1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 8/27/2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 9 and 16 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 9 and 16 were amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen et al (“Rosen” US 2004/0172245) in view of Chen (US 2021/0144251) and further in view of Seth et al (“Seth” US 2023/0315983).
Regarding claim 1, Rosen discloses a method of generating a structured document from a speech audio input comprising an unstructured verbal narrative (see paragraph [0004]; e.g., "The steps include creating a template having a user-defined format having at least one predetermined heading, selecting a voice file and a corresponding speech recognized text file, identifying the location of each heading in the text file, and the text corresponding thereto, and populating the template with the identified text corresponding to each heading”), the method for execution on a computing system, the method comprising:
receiving fine-tuning data having a layout that follows one or more formatting requirements, the fine-tuning data comprising individual sections of content associated with individual categories (see paragraph [0004]; e.g., "The steps include creating a template having a user-defined format having at least one predetermined heading”; also see paragraph [0010]; e.g., "a template is created identifying the section headings and the formatting information for a final report"; also see claim 7);
determining the one or more formatting requirements by analyzing the fine-tuning data, wherein the analysis determines the one or more formatting requirements based on a format or a layout of the content of the fine-tuning data (see paragraph [0004]; e.g., "The steps include creating a template having a user-defined format having at least one predetermined heading”; also see paragraph [0010]; e.g., "a template is created identifying the section headings and the formatting information for a final report");
receiving the speech audio input at a microphone in communication with the computing system, the speech audio input including the unstructured verbal narrative (see fig 4, 16; also see paragraph [0017]; e.g., "while treating a patient, a doctor would record a voice file”; also see paragraph [0010] and claim 1; e.g., “selecting a voice file");
converting the speech audio input including the unstructured verbal narrative into a text translation of the unstructured verbal narrative (see paragraph [0017]; e.g., "an unstructured speech recognized text file created from such a recording”; also see paragraph [0011] and Fig 1, 20; also see claim 1; e.g., "a corresponding speech recognized text file");
determining one or more categories by analyzing the text translation of the unstructured verbal narrative (see paragraph [0019]; e.g., "the text file is parsed and each of the heading sections are automatically marked within the text"; also see paragraph [0072] and Fig. 1, 30; also see claim 1; e.g., “identifying the location of each heading in the text file...");
identifying individual sections of select content by analyzing the text translation of the unstructured verbal narrative, wherein the individual sections of select content are associated with individual categories of the one or more categories (see paragraph [0019]; e.g., “identifying the location of each heading in the text file, and the text corresponding thereto"; also see paragraph [0012] and Fig. 1, 320); and
providing the one or more formatting requirements identified from the fine-tuning data, the one or more categories, and the individual sections of select content identified from the text translation of the unstructured verbal narrative to generate the structured document, wherein the structured document comprises the individual sections of select content each associated with the one or more categories, wherein the individual sections of select content and the one or more categories are ordered and formatted according to the one or more formatting requirements identified by the analysis of the fine-tuning data (see paragraph [0020]; e.g., "In this draft final report, all section headings and their corresponding text sections would bear all formatting information (font, bolding, alignment, etc.) stored in the template and would appear in the specified template order"; also see paragraph [0014]; e.g., “This draft report will list each section in order, with each accompanying text section placed under the correct section heading. Furthermore, depending on the format information contained in the template, font characteristics, spacing, and alignment also be applied to this draft report.”; also see claim 1; e.g., "populating the template with the identified text corresponding to each heading” and Fig. 1, 60).
Rosen does not expressly disclose analyzing the speech audio input to determine speech characteristics that include at least one of a volume, a tone of voice, and one or more inflections of a voice included in the speech audio input and using the speech characteristics to supplement the one or more formatting requirements; nor generating a structured document using a large language model.
However, Chen discloses analyzing the speech audio input to determine speech characteristics that include at least one of a volume, a tone of voice, and one or more inflections of a voice included in the speech audio input and using the speech characteristics to supplement the one or more formatting requirements (see paragraphs [0157] and [0167]; e.g., analyze voice input to determine mood based on characteristics (e.g., volume of voice or tone) of voice). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Chen’s teachings in Rosen’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly, intuitive interface by analyzing non-textual voice characteristics.
Moreover, Seth discloses that it is well-known in the art to generate a structured document using a large language model (see fig 14 and paragraphs [0163]-[0173]; e.g., “Large language model 750 may generate an output (e.g. transcript summarization data 760) according to the input”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Seth’s teachings in Rosen’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that simplifies the output of uniform documents.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Rosen discloses analyzing the fine-tuning data to identify additional categories, wherein the additional categories do not include categories identified in the unstructured verbal narrative; associating content selected from the unstructured verbal narrative with the additional categories; and providing the additional categories and the associated content to the large language model to supplement the one or more categories and the individual sections of select content for causing the large language model to generate the structured document comprising the additional categories with the one or more categories and the individual sections of select content (see Rosen paragraph [0004]; e.g., "The steps include creating a template having a user-defined format having at least one predetermined heading”; also see paragraph [0010]; e.g., "a template is created identifying the section headings and the formatting information for a final report"; also see claim 7).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Rosen discloses analyzing the fine-tuning data and the unstructured verbal narrative to identify references to supplement the select content, wherein the references have a threshold level of relevancy to the select content; generating a query for one or more resources for retrieving the additional resources; sending the query to the one or more resources, causing the one or more resources to return the references; and providing the references to the large language model for causing the large language model to integrate the references into the structured document (see Rosen paragraph [0004]; e.g., "The steps include creating a template having a user-defined format having at least one predetermined heading”; also see paragraph [0010]; e.g., "a template is created identifying the section headings and the formatting information for a final report"; also see claim 7).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Rosen discloses receiving supplemental inputs from a computing device associated with an end user to modify the structured document, wherein the supplemental inputs defining modifications to the sections of select content or the one or more categories of the structured document; causing a modification to the structured document based on the modifications to the sections of select content or the one or more categories; and updating model input data defining the one or more categories or the one or more categories, for causing the large language model to modify a layout of future structured documents generated by the large language model (see Rosen paragraph [0020]; e.g., "In this draft final report, all section headings and their corresponding text sections would bear all formatting information (font, bolding, alignment, etc.) stored in the template and would appear in the specified template order"; also see paragraph [0014]; e.g., “This draft report will list each section in order, with each accompanying text section placed under the correct section heading. Furthermore, depending on the format information contained in the template, font characteristics, spacing, and alignment also be applied to this draft report.”; also see claim 1; e.g., "populating the template with the identified text corresponding to each heading” and Fig. 1, 60).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Rosen discloses receiving supplemental inputs from a computing device associated with an end user, the supplemental inputs defining modifications to a layout of the structured document, modifications to the sections of select content, or modifications to the one or more categories; causing a modification to the structured document based on the modifications to the sections of select content or the one or more categories; and updating model input data defining the one or more formatting requirements or the one or more categories for causing the large language model to modify a layout of future structured documents generated by the large language model in response to receiving additional speech audio inputs defining unstructured verbal narrative, wherein updates to the model input data are restricted for the supplemental inputs only include modifications to the sections of select content, wherein updates to the formatting requirements of the model input data are allowed for supplemental inputs defining modifications to the layout of the structured document (see Rosen paragraph [0020]; e.g., "In this draft final report, all section headings and their corresponding text sections would bear all formatting information (font, bolding, alignment, etc.) stored in the template and would appear in the specified template order"; also see paragraph [0014]; e.g., “This draft report will list each section in order, with each accompanying text section placed under the correct section heading. Furthermore, depending on the format information contained in the template, font characteristics, spacing, and alignment also be applied to this draft report.”; also see claim 1; e.g., "populating the template with the identified text corresponding to each heading” and Fig. 1, 60).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Rosen discloses wherein the fine-tuning data is received from a first remote computing device associated with an administrator with access rights to modify model input data, wherein the speech audio input is received at the microphone in communication with a second remote computing device associated with an end user (see Rosen fig 4, 16; also see paragraph [0017]; e.g., "while treating a patient, a doctor would record a voice file”; also see paragraph [0010] and claim 1; e.g., “selecting a voice file").
Regarding claim 7, the modified Rosen discloses wherein the structured document comprises explanations that are ordered according to an order of associated categories, wherein images are positioned and sized according to the one or more formatting requirements (see Rosen paragraph [0020]; e.g., "In this draft final report, all section headings and their corresponding text sections would bear all formatting information (font, bolding, alignment, etc.) stored in the template and would appear in the specified template order"; also see paragraph [0014]; e.g., “This draft report will list each section in order, with each accompanying text section placed under the correct section heading. Furthermore, depending on the format information contained in the template, font characteristics, spacing, and alignment also be applied to this draft report.”; also see claim 1; e.g., "populating the template with the identified text corresponding to each heading” and Fig. 1, 60).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Rosen discloses generating one or more category requirements defining a priority of individual categories or an order of individual categories; and providing the one or more category requirements to the large language model for causing the large language model to control a layout of the formatted document according to the priority of individual categories or the order of individual categories (see Rosen paragraph [0020]; e.g., "In this draft final report, all section headings and their corresponding text sections would bear all formatting information (font, bolding, alignment, etc.) stored in the template and would appear in the specified template order"; also see paragraph [0014]; e.g., “This draft report will list each section in order, with each accompanying text section placed under the correct section heading. Furthermore, depending on the format information contained in the template, font characteristics, spacing, and alignment also be applied to this draft report.”; also see claim 1; e.g., "populating the template with the identified text corresponding to each heading” and Fig. 1, 60).
Claims 9-15 are similar in scope to claims 1-5 and 7-8, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 16-20 are similar in scope to claims 1-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karp et al (US 2020/0372411).
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174