DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua et al. (US 20200336407- Previously cited), hereinafter Hua, and further in view of Monge et al. (US 20240275420), hereinafter Monge.
Regarding claim 1, Hua teaches a system comprising: a sensor electronics system (¶ [0023], in vivo analyte monitoring system); and
an analyte sensor comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion, the distal portion being configured for positioning under a user's skin surface in contact with a bodily fluid for monitoring a level of an analyte in the bodily fluid and the proximal portion being configured for positioning above the user's skin surface and being in operative connection with the sensor electronics system (¶ [0019] and fig. 1, analyte sensor 102 is in contact with bodily fluids and proximal portion is positioned on the surface);
wherein the sensor electronics system is configured to receive sensor signals indicative of the analyte level from the analyte sensor and to generate from the sensor signals, data relating to the analyte level for wireless transmission, the sensor electronics system comprising a transceiver for transmitting outgoing signals including the data relating to the analyte level and for receiving incoming signals (¶ [0020], readers of the system can receive and transmit signals to other readers, computers, and sensors within the system);
wherein the transceiver comprises an electromagnetic signal generating component configured to be supplied with outgoing signals, the electromagnetic signal generating component having a first signal feed point and a second signal feed point (see fig. 1 and ¶ [0028-29], reader devices comprising transmitters are capable of communicating via NFC and Bluetooth, thereby requiring two feed points each),
wherein the sensor electronics system is configured to operate in a first communication mode and is further configured to operate in a second communication mode, wherein in the first communication mode the sensor electronics system is configured to supply first outgoing signals to the first signal feed point of the electromagnetic signal generating component and in the second communication mode the sensor electronics system is configured to supply second outgoing signals to the second signal feed point of the electromagnetic signal generating component (¶ [0028], the readers are configured to operate in a first mode when using NFC link and a second mode when communicating via Bluetooth),
Hua fails to teach wherein the sensor electronics system is configured to supply the first and second outgoing signals to first and second signal feed points, respectively, to the electromagnetic signal generating component in the first communication mode and the second communication mode at the same time. Hua recites “Reader device 120-1 capable of communication with OBD 102 over NFC link 141-1 and BT link 142-1, and by the presence of second reader device 120-2 capable of communication with OBD 102 over NFC link 141-2 and BT link 142-2,” “Reader device 120 can communicate with multiple OBDs 102,” and “In some embodiments, a particular reader device 120 can communicate with multiple OBDs concurrently, located on the same or different users” indicating that the first and second signals from the reader device of the sensor electronics system can communicate at the same time via BT and NFC links) (¶ [0028-30],), but fails to explicitly recite that the outgoing signals are performed at the same time.
Monge teaches a dual band transmitter, comprising at least 2 feed points, configured for simultaneously transmitting and receiving at different frequency bands (¶[0007,0056] and fig. 1b, the signal generating component device 10, comprises two feed points 14,16 ).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua, such that the sensor electronics system is configured to supply the first and second outgoing signals to first and second signal feed points, respectively, to the electromagnetic signal generating component in the first communication mode and the second communication mode at the same time, as taught by Monge, to achieve a high data rate and communication range with less power and area ( ¶ [0003] of Monge).
Hua fails to teach the following in the particular embodiment relied upon above, but in a different embodiment teaches wherein the sensor electronics system comprises a first processor for controlling the first communication mode and second processor for controlling the second communication mode ( ¶ [0045-48], “ Reader 120 can be implemented in a highly interconnected fashion, where power supply 216 is coupled with each component shown in FIG. 2 and where those components that communicate or receive data, information, or commands (e.g., processor 206, memory 203, memory 210, power management circuitry 218, input component 121, display 122, first communication circuitry 241, and second communication circuitry 242),” “First communication circuitry 241 and antenna 251 are configured for communication (transmission and/or reception) over communication link 141, and second communication circuitry 242 and antenna 252 are configured for communication over communication link 142,” “Communication circuitry 241 and 242 can be implemented as one or more chips and/or components (e.g., transmitter, receiver, transceiver, encoder, decoder, and/or other communication circuitry) that perform the functions for communications over the respective communications links 141 and 142.,” “Processor 206 can include one or more processors, microprocessors, controllers, and/or microcontrollers, each of which can be a discrete chip or distributed amongst (and a portion of) a number of different chips,” and “Processor 206 can interface with communication circuitry 241 and 242.”). In summary, the communication circuitry responsible for BT and NFC communication can be implemented in a reader device as two chips/components comprising respective elements, e.g., processor, receiver, transmitter, etc., that are configured to provide the communication signals in BT and NFC mode.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Monge, such that the sensor electronics system comprises a first processor for controlling the first communication mode and second processor for controlling the second communication mode, as taught and/or suggested by Hua, to aid in maintaining communication compliance with wireless protocol requirements (¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Hua teaches wherein the electromagnetic signal generating component comprises an electrically conductive coil having one or more loops, the coil having a first end and a second end (¶ [0046-47], the communication circuitry includes loop antennas).
Regarding claim 3, Hua teaches wherein the first signal feed point is at one of the first and second ends (¶ [0046-47], one of ordinary skill in the art understands that there must be a first end and second end to which the feedlines connect in a loop antenna).
Regarding claim 6, Hua teaches wherein in the second communication mode the electromagnetic signal generating component is configured to operate as a dipole antenna (¶ [0047,60], the signal generating component for either communication mode can be a dipole antenna).
Regarding claim 7, Hua teaches wherein in the second communication mode the sensor electronics system is configured for wireless communication according to a Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy protocol (¶ [0028], either communication mode can be configured to communicate according to Bluetooth or BLE protocol).
Regarding claim 8, Hua teaches wherein in the first communication mode the electromagnetic signal generating component is configured to operate as an inductive antenna (¶ [0047], the signal generating component can be configured to operate as an inductive/loop antenna).
Regarding claim 9, Hua teaches wherein in the first communication mode the sensor electronics system is configured for wireless communication according to an NFC or RFID protocol (¶ [0025,0028], NFC and RFID protocols can be established).
Claims 4-5, 10-11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua in view of Monge, as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Larsen et al. (US 20120182198- Previously cited), hereinafter Larsen.
Regarding claims 4-5, Hua-Monge fail to teach wherein the second signal feed point is at a location on the coil between and/or substantially midway from the first and second ends.
Larsen teaches an antenna configuration with two ends (see abstract). The configuration further comprises a second signal feed point (106) that is between the first/second ends (102,104) (see fig. 1A-1B). The feed point is substantially midway between the first/second ends (see Id.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Monge, such that the second signal feed point is substantially between the first and second ends, as taught by Larsen, because Hua requires an antenna, but fails to provide details. Larsen teaches the antenna can be configured with a second signal feed point to aid in providing a single antenna capable of operating different communication protocols (¶ [0003-5] of Larsen).
Regarding claim 10, Hua-Monge fail to teach wherein the coil comprises two or three or four or more loops configured in a substantially coplanar layer.
Larsen teaches the coil comprises at least 2 loops configured in a coplanar layer (see figs. 1A-1B and ¶ [0028-30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Monge, such that the coil comprises at least 2 loops configured in a coplanar layer, as taught by Larsen, as it would merely be substituting of one known element (coil with 2 loops configured in a coplanar layer) for another (loop antenna) to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Hua-Monge fail to teach wherein the coil comprises two or three or four or more loops configured in a parallel layer.
Larsen teaches the coil comprises at least 2 loops configured in a parallel layer (see figs. 1A-1B and ¶ [0028-30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Monge, such that the coil comprises at least 2 loops configured in a parallel layer, as taught by Larsen, as it would merely be substituting of one known element (coil with 2 loops configured in a parallel layer) for another (loop antenna) to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Hua teaches a system comprising: a sensor electronics system (¶ [0023], in vivo analyte monitoring system); and
an analyte sensor comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion, the distal portion being configured for positioning under a user's skin surface in contact with a bodily fluid for monitoring a level of an analyte in the bodily fluid and the proximal portion being configured for positioning above the user's skin surface and being in operative connection with the sensor electronics system (¶ [0019] and fig. 1, analyte sensor 102 is in contact with bodily fluids and proximal portion is positioned on the surface);
wherein the sensor electronics system is configured to receive sensor signals indicative of the analyte level from the analyte sensor and to generate from the sensor signals, data relating to the analyte level for wireless transmission, the sensor electronics system comprising a transceiver for transmitting outgoing signals including the data relating to the analyte level and for receiving incoming signals (¶ [0020], readers of the system can receive and transmit signals to other readers, computers, and sensors within the system);
wherein the transceiver comprises an electromagnetic signal generating component configured to be supplied with outgoing signals, the electromagnetic signal generating component having a first signal feed point and a second signal feed point (see fig. 1 and ¶ [0028-29], reader devices comprising transmitters are capable of communicating via NFC and Bluetooth, thereby requiring two feed points each),
wherein the first signal feed point is at an end of the electrically conductive element (¶ [0046-47], one of ordinary skill in the art understands that there must be a first end and second end to which the feedlines connect in a loop antenna).
wherein the sensor electronics system is configured to operate in a first communication mode and is further configured to operate in a second communication mode, wherein in the first communication mode the sensor electronics system is configured to supply first outgoing signals to the first signal feed point of the electromagnetic signal generating component and in the second communication mode the sensor electronics system is configured to supply second outgoing signals to the second signal feed point of the electromagnetic signal generating component (¶ [0028], the readers are configured to operate in a first mode when using NFC link and a second mode when communicating via Bluetooth),
Hua fails to teach wherein the sensor electronics system is configured to supply the first and second outgoing signals to first and second signal feed points, respectively, to the electromagnetic signal generating component in the first communication mode and the second communication mode. Hua recites “Reader device 120-1 capable of communication with OBD 102 over NFC link 141-1 and BT link 142-1, and by the presence of second reader device 120-2 capable of communication with OBD 102 over NFC link 141-2 and BT link 142-2,” “Reader device 120 can communicate with multiple OBDs 102,” and “In some embodiments, a particular reader device 120 can communicate with multiple OBDs concurrently, located on the same or different users” indicating that the first and second signals from the reader device of the sensor electronics system can communicate at the same time via BT and NFC links) (¶ [0028-30],), but fails to explicitly recite that the outgoing signals are performed at the same time.
Monge teaches a dual band transmitter, comprising at least 2 feed points, configured for simultaneously transmitting and receiving at different frequency bands (¶[0007]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua, such that the sensor electronics system is configured to supply the first and second outgoing signals to first and second signal feed points, respectively, to the electromagnetic signal generating component in the first communication mode and the second communication mode, as taught by Monge, to achieve a high data rate and communication range with less power and area ( ¶ [0003] of Monge).
Hua fails to teach the following in the particular embodiment relied upon above, but in a different embodiment teaches wherein the sensor electronics system comprises a first processor for controlling the first communication mode and second processor for controlling the second communication mode ( ¶ [0045-48], “ Reader 120 can be implemented in a highly interconnected fashion, where power supply 216 is coupled with each component shown in FIG. 2 and where those components that communicate or receive data, information, or commands (e.g., processor 206, memory 203, memory 210, power management circuitry 218, input component 121, display 122, first communication circuitry 241, and second communication circuitry 242),” “First communication circuitry 241 and antenna 251 are configured for communication (transmission and/or reception) over communication link 141, and second communication circuitry 242 and antenna 252 are configured for communication over communication link 142,” “Communication circuitry 241 and 242 can be implemented as one or more chips and/or components (e.g., transmitter, receiver, transceiver, encoder, decoder, and/or other communication circuitry) that perform the functions for communications over the respective communications links 141 and 142.,” “Processor 206 can include one or more processors, microprocessors, controllers, and/or microcontrollers, each of which can be a discrete chip or distributed amongst (and a portion of) a number of different chips,” and “Processor 206 can interface with communication circuitry 241 and 242.”). In summary, the communication circuitry responsible for BT and NFC communication can be implemented in a reader device as two chips/components comprising respective elements, e.g., processor, receiver, transmitter, etc., that are configured to provide the communication signals in BT and NFC mode.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Monge, such that the sensor electronics system comprises a first processor for controlling the first communication mode and second processor for controlling the second communication mode, as taught and/or suggested by Hua, to aid in maintaining communication compliance with wireless protocol requirements (¶ [0006]).
Hua fails to teach wherein the second signal feed point is located along the electrically conductive element between opposing ends of the electrically conductive element.
Larsen teaches an antenna configuration with two ends (see abstract). The configuration further comprises a second signal feed point (106) that is between the first/second ends (102,104) (see fig. 1A-1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Jung, such that the second signal feed point is substantially between the first and second ends, as taught by Larsen, because Hua requires an antenna, but fails to provide details. Larsen teaches the antenna can be configured with a second signal feed point to aid in providing a single antenna capable of operating different communication protocols (¶ [0003-5] of Larsen).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua in view of Monge, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yamagishi et al. (US 20190042811- Previously cited), hereinafter Yamagishi.
Regarding claim 12, Hua-Monge teach wherein the electron magnetic component is defined by traces (¶[0047,0060] of Hua, trace antenna on PCB). Hua-Monge fail to teach wherein the electromagnetic signal generating component is provided on a plurality of substrate layers of a substrate, wherein at least two of the plurality of substrate layers are electrically connected by one or more vias.
Yamagishi teaches an antenna device for NFC communication (abstract). The antenna device comprises at least two antenna substrate layers (20,50) that each comprise an FPC substrate layer (53,23), wherein each FPC substrate layer (52,23) are electrically connected by a via/contact hole (¶ [0053,0060-71] and fig. 6-10, “the antenna line of either one of the antenna patterns goes through a contact hole formed in the FPC substrate 23 to be arranged in another layer of the FPC substrate 23” “the antenna line of either one of the antenna patterns goes through a contact hole formed in the FPC substrate 53 to be arranged in another layer of the FPC substrate 53”).
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Hua-Monge, such that the electromagnetic signal generating component is provided on a plurality of substrate layers of a substrate, wherein at least two of the plurality of substrate layers are electrically connected by one or more vias, as taught by Yamagishi, because Hua requires an antenna, but fails to provide details, and Yamagishi teaches that an antenna can be configured with multiple substrate layers electrically connected by vias.
Regarding claim 13, Hua-Monge fail to teach wherein the plurality of substrate layers comprises two outer substrate layers and two inner substrate layers, and wherein the traces of Hua defining the electromagnetic signal generating component are provided on two inner substrate layers of the plurality of substrate layers.
In Yamagishi, the substrate layers include (10, 50, 20, 30 in fig. 6), the inner substrate layers (20,50) are provided with the electromagnetic signal generating component/antennas (¶ [0038-40], liquid crystal panel and Ex, Ey are formed of insulative/substrate layers).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Hua-Monge-Yamagishi, such that there are 4 linearly stacked substrate layers and the inner layers comprises a signal generating component, as taught by Yamagishi, because Hua requires an antenna, but fails to provide details, and Yamagishi teaches that the antenna can be constructed with two outer substrate layers and two inner substrate layers with electromagnetic signal generating components provided thereon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the deficiencies of Jung in view of the amendment have been considered but are moot because amendments require new grounds of rejection. Specifically, Jung doesn’t teach concurrent excitation of distinct feed points of a common component. As such, Monge is used to teach supplying different signal feed points (14,16) of a single electromagnetic signal generating component 10 and concurrent excitation of distinct feed points (¶[0007] and fig. 1b, “the transceiver can simultaneously transmit at 915 MHz and 2.4 GHz frequency bands. Similarly, it can receive simultaneously from both bands”).
It is noted, Applicant argues that simultaneous operation of different modules on a single device does not read on the claimed invention’s signal generating component, on page 6 of the Remarks. However, this argument is misguided because the claims do not limit the signal generating component to a single antenna. Instead, one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably interpret the limitation to be a single device comprising multiple antennas, therefore comprising distinct feed points. Even if the claims are amended to make such a distinction, the amendments would not overcome the teachings of a single antenna with different feed points as seen in Konanur (EP 2834883). More detail of the structure is required to overcome art of record.
Applicant’s arguments related to electrical traces, on pages 7-8 of the Remarks, have been considered, but are unpersuasive because Hua is relied upon for this limitation not Yamagishi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johnson teaches a dual-band wireless radio communication interface system configured for two way wireless communication. A single trace for the antenna may be designed for multiplex use with multiple frequencies, or multiple traces may mate with multiple PCB contacts for multiple simultaneous frequencies. US 20180077779
Park teaches a dual-polarized wave (e.g., a vertically polarized wave and a horizontally polarized wave) in a predetermined direction of the antenna module. US 20220336967
Jong teaches the antenna device configured in a dual-band dual-polarization antenna radiation structure (or a dual-type antenna radiation structure) in which a plurality of antenna elements, for example, two antenna elements are stacked inside the single antenna device. Transmit and/or receive signals in different frequency bands simultaneously or at different time points. US 20200358173
Konanur teaches integrating a flexible printed circuit (FPC), which incorporates the NFC/WLAN coil antenna, into a device may minimize the increase in the thickness of the device. EP 2834883
/MARTIN NATHAN ORTEGA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791