Claims 1-5 and new claims 6-17 are under consideration in the instant Office Action.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of newly amended specification.
The objection to claim 2 is withdrawn in view of newly amended claims.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn in view of newly amended claims.
Modified Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and new claims 7-11, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kacskovics et al., WO2015/036004 (IDS).
Kacskovics teaches methods of producing anti-thymocyte globulin (ATG). Kacskovics teaches polyclonal anti-thymocyte globulin produced in horse, goats and cows (aka bovine, see page 1, 2nd paragraph, page 11, 3rd paragraph, and page 9, 1st paragraph) and reads on instant claim 1. Kacskovics teaches that the animals are immunized with human thymocytes (see page 1, 2nd paragraph) and reads on instant claims 1-3. Kacskovics teaches administering thymocytes 2 or more time and up to 4 times (see page 13, 2nd paragraph) and reads on instant claim 2. Kacskovics teaches that this method produces immunoglobulin G (IgG) antibodies (see abstract and page 1, 1st paragraph) and reads on instant claim 3. Kacskovics teaches methods on how to produce fully human antibodies for ATG (see paragraph spanning page 20-21) and reads on instant claims 1-3. Kacskovics teaches using human thymocyte cells at 10ml solution at 7x109 cells (see page 46, 13.1) and reads on the about 1 x109 cells per ml since the concentration is about 0.7 x109 cells per ml as now required in instant claim 1. Kacskovics teaches that these cells are fresh and a live and never have been frozen as required in instant claims 7-8. Kacskovics teaches administering the human thymocytes subcutaneously (see bottom of page 13) and reads on instant claim 9. Kacskovics teaches using adjuvant with the thymocytes and that these include Freund's complete adjuvant ("FCA"), Freund's incomplete adjuvant ("FIA"), mineral gels (e.g., aluminum hydroxide), or TLR agonists, e.g. TLR-7/8, TLR-9 or TLR-10 agonists (see page 14, 2nd paragraph) and reads on instant claims 10-11. Kacskovics teaches the ATG composition, which is made up of immunoglobulins, is harvested and purified (see pages 23 and 43) and reads on instant claims 1, 13 and 17. Kacskovics teaches obtaining immunoglobulin fractions by extraction of the anti-thymocyte immunoglobulins from the animals blood from the first mammal's immune body fluid and using hemadsorption, which is the adsorption on human red blood cells, to eliminate e.g. anti-human erythrocyte immunoglobulins (see bottom of page 21) and reads on instant claims 13 and 17. The blood sample reads on the plasma requirement of claim 1 since blood includes plasma.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and new claims 7-11, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kacskovics et al., WO2015/036004 (IDS) as applied to claims 1-3 and new claims 7-11, 13 and 17 above, and further in view of Matsushita et al., 2015 (IDS).
See Kacskovics, as discussed above. While Kacskovics teaches a transgenic ungulate to produce a polyclonal human anti-thymocyte globulin (ATC), Kacskovics fails to specifically teach the genes encoding the transgenic ungulate as required in instant claims 4-5.
Matsushita teaches transgenic ungulates to produce large-scale production of fully human IgG (hIgG) or human polyclonal antibodies (see abstract) as in instant claim 1. Matsushita teaches human IgG1 class switch regulatory elements were subjected to site-specific genomic chimerization on human artificial chromosome (HAC) vectors to further enhance hIgG expression and improve hIgG subclass distribution in cattle wherein these species-specific modifications in a chromosome scale resulted in much higher production levels of fully hIgG of up to 15 g/L in sera or plasma, the highest ever reported for a transgenic animal system (see abstract and page 2/30, 4th paragraph) as in instant claim 4. Matsushita teaches that the new HAC vectors in which the hIGHG1 gene class switch regulatory element, human Iγ1-Sγ1 (hIγ1-hSγ1) were bovinized (human sequences were replaced with bovine sequences; see page 3/30 1st paragraph) as required in instant claim 5. Matsushita teaches that transchromosomic (Tc) cattle containing engineered HAC vectors generated human polyclonal Abs with high titers against human-origin antigens following immunization (see abstract). Matsushita does not specifically teach producing the ATG of instant claim 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Kacskovics and Matsushita. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Matsushita teaches that transchromosomic (Tc) cattle containing engineered HAC vectors generated human polyclonal Abs with high titers against human-origin antigens following immunization. One of ordinary skill in the art would use the ungulate transgenic model to produce the ATG as taught by Kacskovics to increase the production level of these polyclonal antibodies for human therapy and also overcome severe side effects such as allergic reactions (see page 2/30, 1st paragraph). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references.
Claims 1-5 and new claims 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kacskovics et al., WO2015/036004 (IDS) and Matsushita et al., 2015 (IDS) in view of Hooper et al., US2017/0233459 (2/24/2026 PTO-892).
See Kacskovics and Matsushita, as discussed above. Neither reference teaches the limitations of new claims 13-16.
Hooper teaches methods of producing human polyclonal antibodies by immunizing transchromosomal ungulate animals [0004-0005] as required in instant claim 1. Hooper teaches vaccinating the ungulate animal every 3-4 week intervals with a vaccine with an adjuvant wherein it is an oil adjuvant, Montanide ISA 206 (which is a water-in-oil-in-water (w/o/w) type of emulsion), (see [0145] and Table 1) as required in instant claims 10-12. Hooper teaches purification of fully human IgG by collecting plasma and using caprylic acid to fractionate the plasm, followed by filtration steps using a depth filter device to remove non - IgG proteins from bovine plasma and further purified by using human IgG light chain kappa specific affinity chromatography followed by a second purification using bovine IgG heavy chain specific affinity chromatography (see [0146-0147]; [0195-0196]) as required in instant claims 1 and 13-16.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention from the disclosures of Kacskovics, Matsushita and Hooper. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make and use the invention as claimed because Hooper teaches producing human antibodies in an ungulate animal and that they are successful in vaccinating the animal at 3-4 week intervals and one would use the method of purification taught by Hooper since it will produce a pure human antibody product which would be safer for use in the target subject, humans. One of ordinary skill in the art would use the ungulate transgenic model to produce the ATG as taught by Kacskovics to increase the production level of these polyclonal antibodies for human therapy and also overcome severe side effects such as allergic reactions (see page 2/30, 1st paragraph). Finally, Kacskovics teaches using human thymocyte cells at 10ml of cell solution at 7x109 cells (see page 46, 13.1) and reads on the about 1 x109 cells per ml since the concentration is about 0.7 x109 cells per ml. New claim 6 call for higher concentrations which would be achieved since Kacskovics teaches centrifuging these cell and therefore concentrating the cells and would produce the required doses through routine optimization of the method and purification concentration. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Kacskovics reference fails to teach the new limitation of cell dosages of instant claim 1. This is not found persuasive as already show above that the Kacskovics does indeed meet the new requirement. Further, Kacskovics also meets the other new limitations as set forth above in the anticipatory rejection. All new limitations that were not met by the prior art are taught by the Hooper reference as set forth above. Therefore, the arguments are not found persuasive and the claims stand rejected for the rejections set forth above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Advisory Information
/AURORA M FONTAINHAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675