DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on 08/08/2023 for application number 18/457,113.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recites “The cell stack management system according to claim 1.” (emphasis added) Claim 12 should be dependent on either claim 10 or claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cell monitoring unit” in claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 15 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano et al. (US 2015/0054467 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takano teaches a cell stack management system that manages a cell stack including a plurality of power storage cells connected in series or parallel (“the battery module 31 comprises a plurality of secondary cells connected in series. Part or all of the secondary cells [power storage cells] constituting the battery module 31 can be a plurality of secondary cells connected in parallel.” Par 0032 and Figure 2), the cell stack management system comprising:
a cell monitoring unit that is connected to the plurality of power storage cells and measures an output voltage of at least one of the plurality of power storage cells (“Across both terminals of the battery module 31, a voltage sensor 34 is connected in parallel. The voltage sensor 34 measures the value (hereinafter referred to as the battery voltage value) of the voltage across the battery module 31… The potential difference between the positive and negative electrodes of each secondary cell in the battery module 31 (that is, the voltage value for each cell in the battery module 31) can also be measured to be included in the battery status data.” Par 0033 and Figure 2);
a battery management unit that manages the cell stack (“The battery management portion 21 receives, from each battery unit BU, battery status data (see FIG. 2) indicating the status of the battery module 31 inside the battery unit BU,” par 0030); and
a first communication network that connects the cell monitoring unit and the battery management unit (“The battery management portion 21 is connected to each unit control portion 32 via the communication line CLB.” par 0038 and Figure 1) [the communication line corresponds to the first communication network], wherein
the battery management unit includes:
a first communication circuit connected to the first communication network (Figure 6, communication portion 61, which is connected to CLb; and par 42);
a second communication circuit connected to a second communication network for connecting to a higher-level system of the cell stack management system (Figure 6, communication portion 62, which is connected to CLs and power conversion control portion and power conversion circuit; par 42);
a control circuit that controls the battery management unit (Figure 5, main control portion 60); and
a control circuit power supply that supplies power to the control circuit (“A regulator 65 is connected to the power line PLS … and generates from the voltage between the breaker terminals 55 and 56 a voltage VMAIN” par 0041 and “The main control portion 60 comprises a CPU … and is driven by, as its driving voltage, the voltage VMAIN.” Par 0042 and Fig. 6),
the cell stack management system includes, as modes of operation, a normal mode and a low-power mode that consumes less power than the normal mode (“The plurality of operation modes as candidates for the target operation mode include at least a normal operation mode and an intermittent operation mode” par 0062 and “In intermittent operation, no electric power is consumed in sleep periods by the converter 63 or the communication power supply circuit 64 itself, or by any block driven by the voltages those generate, and thus power saving is achieved.” Par 0068),
in the low-power mode, at least one of the control circuit power supply, the control circuit, or the second communication circuit is deactivated (“in active periods, the communication portions 61 and 62 conduct communication in a similar manner as in the normal operation mode; by contrast, in sleep periods, the communication portions 61 and 62 are not supplied with the communication supply voltages as their driving voltages, and thus do not conduct any transmission or reception operation.” Par 0065) [the communication circuit is deactivated in sleep mode], and
during transition from the low-power mode to the normal mode, the first communication circuit activates at least one of the control circuit power supply, the control circuit, or the second communication circuit (“when the communication portion 61 receives a signal REQNOR, it returns a signal REPNOR to switch back to normal operation.” Par 0066 and “in active periods, the communication portions 61 and 62 conduct communication in a similar manner as in the normal operation mode” par 0065).
Regarding claim 2, Takano teaches the cell stack management system according to claim 1, wherein
the cell monitoring unit outputs a first operation signal indicating a state of the plurality of power storage cells to the first communication circuit (“The unit control portion 32 generates battery status data (battery status information) based on the measured battery current value, battery voltage value, and battery temperature, and transmits it to the battery management portion 21. For each battery unit BU, such battery status data is generated and transmitted to the battery management portion 21.” Par 0034 and Figures 2, 3) [the battery status data corresponds to the operation signal],
when at least one of the control circuit power supply, the control circuit, or the second communication circuit is deactivated and the cell monitoring unit detects an anomaly, the cell monitoring unit outputs the first operation signal indicating an anomaly (“the unit control portion 32 of each battery unit BU can, when a fault (such as overcharging) occurs and it is serious, output a STOP signal,” par 0040 and “If an abnormal state (such as overcharging) is identified during operation in the intermittent operation mode, the operation mode is forcibly shifted to the normal operation mode” Abstract and Figure 6) [based on battery status data, a STOP signal is outputted], and
when the first communication circuit receives the first operation signal indicating an anomaly, the first communication circuit activates the control circuit power supply, the control circuit, and the second communication circuit (“if a cancellation condition is fulfilled (step S132, Y), intermittent operation is stopped and normal operation is started (step S134).” Par 0117 and “when the target operation mode is the normal operation mode, the main control portion 60 keeps the switch 66 (see FIG. 5) on so that the communication supply voltages (V[3.3] and V[5]) are generated continuously” par 0065 and Figure 15) [in normal operation, the switch that supplies power to the control and communication components is activated].
Regarding claim 3, Takano teaches the cell stack management system according to 1, wherein
the control circuit power supply is activated by the first communication circuit or the higher-level system (“Thereafter, when the communication portion 61 receives a signal REQNOR, it returns a signal REPNOR to switch back to normal operation.” Par 0066 and Figure 5) [when the first communication circuit (portion 61) receives signal to return to normal operation, the power supply is activated by keeping the switch 66 closed].
Regarding claim 4, Takano teaches the cell stack management system according to claim 3, wherein
the second communication circuit is deactivated in the low- power mode (“In intermittent operation, the communication by the communication portions 61 and 62 is intermittently suspended.” par 0064),
when activated by the first communication circuit, the second communication circuit notifies the higher-level system via the second communication network of the activation of the second communication circuit (“the communication portion 62 can transmit, in a form integrated in a response signal 322, a mode notification signal 362 for notifying which operation mode is currently the target operation mode to the power conversion control portion 11.” Par 0061), and
the higher-level system activates at least one of the control circuit power supply or the control circuit via the second communication network (“a mode request signal 361 can be either a normal operation request signal REQNOR which demands that the normal operation mode be set as the target operation mode … a mode notification signal 362 can be … a normal operation notification signal REPNOR which notifies that the normal operation mode is set as the target operation mode” par 0066 and Figure 5) [as shown in Figure 5, power conversion control circuit communicates with communication portion 62 (second) which is directly coupled to the main control portion].
Regarding claim 5, Takano teaches the cell stack management system according to claim 2, wherein
when the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated, the first operation signal transmitted by the cell monitoring unit is a repeating pulse signal (The communication portion 61 performs basic communication operation periodically, at predetermined time intervals INTB” par 0048 and “In intermittent operation, the communication by the communication portions 61 and 62 is intermittently suspended… as shown in FIG. 9, active periods, in which the communication portions 61 and 62 conduct communication, and sleep periods, in which the communication by the communication portions 61 and 62 is suspended, occur alternately.” Par 0064 and Figure 9) [when communication is periodic, that means the battery status data (operation signal) is also sent periodically].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Furukawa et al. (US 2021/0159710 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Takano teaches the cell stack management system according to claim 2. Takano further teaches wherein
the battery management unit includes a first power supply and a power converter which supply power to the first communication circuit (“The communication power supply circuit 64 converts the voltage V[12] into communication supply voltages and outputs them to communication portions 61 and 62.” Par 0041 and Figure 5, converter 63),
the battery management unit includes a function for deactivating the first power supply in the low-power mode (“the battery management portion 21 performs intermittent operation. In intermittent operation, the communication by the communication portions 61 and 62 is intermittently suspended.” Par 0064),
when the first power supply is deactivated and the cell monitoring unit detects an anomaly, the cell monitoring unit outputs the first operation signal indicating an anomaly (“the unit control portion 32 of each battery unit BU can, when a fault (such as overcharging) occurs and it is serious, output a STOP signal,” par 0040 and “If an abnormal state (such as overcharging) is identified during operation in the intermittent operation mode, the operation mode is forcibly shifted to the normal operation mode” Abstract and Figure 6), and
when the first communication circuit receives the first operation signal indicating an anomaly via the first communication network, the first communication circuit activates the first power supply and stops output of the direct- current power by the power converter (“the unit control portion 32 of each battery unit BU can, when a fault (such as overcharging) occurs and it is serious, output a STOP signal … when this STOP signal is output, the breaker portion 22 is turned off.” Par 0040 and “supplies the obtained direct-current electric power via the breaker portion 22 to each battery unit BU.” Par 0027 and “If an abnormal state (such as overcharging) is identified during operation in the intermittent operation mode, the operation mode is forcibly shifted to the normal operation mode” Abstract and “When the normal operation mode is set as the target operation mode, the battery management portion 21 performs normal operation. In normal operation, the communication portions 61 and 62 conduct communication on a continuous basis.” par 0063) [when the stop signal is received (indicating overcharging) the system is returned to normal mode where first power supply is activated (communication portions are active) and the breaker portion (which supplies direct-current power to the converter) is turned off].
However, Takano does not explicitly teach when the first power supply is deactivated, the power converter converts a signal transmitted in the first communication network to direct-current power, and supplies the direct-current power to the first communication circuit,
In the analogous art, Furukawa teaches when the first power supply is deactivated, the power converter converts a signal transmitted in the first communication network to direct-current power, and supplies the direct-current power to the first communication circuit (“Power switch 53 of main management unit 50 is a switch for switching between supplying or shutting off the power supplied from lead battery 2” par 0046 and “and the communication signals [signal transmitted] between the plurality of sub-management units 10 to 30 and main management unit 50 [first communication circuit] are superimposed on power line 40 v and transmitted.” Par 0050 and “sub-management unit (30) further includes DC/DC converter (33) that converts a DC voltage supplied from power storage unit (2) other than the plurality of power storage modules (M1 to M3) via power line (40 v), into a predetermined DC voltage,” par 0099 and Figure 5) [the main switch manages deactivation of battery supply; DC/DC converter provides DC power to monitoring circuits via power line network that transmits communication signals],
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Takano and Furukawa before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Takano to incorporate the teachings of Furukawa to include a power converter to supply DC power to the communication circuit to simplify the wiring of the power supply system and enhance power efficiency. Including converter to convert the signal when the first power supply is deactivated allows the system to have a wider compatibility by converting the power based on system’s requirements.
Claims 7-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Kikuchi (US 2012/0025769 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Takano teaches cell stack management system that manages a cell stack including a plurality of power storage cells connected in series or parallel (“the battery module 31 comprises a plurality of secondary cells connected in series. Part or all of the secondary cells [power storage cells] constituting the battery module 31 can be a plurality of secondary cells connected in parallel.” Par 0032 and Figure 2), the cell stack management system comprising:
a cell monitoring unit that is connected to the plurality of power storage cells and measures an output voltage of at least one of the plurality of power storage cells (“Across both terminals of the battery module 31, a voltage sensor 34 is connected in parallel. The voltage sensor 34 measures the value (hereinafter referred to as the battery voltage value) of the voltage across the battery module 31… The potential difference between the positive and negative electrodes of each secondary cell in the battery module 31 (that is, the voltage value for each cell in the battery module 31) can also be measured to be included in the battery status data.” Par 0033 and Figure 2);
a battery management unit that manages the cell stack (“The battery management portion 21 receives, from each battery unit BU, battery status data (see FIG. 2) indicating the status of the battery module 31 inside the battery unit BU,” par 0030); and
a first communication network that connects the cell monitoring unit and the battery management unit (“The battery management portion 21 is connected to each unit control portion 32 via the communication line CLB.” par 0038 and Figure 1) [the communication line corresponds to the first communication network], wherein
the battery management unit includes:
a first communication circuit connected to the first communication network (Figure 6, communication portion 61, which is connected to CLb; and par 42);
a second communication circuit connected to a second communication network for connecting to a higher-level system of the cell stack management system (Figure 6, communication portion 62, which is connected to CLs and power conversion control portion and power conversion circuit; par 42); and
a control circuit that controls the battery management unit (Figure 5, main control portion 60).
However, Takano does not explicitly teach the first communication circuit is connected to a third communication network for connecting to the higher-level system.
In the analogous art, Kikuchi teaches the first communication circuit is connected to a third communication network for connecting to the higher-level system (“a serial communication system that comprises … a third transmission path for transmitting signals from a lowest ranking one of the integrated circuits that are connected in series to the control circuit” par 0008 and Figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Takano and Kikuchi before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Takano to incorporate the teachings of Kikuchi to add a third communication network to enhance the reliability of the battery system and communicate voltage values of the cells and take appropriate corrective actions.
Regarding claim 8, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 7. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
when at least one of the control circuit or the second communication circuit cannot communicate, the first communication circuit communicates with the higher-level system via the third communication network (“any integrated circuit [first circuit] that has detected an abnormal state sending an abnormality signal to the next integrated circuit even though it has not received any such transmission request from the battery controller 20 [higher level system], this abnormal state is rapidly transmitted to the battery controller 20.” Par 0085 and “a serial communication system that comprises … a third transmission path for transmitting signals from a lowest ranking one of the integrated circuits that are connected in series to the control circuit,” par 0008 and par 0115) [the third communication path allows IC to independently notify the battery controller of anomalies].
Regarding claim 9, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 7. Takano further teaches wherein
when at least one of the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated:
the cell monitoring unit transmits a first operation signal to the first communication circuit (“In intermittent operation, the communication by the communication portions 61 and 62 is intermittently suspended. when the target operation mode is the intermittent operation mode, as shown in FIG. 9, active periods, in which the communication portions 61 and 62 conduct communication, and sleep periods, in which the communication by the communication portions 61 and 62 is suspended, occur alternately.” Par 0064 and “The unit control portion 32 generates battery status data (battery status information) based on the measured battery current value, battery voltage value, and battery temperature, and transmits it to the battery management portion 21.” Par 0034); and
the first operation signal and the second operation signal that are transmitted when at least one of the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated are repeating pulse signals (“The communication portion 61 performs basic communication operation periodically, at predetermined time intervals INTB “ par 0048).
Kikuchi further teaches the first communication circuit transmits, via the third communication network, a second operation signal indicating that the cell monitoring unit and the first communication circuit are in operation (“it is possible for the battery controller 20 to check the communication path by sending and receiving a pseudo-abnormality signal [second signal] in this manner, so that the reliability of the system is enhanced. Moreover, as described above, by any integrated circuit that has detected an abnormal state sending an abnormality signal to the next integrated circuit even though it has not received any such transmission request from the battery controller 20, this abnormal state is rapidly transmitted to the battery controller 20.” Par 0085) [the test signal is transmitted through the IC and third transmission path to ensure functionality of monitoring units and communication circuits],
the first operation signal and the second operation signal that are transmitted when at least one of the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated are repeating pulse signals (“detection by the detection circuits may be performed in each cycle of a predetermined detection cycle.” Par 0011) [the test signals are sent repeatedly].
Regarding claim 10, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
when the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated and the cell monitoring unit detects an anomaly, the cell monitoring unit outputs the first operation signal indicating an anomaly (“by any integrated circuit that has detected an abnormal state sending an abnormality signal to the next integrated circuit even though it has not received any such transmission request from the battery controller 20, this abnormal state is rapidly transmitted to the battery controller 20.” Par 0085) [when higher level control circuit is not requesting data, IC autonomously sends anomaly signal], and
when the first communication circuit receives the first operation signal indicating an anomaly via the first communication network, the first communication circuit outputs the second operation signal indicating an anomaly (“each integrated circuit is endowed with the function of, upon receipt of an abnormality signal, outputting an abnormality signal [second operation signal] without any relationship to its own diagnosis result” par 0065) [when IC receives anomaly signal, it outputs a corresponding signal to send the error to the controller (higher level system)].
Regarding claim 11, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
when the first communication circuit outputs the second operation signal indicating an anomaly, the higher-level system activates the control circuit or the second communication circuit (“The opening and closing of these relays RLP and RLN is controlled from the battery controller 20 or the inverter device, if one of the integrated circuits has detected an abnormality.” Par 0087 and Figure 1) [the battery controller responds to abnormality signal (second signal) by controlling power related to activate the systems power and control circuits].
Regarding claim 12, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 1. Kikuchi further teaches wherein before deactivating, the control circuit diagnoses a state of the first communication circuit (“it is possible for the battery controller 20 to check the communication path by sending and receiving a pseudo-abnormality signal in this manner, so that the reliability of the system is enhanced.” Par 0085) [the controller diagnoses operational state of communication (transmission path) by verifying the test signal is returned].
Regarding claim 13, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
before the control circuit deactivates, the first communication circuit outputs the second operation signal to at least one of the control circuit or the higher-level system (“if the integrated circuit decides that its own determined abnormality is now normal, then it stops transmitting an abnormality signal from its transmission terminal FFO… While the battery controller 20 does not transmit any abnormality signal to the integrated circuits, in order to check that the transmission path for abnormality signals is operating correctly, it transmits a test signal (i.e. a pseudo-abnormality signal) from a terminal FFTEST of the battery controller 20.” Par 0084 and “it is possible for the battery controller 20 to check the communication path by sending and receiving a pseudo-abnormality signal in this manner” par 0085 and “By performing the stopping of operation of the various sections described above in this type of sequence, it becomes possible to put all of the integrated circuits into the sleep state in a reliable manner.” Par 0244 and Figure 15), and
the at least one of the control circuit or the higher-level system diagnoses a state of the first communication circuit based on the second operation signal (“if this transmission path is operating normally, the pseudo-abnormality signal that was transmitted from the battery controller 20 returns back to the reception terminal of the battery controller 20 via the above transmission path. Accordingly, it is possible for the battery controller 20 to check the communication path by sending and receiving a pseudo-abnormality signal in this manner, so that the reliability of the system is enhanced. Moreover, as described above, by any integrated circuit that has detected an abnormal state sending an abnormality signal to the next integrated circuit even though it has not received any such transmission request from the battery controller 20, this abnormal state is rapidly transmitted to the battery controller 20. Accordingly, it is possible rapidly to undertake countermeasures against the abnormality.” Par 0085).
Regarding claim 14, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
before the control circuit deactivates, the first communication circuit outputs, to the control circuit, a control activation signal for activating the control circuit (“it is possible for the battery controller 20 to check the communication path by sending and receiving a pseudo-abnormality signal in this manner” par 0085), and
the control circuit diagnoses a state of the first communication circuit based on the control activation signal (“if this transmission path is operating normally, the pseudo-abnormality signal that was transmitted from the battery controller 20 returns back to the reception terminal of the battery controller 20 via the above transmission path.” Par 0085) [the diagnosis occurs by checking return of the transmitted signal].
Regarding claim 17, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
when at least one of the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated and the first operation signal is stopped, and when at least one of the control circuit or the second communication circuit is deactivated and there is an anomaly in the first communication circuit, the first communication circuit stops transmitting the second operation signal (“a signal that indicates normality is only outputted to the output terminal FFO under the conditions that a signal that indicates normality is being inputted to the input terminal FFI, and moreover that no abnormality flag is being stored in the abnormality flag storage circuit 168.” Par 0147 and “By performing the stopping of operation of the various sections described above in this type of sequence, it becomes possible to put all of the integrated circuits into the sleep state in a reliable manner.” Par 0244) [the IC stops transmitting the status signal if the incoming signal (first signal) is stopped or abnormality flag is detected].
Regarding claim 18, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Takano further teaches further comprising:
a control circuit power supply that supplies power to the control circuit (“A regulator 65 is connected to the power line PLS … and generates from the voltage between the breaker terminals 55 and 56 a voltage VMAIN” par 0041 and “The main control portion 60 comprises a CPU … and is driven by, as its driving voltage, the voltage VMAIN.” Par 0042 and Fig. 6), wherein
when the first operation signal is stopped, the first communication circuit activates at least one of the control circuit power supply, the control circuit, or the second communication circuit (“A second communication fault can be, for example, a state where a command 321 expected to be transmitted periodically from the power conversion control portion 11 is not received by the communication portion 62 for a predetermined length of time or longer.” Par 0053 and “If an abnormal state (such as overcharging) is identified during operation in the intermittent operation mode, the operation mode is forcibly shifted to the normal operation mode” Abstract and “the main control portion 60 keeps the switch 66 (see FIG. 5) on so that the communication supply voltages (V[3.3] and V[5]) are generated continuously.” par 0065) [the periodic command (first signal) is stopped when controller and management unit communication fails].
Regarding claim 19, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. Kikuchi further teaches wherein
the first communication circuit includes a second timer (“The timings of the measurement operations and the measurement cycle, and also the timings of the diagnostic operations, are managed by a stage counter that consists of a start circuit 254, a first stage counter 256, and a second stage counter 258. The stage counters 256 and 258 generate control signals (timing signals) that manage the overall operation of the integrated circuit 3A.” par 0114), and
when the second timer detects that a preset second time has elapsed, the second timer stops the second operation signal (“when a communication command that requests sleeping is received from the transmission path, or when no communication command can be received for greater than or equal to some predetermined time period, then the start circuit 254 stops the output of the clock signal at the timing that the stage counter 256 and 258 are returned to their reset states … Since the progression through the stages is stopped by stopping this output of the clock signal, accordingly the execution described above of the measurement operations and the diagnostic operations goes into the stopped state.” Par 0115) [when predetermined time period elapses the timer stops sending status signal].
Regarding claim 20, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9, further comprising:
a control circuit power supply that supplies power to the control circuit (“A regulator 65 is connected to the power line PLS … and generates from the voltage between the breaker terminals 55 and 56 a voltage VMAIN” par 0041 and “The main control portion 60 comprises a CPU … and is driven by, as its driving voltage, the voltage VMAIN.” Par 0042 and Fig. 6), wherein
when the second timer detects that a preset second time has elapsed, the second timer activates at least one of the control circuit power supply, the control circuit, or the second communication circuit (“A second communication fault can be, for example, a state where a command 321 expected to be transmitted periodically from the power conversion control portion 11 is not received by the communication portion 62 for a predetermined length of time or longer.” Par 0053 and “If an abnormal state (such as overcharging) is identified during operation in the intermittent operation mode, the operation mode is forcibly shifted to the normal operation mode” Abstract and “the main control portion 60 keeps the switch 66 (see FIG. 5) on so that the communication supply voltages (V[3.3] and V[5]) are generated continuously.” par 0065).
Kikuchi further teaches the first communication circuit includes a second timer (“The timings of the measurement operations and the measurement cycle, and also the timings of the diagnostic operations, are managed by a stage counter that consists of a start circuit 254, a first stage counter 256, and a second stage counter 258. The stage counters 256 and 258 generate control signals (timing signals) that manage the overall operation of the integrated circuit 3A.” par 0114).
Claims 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Kikuchi and in further view of Kamei (US 2017/0012444 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Takano and Kikuchi teach the cell stack management system according to claim 9. However, Takano and Kikuchi do not explicitly teach wherein the cell monitoring unit includes a first timer, and when the first timer detects that a preset first time has elapsed, the first timer causes the cell monitoring unit to output the first operation signal indicating an anomaly.
In the analogous art, Kamei teaches wherein
the cell monitoring unit (Fig 1, battery monitoring IC 1) includes a first timer (“The second operation functioning device 7 includes… a watchdog timer (WDT) 23,” par 0021 and Figure 1), and
when the first timer detects that a preset first time has elapsed, the first timer causes the cell monitoring unit to output the first operation signal indicating an anomaly (“When the WDT 23 overflows without having the reset, a non-ordinary process signal is inputted to the switching controller 10.” Par 0024) [when the timer overflows it prompts non-ordinary process signal (operation signal) corresponding to the anomaly].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Takano, Kikuchi and Kamei before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Takano and Kikuchi to incorporate the teachings of Kamei to include a timer to check whether a non-ordinary operation took place and restrict functionality of the device to reduce power consumption. (Kamei, paragraph 50)
Regarding claim 16, Takano, Kikuchi and Kamei teach the cell stack management system according to claim 15. Kamei further teaches wherein
when the first timer detects that the preset first time has elapsed, the first timer stops operation of the cell monitoring unit (“With regard to the operation “non-ordinary timing” illustrated in FIG. 4, the mode [1] is switched to mode [5] through the modes [2], [3], and [4] sequentially… Subsequently the mode [5] is shifted to the mode [1] when the WDT 23 overflows.” par 0047 and “At the timing of the non-ordinary operation, at least one part of a plurality of functions included in the second operation functioning device 7 is restricted and/or stopped. In particular, it is configured that the supply of the clock signal to the second operation functioning device 2 is stopped; or the frequency of the clock signal is lowered.” Par 0050 and paragraphs 48-49 and Figure 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Mira et al. (US 2015/0303728 A1) teaches a battery with cell groups containing cells connected in series. The battery monitoring device contains ICs which monitor the voltages of the cells and performs cell balancing to adjust the cell group capabilities.
Ishiwaka et al. (US 2010/0301868 A1) teaches voltage monitoring units corresponds to cell units of a multiple set battery, which detects voltages and adjusts power being supplied to the power source switching section. The main controller includes a failure diagnosis section which diagnoses failure in the voltage monitoring units and a switching section which disconnects power when a failure is detected.
/AYMAN FATIMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2176
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176