies a light-emitting element with a constant output current; [claim 9] wherein the light-emitting element driving device supplies a light-emitting element with a constant output current). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the towing vehicle detecting whether a light is connected as taught by Kulkarni, with the constant output current of vehicles as taught by Aoki, to have achieved a vehicle with towing capacity having light-emitting driving control with a constant output current.
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the processor is configured to obtain the first trigger signal when the trailer light is switched OFF ([col. 2, lines 45-55] the system includes lamp control circuitry that is separate from the connectivity circuitry. The lamp control circuitry controls the on/off state of the lamps of the trailer; [col. 3, lines 25-35] The processing circuitry determines the connection state and the load profile of the lamps of the trailer based on the response signal when the lamps of the trailer are off… An example method of determining a connection state of lamps of a trailer includes monitoring an on/off state of the lamps of the trailer. The example method also includes, when the lamps of the trailer are off).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches further comprising a timer ([col. 11, lines 35-50] The processing circuitry 110 sets a timer interrupt (e.g., a timer interrupt for 700 μs) (706)), wherein the processor is configured to obtain the first trigger signal from the timer ([col. 11, lines 35-50] When a timer is not running (NO at 710), the processing circuitry 110 (a) reloads a light connectivity timer with 700 μs).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the constant current source circuit is configured to supply the first current to the trailer light ([col. 3, lines 4-10] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal) as a pulse of constant current for a predefined time duration ([col. 12, lines 35-45] (b) saves the current timer counter value, (c) stops the current timer counter, (d) saves the timer period value, (e) determines a difference between the value of the current timer counter and the timer period value).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein when the first current is less than a predefined current threshold, the trailer light does not illuminate responsive to receiving the first current ([col. 11, lines 5-20] determines whether the left turn off state connectivity flag is set and the left lamp output is off (602). If the left turn off state connectivity flag is set and the left lamp output is off (YES at 602), the processing circuitry 110 increments a left turn off state counter (604). The processing circuitry 110 determines whether the left turn off state counter is greater than or equal to a threshold amount of time (606)).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the predefined condition is met when the voltage measured at the output of the constant current source circuit is equivalent to the supply voltage ([col. 8, lines 1-9] when more than two lights are to be tested, the ramp signal 300 may be generated a number of times equal to the number of lights 102 to be tested in the repetition period; [col. 8, lines 42-67] the input of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may be configured such that the voltage on the input is greater than a reference voltage (e.g., in non-inverting input of comparator circuit 200A) when the current conducted by the light due to the test signal 301 satisfies (e.g., is greater than or equal to) a threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.)).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the predefined action comprises transmitting a notification to a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI) or a user device ([col. 10, lines 30-57] the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is corrosion in the system and provides a warning signal to the user to alert them of the corrosion present; [col. 9, lines 51-61] The trailer control units 104 may to send a signal to a processor or other device, such as for example, a brake controller, a display on a towing vehicle, a smart phone or any other device that may be communication with the trailer control units 104 to identify either or both of a connected or disconnected status for the lights/lamps of the towed vehicle), and wherein the notification indicates that the trailer light is not coupled with the constant current source circuit ([col. 9, lines 51-61] The trailer control units 104 may to send a signal to a processor or other device, such as for example, a brake controller, a display on a towing vehicle, a smart phone or any other device that may be communication with the trailer control units 104 to identify either or both of a connected or disconnected status for the lights/lamps of the towed vehicle).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the predefined condition is met when the voltage measured at the output of the constant current source circuit is less than the supply voltage ([col. 7, lines 30-50] the processing circuitry 110 defines threshold timing intervals 306A, 306B, and 306C (collectively “threshold timing intervals 306”). The threshold timing intervals 306 define a period of time that, if response 302 falls below a threshold value within that threshold timing intervals 306, the processing circuitry 110 determine that light connection is in a corresponding state (e.g., whether the lamp is connected and, if so, the type of the lamp, etc.); [col. 8, lines 55-67] the output of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may (a) be at a high voltage (e.g., a supply voltage, etc.) when the current related to the response signal 302 is above the threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.) and (b) be at a ground when the voltage of the response signal 302 is below the threshold current).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the predefined action comprises determining a trailer light type based on the voltage drop ([col. 5, lines 35-41] the present system may determine the type of load (sometimes referred to as a “load profile”), such as an incandescent load, an LED load, or no load. The load profile is indicative of what type, if any, lamp is connected to the trailer lamp controller; [col. 7, lines 1-11] lamp connectivity circuits 112 cause the response signal to have different timings of a changing edge (e.g., a rising edge, etc.) of the response signal depending on the type, characteristics, and connection state of the lights 102…the processing circuitry 110 may determine the type, characteristics, and connection state of the lights 102 by detecting which threshold timing interval between the falling edge and rising edge of the response signal; [col. 7, lines 43-47] determine that light connection is in a corresponding state (e.g., whether the lamp is connected and, if so, the type of the lamp, etc.)).
With regard to claim 10, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches further comprising a driver circuit ([abstract] the corresponding connectivity circuit periodically generates a test signal) configured to supply a second current to the trailer light ([col. 3, lines 5-15] a second voltage at a second current threshold of a signal generated), wherein the second current is greater than the first current ([col. 10, lines 1-21] When the voltage after the second current threshold (e.g., the 700 μA threshold) is approximately twice that of the voltage after the first current threshold (e.g., the 350 μA threshold), the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is corrosion in the system and provides a warning signal to the user to alert them of the corrosion present), and wherein the trailer light illuminates responsive to receiving the second current ([col. 3, lines 5-15] The first current threshold is set to be different than the second current threshold. In some such example systems, the processing circuitry detects a presence of corrosion between the connector and the lamps based on a different between the first voltage and the second voltage; [col. 5, lines 42-55] determine a connection state of lights 102A and 102B (collectively referred to as “lights 102) of a trailer operating in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure. While lights 102A and 102B are shown in the illustrated examples, the system may also be utilized to detect other lights on the towed vehicle, e.g., braking lights, auxiliary lights, fog, park, reverse or the like).
With regard to claim 11, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the predefined action comprises causing the driver circuit to supply the second current to the trailer light ([col. 3, lines 5-15] The first current threshold is set to be different than the second current threshold. In some such example systems, the processing circuitry detects a presence of corrosion between the connector and the lamps based on a different between the first voltage and the second voltage; [col. 5, lines 42-55] determine a connection state of lights 102A and 102B (collectively referred to as “lights 102) of a trailer operating in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure. While lights 102A and 102B are shown in the illustrated examples, the system may also be utilized to detect other lights on the towed vehicle, e.g., braking lights, auxiliary lights, fog, park, reverse or the like).
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a trailer light type based on the second current ([col. 5, lines 42-55] determine a connection state of lights 102A and 102B (collectively referred to as “lights 102) of a trailer operating in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure. While lights 102A and 102B are shown in the illustrated examples, the system may also be utilized to detect other lights on the towed vehicle, e.g., braking lights, auxiliary lights, fog, park, reverse or the like).
With regard to claim 13, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches further comprising a vehicle battery configured to provide power to the driver circuit ([col. 7, lines 15-35] the second voltage level 304 is the battery voltage. Alternatively, in some examples, the second voltage level 304 is generated by a voltage regulator at a voltage different than the battery voltage (e.g., 9.5V, etc.); [col. 10, lines 50-57] the processing circuitry 110 determines whether a periodic output request is “ON” (e.g., or “TRUE,” etc.) and the battery voltage is between a threshold interval (e.g., 10-16V, etc.) (512). If periodic output request is “ON” and the battery voltage is between the threshold interval).
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches further comprising a voltage controller configured to obtain power from the vehicle battery ([col. 3, lines 5-15] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal generated in response to the first test signal; [abstract] A towing vehicle includes a towing control unit with circuitry to detect whether a light is connected to the electrical harness electrically coupling the vehicle to the trailer), wherein the voltage controller is configured to supply a predefined controlled voltage to the constant current source circuit ([col. 10, lines 1-21] The trailer control unit 104 first applies a current threshold of 350 μA and then detect the resultant voltage across the system. The trailer control unit 104 may then apply a current threshold of 700 μA and measure the resultant voltage. When the voltage after the second current threshold is applied is not twice the voltage after the first current threshold (or some linear correlation thereto), the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is no corrosion present (e.g., because the response of the LED would be non-linear)).
With regard to claim 15, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches further comprising a diode ([abstract] a light emitting diode (LED)-based turn signal light), wherein the constant current source circuit is configured to supply the first current to the trailer light via the diode ([col. 1, lines 60-66] the connectivity circuit may distinguish a state of the turn signal light between an incandescent-based turn signal light, a light emitting diode (LED)-based turn signal light).
With regard to claim 16, the limitations are addressed above and Kulkarni teaches further comprising a voltage sensor configured to compare the supply voltage with the voltage at the output of the constant current source circuit ([col. 3, lines 5-15] The first current threshold is set to be different than the second current threshold. In some such example systems, the processing circuitry detects a presence of corrosion between the connector and the lamps based on a different between the first voltage and the second voltage; [col. 8, lines 42-66] the voltage on the input is greater than a reference voltage (e.g., in non-inverting input of comparator circuit 200A) when the current conducted by the light due to the test signal 301 satisfies (e.g., is greater than or equal to) a threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.). Accordingly, the output of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may (a) be at a high voltage (e.g., a supply voltage, etc.) when the current related to the response signal 302 is above the threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.) and (b) be at a ground when the voltage of the response signal 302 is below the threshold current), and wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain inputs from the voltage sensor ([col. 8, lines 31-55] the input of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may be configured such that the voltage on the input is greater than a reference voltage (e.g., in non-inverting input of comparator circuit 200A) when the current conducted by the light due to the test signal 301 satisfies (e.g., is greater than or equal to) a threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.); [col. 9, lines 5-15] input 204 receives the test signal 400); and
determine the voltage drop in the constant current source circuit based on the inputs ([col. 3, lines 5-15] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal generated in response to the first test signal; [col. 8, lines 31-55] the input of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may be configured such that the voltage on the input is greater than a reference voltage (e.g., in non-inverting input of comparator circuit 200A) when the current conducted by the light due to the test signal 301 satisfies (e.g., is greater than or equal to) a threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.)).
With regard to claim 17, Kulkarni teaches a trailer light management method ([abstract] A towing vehicle includes a towing control unit with circuitry to detect whether a light is connected to the electrical harness electrically coupling the vehicle to the trailer) comprising:
obtaining, by a processor (Fig. 1, processing circuitry 110), a trigger signal ([abstract] To determine whether the turn light is connected, the corresponding connectivity circuit periodically generates a test signal);
causing, by the processor, a constant current source circuit ([abstract] The towing control unit may include lamp connectivity circuits… corresponding connectivity circuit) to supply a current to a trailer light responsive to obtaining the trigger signal ([col. 3, lines 4-10] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal);
determining, by the processor, a voltage drop in the constant current source circuit responsive to supplying the current ([col. 3, lines 5-15] the processing circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal generated in response to the first test signal), wherein the voltage drop is a difference between a supply voltage to the constant current source circuit and a voltage at an output of the constant current source circuit ([col. 3, lines 5-15] The first current threshold is set to be different than the second current threshold. In some such example systems, the processing circuitry detects a presence of corrosion between the connector and the lamps based on a different between the first voltage and the second voltage; [col. 8, lines 42-66] the voltage on the input is greater than a reference voltage (e.g., in non-inverting input of comparator circuit 200A) when the current conducted by the light due to the test signal 301 satisfies (e.g., is greater than or equal to) a threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.). Accordingly, the output of the comparator circuits 200A and 200B may (a) be at a high voltage (e.g., a supply voltage, etc.) when the current related to the response signal 302 is above the threshold current (e.g., 500 uA, 700 uA, etc.) and (b) be at a ground when the voltage of the response signal 302 is below the threshold current);
determining, by the processor, that a predefined condition is met based on the voltage drop ([col. 10, lines 1-21] The trailer control unit 104 first applies a current threshold of 350 μA and then detect the resultant voltage across the system. The trailer control unit 104 may then apply a current threshold of 700 μA and measure the resultant voltage. When the voltage after the second current threshold is applied is not twice the voltage after the first current threshold (or some linear correlation thereto), the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is no corrosion present (e.g., because the response of the LED would be non-linear)); and
performing, by the processor, a predefined action responsive to determining that the predefined condition is met ([col. 10, lines 1-21] the trailer control unit 104 determines that there is no corrosion present (e.g., because the response of the LED would be non-linear)). However, Kulkarni does not specifically teach:
- wherein the current is a constant current
Aoki teaches a light-emitting element driving control device that is driven by a switching regulator [abstract]. Aoki shows LED light-emitting devices on vehicles such as headlights (including, as necessary, high beams, low beams, small lights, fog lights, etc.) X11, daylight running lights (DRLs) X12, taillights (including, as necessary, small lights, rear lights, etc.) X13, stoplights X14, turn lights X15, etc. [0186]. Aoki also teaches a current is a constant current ([0061] The LED driving device 10 supplies the LED string 20 with a constant output current IOUT; [0210] The clock signal oscillator OSC incorporates a constant current source circuit, a comparator, a capacitor, etc.; [0329] The light-emitting element driving device supplies a light-emitting element with a constant output current; [claim 9] wherein the light-emitting element driving device supplies a light-emitting element with a constant output current). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the towing vehicle detecting whether a light is connected as taught by Kulkarni, with the constant output current of vehicles as taught by Aoki, to have achieved a vehicle with towing capacity having light-emitting driving control with a constant output current.
With regard to claim 18, the method claim corresponds to the system claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 19, the method claim corresponds to the system claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 20, the method claim corresponds to the method claim 17, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In the arguments, Applicant argues that the Kulkarni reference fails to teach supplying a constant current and that the first current is a constant current. The Kulkarni reference teaches a towing vehicle system which includes circuitry to determine whether a light is connected to an electrical harness which couples the vehicle to the trailer [abstract]. Kulkarni teaches a light emitting diode (LED)-based turn signal light, which determines turn lights and/or brake lights or any other lights connected [abstract]. The towing control unit can include lamp connectivity circuits [abstract] and they determine a current to a trailer light in which the circuitry measures a first voltage at first current threshold of a signal [col. 3, lines 4-10]. A first trigger signal is used to determine whether a light is connected and it generates a test signal [abstract]. Furthermore, a condition is met at a voltage drop where the trailer control unit 104 first applies a current threshold of 350 μA and then detect the resultant voltage across the system [col. 10, lines 1-21]. The trailer control unit may then apply a current threshold and measure the resultant voltage when the voltage after the second current threshold is applied is not twice the voltage after the first current threshold [col. 10, lines 1-21]. However, the current is determined to be a constant current. The Aoki reference was provided as it teaches a light-emitting element driving control device that is driven by a switching regulator [abstract]. According to Aoki, LED light-emitting devices shown on vehicles can be that such as headlights (including, as necessary, high beams, low beams, small lights, fog lights, etc.) X11, daylight running lights (DRLs) X12, taillights (including, as necessary, small lights, rear lights, etc.) X13, stoplights X14, turn lights X15, etc. [0186]. Aoki also teaches that a current is a constant current by showing that the LED driving device is supplied by a constant out current [0061] ([0210] The clock signal oscillator OSC incorporates a constant current source circuit, a comparator, a capacitor, etc.; [0329] The light-emitting element driving device supplies a light-emitting element with a constant output current; [claim 9] wherein the light-emitting element driving device supplies a light-emitting element with a constant output current). As such, the Aoki device sufficiently teaches a light-emitting device having a constant current.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171