DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Zank et al 6415945.
Zank et al discloses the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1. A set of nesting containers, comprising: a first container 816 having one or more first side walls supporting a ledge 880 and a first lip; and a second container See Fig.23 and 23A with plurality of containers 880 having one or more second side walls supporting a second lip; wherein the second lip of the second container rests upon the ledge of the first container when the second container is nested within the first container.
2. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein no portion of the second container is higher than the first container when the second container is nested within the first container. See Fig.22
3. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein no side wall of the second container contacts any side wall of the first container when the second container is nested within the first container. See Fig.22
4. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein: each of the first container and the second container comprises a bottom; and the bottom of the second container does not contact the bottom of the first container when the second container is nested within the first container. See Fig.23 and 23A
6. The set of nesting containers of claim 5, wherein the first container is a collector-type container. See Fig.23 and 23A
10. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein one or both the first lip and the second lip are continuous about the side walls of the first container and the second container, respectively. See Fig.23 and 23A
11. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein one or both the first lip and the second lip are discontinuous about the side walls of the first container and the second container, respectively. See Fig.23 and 23A
12. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein the ledge of the first container is continuous about a circumference of the first container. See Fig.23 and 23A
14. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, further comprising: an additional second container having an additional second lip 1000; wherein both the second container and the additional second container are simultaneously nested within the first container.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Geier 8857802.
Geier discloses the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1. A set of nesting containers, comprising: a first container 102 having one or more first side walls supporting a ledge 134 and a first lip 133; and a second container See Fig.6 and 202 having one or more second side walls supporting a second lip; wherein the second lip of the second container rests upon the ledge of the first container when the second container is nested within the first container.
2. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein no portion of the second container is higher than the first container when the second container is nested within the first container. See Fig.12
3. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein no side wall of the second container contacts any side wall of the first container when the second container is nested within the first container. See Fig.12
6. The set of nesting containers of claim 5, wherein the first container is a collector-type container. See Fig.1
7. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, further comprising: a lid installable 190 upon the second container; wherein no portion of the lid is higher than the first container.
10. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein one or both the first lip and the second lip are continuous about the side walls of the first container and the second container, respectively. See Fig.12
11. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein one or both the first lip and the second lip are discontinuous about the side walls of the first container and the second container, respectively. See element 131 which is a notch in the lips
12. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein the ledge of the first container is continuous about a circumference of the first container. See Fig.1
13. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, wherein the ledge of the first container is discontinuous about a circumference of the first container. See element 131 which is a notch in the lips
14. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, further comprising: an additional second container having an additional second lip 1000; wherein both the second container and the additional second container are simultaneously nested within the first container. See Fig.2 where the ledge has multiple lips 150, 154
15. The set of nesting containers of claim 1, further comprising at least one cover 190.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zank et al 6415945 in view of Murphy 2008/0149552 A1.
Zank et al discloses the claimed invention except for strainer type container.
Murphy discloses a container which has strainer apertures 18 which allows a container with a cutting board 13 to have utility such as draining water or liquid and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed by modifying the Zank et al device by providing aperture which allows liguids to be drained by providing the predictable result add apertures to drain liquids. KSR
In regard to claim 9, The Zank et al containers could be installed within a cut-out of a cutting board of Murphy as shown in the the modification above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The 892 form discloses prior art being made of record.
LEE D. WILSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
Ldw
/LEE D WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 February 23, 2026