DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of the response to the non-final office action, the amendments to the claims and applicant arguments/remarks, filed 07/20/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 4-19, 21-22 are pending in this action. Claims 3, 20 have been cancelled previously. Claims 1-2, 8, 11, 14-15, 17, 21-22 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 4-19, 21-22 are currently under consideration.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated in this action is withdrawn. Applicant's amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 14/505,814, filed October 3, 2014, and now issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,771,127, which claims benefit of provisional U.S. Application No. 61/886,355, filed October 03, 2013.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer, filed 10/08/2024, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application, which would extend beyond the expiration date of the prior Patent No. 11,771,127, has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimers have been recorded. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection over US 11,771,127 has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, 7-8, 11, 14-15, 17, 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites the limitation ”the tablet includes the water-soluble fibers in a range of from greater than or equal to 20 wt% to less or equal to 70 wt%” that needs to be corrected to ”the tablet includes the water-soluble fibers in the range of from 20 wt% to 70 wt%” for clarity. A stated previously, claim 2 recites/defines a specific range defines by the boundaries, i.e., from 20 wt% to 70 wt%. Similar is applied to claims 8, 11, 14-15, 17, 21.
A stated previously, claim 5 comprises the typographic error ”in an amount from” that needs to be corrected to ” in an amount of from”. Similar is applied to claim 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter, which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 (dependent on independent claim 1) discloses the tablet comprising 30-40 wt% of water-soluble fibers, 30-40 wt% of sugar alcohol, 0.5-7 wt% of water, wherein the solid solution has a glass transition temperature of from -50 oC to 40oC, wherein independent claim 1 identifies said solid solution ONLY by the presence of water-soluble fibers, sugar alcohols, nicotine, and oil domains dispersed in said solid solution.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus (here as chewable tablets comprising a solid solution) may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. MPEP §2163.
In the present case, the instant specification does not teach or suggest how to control the tablet composition to provide said property of the solid solution included in said tablet. To this point, it is noted that one skilled in the art would understand that a glass transition temperature of a multicomponent multiphase mixture/system depends on compounds included in said mixture/system. In the present case, the instant specification provides no disclosure beyond the statement, that would have been amenable for use in the present invention, nor does it teach the specific structure, physical properties or a method of identification of compounds that can be included in claimed compositions for providing said claimed property and/or should be excluded. Furthermore, it has been held that a wish or plan for obtaining the chemical invention as claimed does not provide adequate written description of a chemical invention. Rather, a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name or physical properties, is required. Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
While it is recognized that adequate written description of a limitation is not required to be stated in haec verba in the specification or claims as originally filed, adequate written support for claim limitations must arise from either an explicit or implicit suggestion by the disclosure to show that such a concept as claimed was actually in possession of applicant at the time of the invention. For the reasons provided supra, applicant has failed to provide the necessary teachings, by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means that fully set forth the claimed invention, in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that applicant had possession of the entire genus of recited constituents.
In response to applicant’s argument that the instant specification (Para. 0033, 0045) discloses a relationship between the glass-transition temperature and the ratio of soluble fiber and sugar and also discloses that the recited range of glass transition temperatures may be achieved by the recited ranges of soluble fiber and sugar alcohol, as stated previously, the instant specification does not teach or even suggest how to control the tablet composition to provide a solid solution including/comprising water soluble fiber, sugar alcohols, nicotine and oil domains depending on chemical structure of constituents included (i.e., fiber, sugar alcohols, oils, etc.), wherein said compositions may include other compounds even in large amounts (i.e., including/comprising). Therefore, the examiner maintains the position that claim 21 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 4-19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Newly amended 1 recites the limitation “the plurality of oil domains contacting the solid solution such that the plurality of oil domains physically contact the solid solution” that is unclear. To this point, it is noted that claim 1 discloses a plurality of oil domains dispersed in the solid solution. Neither the claims nor the instant specification provides a definition for the terms “contacting”, “contact”, “physically contact”. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not reasonably clear, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention. Clarification is required.
As stated previously, claim 4 recites the limitation “the water-soluble fibers include maltodextrin, …, cellulose, or any combination thereof” that is not reasonably clear. Does this limitation disclose the water-soluble fibers as a mixture of recited compounds (i.e., include/comprise), OR at least one of the recited compounds? Applicant is advised to use the proper Markush group language, i.e., “selected from the group consisting of A, B, … and C” to clarify the scope of the claim. Similar is applied to claims 6, 10, 12-14, 16, 18, 19. Clarification is required.
In response to the applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skills in the art would understand that “fibers include any one of recited compounds”, it is noted the main purpose of definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims, i.e., metes and bounds of the patent protection, are clearly defined. MPEP 2173. Therefore, clarification is required.
Claim 5 (dependent on claim 1) recites the limitation “the tablet includes sugar alcohols” that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is noted that the instant specification teaches that said tablets may include a coating comprising sugar alcohols such as sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, erythritol (Para. Para. 0042). Therefore, it is unclear if claim 5 discloses the amounts of sugar alcohols in the solid solution, OR the total amount of oils that are presented in the claimed tablets. Clarification is required.
Claim 9 (dependent on claim 1) discloses a limitation “wherein an oil in the plurality of oil domains has a melting point of less than 37 oC” that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is unclear if the recited plurality of oil domains (see claim 1) consists of a single oil having recited melting point, OR it is a combination of oils and only one oil has said melting point. Clarification is required.
Claim 11 discloses a limitation “the tablet further includes an antioxidant” that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is unclear where said functional agent is located outside of a solid solution OR within a solid solution. Therefore, that structure of the claimed tablet is not clearly delineated. Similar is applied to claim 14 regarding the limitation “including a flavorant”, to claim 15 regarding the limitation “including a filler”, to claim 17 regarding the limitation “including a plasticizer”. Further, it is noted that the same compounds, e.g., sorbitol, mannitol, are disclosed as sugar alcohols to be used in the claimed tablet in a solid solution (claim 6), and/or as fillers to be used in tablets (claims 15, 16). Clarification is required.
Claim 21 (dependent on claim 1) discloses tablets comprising “a sugar alcohol content” that is not reasonably clear. Does this limitation disclose the amount of sugar alcohol in the solid solution, OR the amount of sugar alcohols that can be present in the claimed tablet. Clarification is required.
Claims 2, 7-8, 17, 22 are rejected as being dependent on rejected independent claim 1 and failing to cure the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-MAINTAINED
Claims 1-2, 4-19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al., US 2013/0118512 (cited in IDS; hereinafter referred to as Jackson); in view of Duggins et al., US 2013/0206150 (cited in IDS; hereinafter referred to as Duggins), and Gao et al., US 2010/0291245 (cited in IDS; hereinafter referred to as Gao).
Jackson teaches dissolvable-chewable tobacco tablets (Para. 0009, 0067-0070) that include aqueous-soluble components interacting with moisture in the oral cavity and entering into solution, thereby causing gradual consumption of the product, wherein said tablets are capable of lasting in the user's mouth for a given period of time until they completely dissolve, e.g., 1-60 minutes, and/or can release the active component in less than 2 minutes, or even less than 20 sec (Para. 0068).
Jackson teaches that said tobacco products can exhibit a different texture, have a different mouth-feel, exhibit a different chew characteristic, or have a different dissolution quality in the mouth (Para. 0004; Examples). The preparation methods include combining tobacco material with carrier material (e.g., starch) and other additives for controlling the texture properties and dissolution rate (Para. 0007-0008, 0012). Jackson specifically teaches that said tobacco products can be in solid form/tablet (Para. 0009-0010, 0067; Examples 3-6 as applied to claim 1).
Jackson teaches that one can use various forms of tobacco as well as various types of tobacco, as well as nicotine comprising species, e.g., Nicotiana species obtained by genetic-modification (Para. 0013-0023 as applied to claim 1). Jackson teaches that tobacco materials can be in form of particulate, i.e., shredded, ground, granulated, powdered, etc. (Para. 0020-0022), e.g., in form of particles having a size of 50 microns or less (Para. 0020), and further teaches that said dissolvable-chewable tobacco tablets may include:
(i) 0.5-50 wt% of soluble fibers (Para. 0038), e.g., comprising starch, maltodextrin, cellulose, etc. (Para. 0008, 0042; Table 1 as applied to claims 1-2, 4), i.e., water-soluble fibers (see instant claim 4);
(ii) 5-40 wt% of sweetener (Para. 0008, 0041), e.g., sugar alcohols such as mannitol, sorbitol, xylitol, erythritol, maltitol syrup, hydrogenated starch hydrolysates, and combinations thereof (Para. 0008, 0039-0041 as applied to claims 1, 5-6);
(iii) 10-60 wt% of tobacco material/nicotine comprising species (Para. 0024, 0026 as applied to claims 1, 7);
(iv) oils, e.g., 2-4% of partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or olive oil, sesame oil, sunflower oil, mustard oil, etc. (Para. 0008, 0050 and references cited therein; Examples 3-5 as applied to claims 1, 8, 10);
(v) antioxidants (Para. 0050 as applied to claim 11);
(vi) polysaccharides (Para.0048 as applied to claim 13);
(vii) 0.5-10 wt% of flavoring ingredients, cocoa, licorice, coffee, vanilla, mint, cardamon, nutmeg, cinnamon, etc. (Para. 0019, 0044 as applied to claim 14);
(viii) 1-30 wt% of a filler, e.g., calcium carbonate, sorbitol, mannitol, etc. (Para. 0008, 0042-0043 as applied to claims 15, 16);
(ix) ≥0.5 wt% of a plasticizer/humectant, e.g., glycerin, propylene glycol (Para. 0019, 0046 as applied to claims 17, 18).
Jackson teaches that said tablets can be coated, e.g., with methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, carboxy methylcellulose (Para. 0071 as applied to claim 19). Jackson also teaches that said tablets may have a moisture content of 5-20 wt% that may vary depending upon the specific form of the tobacco product (Para. 0065), and said tobacco products can be in any suitable predetermined shape or form (Para. 0070); may be a part of a sheet structure (Para. 0058) configured for subdivision into individual tablets (Para. 0061).
Jackson teaches a process of preparing said tobacco product comprising (i) providing a slurry comprising said components (including pre-melted oils/fats; Examples); and (ii) heating the slurry to give a mixture with desired solids content (Para. 0055-0056). Jackson teaches that said compositions should be held at the elevated temperature for a predetermined duration of time so as to allow said compositions to cure and solidify, while driving the moisture content of the compositions to a desired final moisture level; and further teaches that curing refers to the solidification process in which moisture loss occurs, the viscosity of the composition is raised, and chemical and physical changes begin to occur, e.g., crystallization, cross-linking, gelling, film forming, etc. (Para. 0060).
Though Jackson teaches the use of nicotine comprising species, Jackson does not specifically teach the use of nicotine and also does not teach tablets comprising oil domains comprising nicotine (claim 1).
Duggins teaches a smokeless tobacco product providing controlled release of active agents, e.g., nicotine (Abstract; Para. 0028, 0029, 0082) that is dissolvable and chewable (Claims 1-3; Para. 0005) and may include: (a) up to 20% of maltodextrin (Para. 0040); (b) up to 50% of mannitol and sorbitol (Para. 0061-0062); (c) 10-15% of soybean oil, palm oil, palm kernel oil, and/or mixture thereof (Para. 0071-0072); (d) propylene glycol (here as a humectant; Para. 0033); (e) antioxidants (Para. 0051); (f) a colorant, e.g., titanium dioxide (Para. 0051); and (g) nicotine as an active agent (Para. 0044, 0082). Duggins teaches the use of non-hydroscopic sugar alcohols capable of forming a glassy matrix (Para. 0069), and also teaches that said tobacco products can be provided in any suitable predetermined shape or form (Para. 0020, 0083, 0162); and the tablet may be a part of a sheet structure (Para. 0164, 0170).
Gao teaches soft, chewable and orally dissolvable products (element 10 shown on the right) comprising biopolymer-sugar based matrix and optional additives (element 14), and flavor beads (elements 12; Figs 1-3; Abstract). To this point, Gao teaches that said products may include: (i) 1-35 wt % of such biopolymers as polysaccharides, cellulose, etc. and/or mixture thereof (Claim 12, 24; Para. 0011, 0012); (ii) 2-60 wt% of such sugar alcohols as sorbitol, xylitol, lactitol, maltitol, etc. and/or mixture thereof in sugar-based matrix (Claims 11, 24; Para. 0013-0015); (iii) 1-5 wt% of flavor beads that include encapsulated flavorants, e.g., olive oil, sesame oil, sunflower oil, bergamot oil, lemon oil, etc. and/or other additives or botanicals, and wherein said beads are randomly or uniformly distributed throughout the based matrix (Claims 18; Para. 0070-0080); (iv) tobacco powder (i.e., various forms of tobacco and/or various types of tobacco) that can be encapsulated into flavor beads (Para. 0076) or dispersed through the matrix as powder particles having at list one liners dimension of less than 297 micron (Claims 1-4; Para. 0007, 0032-0034); (v) up to 10 wt% of other additives, e.g., antioxidants, colorants, etc. (Para. 0016); (vi) softener and/or plasticizer, such as glycerin can be used to add additional softness to the biopolymer-sugar based matrix (Para. 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use/try nicotine (instead of tobacco or nicotine comprising species as taught by Jackson) dispersed through the matrix and/or encapsulated into flavor beads as taught by Duggins and Gao preparing compositions/tablets taught by Jackson, because it is prima facie obvious to combine compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a new composition to be used for the very same purpose. MPEP 2144.06. In the present case, all cited references are reasonably drawn to the same field of endeavor that is chewable and orally dissolvable products/tablets comprising an active agent (e.g., tobacco, nicotine, etc.). One would do so with expectation of beneficial results, because the cited prior art teaches compounds (e.g., nicotine) that modifying a delivery profile during the use (Duggins; Para. 0004), and/or also teaches that using flavor beads allow controlling flavor delivery, providing additional texture and flavor to the chewable and orally dissolvable/disintegrable product/tablet.
Regarding the physical properties, i.e., “melting transition point”, “glass transition temperature” as instantly claimed (claims 9, 21, 22), it is noted that given that the cited prior art teaches the use of chemical constituents/compounds (i.e., maltodextrin fibers, sugar alcohols, oils) as instantly claimed, it is expected that said constituents/compounds have the physical properties as instantly claimed. Further, it is noted that the prior art teaches formulations/tablets that are substantially the same as the tablets recited by the instant claims. Therefore, it is expected that since the prior art is comprised of the same components, the same beneficial properties (e.g., stability, rate release, disintegration time, etc.) and effects would also be provided.
With regards to the concentrations as instantly claimed, it is noted that differences in experimental parameters, such as concentration of compounds in a formulation, will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such parameter is critical. To this point, it is noted that cited prior art teaches that the relative amounts of various components within the product may vary so as to provide the desired sensory and performance characteristics to the tobacco/nicotine product, e.g., crisp/hard/soft/elastic chew tobacco product (e.g., Jackson - Para. 0010; 0052; Examples 1-6) identifying thereby said characteristics as result-effective variables. The determination of suitable or effective concentration/composition can be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art through the use of routine or manipulative experimentation to obtain optimal results, as these are variable parameters attainable within the art. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6,264,981 (cited in IDS) - teaches oral dosage forms comprising solid solution, wherein said dosage forms include nicotine; cellulose, starch and derivative thereof; lactitol, sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, maltodextrin, propylene glycol; and other additives, e.g., colorants, sweetening agents, antioxidants, plasticizers.
US 2007/0196396 (cited in IDS) – teaches controlled release dosage forms/tablets that may include a solid solution of the active ingredient and solubilizer to increase the solubility of the active ingredient, wherein said dosage forms may include cellulose, starch and/or derivatives thereof, hydrogenated oils, sorbitol, propylene glycol, maltodextrin, and specifically teaches the use of cellulose fibers as swelling enhancer.
US 2005/0244521 (cited in IDS) – teaches orally disintegrable smokeless tobacco compositions/tabs that may contain flavors, colors, and other additives; and include oils, sorbitol and/or mannitol as a sweetener, propylene glycol as a plasticizer and soluble fibers/maltodextrin as a filler.
US 2005/0002996 (cited in IDS) – teaches dosage forms/tablets may include oils, sorbitol, mannitol, starch, cellulose and derivatives thereof, propylene glycol, antioxidants, etc., and specifically teaches the use of 50-99.9 wt% of cellulose fibers that can be hydrophilic or hydrophobic, have a median particle size of 3-30 micron to stabilize and release the active agent.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-2, 4-19, 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over (1) claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,045; (2) claims 1-3, 5-13, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,274,276, (3) claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,685,332.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because:
The prior patent US 11,779,045 claims: A dissolvable-chewable tablets comprising: (i) soluble fibers; (ii) sugar alcohols; (iii) a plurality of oil domains dispersed through the tablet; and (iv) other additives, e.g., exhausted-tobacco, nicotine fibers, plasticizer, antioxidant. Further, the specification of the prior patent teaches that (i) said tablets may include a solid solution of soluble fiber and one or more sugar alcohols; (ii) pockets of oil, flavor, and nicotine; (iii) oil can be added to a molten mixture including sugar alcohol(s), soluble fibers, and nicotine. The specification of the prior patent also teaches that “soluble fiber dissolves in ambient water”. Further, the prior patent teaches that tablets can include nicotine within a solid solution of soluble fiber and one or more sugar alcohols, or, e.g., in a coating to provide a user with readily available nicotine. Therefore, the claimed invention is directed to the same invention or is an obvious variation of the inventions claimed in said prior patent.
In response to the applicant’s argument that said prior patent does not disclose the tablets that “are free of tobacco plant tissue”, it is noted that the instant application teaches the tablets that are substantially free of tobacco plant tissues, i.e., may include less than 0.5 wt% of tobacco plant tissue (Speciation, Para. 0036), whereas said prior patent teaches the tablets that may include 0.5 wt% or more of tobacco plant tissue. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to try to minimize amounts of tobacco plant tissue in chewable tablets, e.g., to minimize potential health risks caused by said constituent.
The prior patent US 12,274,276 claims: Chewable dissolvable tablets comprising: solid solution comprising (i) soluble fibers; (ii) sugar alcohols, (iii) oils; and (iv) one or more additives within a solid solution of soluble fiber and one or more sugar alcohols and in a coating, e.g., therapeutic agents; antioxidants, flavorants, exhausted-tobacco fibers, filler. The specification of said prior patent also teaches that “soluble fiber dissolves in ambient water”. It would be obvious to try such additive as nicotine to be included in said tablets, because said prior patent teaches that said approach provides dissolvable-chewable tablets, wherein said additives can be released at a rate such that a majority of them is absorbed transbuccally, rather than swallowed. Therefore, the claimed invention is directed to the same invention or is an obvious variation of the inventions claimed in said prior patent.
In response to the applicant’s argument that said prior patent does not disclose the tablets that “are free of tobacco plant tissue” and “plurality of oil domains contact the solid solution” as wells as nicotine, it is noted that said prior patent (i) teaches tablets that do not include tobacco plant tissues; (ii) teaches that an oil dispersed in the solid solution (see claim 1); and also (iii) teaches the use of additives such as therapeutics. It would be obvious to try/use such therapeutic additive as nicotine (e.g., to release neurotransmitters such as dopamine, acetylcholine, norepinephrine, e.g., to reduce anxiety; see Wikipedia) to be included in said tablets, because said prior patent teaches that said approach provides dissolvable-chewable tablets, wherein said additives can be released at a rate such that a majority of them is absorbed transbuccally, rather than swallowed.
The prior patent US 12,685,332 (continuation of US 11,779,045) claims: Chewable dissolvable tablets comprising (i) soluble fibers; (ii) sugar alcohols, (iii) oils; and (iv) other additive(s), i.e., nicotine; antioxidant, flavorants, exhausted-tobacco fibers, filler. The specification of the prior patent teaches that (i) said tablets may include a solid solution of soluble fiber and one or more sugar alcohols; (ii) pockets of oil, flavor, and nicotine; (iii) oil can be added to a molten mixture including sugar alcohol(s), soluble fibers, and nicotine. The specification of the prior patent also teaches that “soluble fiber dissolves in ambient water”. Further, the prior patent teaches that tablets can include nicotine within a solid solution of soluble fiber and one or more sugar alcohols, or, e.g., in a coating to provide a user with readily available nicotine. Therefore, the claimed invention is directed to the same invention or is an obvious variation of the inventions claimed in said prior patent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 07/20/2026, have been considered, but they were not found to be persuasive for the reasons set forth above. New arguments and/or rejections have been added to the record to clarify the position of the examiner and/or to address newly introduced amendments. Additional examiner comments are set forth next.
In response to applicant’s argument that cites prior art does not teach tablets that are free of tobacco plant tissue, it is noted that Jackson teaches dissolvable-chewable tobacco tablets comprising claimed compounds, wherein said tablets may include nicotine comprising species. Duggins and Gao teach dissolvable-chewable tobacco products that may include an active agent, e.g., nicotine (Duggins), and also teach that encapsulating an active agent into flavor beads or dispersing through the matrix can be used for controlling flavor delivery, providing additional texture and flavor to chewable and orally dissolvable/disintegrable product (Duggins, Gao). Therefore, the examiner maintains the positions that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use/try nicotine (instead of tobacco or nicotine comprising species as taught by Jackson) dispersed through the matrix and/or encapsulated into flavor beads as taught by Duggins and Gao preparing compositions/tablets taught by Jackson, because the cited prior art teaches that said approach can be used for controlling flavor delivery, providing additional texture and flavor to chewable and orally dissolvable/disintegrable product/tablets. Applicant is advised to clarify the claim language, the scope of the claims, the structure of the claimed product/tablet, and clearly point out the patentable novelty, which the applicant thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art, to place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/OLGA V. TCHERKASSKAYA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615