DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/429,164 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims substantially encompasses the claims of application ‘164 and/or obvious variant of one another with slight optimization of ranges. In addition, claimed SiO2 about 57 mol% would read upon SiO2 60 mol% in US ‘437.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 27-28 recites a very specific glass composition, wherein Condition 1 is Al2O3/(Na2O + K2O) = about 0.93 (emphasis added). However, the term “about” with a specific composition renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the term “about” is open to other concentration besides 15 mol% Al2O3, 13 mol% Na2O, and 3.0 mol% K2O. It is suggested to the applicant to amend the claim to delete “about” or amend the claims so that the condition 1 is equal to 0.9375.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2021/0230049).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 14, Fan discloses a glass article with a thickness of less than 70 µm [0083] prepared from a glass composition comprising 40-85 wt.% SiO2, 0-40 wt.% of Al2O3, 0-20 wt.% of Na2O, 0-20 wt.% of K2O, 0-15 wt.% of B2O3, 0.2-2.5 wt.% of CaO, 0-3 wt.% of MgO, 0-2.5 [0044]. Given that Fan discloses other materials are optional (0 wt.%), Fan discloses a glass consisting of with the claimed composition.
Fan and the claims differ in that Fan does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claims.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Fan overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to the claimed condition 1, Fan disclose a content of 0-40 wt.% of Al2O3, 0-20 wt.% of Na2O, 0-20 wt.% of K2O and that all values within the ranges appears to be functionally equivalent. It would have been obvious to choose any concentration from that ranges to satisfy claimed condition 1 based on the desired glass properties and that choosing concentration values would have rendered the claimed relationship between concentration of Al2O3, Na2O, and K2O obvious in the absence of showing criticality.
Furthermore, Fan discloses the glass article comprises tensile region and compressive regions as claimed (Fig. 1-2) and the glass article comprises a polished surface [0111-0112].
Regarding claims 3-13, Fan discloses a hardness of greater than 400 MPa [0101] and average of a pen drop breakage height of the glass article is higher than (0.01)2/800mm (claims 11-12), however, Fan fails to explicitly disclose Tg, density, modulus elasticity, fracture toughness, brittleness, thermal expansion, Poisson ratio, crack initiation load, fractional free volume, and pen drop breakage height as presently claimed. However, it is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as addressing the 112 issues.
Although Fan discloses a broad range of the claimed composition as set forth above, Fan fails to provide sufficient specificity to teach or render obvious the claimed composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785