DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1 recites A method for controlling a virtual object, performed by at least one processor of an electronic device. The limitation of obtaining a first operation instruction in a process that a virtual object controlled by a client performs an acceleration operation, the first operation instruction instructing the virtual object to perform a first target action, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “an electronic device,” and “processor” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “an electronic device,” and “processor” language, “obtaining” in the context of this claim encompasses a user verbally telling a manual object to move. Similarly, the limitations of: obtaining and adjusting are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The same interpretation is applied to the remaining steps in claim 1. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites a couple additional elements – “an electronic device,” and “processor”. The “an electronic device,” and “processor” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor implementing a step) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “an electronic device,” and “processor” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Similar reasoning is applied to claims 2-20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,43. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the pending application are encompassed by the claims of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 11-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2020/0086214 A1 to Yabuki et al. (hereinafter “Yabuki”) in view of US Publication No. 2011/0275436 A1 to Kidakarn (hereinafter “Kidakarn”).
Concerning claim 1, Yabuki discloses a method for controlling a virtual object, performed by at least one processor of an electronic device (Abstract), the method comprising:
obtaining a first operation instruction in a process that a virtual object controlled by a client performs an acceleration operation, the first operation instruction instructing the virtual object to perform a first target action (paragraphs [0130]-[0133]- first and second instructions are provided to control a virtual object to perform first and second target actions);
obtaining a second operation instruction within a first target time period after the first target action is completed, the second operation instruction instructing the virtual object to perform a second target action (paragraphs [0130]-[0133]- first and second instructions are provided to control a virtual object to perform first and second target actions); and
adjusting a movement state of the virtual object from a first state to a second state within a second target time period after the virtual object starts to perform the second target action (paragraphs [0134]-[0141] – more energy is collected from the vehicle in the acceleration state (i.e., second state) than the normal state),
Yabuki lacks specifically disclosing, however, Kidakarn discloses comprising: increasing a force parameter value of a steering force on the virtual object (paragraphs [0042], [0049], [0058] – steering force is increased on the virtual object based on increasing a force parameter value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of force as disclosed by Kidakarn in the system of Yabuki in order to provide a more realistic driving experience in the game.
Concerning claims 2 and 14, Yabuki discloses wherein the adjusting a movement state of the virtual object from a first state to a second state within a second target time period after the virtual object starts to perform the second target action further comprises: decreasing a friction parameter value of a friction on the virtual object (paragraphs [0134]-[0141] – parameter values are adjusted based on the first and second state of the vehicle).
Concerning claims 3 and 15, Yabuki lacks specifically disclosing, however, Kidakarn discloses wherein increasing the force parameter value of the steering force on the virtual object comprises: obtaining a first force parameter value of the steering force on the virtual object in the first state; and increasing the first force parameter value to a second force parameter value of the steering force on the virtual object in the second state according to a first target proportion (paragraphs [0042], [0049], [0058] – steering force is increased on the virtual object based on increasing a force parameter value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of force as disclosed by Kidakarn in the system of Yabuki in order to provide a more realistic driving experience in the game.
Concerning claims 4 and 16, Yabuki discloses wherein decreasing the friction parameter value of the friction on the virtual object comprises: obtaining a first friction parameter value of the friction on the virtual object in the first state; and decreasing the first friction parameter value to a second friction parameter value of the friction on the virtual object in the second state according to a second target proportion (paragraphs [0134]-[0141] –friction is decreased on the virtual object allowing the virtual object to obtain a drift state).
Concerning claims 5 and 17, Yabuki discloses wherein: the first operation instruction is received when the virtual object is in a bend with a bend angle less than an angle threshold (Fig. 7, paragraphs [0108]-[0113] – operation instruction is received when a player is making a turn with a bend angle less than a threshold).
Concerning claim 7, Yabuki discloses further comprising: adjusting a state of an acceleration control button corresponding to the acceleration operation to an active state when an energy accumulation value of an energy collected based on a movement of the virtual object reaches a trigger threshold (paragraphs [0143]-[0147], [0162] – acceleration is set to active when the acceleration flag is on based on energy accumulations reaching trigger thresholds).
Concerning claim 8, Yabuki discloses wherein: a first energy value collected by the virtual object per unit time in the first state is less than a second energy value collected by the virtual object per unit time in the second state (paragraphs [0143]-[0147], [0162] – first energy value is less that second).
Concerning claim 11, Yabuki discloses wherein after the adjusting a movement state of the virtual object from a first state to a second state, the method further comprises: obtaining, when an execution time of the second target action reaches a second threshold and a speed identified by a movement speed vector of the virtual object reaches a target threshold, an operation state of the virtual object performing the acceleration operation; and displaying prompt information on the client when the operation state indicates that the virtual object is in an accelerated state, the prompt information indicating that the virtual object has completed an action combination, the action combination comprising the first target action and the second target action (paragraphs [0143]-[0147], [0162] – prompts are displayed when player is in acceleration state).
Concerning claim 12, Yabuki discloses wherein the first target action and the second target action are drift actions performed according to a same direction (paragraphs [0130]-[0133] – target actions are drift actions).
Concerning claims 13 and 20, see the rejection of claim 1.
Concerning claim 19, Yabuki discloses wherein a first energy value collected by the virtual object per unit time in the first state is less than a second energy value collected by the virtual object per unit time in the second state, and the at least one processor is further configured to perform: adjusting a state of an acceleration control button corresponding to the acceleration operation to an active state when an energy accumulation value of an energy collected based on a movement of the virtual object reaches a trigger threshold (paragraphs [0134]-[0141] – parameter values are adjusted based on the first and second state of the vehicle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 10, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715