DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,800,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and patented claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter, claiming many of the same materials and devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Je et al (US 2009/0104472) (Je).
In reference to claims 16-25 and 27-28, Je teaches compound of formula 1, specifically compound 2-9 as shown below ([0011], [0013]).
For claim 16: Reads on a compound of formula (1) wherein n is 2, two of X form a group of Formula (3), Each group Z is CR1 wherein one group R1 is a group Si(R3)3, each R3 is methyl, two groups X are CR1 and each R1 is methyl, each other group X is CH, p is 0, one group Y is N and each other group Y is CR2, each R2 is hydrogen, L’ is a bidentate acetyl acetate ligand and m is 1.
For Claim 17: Reads on formula (7).
For Claim 18: Reads on wherein no groups X is N and no groups Z is N.
For Claim 19: Reads on formula (7a).
For Claim 20 and 22: Reads on wherein n is 2 and L’ is a non-ortho-metalated ligand.
For Claim 21 and 23: Reads on wherein L’ is a diketonate.
For Claim 24: Reads on formula HetAr-6.
For Claim 25: Reads on wherein R2 radicals are H.
For Claim 27: Reads on wherein each R1 is H, alkyl or Si(R3)3.
For Claim 28: Reads on wherein L’ is bonded via two oxygen atoms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al (US 2009/0104472) (Je).
In reference to claims 31-32, Je teaches the compound as described above for claim 16 and further teaches its use in an organic electroluminescent device and a luminescent material ([0002]).
While Je does not exemplify a device with this exact material, it would have been immediately obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the material of Je in the device application of Je with the anticipation of providing a functional light emitting device.
In reference to claims 29-30, Je teaches that the compounds of the inventive formula 1 are prepared by reaction of the ligand with iridium chloride in a solution of ethyoxyethanol and water [0034].
While Je does not describe this specific materials synthesis using these methods, it would have been immediately obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the synthetic procedure of Je in the preparation of alternative organometallic complexes of Je with the anticipation of providing the desired product.
In reference to claims 26, Je teaches a compound of formula 1 as shown below [0011]
for example, wherein in the formula 1, M is Ir [0041], R3 is a heteroaryl group that is substituted by an aryl group [0011] for example a compound of formula 2-9 that is further substituted.
Je discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein the R3 pyridine is further substituted with an aryl group. Each of the disclosed substituents from the Markush groups of Je are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Je and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 26: Reads on HetAr-6a.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786