DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spurlin et al. (US20150376791A1) in view of Raaikmakers et al. (US6113698).
Regarding Claim 1, Spurlin teaches a device for treating a substrate including a metal seed layer (abstract);
The device comprising:
A chamber body;
A controller configured to execute a reducing process by driving a plasma supply unit to supply plasma to the surface (Abstract, [0008]);
However, the prior art does not teach a hot plate configured to set the substrate and degassing by driving the hot plate to remove an adsorbate before plasma supplying. However, Raaikmakers teaches a degassing apparatus for clamping and heating a wafer without exposing the wafter (object) to external stress (Abstract); where the apparatus comprises a heated substrate support (hot plate) where the heated substrate support has a plurality of openings which diffuse gas into the chamber (Col. 5, Lines 1-10) to degass the substrate (Col. 4, 15-25) for the purpose of driving off absorbed water vapor and impurities (See Col. 1, Lines 15-25); therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus of Spurlin to include a hot plate configured to set the substrate and degass the substrate to remove absorbate and impurities before plasma reduction.
Regarding Claim 2, Raaikmakers teaches a heat conducting gas medium is used to heat to the desired temperature during degassing (Col. 9, Lines 25-50) (and is also controlled by the controller responsible for degassing)
Regarding Claim 5, it is implied that a power supply line (electric wire) is electrically connected to the hot plate; and the degassing unit creates a greater pressure along the front side of the substrate compared to the chamber (See Col. 8, Lines 1-10)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-4 and 6-7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Spurlin et al. (US20150376791A1) in view of Raaikmakers et al. (US6113698) as used above, which teaches a substrate processing device for degassing and plasma reducing a metal seed layer on the substrate; however the prior art does not teach or suggest each and every valve and bypass limitation of claim 3; the support configured to form a gap as required by claim 4; a diffusion member formed from sintered alumina as required by claim 6; and the film forming chamber limitation of claim 7.
/RICARDO D MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738