DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2021/020928), where Kim et al. (US 2023/0077439) (hereafter “Kim”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, and 19, Kim teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0818]-[0823]) (claims 13-15). Kim teaches the light emitting layer comprises a host and a blue emitting dopant and that the amount of the host is greater than that dopant (paragraphs [0818]-[0823]) (claims 14-16 and 19). Kim teaches that the dopant can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
are a few examples (paragraphs [0365] and [0818]-[0823]) (claims 1, 2, and 4-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2021/0104682) (hereafter “Shin”) in view of Kim et al. (WO 2021/020928), where Kim et al. (US 2023/0077439) (hereafter “Kim”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-19, Shin teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0335]-[0346]) (claims 13-15). Shin teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material, a phosphorescent dopant (sensitizer), and a fluorescent dopant that emits blue light and the amount of the host material is greater than both dopant materials (between 400-490nm) (paragraphs [0030] and [0337]) (claims 14-19). Shin teaches that the fluorescent dopant can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
are a few examples (paragraphs [0101] and [0335]-[0346]).
Shin does not teach where the fluorescent dopant comprises a group that meets formula 2.
Kim teaches an electroluminescent device comprising similar boron fluorescent dopants (paragraphs [0002] and [0010]). Kim teaches that adding a group with a cycloalkene ring to the compound can improve the stability of the compounds due to the lowering the sublimation temperature (paragraph [0050]). This can lead to an improvement in the lifetime and efficiency of the device with the compound (paragraph [0050]). Kim teaches that the group with the cycloalkyl group can be attached to the N atom in the boron heterocyclic compound, such as in
(paragraph [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorescent dopants of Shin so the phenyl groups are substituted with
groups as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve the stability of the compound and improve the efficiency and lifetime of the device. This would lead to compounds that meet applicant’s claimed compounds 6 and 8 as examples.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2021/020928), where Kim et al. (US 2023/0077439) (hereafter “Kim”) is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, and 19 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2019/0341557).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Kim does not teach where the light emitting layer further comprises a sensitizer.
Lin teaches adding a sensitizer to a layer can help transfer energy to the emitting dopant in electroluminescent devices (paragraph [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim so the emitting layer comprises a sensitizer as taught by Lin. The motivation would have been to increase the transfer of energy to the emitting dopant.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2021/020928), where Kim et al. (US 2023/0077439) (hereafter “Kim”) is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-16, and 19 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0179238) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 20, Kim does not teach where emitting dopant is used in a diagnostic composition.
Lee teaches electroluminescent device comprising a light emitting layer (paragraphs [0332]-[0334]). Lee teaches that the light emitting dopant material can as be used in diagnostic composition (paragraphs [0007], [0046], [0272], and [0273]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to use the emitting dopant of Kim in a diagnostic composition as taught by Lee. Both Kim and Lee teach emitting dopants for use in the light emitting layer of an electroluminescent device, but only Lee teaches that the materials can also be used in diagnostic composition. Given the similarity between the Lee and Kim it would have been obvious to try to use the emitting material of Kim in a diagnostic material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2021/0104681) teaches a light emitting layer comprising two hosts, a sensitizer, and a boron heterocyclic compound as the emitting material.
Sim et al. (US 2023/0146532) teaches compounds that meets the applicant’s claimed invention.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759