DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14-15, 19-20, and 22-29 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/18/2025.
Claims 1, 3-4, 12, 14-15, 20, and 22-28 are amended. Accordingly, the amended claims are being fully considered by the examiner.
In response to applicant’s amendments to the claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 20, 22 and 24-28, all the 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of these claims and corresponding dependent claims as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Examiner notes that claim 19 was rejected for being dependent upon cancelled claim 18. Thus, claim 19 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 20:
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims recite, based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact-sensor makes physical contact…
The term “contact-sensor” includes a dash “-” in between the words contact and sensor that is inconsistent compared to the terms “contact sensor” (without the dash “-”) used in the rest of the claim. Therefore, it is a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20:
Claim is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim recites, moving a moveable head of the CNC machine (i) downward …
There is typographical error such as the numbering “(i)” was not deleted, because the next numbering “(ii)” was deleted by the applicant’s amendments.
(examiner notes that other similar dependent claims 1 and 12 are used as examples).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
35 USC §112(d)
Claim 19:
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 19 depends from cancelled claim 18; and therefore, being incomplete for missing the limitations of cancelled claim 18. Thus, it’s unclear what limitations are claimed by claim 19.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For the examination purpose, it is construed that claim 19 depends from the independent claim 12 since cancelled claim 18 was dependent on independent claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14-15, 19-20, and 22-24, 26, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro’93 et al. (US20170235293A1) [hereinafter Shapiro’93], and further in view of ILIC (US20160014906A1) [hereinafter ILIC].
Regarding claim 1 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 discloses, A computer-numerically-controlled (CNC) machine comprising: a housing surrounding an enclosure; [¶52: “The CNC machine 100 can have a housing surrounding an enclosure or interior area defined by the housing.”];
a moveable head configured to deliver electromagnetic energy to a material at least partially contained within the enclosure; [¶54: “the CNC machine 100 can have one or more movable heads that can be operated to alter the material 140.” “movable head can be the head 160.” “In the case of a laser-cutter CNC machine, the head 160 can include optical components, mirrors, cameras, and other electronic components used to perform the desired machining operations.”… ¶55: “the movable head moves, the movable head can deliver electromagnetic energy to effect a change in the material 140 that is at least partially contained within the interior space.”];
sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head and configured to detect a surface of the material;” [¶54: “the head 160 can include optical components, mirrors, cameras, and other electronic components used to perform the desired machining operations.”… ¶77: “a head camera 120 can be mounted to the head 160.” “One use of the head camera 120 can be to image the cut made in the material 140. The head camera 120 can identify the location of the material 140 more precisely than possible with the lid camera 110.”… ¶74: “Cameras can also be capable of motion such as translation to a plurality of positions, rotation, and/or tilting along one or more axes.”];
at least one data processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the CNC machine is configured to: [¶13: “tangibly embodied machine-readable medium operable to cause one or more machines (e.g., computers, etc.) to result in operations implementing one or more of the described features. Similarly, computer systems are also described that may include one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors.” “A memory, which can include a computer-readable storage medium, may include, encode, store, or the like one or more programs that cause one or more processors to perform one or more of the operations described herein”];
for each of a plurality of locations on the surface of the material:
move the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location….
move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the…sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶94: “Multiple cameras, or a single camera moved to different locations in the CNC machine 100, can provide images from different angles to generate 3D representations of the surface of the material 140 or an object.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “the position and orientation of the optical elements inside the head 160 can be varied to adjust the position, angle,” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, detecting surface of the material by moving the head vertically up (e.g.; not touching the surface and moving upward away from the surface) and down (e.g.; moving down) in z axis direction for different locations of the surface (e.g.; surface features detected by moving head 160 up and down in z axis directions)];
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location…determine a height of the material at the location; [¶134: “Data can be acquired by the cameras and the data can be associated with the known thickness of the object.” “the cameras can determine the height of the surface the material 140 is resting on.” “if there are other pieces of material 140 between the topmost material 140 and the material bed 150, the cameras can measure the height of the topmost surface” “or measure the height of the topmost surface in a location”… ¶135: “the height at different points can be measured, for example in a grid pattern, on the surface of the material 140 in order to characterize the curvature of the material 140.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, determining height/depth of the material at the location based on the vertical z direction movement of the head (e.g.; - z, downward movement)];
based on the determined height of the material at the location, determine a respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location; [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum, or other known size, which corresponds to the surface of the material 140 being at the focal length of the lens 570.” “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140.”… ¶152: “The laser used for this may be the primary cutting laser, or a secondary laser (typically lower-power laser at a frequency that is viewable more readily with a camera, such as a helium-neon laser).”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, focal length of the electromagnetic energy is adjusted based on determined height/depth/thickness (e.g.; surface features using the image captured by the cameras)];
cause the moveable head to, for one or more of the plurality of locations: set the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy at the location; [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan. Also, the cameras can monitor a laser's spot size, either the primary cutting laser or a secondary one, as described above, to maintain a specified focal distance for the most precise cutting”… ¶152: “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”];
deliver electromagnetic energy at the location to effect a change in the surface of the material at the location. [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”… ¶175: “By varying the laser power, for a given dwell time at a particular location, the depth of the cut can be varied. For example, to a simple approximation, if the laser power is doubled, then in a given time period, twice as much material 140 can be expected to be ablated during the cut.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose,
a contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head and configured to detect a surface of the material;
for each of a plurality of locations on the surface of the material:
move the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location;
in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location;
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, determine a height of the material at the location;
However, ILIC discloses, a contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head and configured to detect a surface of the material; [¶64: “the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded.”… ¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”
ILIC teaches, touch probe sensor S mechanically coupled to the head carriage 16 and detect a surface of the substrate material 10];
for each of a plurality of locations on the surface of the material:
move the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”];
in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”
Examiner notes that, regarding this limitation, applicant’s specification ¶145 only describes, sensor 600 can be a touch-off probe and the height of the material 140 may be measured and/or inferred via a step counter, an encoder, a potentiometer; and sensor 600 can be a wire coupled with the head 160 and the height of the material 140 at various locations may be determined based on a response of the wire to the surface of the material 140, where response of the wire can be magnitude of a force acting on the wire, an angle of the wire, and/or the like.
This limitation is given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined.
ILIC teaches, after touch probe sensor S touches material surface 10, move the touch probe S with head 16 upward (touch probe tip is urged away from substrate material 10)];
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, determine a height of the material at the location; [¶63: “the height profile of the substrate material 10 can be determined by a proximity sensor S. Proximity sensor S is incorporated to map out the surface of the substrate material 10” “hence it generates a map of the entire printing surface.”… ¶64: “As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10. This provides information to the dispensing heads 18 and 22, of detected height variations on the surface of substrate material 10.”
As described above, this limitation also given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined, where the head is capable of moving upward and downward.
ILIC teaches, as described above, touch probe S touches the surface of material 10, and based on the amount of downward movement (i.e.; z direction information) until the probe S touches the surface 10, a height of the material is determined].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the contact sensor coupled moveable head and capability of the contact sensor detecting a surface of the material; and combined the capability of, for each of a plurality of locations on the surface of the material, moving the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; moving the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; and determining a height of the material at the location based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location in order to have precise control of the head by maintaining a suitable distance using the determined height information to achieve precise pattern taught by ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to control precise material deposition and to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces [ILIC: (¶60) “distance D is maintained at a substantially consistent value” “to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces and hence an overall poor quality circuit pattern.”].
Regarding claim 3 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, wherein the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head comprises a probe or wire.
However, ILIC discloses, wherein the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head comprise a probe or wire. [¶64: “the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded.”
Examiner notes that claim requires only one of a probe or wire.
ILIC teaches, touch prove coupled to the head].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1 and 3, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, the probe or wire extends downward from the moveable head toward the surface of the material.
However, ILIC discloses, the probe or wire extends downward from the moveable head toward the surface of the material. [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10.”
Examiner notes that claim requires only one of a probe or wire.
ILIC teaches, touch prove coupled to the head].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8:
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim 1,
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, further comprising one or more cameras [¶54: “the head 160 can include” “cameras,” “used to perform the desired machining operations.”… ¶77: “a head camera 120 can be mounted to the head 160.”];
program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer- readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the CNC machine is configured to,
for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, project a dot of light onto the surface of the material at the location; [¶149: “FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating the determination of material 140 thickness by the lid camera 110 imaging a spot on the material 140 produced by a distance-finding light source 1510,” “a well-collimated light beam from the distance-finding light source 910, for example from a laser diode or LED with a tight beam, can be pointed at the material 140 at an angle.”… ¶190: “The machine-readable medium can store such machine instructions non-transitorily, such as for example as would a non-transient solid-state memory or a magnetic hard drive or any equivalent storage medium.”];
program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer- readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the CNC machine is configured to
detect, via the one or more cameras, a change in a size of the dot of light projected onto the surface of the material at the location; [¶149: “determination of material 140 thickness by the lid camera 110 imaging a spot on the material 140 produced by a distance-finding light source 1510,”… ¶34: “FIG. 16 is a diagram illustrating determination material thickness by imaging a laser spot size,”… ¶150: “the distance-finding light source 1510 can have a measureable divergence. If the material 140 is thick, then the spot on the surface of the material 140 will appear to be small. If the material 140 is thin, then the spot will be larger, as the light will have diverged more before it intersects the material. The thickness of the material 140 can be determined using a trigonometric calculation based on the known divergence angle and the measured size of the spot on the surface.”];
wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the CNC machine is configured to
determine the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location
comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the CNC machine is configured to
determine the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location further based on the change in the size of the dot of light projected onto the surface of the material at the location. [¶151: “the focal length of the distance-finding camera can be made to be as small as possible. If the beam spot is near to the camera it will be in focus and therefore appear smaller; if it is far away, it will be blurry and thus larger and dimmer. This technique may be combined with the divergence technique to make the increase in spot size even more easily detected.”… ¶152: “To provide precise cuts, the laser should be focused at the surface of the material 140.” “If a lens 570 in the head 160 specifies a particular focal point for the laser, then a minimum spot size 1610 can be measured by a camera viewing the laser spot on the surface. Conversely, if the material 140 is not at a distance equal to the focal length of the lens 570, then the spot size 1620 will be larger. By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum, or other known size, which corresponds to the surface of the material 140 being at the focal length of the lens 570.” “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”… ¶149: “The location of the bright spot on the material 140 can thus be directly proportional to the thickness of the material 140.”].
Regarding claim 9:
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1 and 8, and
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, the change in the size of the dot of light projected onto the surface of the material at the location comprises the size of the dot of light reaching a minimum size. [¶152: “if a lens 570 in the head 160 specifies a particular focal point for the laser, then a minimum spot size 1610 can be measured by a camera viewing the laser spot on the surface.” “By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum,”… ¶150: “the distance-finding light source 1510 can have a measureable divergence. If the material 140 is thick, then the spot on the surface of the material 140 will appear to be small.”… ¶151: “the focal length of the distance-finding camera can be made to be as small as possible. If the beam spot is near to the camera it will be in focus and therefore appear smaller;”].
Regarding claim 10:
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1, and
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, wherein the moveable head is contained within the enclosure. [¶54: “the CNC machine 100 can have one or more movable heads that can be operated to alter the material 140.” “movable head can be the head 160.” “In the case of a laser-cutter CNC machine, the head 160 can include optical components, mirrors, cameras, and other electronic components used to perform the desired machining operations.”
SHAPIRO’93 fig.1 shows head 160 inside the enclosure].
Regarding claim 11:
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1,
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the CNC machine is configured to
generate a surface map indicating the height of the material based on the determined height of the material at the plurality of locations. [¶134: “Data can be acquired by the cameras and the data can be associated with the known thickness of the object.” “the cameras can determine the height of the surface the material 140 is resting on.” “if there are other pieces of material 140 between the topmost material 140 and the material bed 150, the cameras can measure the height of the topmost surface” “or measure the height of the topmost surface in a location”… ¶135: “the height at different points can be measured, for example in a grid pattern, on the surface of the material 140 in order to characterize the curvature of the material 140.”
SHAPIRO’93 teaches, generating a surface map with height at different points of the material 140 surface making a grid pattern].
Regarding claim 12 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 discloses, A non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer- readable medium is provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computer-numerically-controlled (CNC) machine to: [¶13: “tangibly embodied machine-readable medium operable to cause one or more machines (e.g., computers, etc.) to result in operations implementing one or more of the described features. Similarly, computer systems are also described that may include one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors.” “A memory, which can include a computer-readable storage medium, may include, encode, store, or the like one or more programs that cause one or more processors to perform one or more of the operations described herein”];
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine to: [¶54: “the CNC machine 100 can have one or more movable heads that can be operated to alter the material 140.” “movable head can be the head 160.” “In the case of a laser-cutter CNC machine, the head 160 can include optical components, mirrors, cameras, and other electronic components used to perform the desired machining operations.”… ¶55: “the movable head moves, the movable head can deliver electromagnetic energy to effect a change in the material 140 that is at least partially contained within the interior space.”
SHAPIRO’93 teaches, material 140 at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine, material 140 processed by movable heads by moving at plurality of locations (e.g.; fig.1; material 140 inside the enclosure)];
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine to:
move a moveable head of the CNC machine downward toward the surface of the material at the location… and
move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the…sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location [¶94: “Multiple cameras, or a single camera moved to different locations in the CNC machine 100, can provide images from different angles to generate 3D representations of the surface of the material 140 or an object.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “the position and orientation of the optical elements inside the head 160 can be varied to adjust the position, angle,” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, detecting surface of the material by moving the head vertically up (e.g.; not touching the surface and moving upward away from the surface) and down (e.g.; moving down) in z axis direction for different locations of the surface (e.g.; surface features detected by moving head 160 up and down in z axis directions)];
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location…determine a height of the material at the location; [¶134: “Data can be acquired by the cameras and the data can be associated with the known thickness of the object.” “the cameras can determine the height of the surface the material 140 is resting on.” “if there are other pieces of material 140 between the topmost material 140 and the material bed 150, the cameras can measure the height of the topmost surface” “or measure the height of the topmost surface in a location”… ¶135: “the height at different points can be measured, for example in a grid pattern, on the surface of the material 140 in order to characterize the curvature of the material 140.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, determining height/depth of the material at the location based on the vertical z direction movement of the head (e.g.; - z, downward movement)];
based on the determined height of the material at the location, determine a respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location; [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum, or other known size, which corresponds to the surface of the material 140 being at the focal length of the lens 570.” “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140.”… ¶152: “The laser used for this may be the primary cutting laser, or a secondary laser (typically lower-power laser at a frequency that is viewable more readily with a camera, such as a helium-neon laser).”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, focal length of the electromagnetic energy is adjusted based on determined height/depth/thickness (e.g.; surface features using the image captured by the cameras)];
cause the moveable head to, for one or more of the plurality of locations: set the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy at the location; [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan. Also, the cameras can monitor a laser's spot size, either the primary cutting laser or a secondary one, as described above, to maintain a specified focal distance for the most precise cutting”… ¶152: “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”];
deliver electromagnetic energy at the location to effect a change in the surface of the material at the location. [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”… ¶175: “By varying the laser power, for a given dwell time at a particular location, the depth of the cut can be varied. For example, to a simple approximation, if the laser power is doubled, then in a given time period, twice as much material 140 can be expected to be ablated during the cut.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose,
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine:
move a moveable head of the CNC machine downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location;
in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location;
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact-sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, determine a height of the material at the location; and
However, ILIC discloses, …the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head… [¶64: “the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded.”… ¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10.”
ILIC teaches, touch probe sensor S mechanically coupled to the head carriage 16];
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine:
move a moveable head of the CNC machine downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”];
in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”
Examiner notes that, regarding this limitation, applicant’s specification ¶145 only describes, sensor 600 can be a touch-off probe and the height of the material 140 may be measured and/or inferred via a step counter, an encoder, a potentiometer; and sensor 600 can be a wire coupled with the head 160 and the height of the material 140 at various locations may be determined based on a response of the wire to the surface of the material 140, where response of the wire can be magnitude of a force acting on the wire, an angle of the wire, and/or the like.
This limitation is given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined.
ILIC teaches, after touch probe sensor S touches material surface 10, move the touch probe S with head 16 upward (touch probe tip is urged away from substrate material 10)];
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact-sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, determine a height of the material at the location; [¶63: “the height profile of the substrate material 10 can be determined by a proximity sensor S. Proximity sensor S is incorporated to map out the surface of the substrate material 10” “hence it generates a map of the entire printing surface.”… ¶64: “As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10. This provides information to the dispensing heads 18 and 22, of detected height variations on the surface of substrate material 10.”
As described above, this limitation also given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined, where the head is capable of moving upward and downward.
ILIC teaches, as described above, touch probe S touches the surface of material 10, and based on the amount of downward movement (i.e.; z direction information) until the probe S touches the surface 10, a height of the material is determined].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the contact sensor coupled moveable head and capability of the contact sensor detecting a surface of the material; and combined the capability of, for each of a plurality of locations on the surface of the material, moving the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; moving the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; and determining a height of the material at the location based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location in order to have precise control of the head by maintaining a suitable distance using the determined height information to achieve precise pattern taught by ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to control precise material deposition and to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces [ILIC: (¶60) “distance D is maintained at a substantially consistent value” “to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces and hence an overall poor quality circuit pattern.”].
Regarding claim 14 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 12, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, wherein the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head comprises a probe or wire.
However, ILIC discloses, wherein the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head comprises a probe or wire. [¶64: “the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded.”
Examiner notes that claim requires only one of a probe or wire.
ILIC teaches, touch prove coupled to the head].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 12.
Regarding claim 15 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 12 and 14, but SHAPIRO’93 doesn’t explicitly disclose, the probe or wire extends downward from the moveable head toward the surface of the material.
However, ILIC discloses, the probe or wire extends downward from the moveable head toward the surface of the material. [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10.”
Examiner notes that claim requires only one of a probe or wire.
ILIC teaches, touch prove coupled to the head].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 12.
Regarding claim 19:
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 12, and
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, the CNC machine further comprises one or more cameras; [¶54: “the head 160 can include” “cameras,” “used to perform the desired machining operations.”… ¶77: “a head camera 120 can be mounted to the head 160.”];
the non-transitory computer-readable medium is also provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to,
for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, project a dot of light onto the surface of the material at the location; [¶149: “FIG. 15 is a diagram illustrating the determination of material 140 thickness by the lid camera 110 imaging a spot on the material 140 produced by a distance-finding light source 1510,” “a well-collimated light beam from the distance-finding light source 910, for example from a laser diode or LED with a tight beam, can be pointed at the material 140 at an angle.”… ¶190: “The machine-readable medium can store such machine instructions non-transitorily, such as for example as would a non-transient solid-state memory or a magnetic hard drive or any equivalent storage medium.”];
the non-transitory computer-readable medium is also provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to
detect, via the one or more cameras, a change in a size of the dot of light projected onto the surface of the material at the location; [¶149: “determination of material 140 thickness by the lid camera 110 imaging a spot on the material 140 produced by a distance-finding light source 1510,”… ¶34: “FIG. 16 is a diagram illustrating determination material thickness by imaging a laser spot size,”… ¶150: “the distance-finding light source 1510 can have a measureable divergence. If the material 140 is thick, then the spot on the surface of the material 140 will appear to be small. If the material 140 is thin, then the spot will be larger, as the light will have diverged more before it intersects the material. The thickness of the material 140 can be determined using a trigonometric calculation based on the known divergence angle and the measured size of the spot on the surface.”];
the program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to
determine the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location comprise program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor,
cause the CNC machine to determine the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location further based on the change in the size of the dot of light projected onto the surface of the material at the location. [¶151: “the focal length of the distance-finding camera can be made to be as small as possible. If the beam spot is near to the camera it will be in focus and therefore appear smaller; if it is far away, it will be blurry and thus larger and dimmer. This technique may be combined with the divergence technique to make the increase in spot size even more easily detected.”… ¶152: “To provide precise cuts, the laser should be focused at the surface of the material 140.” “If a lens 570 in the head 160 specifies a particular focal point for the laser, then a minimum spot size 1610 can be measured by a camera viewing the laser spot on the surface. Conversely, if the material 140 is not at a distance equal to the focal length of the lens 570, then the spot size 1620 will be larger. By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum, or other known size, which corresponds to the surface of the material 140 being at the focal length of the lens 570.” “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”… ¶149: “The location of the bright spot on the material 140 can thus be directly proportional to the thickness of the material 140.”].
Regarding claim 20 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 discloses, A method implemented by a computer-numerically-controlled (CNC) machine, the method comprising: [¶4: “a method delivers, via a moveable head of a computer numerically controlled machine,”];
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine:” [¶54: “the CNC machine 100 can have one or more movable heads that can be operated to alter the material 140.” “movable head can be the head 160.” “In the case of a laser-cutter CNC machine, the head 160 can include optical components, mirrors, cameras, and other electronic components used to perform the desired machining operations.”… ¶55: “the movable head moves, the movable head can deliver electromagnetic energy to effect a change in the material 140 that is at least partially contained within the interior space.”
SHAPIRO’93 teaches, material 140 at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine, material 140 processed by movable heads by moving at plurality of locations (e.g.; fig.1; material 140 inside the enclosure)];
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine to:
moving a moveable head of the CNC machine (i) downward toward the surface of the material at the location … and
moving the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the … sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶94: “Multiple cameras, or a single camera moved to different locations in the CNC machine 100, can provide images from different angles to generate 3D representations of the surface of the material 140 or an object.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “the position and orientation of the optical elements inside the head 160 can be varied to adjust the position, angle,” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, detecting surface of the material by moving the head vertically up (e.g.; not touching the surface and moving upward away from the surface) and down (e.g.; moving down) in z axis direction for different locations of the surface (e.g.; surface features detected by moving head 160 up and down in z axis directions)];
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location…determining a height of the material at the location; [¶134: “Data can be acquired by the cameras and the data can be associated with the known thickness of the object.” “the cameras can determine the height of the surface the material 140 is resting on.” “if there are other pieces of material 140 between the topmost material 140 and the material bed 150, the cameras can measure the height of the topmost surface” “or measure the height of the topmost surface in a location”… ¶135: “the height at different points can be measured, for example in a grid pattern, on the surface of the material 140 in order to characterize the curvature of the material 140.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, determining height/depth of the material at the location based on the vertical z direction movement of the head (e.g.; - z, downward movement)];
based on the determined height of the material at the location, determining a respective focal length for electromagnetic energy to be delivered by the moveable head at the location; [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum, or other known size, which corresponds to the surface of the material 140 being at the focal length of the lens 570.” “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140.”… ¶152: “The laser used for this may be the primary cutting laser, or a secondary laser (typically lower-power laser at a frequency that is viewable more readily with a camera, such as a helium-neon laser).”
Examiner notes that SHAPIRO’93 teaches, focal length of the electromagnetic energy is adjusted based on determined height/depth/thickness (e.g.; surface features using the image captured by the cameras)];
causing the moveable head to, for one or more of the plurality of locations; set the respective focal length for electromagnetic energy at the location; [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan. Also, the cameras can monitor a laser's spot size, either the primary cutting laser or a secondary one, as described above, to maintain a specified focal distance for the most precise cutting”… ¶152: “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”];
deliver electromagnetic energy at the location to effect a change in the surface of the material at the location. [¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”… ¶175: “By varying the laser power, for a given dwell time at a particular location, the depth of the cut can be varied. For example, to a simple approximation, if the laser power is doubled, then in a given time period, twice as much material 140 can be expected to be ablated during the cut.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose,
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine:
moving a moveable head of the CNC machine (i) downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the locations;
in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, moving the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location;
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact-sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, determining a height of the material at the location;
However, ILIC discloses, …the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head… [¶64: “the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded.”… ¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10.”
ILIC teaches, touch probe sensor S mechanically coupled to the head carriage 16];
for each of a plurality of locations on a surface of a material at least partially contained within an enclosure of the CNC machine:
moving a moveable head of the CNC machine (i) downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the locations; [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”
Examiner notes the interpretation as described in the claim objection, the numbering (i) is deleted];
in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, moving the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”
Examiner notes that, regarding this limitation, applicant’s specification ¶145 only describes, sensor 600 can be a touch-off probe and the height of the material 140 may be measured and/or inferred via a step counter, an encoder, a potentiometer; and sensor 600 can be a wire coupled with the head 160 and the height of the material 140 at various locations may be determined based on a response of the wire to the surface of the material 140, where response of the wire can be magnitude of a force acting on the wire, an angle of the wire, and/or the like.
This limitation is given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined.
ILIC teaches, after touch probe sensor S touches material surface 10, move the touch probe S with head 16 upward (touch probe tip is urged away from substrate material 10)];
based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact-sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, determining a height of the material at the location; [¶63: “the height profile of the substrate material 10 can be determined by a proximity sensor S. Proximity sensor S is incorporated to map out the surface of the substrate material 10” “hence it generates a map of the entire printing surface.”… ¶64: “As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10. This provides information to the dispensing heads 18 and 22, of detected height variations on the surface of substrate material 10.”
As described above, this limitation also given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined, where the head is capable of moving upward and downward.
ILIC teaches, as described above, touch probe S touches the surface of material 10, and based on the amount of downward movement (i.e.; z direction information) until the probe S touches the surface 10, a height of the material is determined].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the contact sensor coupled moveable head and capability of the contact sensor detecting a surface of the material; and combined the capability of, for each of a plurality of locations on the surface of the material, moving the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; moving the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; and determining a height of the material at the location based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head downward toward the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location in order to have precise control of the head by maintaining a suitable distance using the determined height information to achieve precise pattern taught by ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to control precise material deposition and to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces [ILIC: (¶60) “distance D is maintained at a substantially consistent value” “to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces and hence an overall poor quality circuit pattern.”].
Regarding claim 22 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 20, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, wherein the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head comprises a probe or wire.
However, ILIC discloses, wherein the contact sensor mechanically coupled to the moveable head comprise a probe or wire. [¶64: “the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded.”
Examiner notes that claim requires only one of a probe or wire.
ILIC teaches, touch prove coupled to the head].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 20.
Regarding claim 23 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1,
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, wherein the program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location [¶134: “Data can be acquired by the cameras and the data can be associated with the known thickness of the object.” “the cameras can determine the height of the surface the material 140 is resting on.” “if there are other pieces of material 140 between the topmost material 140 and the material bed 150, the cameras can measure the height of the topmost surface” “or measure the height of the topmost surface in a location”… ¶135: “the height at different points can be measured, for example in a grid pattern, on the surface of the material 140 in order to characterize the curvature of the material 140.”… ¶55: “The CNC machine 100 can also execute operation of a motion plan for causing movement of the movable head.” “the position and orientation of the optical elements inside the head 160 can be varied to adjust the position, angle,” “The head 160 can be mounted on a translation rail 170 that is used to move the head 160 throughout the enclosure. In some implementations the motion of the head can be linear, for example on” “a Z axis. In other implementations, the head can combine motions along any combination of directions in a rectilinear, cylindrical, or spherical coordinate system.”
SHAPIRO’93 discloses, determining height/depth of the material at the location based on the vertical z direction movement of the head (e.g.; + z, upward movement)], but does not explicitly disclose, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location.
However, ILIC discloses, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on a magnitude of the movement of the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material at the location such that the contact sensor no longer makes physical contact with the surface of the material at the location. [¶67: “touch probe sensor S has a tip that is biased towards substrate material 10. Dispensing head carriage 16 moves touch probe sensor S in the XY-plane over various locations of substrate material 10, periodically lowering touch probe sensor S in the Z-axis towards the surface of substrate material 10. When the tip of touch probe sensor S makes contact with the surface of substrate material 10, the tip is urged away from substrate material 10 until an electrical contact is established within the electro-mechanical assembly of touch probe sensor S. The distance that the touch probe sensor S was displaced in the Z-axis during contact with the surface of substrate material 10 is recorded throughout the entire the mapping region. Thus, forming a grid of points along the surface of substrate material 10 and determining a distance D for a given location on the substrate material 10.”… (¶71) “Once substrate material 10 is in place, then, where used, the proximity sensor S can commence its height probing sequence using height probing sequencer 112, of the substrate material 10 to generate a height map 114.”
Examiner notes that, regarding this limitation, applicant’s specification ¶145 only describes, sensor 600 can be a touch-off probe and the height of the material 140 may be measured and/or inferred via a step counter, an encoder, a potentiometer; and sensor 600 can be a wire coupled with the head 160 and the height of the material 140 at various locations may be determined based on a response of the wire to the surface of the material 140, where response of the wire can be magnitude of a force acting on the wire, an angle of the wire, and/or the like.
This limitation is given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, as such, this limitation means that, a touch sensor/probe may touch a surface of the material and based on the touch (in response to the touch), height of the material is determined.
ILIC teaches, after touch probe sensor S touches material surface 10, move the touch probe S with head 16 upward (touch probe tip is urged away from substrate material 10), and based on that determining a height map (upward movement in z axis)];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 24 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose,
cause the CNC machine to, for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, determine a physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location,
cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on the determined physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location.
However, ILIC discloses, cause the CNC machine to, for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, determine a physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”];
cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location comprise program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor,
cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on the determined physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location. [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 26 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 12, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, cause the CNC machine to, for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, determine a physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; and
the program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location comprise program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor,
cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on the determined physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location.
However, ILIC discloses, cause the CNC machine to, for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, determine a physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location; [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”];
the program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location comprise program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor,
cause the CNC machine to determine the height of the material at the location further based on the determined physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location. [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 12.
Regarding claim 28 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 20, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, determining, for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, a physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location,
wherein determining the height of the material at the location further comprises determining the height of the material at the location further based on the determined physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location.
However, ILIC discloses, determining, for each of the plurality of locations on the surface of the material, a physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”];
wherein determining the height of the material at the location further comprises determining the height of the material at the location further based on the determined physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location. [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the method taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 20.
Regarding claim 29:
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1,
SHAPIRO’93 further discloses, the CNC machine is configured to be calibrated based on a surface map of the material that is generated based on the determined height of the material at the plurality of locations [¶143: “Based on the relative apparent movement, the height of the feature can be determined.”… ¶172: “the motion plan can take into account the measured height that was engraved and adjust the laser output accordingly.”… ¶176: “The focal length of the laser can also be varied in order to provide a constant, or known, power density at a surface with varying height. The focal length of the laser can be varied by adjusting focusing optics inside the head 160 to provide a cut specified by the motion plan.”… ¶152: “if the material 140 is not at a distance equal to the focal length of the lens 570, then the spot size 1620 will be larger. By measuring the spot size, the lens 570 in the head 160 can be adjusted until the laser spot size is either at a minimum, or other known size, which corresponds to the surface of the material 140 being at the focal length of the lens 570.” “this adjustment can be done automatically and/or continuously in order to provide a constant power density at the surface of the material 140. As a result, a consistent cut can be provided even if the thickness of the material 140 changes.”
SHAPIRO’93 teaches calibrating CNC machine such as setting optimized focal length based on updated height generated using the determined height that varies].
Claim(s) 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC, and further in view of Jordil (US20080249737A1) [hereinafter Jordil].
Regarding claim 25 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 1 and 24, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, cause the CNC machine to determine the physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location comprise, cause the CNC machine to determine a magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor.
However, ILIC discloses, cause the CNC machine to determine the physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location comprise, [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”], but does not explicitly disclose, cause the CNC machine to determine a magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 1.
However, Jordil discloses, cause the CNC machine to determine a magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor. [¶9: “(i) determine a first range of values for said contact force applied between the tip of said scanning probe and said surface;”… ¶23: “where the support 3 can be moved in any linear direction (X, Y, Z), and the scanning probe 2 is attached to the support 3 while having two degrees of freedom in rotation with respect to the support 3.” “The tip of the probe 10, preferably spherical, is in contact with the surface 1 that is supposed to be scanned. The contact force F between the tip of the probe 10 and the surface to scan 1 is defined as the opposite of the reaction applied by the surface on the probe tip 10.”
Jordil teaches determining magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor 2 (e.g.; reaction force from surface 10 that is equivalent to applied force F, Newton's Third Law of Motion, FAB = -FBA):].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC to have precise control of the head by maintaining a suitable distance using the determined height information to achieve precise pattern, and combined the capability of determining a magnitude of a force acting on the one or more contact sensors to detect complex surfaces with greater flexibility and accuracy taught by Jordil with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to control precise material deposition and to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces [ILIC: (¶60) “distance D is maintained at a substantially consistent value” “to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces and hence an overall poor quality circuit pattern.”], and to detect complex surfaces with greater flexibility and accuracy [Jordil: (¶14) “the scanning can be performed in with a greater scanning flexibility and accuracy when the surfaces' forms are unusual or complex in three dimensions”].
Regarding claim 27 (amended):
SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC disclose all the elements of claim(s) 12 and 26, but SHAPIRO’93 does not explicitly disclose, cause the CNC machine to determine the physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location comprise, cause the CNC machine to determine a magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor.
However, ILIC discloses, cause the CNC machine to determine the physical response of the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location comprise, [¶64: “a surface mapping sequence is performed prior to dispensing. In this embodiment, the sequence comprises: the dispensing head carriage 16, moving along the XY-directions, and across the substrate material 10, while a touch probe sensor S, moves in the Z-direction, making periodic contact with the substrate material 10, in predetermined areas on the surface. As the touch probe sensor S makes contact with a point on the surface of the substrate material 10, the Z-position of the sensor is recorded. A series of these contact points create a grid, referred to henceforth as a height map, which stores information of the Z-direction leveling across the surface of substrate material 10. The height map interpolates information about the entire printing surface, and can be interpreted as the approximate topography of the substrate material 10.”], but does not explicitly disclose, cause the CNC machine to determine a magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 12.
However, Jordil discloses, cause the CNC machine to determine a magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor. [¶9: “(i) determine a first range of values for said contact force applied between the tip of said scanning probe and said surface;”… ¶23: “where the support 3 can be moved in any linear direction (X, Y, Z), and the scanning probe 2 is attached to the support 3 while having two degrees of freedom in rotation with respect to the support 3.” “The tip of the probe 10, preferably spherical, is in contact with the surface 1 that is supposed to be scanned. The contact force F between the tip of the probe 10 and the surface to scan 1 is defined as the opposite of the reaction applied by the surface on the probe tip 10.”
Jordil teaches determining magnitude of a force acting on the contact sensor 2 (e.g.; reaction force from surface 10 that is equivalent to applied force F, Newton's Third Law of Motion, FAB = -FBA):].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of ILIC to have precise control of the head by maintaining a suitable distance using the determined height information to achieve precise pattern, and combined the capability of determining a magnitude of a force acting on the one or more contact sensors to detect complex surfaces with greater flexibility and accuracy taught by Jordil with the system taught by SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to control precise material deposition and to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces [ILIC: (¶60) “distance D is maintained at a substantially consistent value” “to avoid poorly dispensed or discontinuous traces and hence an overall poor quality circuit pattern.”], and to detect complex surfaces with greater flexibility and accuracy [Jordil: (¶14) “the scanning can be performed in with a greater scanning flexibility and accuracy when the surfaces' forms are unusual or complex in three dimensions”].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant responds
(a) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Applicant respectfully disagrees, and maintains that independent claims 1, 12, and 20 as previously written were not rendered obvious by the Shapiro and Hwang references.
However, Hwang does not teach "in response to the contact sensor making physical contact with the surface of the material at the location, move the moveable head upward away from the surface of the material"
Applicant submits that the Jordil reference also fails to compensate for the deficiencies of Shapiro and Hwang in this regard.
For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that amended independent claims 1, 12, and 20 are not rendered obvious by the Shapiro and Hwang references.
(Pages: 11-12)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
In response to applicant's amendments to claims 1, 12, and 20, a new grounds of rejections in view of ILIC has been introduced. As described in the current office action ILIC teaches the limitations as described above in (a).
As described in the current office action, ILIC in combination with SHAPIRO’93 teach the above described features.
As described in the current office action, claims 1, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of SHAPIRO’93 and ILIC.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, examiner notes that, as described in the claim rejection of the independent claims, regarding the material height determination using the contact sensor touching the material surface and traveling up and down with the head, applicant specification ¶145 only provides a brief details that sensor 600 can be a touch-off probe and the height of the material 140 may be measured and/or inferred via a step counter, an encoder, a potentiometer; and sensor 600 can be a wire coupled with the head 160 and the height of the material 140 at various locations may be determined based on a response of the wire to the surface of the material 140, where response of the wire can be magnitude of a force acting on the wire, an angle of the wire, and/or the like. As described in the claim rejections, thus the claim limitations related to contact sensor touching the material surface, material height determination based on one of upward/downward movement magnitude of the head with contact sensor, and height determination based on contact sensor response from touching the material surface are given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the applicant’s specification.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, the arguments are moot; therefore, claims 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14-15, 19-20, and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure was listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document mailed on 04/17/2025.
Shapiro’58 (US20180147658A1) - Engraving in a computer numerically controlled machine:
The output of the laser can be dithered, according to the motion plan, to effect a change in the material within an interior space of the computer numerically controlled machine. The change substantially reproduces a portion of the first image on the material. The dithering includes providing laser energy to the material at a native resolution based at least on a spot size of the laser. Providing the laser energy includes determining the spot size based at least on parameters of the computer numerically controlled machine and properties of the material and limiting the delivery of laser energy to provide laser energy at locations separated by a distance no less than the spot size (¶4).
Milne (US20110127697A1) - Method and apparatus for controlling the size of a laser beam focal spot:
Measuring the distance between the focussing lens and the surface of the substrate; and c. controlling the movement of said first and second optical components in dependence upon said distance so as to independently vary the diameter and collimation of the laser beam received by the focussing lens whereby the diameter of the focus formed by the focussing lens can be controlled and its axial position (along the optic axis) can also be controlled so the focal spot is maintained on the surface of the substrate (¶19-¶20).
Higo et al. (US20140078490A11) - Information processing apparatus and method for measuring a target object:
Projection unit configured to project a light pattern on a measuring target object, at least one imaging unit configured to capture an image of the measuring target object with the light pattern projected thereon, a measurement unit configured to measure a distance from the at least one projection unit or the at least one imaging unit to the measuring target object based on the image captured by the at least one imaging unit, a determination unit configured to determine whether a measured distance is valid, and a control unit configured to reduce luminance of a light pattern, included in a projected light pattern, which is projected on an area with respect to which the measured distance is determined by the determination unit to be valid (¶8).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116