Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al (US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saito et al teaches a control apparatus comprising: an acceleration detection unit configured to detect an acceleration (See Fig 3 302 and Para 31 regarding detected acceleration by gyro sensor, which allows for: "the motion information acquisition unit 105 acquires detection data of the gyro sensor or the acceleration sensor which is mounted in the external device as the motion information of the external device. In another example related to the second motion information, it is possible to acquire and use detection information of a traveling operation state such as the steering angle of a vehicle or depression amounts of an accelerator and a brake. " i.e. acceleration detection unit configured to detect an acceleration is a gyro sensor); at least one processor; and at least one memory in communication with the at least one processor (Para 88 teaches processor and memory),
the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a motion vector from video data within a vehicle obtained by an image capturing unit (Fig 11 and Para 77-79, an image 1101 captured inside the vehicle 402 by the imaging device 401. A rectangular region 1102 within the image 1101 represents a vehicle window, and a region other than the rectangular region 1102 represents a region inside the vehicle such as an interior part. i.e. determine motion vector from video data within a vehicle);
and determine, based on a result of the determination for each position, as an out-of-vehicle region, a region in which an object outside of the vehicle within the video data appears (Para 77-79, the image analysis unit 801 determines whether each of motion vectors detected from a plurality of regions in an image is detected from the region inside or outside the vehicle. The image analysis unit 801 determines that a region in which more vectors are detected is a region (region to be imaged) which is imaged by the photographer 403 with the imaging device 401. i.e. determine a region (outside of the vehicle) in which motion vectors occur by comparing change in vehicle gyro (accelerometer) and image motion vectors).
Regarding the limitation: determine whether there is a correlation between an Saito et al teaches determining correlations between a motion vector magnitude (Fig 11 and Para 77-79, the image analysis unit 801 calculates a difference between the amount of motion acquired from the gyro sensor 406 of the vehicle 402 and the magnitude of the motion vector detected from the captured image. i.e. determining correlation between motion acquired (acceleration information, see Fig 3 302 and Para 31) and magnitude of the motion vector detected from the captured image) and a detected acceleration (See Fig 3 302 and Para 31 regarding detected acceleration by gyro sensor, which allows for: "the motion information acquisition unit 105 acquires detection data of the gyro sensor or the acceleration sensor which is mounted in the external device as the motion information of the external device. In another example related to the second motion information, it is possible to acquire and use detection information of a traveling operation state such as the steering angle of a vehicle or depression amounts of an accelerator and a brake.") during a predetermined period (Fig 11 and Para 77-79, there is a difference in motion vectors detected in the regions inside and outside the vehicle 402. If pieces of motion information are compared with each other using this, it can be determined whether the imaging device 401 captures an image of the inside or the outside of the vehicle. i.e. because motion is being captured using images, preset period is time between frames of captured video discussed in Para 29 "sequentially generates frame images."). However, Saito et al does not specifically teach an amount of change of a determined motion vector, as can be seen by the strikethrough above.
Furthermore, Saito et al does not teach a "fixed" camera, as can be seen by the strikethrough above.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shamshiri et al teaches using an amount of change of a determined motion vector (Para 157, the image processing module 8a is configured to track the movements of each of the image components IMC(n) in the image IMG1a. In particular, the image processing module 8a determines a movement vector V(n) for each discrete image component IMC(n). The movement vectors V(n) each comprise a magnitude and a direction. The image processing module 8a may optionally also determine a rate of change of the magnitude and/or the direction of the movement vectors V(n) (representative of linear acceleration and/or rotational acceleration). In accordance with an embodiment, the image processing module 8a applies a correction factor to the movement vector V(n) of the target image component in dependence on the movement vector(s) V(n) of one or more non-target image components. […] the image processing module 8a considers these non-target image components as having a fixed geospatial location (i.e. they are a static or stationary feature) and that their movement in the image IMG1a is due to local movement of the optical sensor 11a, for example as a result of movement of the host vehicle 2a. i.e. an amount of change of a motion vector which is correlated (associated with) movement of the vehicle detected by an accelerometer, see Fig 4c) detected in an image and correlating it with a detected acceleration (Fig 4c, measured movement of target vehicle from camera and movement of host vehicle from IMU are compared) for each position of features in the video data.
In regards to the fixed camera, Shamshiri et al teaches a fixed camera (Para 152 and Fig 2a, the sensing means 7a is mounted in a forward-facing orientation to establish a detection region in front of the host vehicle 2a. The sensing means 7a comprises at least one optical sensor 11a mounted to the host vehicle 2a. i.e. a mounted (fixed) camera inside of the vehicle facing out).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Saito et al (US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) so that the system includes correlation a change in amount of motion vectors detected in an image during a time period and a fixed camera. Doing so would allow for improvement the object detection system, for example over a rough surface. The modified movement vector may provide more accurate positioning information of the target object relative to the vehicle (Para 17, Shamshiri et al).
Regarding claim 2, Saito et al teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further caused to determine, as a motion vector of a moving object within the vehicle, a motion vector lacking correlation to a motion vector of the out-of-vehicle region from among determined motion vectors, in relation to the video data obtained by the image capturing unit (Para 78 and Fig 11, in this manner, there is a difference in motion vectors detected in the regions inside and outside the vehicle 402. i.e. determine a difference (lack of correlation) to a motion vector inside of and outside of the vehicle from among determined motion vectors).
Regarding claim 3, Saito et al teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further caused to determine, as a motion vector of a moving object within the vehicle, a motion vector that deviates from the out-of-vehicle region from among the determined motion vectors, in relation to the video data obtained by the image capturing unit (Para 78 and Fig 11, the calculated difference is equal to or less than the threshold, the image analysis unit 801 determines that the detected motion vector is a motion vector detected from the region inside the vehicle in the image. In addition, if the calculated difference is larger than the threshold, the image analysis unit 801 determines that the detected motion vector is a motion vector detected from the region outside the vehicle in the image. i.e. inside/outside vehicle motion vector deviates (is different than threshold compared to opposite inside/outside vehicle motion vector)).
Regarding claims 7-9, claims 7-9 rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-3 in the combination above, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 rejected for the same reason as claim 1 in the combination above.
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) and Nishida et al (US 5210566 A).
Regarding claim 4, Saito et al and Shamshiri et al in the combination do not teach, the control apparatus according to claim 1, where the processor is further caused to control the image capturing unit to perform an appropriate exposure in relation to a region indicated by a motion vector for which it is determined that there is a correlation in the preset period.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nishida et al teaches, the control apparatus according to claim 1, where the processor is further caused to control the image capturing unit to perform an appropriate exposure in relation to a region indicated by a motion vector for which it is determined that there is a correlation in the preset period (Col 3 line 61 - col 4 line 18, a photographic optical controlling apparatus for controlling exposure based on an image signal obtained at a photometric area designated on a photographic screen, said apparatus comprising: a motion vector detecting means for detecting the motion of an image from the correlation of two time continuous image data; and a photometric area controlling means which detects the motion of the main object from the output of said motion vector detecting means, and causes the photometric area to follow the motion of the main object. i.e. moving vector detecting means detects region indicated by a motion vector for which it is determined there is a correlation (between the motion in the images, the time period is the time period between the two images depending on the framerate) and changes the photometric area, or exposure (perform an appropriate exposure), based on this correlation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Saito et al US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) and Nishida et al (US 5210566 A) so that the processor is further caused to control the image capturing unit to perform an appropriate exposure in relation to a region indicated by a motion vector for which it is determined that there is a correlation in the preset period. Doing so would allow for focusing or the exposure controlling operation to be carried out accurately following the motion of a main object, irrespective of the positional change of the object the screen (Abst, Nishida et al).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 in the combination above.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) and Hamano et al (US 20220242316 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Saito et al and Shamshiri et al in the combination do not teach, the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further caused to store the determined out-of-vehicle region until a predetermined condition is satisfied, and to execute processing for determining a new out-of-vehicle region in a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hamano et al teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further caused to store the determined out-of-vehicle region until a predetermined condition is satisfied, and to execute processing for determining a new out-of-vehicle region in a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied (Para 7, based on one or more of an output from a front-view camera that captures an image of an outside area ahead of the vehicle, an output from a vehicle speed sensor, and an output from an in-vehicle camera that captures an image of a driver. When the environment determination unit predicts an occurrence of a backward movement of the vehicle, the rear-view camera is switched from a stopped state to an activated state, and the image processing unit starts the predetermined image processing on the data of the image received from the rear-view camera in the activated state. i.e. store (capture and process - the image is sent to the display) the determined out-of-vehicle region (the area ahead of the vehicle) until a predetermined condition is satisfied (occurrence of backward movement of the vehicle), and executing processing for a new out-of-vehicle region (rear-view camera instead of from view camera) when a predetermined condition is satisfied (rear-view camera switched from a stopped state to an activated state when backward movement occurrence occurs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Saito et al US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) and Hamano et al (US 20220242316 A1) so that the processor is further caused to store the determined out-of-vehicle region until a predetermined condition is satisfied, and to execute processing for determining a new out-of-vehicle region in a case where the predetermined condition is satisfied. Doing so would allow prompt switching of the display to the output image from the image processing unit when the user performs a backward movement operation (Hamano et al, Para 13).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 rejected for the same reasons as claim 5 in the combination above.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) and Jain et al (US 20200348136 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Saito et al and Shamshiri et al in the combination do not teach, the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the process is further caused to, in a case of detecting acceleration of at least two or more different axes, output the acceleration of the axis for which an amount of change is largest in relation to a movement of the vehicle.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jain et al teaches, the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the process is further caused to, in a case of detecting acceleration of at least two or more different axes, output the acceleration of the axis for which an amount of change is largest in relation to a movement of the vehicle (Para 79, the orthogonal transformation minimizes the correlation between the longitudinal and lateral axis acceleration. The orthogonal transformation method is used to identify the axis in which most significant motion occurs (vehicle's motion in the longitudinal direction in a straight line) while minimizing the correlation between two horizontal acceleration vectors. i.e. determine acceleration for the axis for which an amount of change is largest (axis in which most significant motion occurs) in relation to the other (or more) axes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Saito et al US 20210258490 A1) in view of Shamshiri et al (US 20210012119 A1) and Jain et al (US 20200348136 A1) so that the process is further caused to, in a case of detecting acceleration of at least two or more different axes, output the acceleration of the axis for which an amount of change is largest in relation to a movement of the vehicle. Doing so would allow for an improved device and method of accurately analyzing the location of the user is provided, which is especially beneficial when GPS/GNSS signals are not strong enough or available (Para 4, Jain et al).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 in the combination above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20220292686-A1
US-20180307914-A1
US-20180012368-A1
US-20170278252-A1
US-20150317834-A1
/JACK PETER KRAYNAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/UTPAL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668