CTNF 18/456,902 CTNF 75068 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Foreign Priority Documents The German foreign priority document(s) DE 10 2022 209 093.4, submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on November 6, 2023 and placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements filed August 28, 2023 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 6-10, 12-13 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schraff et al. US-20180264581-A1 . With respect to claims 1 & 13 , Schraff teaches a battery pack device for a battery pack (LFP battery cells 70 [0034] in LFP battery pack 38 ; held in the apparatus 20 ; part of Fig. 6 below), comprising: at least one heat conducting element (LFP battery 38 includes heat sink walls 72 that are configured to receive LFP battery cells 70 ; [0034]) which has at least one battery cell contact section ( heat sink walls 72 that are configured to receive LFP battery cells 70 ; [0034]; part of Fig. 6 below), configured to dissipate heat from the at least one battery cell(Heat sink walls 72 are constructed of a material with a high thermal conductivity, such as aluminum, as heat sink walls 72 function as an integral means to transfer heat from LFP battery cells 70 into the forced air stream moving through designed duct spaces on all sides of LFP battery 38 ; [0034]); FIG. 6 PNG media_image1.png 430 579 media_image1.png Greyscale and at least one temperature measuring unit which has at least one temperature sensor element (Temperature sensors 44 are disposed on LFP battery 38 as shown in FIG. 7 ; [0035]) thermally coupled to the heat conducting element (Temperature sensors 44 directly contacts and thus thermally coupled to heat conducting element 72 ; see Fig, 7, below), wherein the temperature sensor element is arranged outside the at least one battery cell contact section of the heat conducting element (Temperature sensors 44 on the outer facing surface of heat conducting element 72 relative to batteries 70 ; see Fig, 7, below). Further concerning claim 13 , battery pack comprising: one or more battery cells (several battery cells 70 ; Fig. 7, below). FIG. 7 PNG media_image2.png 606 581 media_image2.png Greyscale With respect to claim 6 , at least one cell holder in which the at least one battery cell is arranged (casing holds battery cells 70; Fig. 6 above). With respect to claim 7 , the heat conducting element is configured to be exposed in a direction facing away from the at least one battery cell (heat conducting element 72 has two sides where the top surface; the outer surface faces away from battery cells 70; Fig. 7 above), and the temperature sensor element is arranged in an exposed area of the heat conducting element (temperature sensor element 44 is on the outer surface facing away from battery cells 70; Fig. 7 above). With respect to claim 12 , the temperature sensor element is connected to a printed circuit board of the battery pack via a wire connection ( Both LFP battery 38 and temperature sensors 44 are electrically connected to SWBCS 42 [0035]; SWBCS 42 is configured as one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs); [0028]; wire at 44 Fig. 7). Schraff does not teach or suggest: heat conducting element with at least one batter cell contact section configured to be arranged on at least one battery cell of the battery pack ( claims 1 & 13 ); the heat conducting element is partially overmolded in the cell holder ( claim 6 ); the heat conducting element has an edge area at which the temperature sensor element is arranged ( claim 8 ); the temperature sensor element is arranged on an outer surface of the edge area ( claim 9 ); the heat conducting element is arranged at an angle in the edge area ( claim 10 ); the at least one battery cell contact section is configured to be arranged between two battery cells of the at least one battery cell( claim 15 ). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the heat conducting element with at least one batter cell contact section configured to be arranged on at least one battery cell of the battery pack ( claims 1 & 13 ); in the battery pack device of Schraff, in order to decrease the heat transfer path between the temperature sensor, heat sink and battery core. The skilled artisan recognized the shortened distance of the temperature sensor, heat sink and battery increases accuracy of temperature control and data collection. Furthermore, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). With respect to the heat conducting element being partially overmolded in the cell holder ( claim 6 ); it would have been obvious in the battery pack device of Schraff, to improve structural integrity. Furthermore, making integral essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). With respect to the heat conducting element having an edge area at which the temperature sensor element is arranged ( claim 8 ); it would have been obvious in the battery pack device of Schraff, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). With respect to the temperature sensor element being arranged on an outer surface of the edge area ( claim 9 ); it would have been obvious in the battery pack device of Schraff, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). With respect to the heat conducting element being arranged at an angle in the edge area ( claim 10 ); it would have been obvious in the battery pack device of Schraff, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). With respect to the at least one battery cell contact section being configured to be arranged between two battery cells of the at least one battery cell( claim 15 ); in the battery pack device of Schraff, in order to decrease the heat transfer path between the temperature sensor, heat sink and battery core. The skilled artisan recognized the shortened distance of the temperature sensor, heat sink and battery increases accuracy of temperature control and data collection. Furthermore, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schraff et al. US-20180264581-A1 in view of SHEEKS et al. WO-2019023379-A1 . Schraff teaches a battery pack device for a battery pack (LFP battery cells 70 [0034] in LFP battery pack 38 ; held in the apparatus 20 ; part of Fig. 6 below), comprising: at least one heat conducting element (LFP battery 38 includes heat sink walls 72 that are configured to receive LFP battery cells 70 ; [0034]) which has at least one battery cell contact section ( heat sink walls 72 that are configured to receive LFP battery cells 70 ; [0034]; part of Fig. 6 below), configured to dissipate heat from the at least one battery cell(Heat sink walls 72 are constructed of a material with a high thermal conductivity, such as aluminum, as heat sink walls 72 function as an integral means to transfer heat from LFP battery cells 70 into the forced air stream moving through designed duct spaces on all sides of LFP battery 38 ; [0034]); FIG. 6 PNG media_image1.png 430 579 media_image1.png Greyscale and at least one temperature measuring unit which has at least one temperature sensor element (Temperature sensors 44 are disposed on LFP battery 38 as shown in FIG. 7 ; [0035]) thermally coupled to the heat conducting element (Temperature sensors 44 directly contacts and thus thermally coupled to heat conducting element 72 ; see Fig, 7, below), wherein the temperature sensor element is arranged outside the at least one battery cell contact section of the heat conducting element (Temperature sensors 44 on the outer facing surface of heat conducting element 72 relative to batteries 70 ; see Fig, 7, below). Further concerning claim 13 , battery pack comprising: one or more battery cells (several battery cells 70 ; Fig. 7, below). FIG. 7 PNG media_image2.png 606 581 media_image2.png Greyscale as described in the rejection recited herein above . Schraff does not teach or suggest: a printed circuit board arranged between the heat conducting element and the temperature sensor element ( claim 2 ). However, SHEEKS teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a printed circuit board arranged between the heat conducting element and a sensor element ( claim 2 ) ( PCB assembly including a heat sink [heat conducting element], a power PCB coupled to a first side of the heat sink, and a position sensor PCB coupled to an opposite second side of the heat sink; [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a printed circuit board arranged between the heat conducting element and a sensor element ( claim 2 ) as taught by SHEEKS, as the arrangement of the printed circuit board , heat conducting element and the temperature sensor element of Schraff, as rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Schraff teaches: SWBCS 42 is configured as one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs); [0028]; Both LFP battery 38 and temperature sensors 44 are electrically connected to SWBCS 42 ; [0035]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schraff et al. US-20180264581-A1 in view of SHEEKS et al. WO-2019023379-A1 and further in view of ABUKAWA et al., JP-2022044167-A . Schraff in view of SHEEKS teach a battery pack device for a battery pack as described in the rejection recited herein above . Schraff does not teach or suggest: a support unit configured to support a temperature measurement by the temperature measuring unit, the support unit being arranged on a side of the printed circuit board facing away from the heat conducting element ( claim 3 ); the support unit is elastically formed so as to generate a contact force for the temperature sensor element in a direction of the heat conducting element ( claim 4 ); the support unit is thermally insulating so as to thermally insulate the temperature sensor element from an external environment ( claim 5 ). ABUKAWA teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a support unit configured to support a temperature measurement by the temperature measuring unit, (temperature sensor 30 includes a thermo-sensitive body 34, an elastic body 33A which supports the thermo-sensitive body 34 and is composed of a heat-resistant resin film; See the Abstract; claim 3 ); the support unit is elastically formed so as to generate a contact force for the temperature sensor element in a direction of the heat conducting element (elastic body 33A which supports the thermo-sensitive body 34 and is composed of a heat-resistant resin film; See the Abstract; claim 4 ); the support unit is thermally insulating so as to thermally insulate the temperature sensor element from an external environment (the elastic body 33A and is composed of an electric insulation material; See the Abstract; claim 5 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the elastic body 33A support unit configured to support a temperature measurement by the temperature measuring unit taught by ABUKAWA, in the temperature sensor and printed circuit board arrangement of Schraff in view of SHEEKS, to prevent overheating of the temperature sensor. With respect to the support unit being arranged on a side of the printed circuit board facing away from the heat conducting element, the elastic body 33A support unit directly contacting the temperature sensor of Schraff in view of SHEEKS would yield the elastic body 33A support unit being on the printed circuit board facing away from the heat conducting element. Furthermore, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schraff et al. US-20180264581-A1 in view of in view of NITZANI et al. US-20190165344-A1 . Schraff teaches a battery pack device for a battery pack as described in the rejection recited herein above . Schraff does not teach or suggest: the temperature sensor element is arranged on a rigid printed circuit board ( claim 11 ); the battery pack is a pouch cell battery pack ( claim 14 ). NITZANI teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the temperature sensor element is arranged on a rigid printed circuit board (PCB 130 may be single-sided, double-sided, or multi-layered; and may be flexible or rigid; [0021]; claim 11 ); the battery pack is a pouch cell battery pack (PCM 100 includes a switching circuitry 150 configured to connect the PCM 100 to pouch batteries [0022]; in battery pack 200 [0023]; claim 14 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the temperature sensor element arranged on a rigid printed circuit board as taught by NITZANI, in the battery pack device of Schraff, as the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schraff et al. US-20180264581-A1 in view of SHEEKS et al. WO-2019023379-A1 and further in view of NITZANI et al. US-20190165344-A1 . Schraff in view of SHEEKS teach a battery pack device for a battery pack as described in the rejection recited herein above . Schraff does not teach or suggest: the printed circuit board is a flexible printed circuit board ( claim 16 ). NITZANI teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the temperature sensor element is arranged on a rigid printed circuit board (PCB 130 may be single-sided, double-sided, or multi-layered; and may be flexible or rigid; [0021]; claim 16 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the temperature sensor element arranged on a flexible printed circuit board as taught by NITZANI, in the battery pack device of Schraff in view of SHEEKS, as the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CHANG et al., CN-211740441-U Battery Temperature Collecting Device And Battery Module With The Same, where the temperature collection device may be in multiple locations. See the Abstract . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Monique Wills whose telephone number is (571) 272-1309. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30am to 5:00 pm. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MONIQUE M WILLS whose telephone number is (571)272-1309. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30am to 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Tiffany Legette, may be reached at 571-270-7078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /Monique M Wills/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 6 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 7 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 8 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 9 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 10 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 11 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 12 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 13 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/456,902 Page 14 Art Unit: 1723