DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites a “single-snap stereo fusion device” but this term is not understood. To what does “single-snap” refer? What is being fused? Note that a search for this term does not reveal any hits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe (WO 2023189691 A1).
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Watanabe discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, are configured to cause the one or more processors to perform operations {see [0055]-[0058], [0097], fig. 26, [0153]-[0162] discussing various computer implementations including the recited, standard computer elements} comprising:
detecting an object in an image scene data to create a detected object, the image scene data representing an image scene in a field of view of at least one object detection sensor
{see person identification sub-system 104 which includes a camera (object detection sensor) and object/person detector for recognizing/detecting the object/person in image data to create a detected object including a person/object ID, Fig. 1, [0039], [0059]-[0061], [0098], [0102]};
determining a current geoposition data of the detected object using an image-position model, the image-position model determined by calibrating the at least one object detection sensor with a three-dimensional mapping provided by a spatial sensor
{see object tracking sub-system 106 that includes, e.g., a LiDAR (spatial sensor) to determine the current 3D location data (geoposition data) of all objects within the field of view including the object/person preliminarily detected/identified by the person identification subsystem 104, [0040], [0059]-[0061]; Further as to the image position model see [0044] in which the sensors may be pre-configured (calibrated) with a reference line/plane and/or reference position/location in the space may be calculated based on known or pre-configured (calibrated) height of the object and/or focal length; [0100], [0103], [0114]};
determining an identity of the detected object to create a preliminary identity
{see above cites including [0059] for the person identification sub-system 104 creating an object ID that serves as a “preliminary identify” until the reliability thereof may be confirmed by various methods such as ground distance and/or speed as discussed below};
identifying a data store identity of a plurality of data store identities that matches the preliminary identity of the detected object, the plurality of data store identities corresponding to identities of a plurality of detected objects
{see above cites including [0097]-[0099], [0102] discussing a database 610 that stores various appearance data (identities) that may be used to identify a person or object}; and
recording the current geoposition data of the detected object with a data store record associated with the data store identity that matches the preliminary identity of the detected object if a physics model threshold of the detected object is satisfied
{See Fig. 5, [0094]-[0095] that determines if the detected locations are within the ground distance, [0108] compares sizes and moving speeds of detected objects, tracked object’s height or size, [0118]-[0126]; and determining if the moving speed of the object is lower than a human speed limit in [0109], [0132] to confirm reliability and assign the same object ID as per [0041], [0059], Supplementary Notes 10, 22, 23. It is noted that each of these techniques utilizes a physics model threshold, particularly the human speed limit threshold which determines if the preliminary identify of the detected object is reliable enough to confirm that the detected object’s identity and use to determine the object’s pathway. See also Figs. 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 and associated disclosures}.
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Watanabe discloses wherein when the current geoposition data is recorded in the data store record with a time associated with the determination of geoposition data, wherein the data store record includes a plurality of geoposition data, each geoposition data of the plurality of geoposition data having a time associated with a determination of each of the geoposition data {See Figs. 1-3, 17, 19A illustrating this concept of recording position with time. See also [0045]-[0048] further discussing recording location and timestamp data store records}.
Claim 3
In regards to claim 3, Watanabe discloses wherein the physics model threshold is satisfied based on an evaluation of the current geoposition data with a geoposition data associated with a geoposition data in the geoposition data set that is closest in time to the current geoposition data
{See Fig. 5, [0094]-[0095] that determines if the detected locations are within the ground distance, [0108] compares sizes and moving speeds of detected objects, tracked object’s height or size, [0118]-[0126]; and determining if the moving speeds of the objects is lower than a human speed limit in [0109], [0132], Supplementary Notes 10, 22, 23. It is noted that each of these techniques utilizes a physics model threshold, particularly the human speed limit threshold which determines if the preliminary identify of the detected object is reliable enough to confirm that the detected object’s identity and use to determine the object’s pathway. See also Figs. 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 and associated disclosures. Moreover, these determinations are based on evaluations of the current geoposition data with a geoposition data associated with a geoposition data in the geoposition data set that is closest in time to the current geoposition data}.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Watanabe discloses wherein the physics model threshold is based on a speed of the object determined based upon a distance over which the object moves and a time difference over which the distance is measured
{See [0108] comparing sizes and moving speeds of detected objects, tracked object’s height or size, [0118]-[0126]; and determining if the moving speeds of the objects is lower than a human speed limit in [0109], [0132], Supplementary Notes 10, 22, 23. It is noted that each of these techniques utilizes a physics model threshold, particularly the human speed limit threshold which determines if the preliminary identify of the detected object is reliable enough to confirm that the detected object’s identity and use to determine the object’s pathway. Moreover, the speed is also based on the fundamental definition thereof (determined based upon a distance over which the object moves and a time difference over which the distance is measured).}.
Claim 5
In regards to claim 5, Watanabe discloses wherein the physics model threshold is at least one of a height of the object, a weight of the object, a trajectory of the object, a speed of the object, or a momentum of the object {see above cites for claim 1 which include at least height, trajectory (pathway), and/or speed of the object. Moreover, body size and body ratio are also detected in [0098] thus at least suggesting weight and momentum. Note also that this claim only requires one of the listed options}.
Claim 6
In regards to claim 6, Watanabe discloses
wherein the geoposition data is determined based upon a first object detection sensor of the at least one object detection sensor
{see person identification sub-system 104 which includes a camera (object detection sensor) and object/person detector for recognizing/detecting the object/person in image data to create a detected object including a person/object ID and geoposition data, Fig. 1, [0039], [0043]-[0044], [0059]-[0061], [0098], [0102] wherein [0100] further clarifies that location data may also be derived from image capturing device 602. Further as to plural/second object detection sensors see also Fig. 4, sensors 442A…442N, [0068]-[0075], [0093]-[0094]}; and
wherein the data store record includes geoposition data determined based upon a second object detection sensor.
{see object tracking sub-system 106 that includes, e.g., a LiDAR (spatial sensor) to determine the current 3D location data (geoposition data) of all objects within the field of view including the object/person preliminarily detected/identified by the person identification subsystem 104, [0040], [0059]-[0061]. Further as to plural/second object detection sensors see also Fig. 4, sensors 442A…442N, [0068]-[0075], [0093]-[0094]}
Claim 7
In regards to claim 7, Watanabe discloses which further includes recording a traveler detection label with the data store record, the traveler detection label indicative of whether the physics model threshold of the detected object is satisfied {see the same object ID in [0041], [0059] and object/person detection reliability determinations that record a traveler detection label (e.g. same object ID) indicative of when the physics model threshold is satisfied. See also joining of the pathways in, for example, [0109] which joints pathways when the moving speed of the object is lower than a human moving speed limit such that the joined pathways indicates or otherwise records a “traveler detection label” indicative of whether the physics model threshold (speed less than limit) of the detected object is satisfied}.
Claim 8
In regards to claim 8, Watanabe discloses wherein the spatial sensor is at least one of a stereo camera, a Sonar device, a RADAR device, an RF device, a LiDAR device, a device operating using photogrammetry, and a single-snap stereo fusion device {see LiDAR sensor [0004], [0040], [0099], [0140]}.
Claims 9 and 10
In regards to claim 9, Watanabe discloses (claim 9) which further includes determining a physical property data of the detected object based on the image scene data and the image-position model and (claim 10) wherein the physical property data including a plurality of physical property characteristics of the object including at least one of weight, height, trajectory, speed, or momentum
{see above cites for claim 1 which include at least height, trajectory (pathway), and/or speed of the object. Moreover, body size and body ratio are also detected in [0098] thus at least suggesting weight and momentum. Note also that claim 10 only requires one of the listed options. Further as to the image position model see [0044] in which the sensors may be pre-configured (calibrated) with a reference line/plane and/or reference position/location in the space may be calculated based on known or pre-configured (calibrated) height of the object and/or focal length; [0100], [0103], [0114]}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pelletier US 20220004768 A1 discloses tracking objects over time and employs a physics model in the form of maximum speed test for the objects to determine whether it is impossible for a person of interest to be present in the tacklet. See fig 1 copied below.
Min US 20230394686 A1 discloses object tracking in which a spatial locus of uncertainty can for example be dependent upon the detection and/or identification of the object. For example, a certain class of objects could have a maximum speed Vd_max, then the locus of uncertainty would be Vd_max multiplied by the time interval. For example, a particular identified object could have a maximum speed Vi_max, then the locus of uncertainty would be Vi_max multiplied by the time interval as per [0115]-[0119].
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667